You are here: HomeNews2015 10 07Article 386149

‘Mahama’s free SHS is discriminatory’

Read Comments Comments (45)

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

The northern tribes are his only priority.

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Fortunately they are Ghanaians too.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Lets not beat around the bush and call a spade a spade , since the so called fake revolution of JJ we now have his legacy of the islamization of the country , tribal politics camouflaged by so called fake socialism , corrupti ...

• Abontua ooo Abontua 8 years ago

Free education means free tuition. U want Mahama to use government to money to pay for dormitory fees and food and other stuff as well? Lazy entitled Ghanaians never cease to amaze. Tuition is free if u want to go to a boardi ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Well,before some people talk they don't examine their brains well,this free education although is a good idea like anything else it has its bad side too.
    My question to this Siaw guy is,if the government begins to pay for th ...

• KWADWO NKANSA,USA 8 years ago

In the US tuition is free for all public high schools.All students across the country enjoy tuition free education as well as those in the elementary schools.I have not seen a public boarding school yet,those that exist may b ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

We r an entitlement society. That's why everybody wants n wants from the govt.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Ok I hear you.

• ADANKO 8 years ago

Mahama introduced the SHS because he found out that Akuffo Addo was gaining popularity therefore he has to do something. But my question is, "how is he going to manage it since he is taking Ghana to HIPIC?

• KWAA 8 years ago

Fact is,NDC is doing this only for political expediency,the plan isn't well thought through,they don't even have the money to implement it.But they are doing it,so NPP don't come again in 2016 and pick it up again as their pa ...

• Ibn Batuta 8 years ago

Silly academic argument. I don't. See anyone. lining up to get free education.

• Kojo 8 years ago

Cant you walk and chew gum

• MATTHEW 8 years ago

Do PPP understand piloting? Nationwide policies are not just initiated like that. It is first piloted to identify and amend the possible problems.NIH was piloted in Ashanti region for one year,where were PPP by then?

• Big mouth 8 years ago

The Nhis has not been piloted for one year, rather it has been active from January 2012- now October 2015

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

This is a ridiculous policy. Government is paying GH38 per day student and the parents are paying GH325. Is this free SHS? I don't think so. Moreover, if you have a ward in SHS and you want him /her to enjoy John Mahama's fr ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

"Perhaps this idea was suggested to John Mahama by the government special advisor on finance,agriculture and education,madam Ekua Donkor"

Lol!

• Efo Kwaaku Canada 8 years ago

You said chief adviser Akua DonkorLOL

• jan. 8 years ago

Instead of focusing on how to win the election, you are litigating. Don't you guys have better things to do than to mitigate; at the end if you don't win don't blame the government.

• sid 8 years ago

where is the free education whilst teachers are not even being paid this is Window dressing n cheap propaganda. stop toying with the nation

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

You see, this is what happens when idiots have no ideas on their own but plagiarize other people's work without proper understanding. The illiterate PNDC foolishly copied the Junior Secondary System started by Dr. Busia in th ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Get your facts right,the Junior Secondary School started during Acheampong's time with the establishment of one Experimental Junior Secondary School in each existing district in the country which started around 1977/78 acad ...

Why the president always open his hands when talking?

• Kwaku Yeboah 8 years ago

Corney, you miss the point completely. Mr Siaw is talking about covering only day students for items that are coming to both day and boarding students

• Prince. USA 8 years ago

What about the nurse's and teachers salary?

• Ali Mahama 8 years ago

Ghanaians must reject this half-baked Free SHS. Policy.Mahama thinks he is wiser than everybody. Nana Addo has a better Plan so let's give him a chance to come and help us.

• Skeptic 8 years ago

News Flash to the Progressive People's Party: Secondary School does not necessarily include housing. The free part only relates to the education process not the housing. If you want free housing as well, that is a differen ...

• DDT 8 years ago

What is discriminatory about this when those in boarding house are paying for what they use. The maintainance of their beds, light , food etc. If that is discriminatory ,then every day students will also come to boarding h ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Shame skin pain. He said with time boarding students will also enjoy it

• Essum 8 years ago

If boarders are paying the where is the free education? Tuition fee has always been free under previous governments, so where is Mahama's free education? This president thinks also Ghanaians are fools. How do you maintain the ...

• Efo Kwaaku Canada 8 years ago

So do Mahama call this free education? Ghanaians should know ndc crooks and criminals by now, schools feeding program is dead, nurses and teacher training allowances is dead, I had paid over 40 million cedis for my first year ...

• MRS. REBECCA AKUFO-ADDO 8 years ago

Kofi Asamoah Siaw is policy-developmentally sick. Good developmental policies are usually piloted. PPP simply have not vibrant policies for Ghana, period

• KYG 8 years ago

wooooowww. Wat a political brain and smart ideas. haaaahaha. is it only day students huuu pay tuition fees.haaahahahAaaaA

• brenda Emelia cobbinah 8 years ago

Noise are northers not ghanaians,n.p.p will continue to be in opposition with this foolish comments,kwasea why do you then need their vote,infact they will not vote for you .mahama all the way.is he developing kejetia for the ...

• Talook 8 years ago

Mr. Siaw This is not Akufo Addo free S H S Na Mahama own, which is progressive free (step by step /one after the other)

• KWADWO NKANSA,USA 8 years ago

I have not seen any high school student enjoying room and board in any public school in the US.Tuition is free across the board in all the country. If a parent wants educate their ward in a noerding school they do so in a pri ...

• mr amin 8 years ago

Mahama is decieving ghanians with this free shs, i think is time to send him paking 2016.

• ERICUS. 8 years ago

Common sense working. Papa Kwesi Nduom's PPP and the NPP are all the same. That is right decision gvt has taken. I'm sure the policy is here to help the poor who can not send their wards to boarding schools.And gvt said the p ...

• yahaya haki 8 years ago

ppp sec, please it is not always compulsory to comments on policies that u do not understand. Let us try to embrace good things for the benefit of mother ghana. in fact u are a disappointment to Mother Ghana.

• aaa 8 years ago

If this is so in all ouir regions then it is not discriminatory.Otherwise the Govt must correct this without fail

• Mr Shortman 8 years ago

Does Siaw really understand progressive at all?

• Nunkaawaa 8 years ago

I think the PPP does not understand what PROGRESSIVELY FREE means. This is not meant to be an event but a process.

• CONGO SPANNER 8 years ago

NDC IS USING THIS MOVE TO BUY VOTES IN THE 2016 ELECTIONS. THE PARTY WILL STILL LOSE 2016 ELECTIONS TO MAKE WAY FOR A COMPETENT LEADER .

• Duut philip 8 years ago

The government don't know what he is doing .Today students in Kintampo senior high school has been sac school fees due to lack of development and money in the schools. And almost 99.5% students failed their in WASSCE in Kinta ...

• nokor3 y3 8 years ago

3hen fa na free SHS 3koso panin b3n na oy3 ne biribaa s3 akodaa yi sei nkoaa deaa anka m3kas3 Despite group of companies mpo betumi ay3 aboro so we have ten regions in the country and you choose some three or four schools ou ...

• john mahama 8 years ago

do not be happy. this is the old vision of akuff addo.