You are here: HomeNews2015 10 08Article 386430

ECG for sale

Read Comments Comments (105)

• the one man 8 years ago

This so silly about this government.what? selling ECG is very bad so we Ghanaians cant manage our power. eeeeiii we are finished.

• Kwaku 8 years ago

But we couldnt manage telephone company so kufuor sold it

• FHF 8 years ago

GHANA IS TIRED OF FEEDING US

• POP 8 years ago

WE WILL SEE WHERE THE CORRUPTED WORKERS WILL DO: PRIVATE COMPANY NO MORE STEALING

• John B. 8 years ago

only fools and corrupted ghanaians will be against the sale of EC.

• United Ghana 8 years ago

If you believe privatisation will eliminate corruption then you are deluded.

So, you choose to feed a foreign company instead? Don't forget, this is going to be a PRIVATE MONOPOLY that will squeeze the last drop of juice out of Ghanaians.

• ELINAM 8 years ago

So we gonna take this $500 million bribe as a grant to ONLY spend it on a national property that they want to buy from us as a condition and we had agreed to it?
    Lack of political will to restructure ECG ourselves by deman ...

• nana yaa 8 years ago

I'm just glad its not going to Engineers and Planners.

• Mr. Smith 8 years ago

Nana Yaa, please wise up. Any fool can be behind this golden hen! They were waiting all along for this opportunity, that's why they did not want to fix the problem. If there was any problem at all. Mahama and his goons were b ...

• POP 8 years ago

CORRUPTION IS OUR MAIN PROBLEM IN GHANA; SO IF GIVEN OUT TO PRIVATE COMPANY ; NO MORE CORRUPTION WILL TAKE PLACE:

• BEN 8 years ago

TOO MUCH NONNSENSE HAPPENING WITH STATE PROPERTIES IN GHANA: ALL THE MONEYS GOES TO PRIVATE POCKETS WHILE THE OWNER GHANA GOES DEBTED

• John B. 8 years ago

good mnews really . no state property makes profit in ghana. always in minus

• Sam 8 years ago

This Tekper guy is running a purely capitalist economy under a so-called Social Democratic government. What at all is happening? Can't the NDC replace him? I don't want to say i cherish the days of Baah Wiredu.

Sale of ECG isn't in Ghana's interest. I don't think even Mahama wants it, but, thanks to his incompetent management of the economy, his hands have been forced into this. We're un trouble. This private entity will be given gu ...

• FHF 8 years ago

WELCOME IDEA: GHANA CANNOT BE FEEDING US ALL THE TIME:

• POP 8 years ago

NO MORE STEALING AND CORRUPTION;

• Kwaku 8 years ago

But the sale of our telephone company is a right move

• Nene Tetteh 8 years ago

Any educated consumer of electricity and water in Ghana knows the price for such products could be lower and the services higher but for inefficiency, incompetent and mismanagement. Privatization would benefit the consumers a ...

You misunderstand private enterprise. You only get lower prices when there's competition, but, in this case, we are creating a private monopoly for a service we all cannot do without. Think about it

• pk 8 years ago

bro. infact u r vry clever ; u r a learned person but as for dat kwaku or wat eva he calls himslf, i dont tink he was evn de 1 hu typed dos comments. can u compare de privatisation of power( a monopolistic company) to a ...

• Namo Aley 8 years ago

The truth about the privatization is that, if the government refuse to privatize the country wont get the second compactment of the IMF bond. opinion as a technical person is that itself owe ECG huge sums of money and if the ...

• KWAA 8 years ago

So this Mahama's Government will sell anything they can turn into money?They promised Heaven and Earth to manage the Dumsor,now they have failed,so they want to sell it and make money.I wonder what they will sell next before ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Manshia palace be ready, we are even contacting prospective buyers

• timbotimbo 8 years ago

the president mahama lies has came to the daylight

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Good news hahahaha

• Nyames3m 8 years ago

What is the goodnews about the selling of E.C.G?

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Yes it is long over due dont you know then you blind

• Jacke Jones, VA 8 years ago

Where are Kwesi Pratt and Omane Boamah? These idiots and hosts of NDC fools were on the streets during the sale of Ghana Telecom

• Togbe 8 years ago

Is dis nkrumah's GH? What kind of lazy sophisticated theorist do we have as leaders? Dey keep repeating de same mistake over time. We always fall prey for white man's bait. God shd have mercy.

• tarar. 8 years ago

please stop politics and face the facts, what is the use of a state own company that always make losses?
    any company that makes loses must be closed or not?

• Paapidi 8 years ago

This dancing around the truth by the government is nauseating, to say the least. It is obvious that and American company would be selected but the government keeps on telling people that they are going to open the bid for all ...

I couldn't agree more. Why would the US govt give $500b to Ghana if it isn't for the benefit of the a US company?

• Dr Jay 8 years ago

GE from US wins

• Mensa 8 years ago

IT IS SO SAD THAT IT SEEM WE GHANAIANS CANNOT MANAGE ANYTHING. NEITHER ARE WE CREATIVE. WE WANT EVERYTHING TO BE SOLD TO FOREIGNERS OR BE INVITED TO MANAGE. WHAT ARE WE CAPABLE OF DOING THEN?

• Nana 8 years ago

You are willing to sell a national asset worth billions in order to have access to a loan of $500m? Really?

• Noo 8 years ago

Else the people can't afford the fees.
    Sure an American company will be better in terms of sophistication but the prices will be beyond most Ghanaians.

• Paapidi 8 years ago

Do you really think USA will release over $500 million to Ghana for the contract to be given to an Indian company. Be for real, my friend.
    Also how about paying a little more for incessant supply of power to your home/office ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

India my foot

• POP 8 years ago

TOO MUCH STEALING AT EC: PLEASE IT NOT GOOD BUT FAR BETTER THAN THE STATE OWNING IT:

• Is necessary prior to tendering 8 years ago

The corrupt hands in our system are already honing their skills to take advantage of the ECG sale. True, our government is not the best entity to run a power distribution company, and even not a power generation company, and ...

• Evans 8 years ago

Is the government only interested in the money from MiDA or is really interested in solving the energy crises and making the Ghanaian to have faith in himself. If indeed we need to raise capital as a nation to transform ECG, ...

• Insp We.i 8 years ago

Excellent idea

• KEN 8 years ago

THIS IS TO WIPE SENTIMENTS AGAINST FOREIGNERS DOING BUSINESS HERE.CHECK THIS: 90% OF COMPANIES SELLING CARS IN GHANA FOREIGNERS. RICE IMPORTERS, CEMENT, HOTELS, FAST FOOD JOINTS, BIG SHOPS N SUPERMARKETS [ ACCRA MALL N KASOA, ...

• KEN 8 years ago

PLEASE IT IS RATHER NOT TO WIPE UP SENTIMENTS AGAINST FOREIGN BUSINESSES. REGRET THE OMISSION

• Paapidi 8 years ago

I own properties and equity in several US companies and I personally do not care who owns what in Ghana so long as efficiency and acceptable business ethics are practiced and the laws strictly enforced. Remember that we all l ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

good for you; how many Ghanaians own properties and equities in the U.S.?

• KEN 8 years ago

please there was an omission in my earlier comment. I AM NOT AGAINST FOREIGN OWNERSHIP. THE OMISSION IS REGRETTED.

• kwesi tandoh 8 years ago

our leaders are vary wicked they are selling ecg are they think about ordinary Ghanaian,there is no future in Ghana since mahama and his criminal ndc decided to sell everything Kwame Nkrumah labour for. now ecg is going to be ...

• Andy K- Kumasi 8 years ago

Oh President Mahama n his government has lost credibility in d eyes of Ghanaians. When this issue was first reported by the media, the president himself came out to say it was impossible to privatise ECG. What has changed so ...

• Aston 8 years ago

Now this government knowns that privatization will enhance the efficiency in operations.

• Andy K- Kumasi 8 years ago

They sholud sell aaaaaa and sell the presidency too because it has become a haven for corrupt and criminal state officials. Its absolutely resource wasting state institution. Tweeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

• ADEPA K 8 years ago

Eiii NDC, is this your better Ghana? Mahama why? Very soon you will sell Ghana. Thieves. Where is Kwasi Pratt, where is Dr Omane Boamah? What are this opprtunistic Dinosaurs saying?

• OK 8 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH WAS WRONG WHEN HE SAID BLACK MAN IS CAPABLE OF MANAGING HIS OWN AFFAIRS..... BLACK MAN IS NOT CAPABLE OF MANAGING HIS OWN AFFAIRS.....THE BRITISH SHOULD HAVE STAYED

• SERIOUS.TADI 8 years ago

EEHHA GHANA,HMMM.PLS GHANIANS ARISE FROM YOUR SHORT MEMERY SYDROME SHOW SOME ANGER AGAINST THIS DEADGOAT PREZ.AND HIS NDC GOVT FOR LYING TO US THAT ECG WILL NOT BE SOLD

• gyan 8 years ago

It is not the govt but the old staff who retired are pushing for this so that they can still 'chop' from the company.

• Colonel 8 years ago

Are we normal? For a meagre $500m we will give ECG out for 20 -30years ? We are doomed . Our leaders simply don't think. What is $500m ? Do we realize that if we are able to put in a place a proper revenue collection and moni ...

• SANTO 8 years ago

BANK OF GHANA AND GHANA GOVERNMENT SHOULD ALSO BE SOLD OFF

• Gariba yusif 8 years ago

Asem asa....ECG is also gone...eih where are we going as a people selling of our state enterprises...Ghana must work again...only cpp can solve the problems Ghana is facing #CPPGOVTNOW

• raskpe or Borborza Accra 8 years ago

Is very obvious that after independent we are still struggling to find our feet,after how many years hmmmmm shame to our leaders.

• JAL 8 years ago

Interesting reading. Time always tells. Social Democrats.

• DDT 8 years ago

We are doom if this contract is given to Americans. It is better to give our country to the Chinese than Americans. We will be controlled like toys.

• Tina Uk 8 years ago

Good news. This has been long over. No more illegal connection.

• kwam7 8 years ago

they said ECG is not for sale but her we are ECG is not being sold like obroni waaawu at cantamant market.

why can African leaders be truthful a bit of faithful and accountable.

we had presidents who were not graduat ...

• paa 8 years ago

Have u see the attitude of Ghanaians. Coz they are not doing the right thing at work they fear of losing thier position at work. shame to them all

• rash 8 years ago

Thanks

• Ben Homenya 8 years ago

Does it mean that under no circumstances government did believe in his own people to solve their problem? At first is the ECG management the cause of DUMSOR? did the kind of privatization worked in other countries as the stur ...

• MD 8 years ago

Very soon the prez will sale Ghana if care is not taken, what a useless prez and the NDC who can not perform.

• I wish 8 years ago

How I wish I have that money $500mil,I will go for ECG, den I will give to Kwame Sefa / Mogabe to handle it

• yaaI hpoyes 8 years ago

yes i saw it coming . there is nothing like a free lunch. America gives you grant to quench your thirst then comes for your companies and eventually ghana becomes the loser

• Wao 8 years ago

Wao this the best decision ever.

• kwasia bi nti 8 years ago

f**k u all... ecg n govt burn in2 ashes. fools, u'v md us suffer severely n dats enuf. if wt al d profs n drs n emeritus' we cnt fnd ways of dealin wt our own, den d white man wt a comon degree wil. nw d staf r cryn over fear ...

• junior k 8 years ago

yes i second de sale of ecg,afta all de buttom line is dat de dumso ll be rectified n de ordinary ghanian ll ve a peace of mind irrespective of de high cost of electricity bills we ae going to pay. tke a very gud luk at voda ...

• Maame Abena 8 years ago

So the NDC Big Mouths cannot save ECG.They have to Auction it to the highest bidder. Ghanaians have just one year to decide on keeping this no good party in power.
    Soon the government of Ghana will be for Sale.

• Nana Antwi Bosiako 8 years ago

I bet if we continue to keep this government, the citizens will be privatised too.

• ONE DOOR 8 years ago

It's a Good idea
    Cox ECG works are not serious
    it's about 6 months getting to 1year i having be visiting them for bills. am @ Nsawam operikurom New Site.
    They took 300 Ghana cedis from me with out bills coming
    ECG have t ...

• WARNING TO MiDA 8 years ago

The current incompetence thief is aware that he is going in 2016 so he wanted to auction sale and share the 500.2m USD and give the Company to already reach General Electric of USA.Those who killed our fore fathers, taking us ...

• Nana Antwi Bosiako 8 years ago

Privatising for Aid???.
    Ooo , this government is pathetic. ECG is one of our dynamic sectors, why sell it? Do they even know the consequences of privatising dynamic sects of the country. ?
    I guess is one of their corruption ...

• konti 8 years ago

govt shd analyse the power outage problem and think for the best solution.VRA produces e power,ECG distribute.so concentrating soley on ECG will not be the best solution.there are economist in this country who can help the si ...

• godsway 8 years ago

My brother, ECG is not paying the power producers. ECG is owing VRA, Asogli, CENIT. Can you buy tomatos from a farmer and refuse to pay only for him to supply you another consignment? ECG should be sold.

• Stephen a mintah-ajumako kokoben 8 years ago

Jesus christ!

• Isaac tetteh 8 years ago

woe mahama if you are able to do it than God bless you bt if not hmmmmm 2016 is coming ooooo

• Hard Listeners 8 years ago

Govt owes ECG more than what they are privatising it for yet are going ahead to do same. tells you point blank that there is no money in govt chest. sikadicious NDC govt

• sasy 8 years ago

smh feeling vry vry disappointed, de next step nw is to sell de whole country den we can go bak to colonial rule.simple as dat

• kofi 8 years ago

After privatizing ECG, the next to privatise is the president of Ghana. That shows the level of incompetence we are as a nation. Let the white man come back again a teach us how to govern a nation!

• NANDOS 8 years ago

DO NOT BE DISMAYED COS ALL THE DUMSOR DUMSOR WAS A PLOY. THE MAIN AGENDA WAS TO SELL ECG. NEXT WILL BE ELECTRICITY BILLS THROUGH THE ROOF MARK MY WORD

The U.S. has a state owned electricity company and has the U.S. brought back the nuclear reactor she stole from us. So the U.S. overtly deprived us of the ability to produce electricity and is coming to tell us who should use ...

• anna 8 years ago

eiiiiii ndc we said it u said no now look is this the hgana u took over sham thanks to afari djan and some of the corrupt judges

• ama 8 years ago

ECG to be privatize is a good idea.There will be competition and it will eliminate laziness from the workers.

• K. Agyei 8 years ago

I am sorry but I have to disagree with a lot of the comments here. In any of the advanced countries, the governments do not run any of the for-profit organizations. just think about it and see if you can name one govt departm ...

• SC 8 years ago

LG air conditions nd Samsung plasma TV @ a
    wholesale price 0503848000 for more
    information

• Nii Adjei 8 years ago

who is in charge of ghana?
    who decides for ghana?
    who controls ghana?
    who calls the shots for ghana?
    who owns ghana?

• Abu mc 8 years ago

Is better they sell it out because the dumso dumso is too much i will even tell my brother to also engage on that because he is one of billonaires in russia oil refinery

• truth 8 years ago

Its been long expected.our governments are puppets of the west. When is the government going to sell us all. We are waiting to be sold

• sid 8 years ago

y not parliament n.the cabinet there's nothing good coming form there better transfer the office of president to.compent once

• Chinook 8 years ago

Whether ECG for sale or privatization or what ever you may call it, it should go. Ghanians have had enough of the corruption and inefficiency of ECG and it should go. ECG should hire all the journalists in the country to lobb ...

• Chinook 8 years ago

Those who are saying that ECG should not be privatized are animals and not human beings.

• Citizen 8 years ago

Ghana need competent workers but not privatization. If so then Ghana itself must be privatize. God help us this shows that man cannot manage his affairs.

• Dominic Berchie Amankwah 8 years ago

Finally E. C. G. Is also gone ooh Ghana so we as a nation can't manage our own affairs?,All dat Dr. Kwame Nkrumah fought for has gone into drain.,This is shameful and Sad.The independent Ghana is total meaningless.

• Dominic Berchie Amankwah 8 years ago

Very soon all state farms lands will be gone,we as a nation is heading towards Modn day slavery.

• **** 8 years ago

USA is doing more harm than good in Africa...Africans wise up cos You have been exploited for far too long by USA and the western countries. Those countries are developed with african resources..They wants nothing good for Af ...

• joe 8 years ago

They shd privatize Parliamentry seat n de presidential seat, bcose Ghanaians can't' mgt their own affairs

• Kwawo Agbemenu 8 years ago

A company that provides electricity to the country should NOT be privatized, and CERTAINLY SHOULD NOT BE OWNED BY FOREIGNERS!! The best way is to run it as businesses are run in the west: basic salary to management, no bungal ...

• Michael K. Tettevi 8 years ago

Ghana Telecom fetched $ 900 million to become VODAPHONE. Now the ball is in Haduna's own court. We wait to see if ECG will fetch $ 900 million ?

• Chris 8 years ago

Oh God save Ghana from bad governance ,we are finished we can,'t manage our own property