You are here: HomeNews2015 10 09Article 386748

Photos: Accra floods again after hours of rainfall

Read Comments Comments (98)

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Again,because we failed to do what is right,floods in Accra is not natural,it is human creation,the waterways are still blocked.
    We play politics with everything when somebody wants to do the right thing.

Don't tell me we ...

• BAM 8 years ago

CALL FOR IBRAHIM´S HEAD.HE TOOK 20MILLION CEDIS AND HEAVY MACHINERY TO DO THE WORK BUT NOTHING WAS DONE.HAHAHA,WHERE IS VAN-DER-PUIJE,THE BEST MAJOR IN AFRICA.HE IS USELESS LIKE HIS MEANINGLESS NAME.REALLY PUIJE,SMALL SHOP F ...

• shamu 8 years ago

If yes or no, what are we doing since independent? Then, there are no humanbein living there.

• Kujo 8 years ago

Ibrahim MAahama started doing some good works to help minimise these floods and the NPP started all sorts ugly noises and he stopped . NPP are simply foolish and nation wreckers .

• BAM 8 years ago

HEY MY FRIEND IBRAHIM FINISHED HIS SHODDY WORK BEFORE PEOPLE STARTED THEIR COMPLAINS.HE WAS PAID TO DO THE WORK HE HAS NO KNOWLEDGE OF.THIS WAS THE MISTAKE OUR GOVERNMENT DID.LET US FACE THE FACT AND STOP THE POLITICS.SO ARE ...

• Kujo 8 years ago

Who paid him ? your mother ? Shut up villager !

• KWAA 8 years ago

So what did Government paid Ibrahim Mahama GHC200,00 Million for?Was he not supposed to drain the waterway of Odwo River to allow free flow of water at least from circle to Korle Lagoon?Eiiii ,Ghana corruptionn has swallowed ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Did you read the story,how many of these communities are around the Korle lagoon,do you think Korle lagoon is at every part of Accra?
    Dredging of only Korle lagoon will not solve the problem,there are houses which are still ...

• KWAA 8 years ago

Well,you should have rather read my post well,then you would have understood what I meant.Is the Odwo River not entering Korle Lagoon?And we were told E&P Engineering did some dredging work in the Odwo River which is the cau ...

• kizey 8 years ago

yes is the blocked of the waterways

• ???The Real Deal 8 years ago

WHAT ABOUT JAPAN AND GERMANY OF LATE?PLS., STOP THIS.DO WE HAVE TO BLAME THE LEADERS ABOUT CHANGE OF WEATHER ?HOW MANY PEOPLE DIE IN JAPAN AND GERMANY THIS VERY YEAR?

• my street 8 years ago

Yep that s what happens when you have a dickhead in charge of anything.

• Kweku Tutu 8 years ago

Its because they build in wrong places

• Dodzi 8 years ago

Can we conclude that the numerous demolition exercise carried out by the Mayor has been useless?

• True Ghanaian 8 years ago

After all the demolition and crazy reactions, things are propably worse now.

• Anonymous Coward 8 years ago

Once incompetent always incompetent. Corrupt fools ruling Ghana.

• Kwasi Mensah 8 years ago

Its not one man's making.Governments come and go and none attached much importance to it.Corruption in Ghana is in every government.None is holy

• kristof 8 years ago

Ghana! What is happening? It will soon be over. God bless our homeland Ghana.

• Che Andrew 8 years ago

Let's see how the NPP will respond to these floods. First they cannot do any voluntary service to mitigate the situation like E&P did. Second they will blame the government for causing the floods. Third they will oppose the p ...

• JK 8 years ago

I wish I could challenge what you are saying. However, I have to be honest and agree with you, that you are very likely correct in your assessment.

I did not hear any other company stepping up and agreeing like E&P to hel ...

• Osofo 8 years ago

Some of you guys are so stupid. Why are you putting words in NPP's mouth? If you dredge a river and leave the sediment on the banks what do you think will happen when it rains? NPP has nothing to do with NDC's incompetence.

• Diego 8 years ago

If u let politicians and propagandists to think for u as a nation, u only take one step forwards and two steps backwards.

• ghana not for NPP Okay 8 years ago

so long as NPP remains in opposition everything NDC will do is useless in the eyes.Is this a Party is GHana needs.BIG NO.

• ####### 8 years ago

AH GHANA, WE SEEM NOT TO HAVE LEARNT ANYTHING. WHAT A PITY.

• Tibaa 8 years ago

On, during my term as President, there will be no rain, and therefore, no floods. Hehe

• Jo 8 years ago

We have just refused to learn from our mistakes. We've forgotten about june 3rd and another flood has happened. With this kind of attitude, we are heading for doom as a nation.

• inercycl 8 years ago

Where is the "benevolent " father eid Mr. Mahama,it's flooded again.!!

• KOBLA KHAN 8 years ago

We told you so ;this useless Oko vaderpuje again fulled Ghanaians like JJ Rawlings did to Ghanaians by pulling down properties and even given state equipment to Ibrahim Mahama to dregde the Odaw River and what do we se again ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

A lawyer and an ENGINEER were fishing in the Great Lakes of America. The lawyer
    said, “I’m here because my house burned down, and everything I owned was
    destroyed by the fire. The INSURANCE COMPANY paid for everything ...

• Akua Essen 8 years ago

Ibrahim Mahama worked on the adaw river and leading water way not the gutters within communities . We in Ghana are so sick in the brain and quick to point fingers at someone without addressing points. This is not just the job ...

• Jew 8 years ago

They are all shallow thinkers. What do you expect from a group of people whose leader had a third class degree in economics and calls himself a lawyer without a law certificate?

• Mike 8 years ago

Be real. Are you that serious. Where is your certificate. This is the way most Ghanaians think. You are not alone but I feel sorry for you. These are the same kind of brains ruling the nation. Very soon you won't be proud to ...

• ???The Real Deal 8 years ago

THANKS

• Raidyn 8 years ago

So what did Ibrahim Mahama do at all? Looks like it is much worse. Did he put more rubbish into the Odaw river instead of removing it

• Crackadoddledooooo 8 years ago

GET THE MOUTH OF THE ODAW RIVER OPENED. IT IS STILL BLOCKED WITH THE BACKFILL DONE BY THE SQUATTERS PLAIN AND SIMPLE. AS LONG AS THE MAIN OUTFLOW OF THE RIVER IS BLOCKED FLOODING WILL CONTINUE TO OCCUR

• SON OF NDC 8 years ago

JOHN DEAD GOAT MAHAMA IS A CURSE TO GHANA FOR KILLING ATTA MILLS. HE NEED TO CONFESS OR GHANA WILL NEVER KNOW PEACE AND PROGRESS.

• Darlington 8 years ago

The president is watching us for rains to disturb,loss of properties etc.God saves us from this govt.

• showbou 8 years ago

it seems some ghanaians cannot even cof without politics in it. What has dis floods got to do wif nanas campaign? some go to de extn of insulting nana jdm. dis simply shows dat u were not properly brot up n so do not respec ...

• Jew 8 years ago

Your spelling sucks. Why not simply write in any Ghanaian language if you can't spell simple English words.

• baga 8 years ago

In USA they experience floods some time is natural. So long as nobody lost life . Ghanaians talk much with out meaningful suggestions
    Right now in USA about 20 people have died because of flood.

• Ajet Nassam 8 years ago

Stop comparing Ghana to US. You are leaving in a village call Ghana. If truly Ghana is the gate way to Africa then I rest my case.

• Mankind 8 years ago

Please visit Cape Town, Johannesburg and Harare before you call the shitty Ghana the gateway to Africa. Nassam you are ignorant. Your case is wide open. It will never be closed!!!

• Che Andrew 8 years ago

Folk, the fact of the matter is that there are no NDC and NPP in the US so floods there are natural. With NDC and NPP in Ghana floods are caused by politics

• reeenay 8 years ago

I will never live in that shity city called Accra. Akosombo and Aburi are the best places to live and enjoy your life. We don't plan for the swelling population and Accra has been congested for years with no plan in place to ...

• BOAHEN 8 years ago

oh!! Ghana this is not good for our mother land. May God have mercy ...........

• kk 8 years ago

The most corrupt government i have ever seen in ghana since I was born in 1971 and yet still Ghanaians are still playing tribal politics,wait for the nest 20 years and see where this country is going to be if we Ghanaians don ...

• BOAHEN from nsawam doboro 8 years ago

MMMMMMM GHANA WHAT IS GOING ON. MR MAHAMA DO SOMETHING BEFORE U DIE ON 2016 .

• STEVE 8 years ago

So long as there is no drainage and sewage system for Accra, the floods will always submerge and destroy property and render humans at risk. Lucky enough the ODAW river has been a bit dredged & SODOM & GOMORAH cleared. It wou ...

• sam 8 years ago

fellow Ghanaians let's stop politics and face fact. Ibrahim Mahama said he is doing this job for free but he will need fuel and payment of his workers from the government. eventually he said he spent 15M UDS three months(sala ...

• JOE 8 years ago

Yes, it is now the time of NPP the noise makers plus the LMVC do just one day voluntary work in Accra draining the gutters for free. Infact we can organize free rice and beans and garri for them. It is not only about criticiz ...

• NDC DESTROYERS PARTY 8 years ago

WO YARE ABOA FUNU BI BA

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

NOBODY CAN CONTROL RAINS OR NATURAL DISASTERS.AMERICA WITH ITS TECHNOLGY COULD NOT CONTROL THE FLOODS IN SOUTH CAROLINA .

• Peacemaker 8 years ago

Floods in America are caused by nature but in Ghana it is man-made.

• Jo 8 years ago

How often does america experience floods compared to Ghana. Everytime it rains, accra gets flooded. Is dat the case in USA? No, this should tell u that the flood in south carolina was not normal

• Mad Rapper 8 years ago

So there is a Town and Country department in Accra? Whta do they go to work to do? When Conti came to Ghana to build drains, what happened? This govt sent them packing because..............

• kofi Adams 8 years ago

Always looking for scapegoats to mask our inefficiencies.

• Amish Deutschland 8 years ago

Its about the gutters in Accra, they are all choked and need to be cleared to allow water flow into the odaw.

• Mad Rapper 8 years ago

So there is a Town and Country department in Accra? What do they do when they go to the office? When Conti came to Ghana to build drains, what happened? This govt sent them packing because..............

• Omanba Kwame 8 years ago

Bunch of govt officials lies have resulted in this.

• HMMMM 8 years ago

Your so-called leaders are all bushmen - uncultured, ignorant people who have no idea what urban planning is and the modern concept of comprehensive, underground sewer engineering is completely alien to them despite several v ...

• Paul Kunutsor 8 years ago

U see removing Sodom n Gommorah did not stop the floods.

• Ed 8 years ago

Settlements within 100 -200 metres from Accra's main drain will always be flooded whenever it rains, even if we succeed in removing every shred of garbage or sand frm the drains. This is why. The volume of storm water being c ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 8 years ago

Ed, Thanks. Your comment is one of the few sensible ones on this issue. God bless you.

• SC 8 years ago

LG air conditions nd Samsung plasma TV @ a
    wholesale price 0503848000 for more information
    Promoted stories

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

You started complaining when Ibrahim Mahama used Govt machines to drain the Odaw River. He has since stopped. Let the brother of Nana Akkuffo Addo if he exists go and take the same machines and do just one day dredging. Where ...

• JK 8 years ago

Akomea is an idiot. The only useful suggestion he had was deploying Army Corp of Engineers. Other than that the man talked a great deal of rubbish in his recent outburst.

I still haven't heard any company voulunteering to ...

• Humble 8 years ago

Recently mahama was talking about making efforts to stop corruption, kk it's time to prove abi Ibrahim mahama need to be arrested, for taking state equipment and cash without performing the job, Nyame nhu Oman Ghana mom)

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Ghana is a failed state

• JM 8 years ago

I THINK JAPAN AND GERMANY TOO,NOT ONLY GHANA.WHAT HAPPEN IN GERMANY AND JAPAN.ARE THEY FAILED COUNTRIES?THE BUSH FIRE IN THE STATES DID ANY OF THE CITIZENS BLAME THE AUTHORITIES?COCOASE

• GIVE ME MY BALLOT PAPER 8 years ago

So the floods came and on June 3rd, 2015 over 150 Ghanaians perished and lost their lives.
    A state of mourning was declared for God knows how long, with President's and envoys of neighboring countries trouping in to offer t ...

• Mankind 8 years ago

Well written. There are a lot of Ghanaians who simply refuse to see the mess they live in. I wonder whether it is due to ignorance or stupidity !! Gutters stinking forever, bad roads, bad hospitals etc. etc. Yet these ignoran ...

• Oh Ghana 8 years ago

WHO AND WHAT ARE WE PRAYING FOR ?

• Mankind 8 years ago

Arrest Ibrahim Mahama now!!He has collected the Tax payers money but did not do any work. Auto 20 years in jail!!

• Aba 8 years ago

Infact NDC is indeed useless are you kidding me?

• Dotbak 8 years ago

Ooohoo again?....

• lord arkorful frm jericho street tema 8 years ago

our leaders are only interested in big titles;honourable,most reverend,Mr president,MP,Master,what a shame they. have not even a single idea of what their so culd titlez entile.hahaha diz de worze ignorance of mankind at it h ...

• Joe,london 8 years ago

Several towns in England get flooded when it rains continuously resulting in damages amounting to several million pounds.Thers is the urgent need however to find a solution to the everyday flooding in Accra whenever it rains ...

• fear woman 8 years ago

this stupid ass-mayor should resign

• concern people of ghana 8 years ago

90 percent vote for nana addo and 10 percent for mahama come 2016, all ghana people to vote for nana addo, tell a friend to tell a friend, from concern people of ghana all over the world

• king music 8 years ago

king solomon s the best musician in ghana now like his music and listen for free

• vagina 8 years ago

all is hell in ghana

• sanaa 8 years ago

Accra flooding again oh god wahy ur money go de uro bun

• faustina klutse 8 years ago

something must be done because we can't stand it even if spiritual intervention

• Joe 8 years ago

where is the mayor who wants to be MP NOW. IS THIS YOUR TRACK RECORD

• Dr Art 8 years ago

Ghanaians are running out of Brains?

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

Nice Work done Ibrahim Mahama after getting paid $600 million to dredge the river way.! President Mahama and his Brother are Raining Corruption,Debt and Misery on Ghanaians.!

• Nigeria Man 8 years ago

CAPITAL SHOULD BE MOVED TO CAPE COAST. GAS LOVE DEFECATING IN GUTTERS LIKE DOGS!

• HMMMM 8 years ago

Again and again and again, our woes will continue under either NDC or NPP. Rawlings didn't fix it. Kufuor didn't. Mills didn't. And finally now the problem's become worse under Mahama.

All these "leaders" are simply glorif ...

• Eric 8 years ago

Ghana need Jesus Christ

• Mike 8 years ago

We don't need Jesus. We a leaders. The country is deficient with leaders. What we have now are thieves and nothing more.

There were lots of demolitions after the last floods. Here we are with the floods again. What about demolishing all buildings in Accra?

• stick house 8 years ago

Drowning I garbage. Ban ALL plastic. Initiate 20 Pesewas for plastic bottle refunds. Ban those nasty eater sachets. Clean up. Have some civil responsibilities.

• Tex 8 years ago

our leaders need to act properly but with very pragmatic and drastic measures in place to solve this problem once and for all instead of that daily nonsense ndc/npp discussions on our waves.it is time to consult the Netherlan ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 8 years ago

Accra is the most dirty town in Ghana , just look at the flood water how dirty it is, every region must control their own affaires

• truth 8 years ago

for using state machines are you seeing what i'm viewing. Stop this politics & work together us a TEAM to build Ghana.For Akuffo Addo enough of who is corrupt convince folks why they should elect you and also solve internal f ...

• truth 8 years ago

Sad but truth HURTS.

• Ayerikayerim 8 years ago

Poor planing and fake drainage systems.

• faith VILLAINS 8 years ago

Accra was not well plan like Kumasi, right from the independence. This one of the reasons Nkrumah was trying to move capital to kumasi and all the struggles. Moreover, people living in Accra careless about the cleaningness of ...