You are here: HomeNews2015 09 22Article 383359

Duchess of Kent declared Ghana independent – Prof Mike Ocquaye

Read Comments Comments (154)

• adjei 8 years ago

how does this useless information from this he-goat help? we really have a lot of useless "academicians" in Ghana!! seriously, who cares about this?

• Zoobe-Zoobe 8 years ago

a big deal? Is he really a prof or a fake prof?

• JoEY L0nDoN 8 years ago

They all shared, same dimension of Double December Head aka Blay and co, high quality crooks. He just wanted to discredit Dr kwame Nkrumah!

• KWASI OFORI 8 years ago

My good friend nobody wants to discredit Dr Kwame Nkrumah that is simple not true but facts are facts and it ought to got it right Ghana rearl independence was initially settle in 1844 so if you are looking for someone to giv ...

• Tanga Buudog 8 years ago

Nation Wrecker in Chief Oquaye

• Barima Osei 8 years ago

Hatred, Envy, Covetousness, Pull Him Down, Outright Liars and Destroyers. these are the attributes of the matemehu bomb throwers and cocaine barons. Y3 ABR3 WO

• Omanhene 8 years ago

Thanks Prof for setting the records straight.

• John 8 years ago

Why is that whenever these GA idiots finish eating that banku and pepper the start talking shit.

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

“The declaration of the independence did not even happen at any rally grounds, it was declared in parliament by the Duchess of Kent and Nkrumah was the one that moved the motion, and also seconded by K.A Busia.

Mike Ocqu ...

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

So Busia couldn't have seconded the motion when he was against our independence.

• william 8 years ago

, SELLOUT!this skin pain politrical historian should leave Nkrumah and try to straighten his own image!Nkrumah declared ourindece. whether you like it or not!a COLONIALIST CANNOT DECLARE OUR FREEDOM, SELLOUT!

• AYIVOR, SOUTH KETA 8 years ago

Who told you Ghana is free. We now walk on the desert and struggle waste our monies to get to UK for slavery again. Nkrumah was a major liability to Ghana, we should stop all these hypocrisy. How can the UGCC call you to be t ...

• Omanhene 8 years ago

Busia was there

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

If Duchess of Kent declared Ghana independent, then what about the Queen who gave Royal Assent to the Bill for granting independence? What about Lord John Hope, the Under Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations who intr ...

• GOD SAVE GHANA 8 years ago

THE TRUTH MUST BE TOLD AND GHANAS' HISTORY IS HALF BAKE.THERE WERE OTHERS WHO HELP,PERIOD.ONE MAN SHOW.CAN YOU GUYS PLEASE GIVE US HISTORY OF UGCC.

• HONESTY 8 years ago

Thanks brother. I know you know who is writing because I have give you my name before.

I think Ghana's education needs serious overhauling and people like Prof. Ocyuaye who teach with vindictiveness removed.

I had end ...

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

You don't have to listen to this revisionist enemy within BIG FOOL Mike Ocquaye to know that he and his Mate Meho ilk are educated idiots. The Duchess of Kent's presence was prompted because the queen couldn't attend the cere ...

• Sister Souljah 8 years ago

Prof an old Ocquaye is a DEMENTED FOOL.

• BOWONDA 8 years ago

My Brother Nana Ansah,May God Bless you. I could not have written any better so I hope people are reading your comments seriously not with twisted minds! It is often said in academic research that: " The Best homage to be pai ...

• SANTA 8 years ago

KOFI ATA, HAS PROVIDED FACTUAL DETAILS TO BLUNT THE OBTUSE FLATULENCE OF THIS CREEP OCQUAYE WHOSE HATRED OF NKRUMAH KNOWS NO BOUNDS.
    BUT WHY STOOP TO DISTORTING FACTS FOR SELF-SERVING ENDS?
    OCQUAYE YOU HAVE BEEN EXPOSED, W ...

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

K A. Busia: His Politics of Demagoguery, National Disintegration and Autocracy (Part I).

Dedicated to Boye Moses, the Deputy State Security Officer, who was put in a cage and dragged through the streets of Accra in the af ...

• osei yaw - london 8 years ago

The hatred of Kwame Nkrumah by this very dim Mike Ocquaye has no bounds; and he is so dim not to know that the Duchess came to the Gold Coast as a mere carrier of the good news from the gracious Quueen that the Gold Coast, a ...

• John,Tema 8 years ago

A prisoner cannot declare himself free unless by the master,Osagyefo therefore could not have declared our independence.NDC just want to provoke the Danquah Busia group Prof ignore them.

• King 8 years ago

Founders Day should be celebrated by all that contributed immensely liberating Ghana and not just Kwame Nkrumah .He was helped by lots of prominent people and nobody wanna mention their names.Sad

• Kwame Nkrumah himself 8 years ago

John, if you say that no colonial people can declare themselves independent unless the colonial master grants it to them, please tell me who declared the American colonies independent in the late 1700s when these states attai ...

• p djamgbe 8 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah Himself, John is right. A people can only ask or fight for their independence but they can not declare themselves independent until their masters agree. If you claim America could declare their own independence ...

Djamgbe, you still don't get it. What I meant is that it was wrong for John to assert that no colonial people can attain their independence unless independence was given to them by their colonial master. I therefore cited the ...

• ME MAN NTI 8 years ago

Why are you ndc so much obssessed with Nkrumah whilst JJRawlings is still alive? Don't you have a history , principles and ideology? Madam Lucy Anning a living cpp mp of Dr Nkrumah's government is against P/NDC rule because a ...

• Teiko 8 years ago

Please define attain, cos u just used it here that america attained independence from britain. How does one attain something if not granted? Our independence was granted 10 yrs before that crook stood to be elected the prime ...

Teiko, I can't argue any further with you because the following sentence shows how ill-informed and illiterate you are:

"Hong kong got independence 100 yrs before the country was handed over to the Chinese."

Hmmmmmm!!!

• YALLEY 8 years ago

AFTER SELLING ALL THEIR LANDS AND FOOTBALL CLUB NOW THE GAMAN IS ON COURSE TO SELL OUR NATIONAL HISTORY AND HERITAGE.WAS THE DUCHESS OF KENT SOTTING THERE ONE DAY AND DECIDED OUT OF CHARITY AND PROGRESSIVENESS TO DECLARE GHAN ...

• Don Paapa 8 years ago

Say that again
    After selling all their lands they went and sold Hearts of Oak too. Now they want to rewrite Ghana history and sell it For kenkey and Shito
    Wei num?

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

MIKE OCQUAYE, JUST SHUT THE FUCK UP AGAIN NPP GANG OF LAIRS LAIRS LAIRS ALL OVER AGAIN. DR. KWAME NKRUMAH IS THE MAN THE WHOLE WORLD KNOW ABOUT THE FACTS.

• Edmund 8 years ago

Prof.,your behaviour and hatred against Kwame Nkrumah, an illustrious son of Ghana and Africa is unbelievable and indeed unfortunate. It's disgraceful and despicable to say the least. It's really sorry for you to be so he'll ...

• Joshua 8 years ago

So, Prof. Mike Ocquaye want to tell us there was no declaration of Independence by Nkrumah at the polo grounds where Nkrumah was flagged by Kojo Botsio,K.A.Gbedema,Krobo Edusei and Archie Casely-Hayford? Prof. pLease don't di ...

We need bogus professors like these like a bullet in the head.Hopeless bunch!

• Okunka 8 years ago

Edmund, you are digressing from the real issue. The issue is, is the Prof right or wrong?

• John Ocquaye 8 years ago

Mike Ocquaye is a BIG TIME DISGRACE to Ghana.
    Disgraceful history professor.

• Nana Malik 8 years ago

I am Kwame Nkrumahs disciple, but this is not an emotional issue, its academic. Lets stop this emotional reaction to Ocquayes assertion. If any of you have an alternate fact, state it and stop this stupid insults. And this st ...

• Asamoah 8 years ago

He is old enough to be your father,please show some respect . You may disagree with him but don't insult. What is bothering my mind is of what use has who declare our independence got to do with our development agenda. I want ...

• Atia 8 years ago

But what he said doesn't make sense so we should keep quiet because his age. Professors don't talk like food vendors

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Book long. That's all he is. I guess he wants to please his masters then he should apply to b a subject of the queen. I prefer to b a citizen.

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Professor Mike Ocquaye, please correct yourself.

• LAST DON 8 years ago

When people like you claim to be men but have no balls.....

When you claimed to be an energy expert but Ghana never benefited from your expertise apart from eating yafu yafu..from the state account. Remember your deeds whe ...

• Tibaa 8 years ago

Have you lost your mind, Mr. Professor? So your argument is that, out of the blue, without any protest, without any acclamation from the good people of the Gold Coast, without Nkrumah's brilliant agitation, and without all th ...

• Leslie 8 years ago

In his mad ambition to be life President of Africa without a Vice, Kwame Nkrumah gave the Presidents of Guinea and Mali 10 million pounds each for them to support him while Ghanaians were living in shanty towns and slums. Tha ...

• Osei Kofi 8 years ago

Another slave of wrong thinking and a gullible victim of local and foreign propaganda.

• Martin/PA 8 years ago

He only became a tyrant because of snitches like Dr Busia and his mate mehu distractors.

• Osei Kofi 8 years ago

The good professor is trying very hard to distort history and this has become the lot of the mate mehu gangs.

The formalities which took place in parliament were as a result of Nkrumah calling for independence now instead ...

• kush 8 years ago

Shut up Ocquaye. We are all know you and your NPP hate Nkrumah and are very jealous of his achievement hence your colaboration with the CIA to overthrow him.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

I'm not a supporter of Nkrumah and I don't even support that holiday for him but whatever happened in parliament was just a mere formality in parliament,a symbolic to my understanding but it was Kwame Nkrumah surrounded by hi ...

• Daniel-Faith 8 years ago

Hey, Corney, you have said it all.

What is the beef of this so called Prof. that he and his group hate Dr Nkrumah so much. Where was him and his group when Dr Nkrumah and Dr Ako-Adjei stood on their ground and told the Bri ...

• Peace 8 years ago

The fact is, truth stands and falsehood falls. No matter how hard you attempt to twist the truth and deceive others, it cannot be erased in the minds of those who know it.

• ///////////////// 8 years ago

JEALOUSY WILL KILL THIS MAN ONE DAY.

• EGYA BLAY 8 years ago

Lazy Professor! Where is he source of your information? At this modern, globalised and technology environment, he was not even able to cite a single source. What a shame!!! If such lazy so-called educated elite can be in poli ...

The fact is that if the Dutches of Kent came with a letter from the Queen that Ghana should be granted independence that can not become a reality if the bill is not tabled and voted for in the Gold Coast parliament. Thus Kwam ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

The truth is that Busia and Danquah did not want the British to hand over Gold Coast to Kwame Nkrumah.Danquah sees Nkrumah as a poor guy from ordinary background.Mr Ocquaye must give us the actual date and the name of the so ...

• James Dadzie 8 years ago

Declaration or no Declaration who is the single most important person who must be credited with Ghana's independence? Who in the world doesn't know it is the great Nkrumah.What is this confused professor talking about?

• Joe 8 years ago

This confused professor needs mental evaluation.

• Agbedefu 8 years ago

I just don’t understand these academicians who throw their weight around in ignorance. What is the value of this information? What purpose does it serve?
    We study relevant history to build the future but its all about pett ...

• Smart Alec 8 years ago

All you on this thread are dimwits.

Why attack the messenger? Looks like most of you were Young Pioneers and thus aren't even trained to THINK.

Screw the prof if he is lying, and of course quote your sources.

Most of ...

• darius99 8 years ago

Come on ...

• jb 8 years ago

Nkrumah is the father of ghana, period !

• jb 8 years ago

Some of the professors in ghana should be audited. Nigeria professor.

• Alhaji Yousif Ahmed 8 years ago

Thank you Prof.Those literates,illiterates should take notes . He who knows not ,and knows not that he knows not is a fool.They don't know and and they don't know that they don't know. Pro tell them

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Prof.Mike Ocquaye is a disgraced to the Ghanaian academia.What is the name of the Duchess of Kent who declared independence for the Gold Coast?Was it the Duchess of Kent who struggled for the independence for the Gold Coaster ...

• WHATEVER! 8 years ago

WHO CARES???????????

• AG 8 years ago

MY GOD, IS THIS AN ISSUE THAT WILL SERVE ANY ECONOMIC INTEREST? PROF I BELIEVE YOU CAN SHARE MORE POSITIVES THAN THIS. SORRY

• chief Vandal 8 years ago

I know this man is fool and a thief( STOLE MONEY AT THE gHANA hIGH cOMMISION IN iNDIA) but I did not know he was also very stupid .What is his point?

• vl 8 years ago

ok, Professor, what's your point? one thing the professor is missing is that: we claimed our independence,it was not awarded to us. I am educated too, but at times I hate educated people because their thinking is stuck in the ...

• STEVE 8 years ago

Prof. Mike Ocquaye is wrong in some sense. The fact that the Duchess of Kent was in Ghana to represent the Queen does not mean she did the declaration. She was in Ghana according to right and form, and she just represented th ...

• Okunka 8 years ago

You are telling lies. First of all, there was no TV in Ghana at that time. Secondly, Legon was not built by Nkrumah. Legon was built in 1948 so it could not have been built by Nkrumah.

• Azumanu 8 years ago

Dude, There was no TV in 1957! GBC TV inaugurated in 1964.

• BEN, US 8 years ago

The sour loser /naughty prof. again. Failing to acknowledge credit where credit is due.

• Nun 8 years ago

You are a disgrace to academia and history. There is no argument we had independence from Britain. The Duchess declared independence because he represented the British government. However, the independence was 'won' before th ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 8 years ago

BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, BARRISTER-AT LAW, QCL, PLC, DPA, CPA, BA (HONS) {GHANA}, MASTER OF LAWS (LLM) {NEW YORK, USA} PENDING, MEMBER, INTERNATIONAL (WORLD/GLOBAL) BAR ASSOCIATION, MEMBER, COMMONWEALTH LAWYERS ASSOCIATION, ASSO ...

• asem 8 years ago

Only yesterday you were the toast of the pe0ple for blasting judges today they call you hegoat fake prof etc. You see the ghanaian

• Ben, U.S. 8 years ago

SOUR LOSERS REFUSING TO GIVE CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE!

The British government wouldn't have jailed Nkrumah for a year if they had planned to hand over power to him on a silver platter. Ghana's history can't be altered s ...

• Ateks 8 years ago

One can only pity those who were or are his students.

• JC 8 years ago

And so now 'the cat has come out of the bag'. The Polo grounds event which people have so much noise about was only an announcement and a festive occasion. And so far we can only pat our backs with politics of enmity, lies, n ...

• Samuel Intiful 8 years ago

Did the Duchesss pay him for such honour he bestows on her?It is such posionous thoughts, that reveal his lack of academic integrity. His bitterness and hatred is so caustic..I hope he recognises that his mother is female.

• akpatsebiakpa 8 years ago

You wait for someone to come and tell you the house that you built is now yours. The pinnacle of stupidity and ass licking

• AFROMETRICS 8 years ago

JUDAS ..JUDAS

• AFROMETRICS 8 years ago

IDIOT..BASTARD JUDAS

• Names 8 years ago

As far as we know in our history books Dr Kwame Nkrumah was the one who declared independence and nobody can erase that fact..if politicians like you have sacrificed just like Nkrumah did,Ghana would have been far better than ...

• Kweku 8 years ago

Difficult work for Mike?!

• Sarfo Kantanka 8 years ago

Its nonsense anyway u should spend your energy on something beneficial to Ghana like Nkrumah did and stop this booklong good for nothing lectures

• Harry 8 years ago

look at this confused man.

nothing to talk about.

the Duchess of Kent declared Ghana independent and so what?

food on the table?
    development?
    or you stop throwing the bombs.

• coolmann 8 years ago

whire man release you, but you never release your self.

• Haile Selaise Mengistus III 8 years ago

Dr. Kofi Abrefa Busia could not have seconded Dr. Kwame Nkrumah's motion in then Gold Coast Parliament for the declaration of Independence of the Gold Coast ( now Ghana ) because by then Dr. Busia and the UP were vehemently o ...

So typical. The Nkrumah supporters just pour insults on anyone who corrects their "made up" history.
    Just go to the Hansard of 5 March 1957 and check.
    Don't falsify history. Nkrumah is not and will never be a GOD

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

No one claims Nkrumah is God. It is simply the apogee of one's recognition that most Ghanaians, at least, culturally, accord the person with accolades and titles to set him or her apart. Folks who even chant 'Nkrumah never d ...

• KOFI ELLISON 8 years ago

I totally disagree with Prof. Ocquaye on his claim; but what you have written confirms Prof' Ocquaye's contention that Ghanaians NEED to study their history. Professor Ocquaye is just splitting hairs.

If you had studied y ...

Of course, Dr. Ellison, you'd approve your own message. But more seriously, I think your version makes most sense. It is very important that we knew and understood how UP came into being and why Nkrumah's Administration bann ...

• Haile Selaise Mengistus III 8 years ago

While Dr. Kwame Nkrumah was calling for " Independence Now " Dr. Danquah, Kofi Abrefa Busia, ex-President Kuffour and the " Mateme ho UP " were calling for " Independence in the near possible future " which implied that the G ...

• My Opinon 8 years ago

Haile Salaise, you are a stupid ignorant. What's Kuffour got to do in this? Do you know how old Kuffour was in 1956/57 ? Kwasia like you, you don't even know what you are talking about and you are here arguing with the Prof ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

This old man and his hate for the CPP and Osagyefo Dr. Nkrumah.

• James Arhin 8 years ago

Perhaps this stupid professor wants us to change the world DECLARATION.What about crediting Nkrumah with ATTAINMENT of Independence which is even more appropriate? This confused professor needs mental evaluation.

• STEVE 8 years ago

It seems you are ignorant about Legon. Legon was not built in 1948. Universty of Ghana was established at where currently GIMPA is. Legon was built by Nkrumah, and the Universty was moved to Legon after Ghana had independence ...

Kwame Nkrumah invented the continent of Africa he created it from the sea
    .now lets all get a life

• SOS 8 years ago

Pointless information - The independent of Ghana is meaningless unless ii is linked with the total liberation of the African mind.

• Togbe 8 years ago

Why is GH failing everywhere. Look at de kind of professor we have. Useless prof know, all u are to small to distort history.

• francis 8 years ago

Is this professor sick or what. Why does the NPP always tries to doctrinate any. thing done by the grate Nkrumah. why all this FALSE teaching, why are you trying to throw dust into our eyes. what prove from which book is he t ...

• KOOBAAH. 8 years ago

MIKE ARE YOU A REAL HISTORIAN OR PERSONAL HATRED? WHERE WERE YOU THEN? HOW OLD WERE YOU?IF YOU TAKE YOURSELF AS PROF.AND YOU SAY THIS,THEN I THINK YOU PERSONALLY YOU HATE OSAGYEFO/AND AT THE SAMETIME ME AS NOT PROF.KNOW BETTE ...

• Agyemang Asante 8 years ago

This is bigous .

• Frederick 8 years ago

from since we started celebrating this holiday we have not got this things like this or this information like this, then why prof?. and now wat is happening here . eeeeei Hmmm and is obvious to here

• SANTA 8 years ago

OCQUAYE HAS A VIRULENT HATRED FOR EVERYTHING KWAME NKRUMAH, BUT TRY AS HE WILL, HE CAN NEVER CHANGE HISTORY THROUGH HIS REVISIONIST AND BIASED LENSES.
    WHO SHALL REMEMBER OCQUAYE?

• Mohammed 8 years ago

And so what, indeed! This lousy professor seems to have a obsession with anything Kwame Nkrumah. The Osagyefo is such a colossus in African and World Politics,that it doesnt take antics a jealous professor and his reactionary ...

• QED 8 years ago

Ghana and Gold Coast history, prof, have been told different from the truth by ideological influence of our illiterate class that scholars like you find it very disturbing to liston. Even the BIG SIX, other Coastal Chiefs, As ...

• Xxx 8 years ago

Come to Liverpool museum and see the fact for yourselves. Believe it or not, prof assertion is the truth.

• BEN, US 8 years ago

Why Liverpool? Come to Ghana. Prof is a joke.

• sanjay 8 years ago

Monopause, if Dr.Nkrumah didn't become a president will the Queen sent somebody to come and announced our independence? why did she send somebody to come and announce before Nkrumah became president?

• sanjay 8 years ago

Now it is clearly Npp are always fooling themselves, they always want to take wat doesn't belongs to them thinking mother Ghana belongs to them. it a shame to hear a whole professor talking like a class pupil

• Y M Hardi 8 years ago

This political historians who manipulate the history to suit their selfish interest should give us a break

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

And so what? What are we going to benefit from this aah professor go find something better and do and stop this cheap hatred for Nkrumah.

• Awuradebasa 8 years ago

Let's write that KRU Francis Ngoromba out of Ghanaians mind.
    He was a COMMUNIST,a WICKED and a KILLER

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

Funny professor Ocquaye, it is time that you give us break with this harboured hatred been exhibited now. Do not allow your past hatred for Nkrumah drive you today into accident.

Ok, the dutchess of kent declared Ghana's i ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 8 years ago

SO CREATE A HOLIDAY FOR DUCHESS OF KENT,,,YOU OLD FART

• Asempa 8 years ago

What a joke! As if the princess had a choice. Dream on; maybe your party Npp can ask the princess to declare a new voter's register!

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 8 years ago

The usual Danquah-Busia-Dombo KWASEASEM.

NPP JIMIFUO KUO! NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY!

• Jay 8 years ago

You are not a very smart individual for making such a statement. Nkrumah who the NPP hated with a passion for his breakaway is the only reason such a statement would be made by you an NPP Man. Nkrumah fought and won independe ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

WHETHER IT WAS DUTCHES OF KENT OR KWAME NKRUMAH THAT DECLARED INDEPENDENCE OF GHANA IN 1957,MAY I KNOW FROM THIS FOLK THE ECONOMIC CONTRIBUTIONS THE SO CALLED EDUCATED WITH BIG DEGREE TITLES HAVE DONE FO THE NATION AFTER NKRU ...

• Mondo 8 years ago

Is this one named Ocquaye a prof indeed what an apology of his claim and qualification. Does our independence rest on the tongues of others other than Ghanaians? Fools

• fidelity 8 years ago

Ocquaye you are not an educated person.

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

This garbage out is precisely the problem with Ghana's classroom educated but ignorant bunch when they say illogical stuff for public consumption. Prof Ocquaye should explain this:

If a person is arrested and charged with ...

Very good, that prof is useless.I must correct you on one point.The act of union between England AND Scotland was signed in 1707 to become Great Britain.USA got their independence from Great Britain not England.

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

OCQUAYE,IS IT NOT A SHAME FOR YOU TO HOLD A PROFESSOR TITLE IN LAW AND HISTORY,AND FOR THE STATE OF GHANA TO BE DECLARED AS HEAVILY INDEPTED POOR COUNTRY IN THE WORLD IN YOUR TIME AS A CABINET MEMBER IN KUFFOURS CORRUPT REGIM ...

• DAGADOO,NY,NY 8 years ago

Oh come on.what the heck is this dumb ass of a professor saying.Has he been sleeping all this while? Since when has he known this?
    So full of mischief and confusion.
    Some professor indeed!

• abe 8 years ago

Fellow citizens,we cannot distort history. Lets stop the petty insults and disect the statement well enough so we can educate our children on facts. Pls petty politics is distroying this country.

• Kontomire 8 years ago

Instead of this Prof finding ways to solve Ghana's problems,
    He rather digging into a bottomless pit what kind of prof is that

• Ibn Batuta 8 years ago

And so what???!!!!

• Chuck 8 years ago

From the English point of view!

• madugu 8 years ago

This stupid Oldman cannot rewrite Ghana history again. He is blinded by his political believes

• Bamfo 8 years ago

Such are the reason we are where we are. spitting pure lies and malice wont win you elections. Your grandchildren are looking after u behave.

• Augusco Boy 8 years ago

Why is Ghana full of so many IDIOTS, especially people who claim to have so much education? If Mike Ocquaye will stop for a minute to listen to himself, he would realize that this statement about who declared Ghana's independ ...

• Ataa OT---USA 8 years ago

Prof Mike Oquaye::Pls tell us who told Ghanaians and the whole wide world that Ghanaians were free at last from the old Polo Grounds? The Ablade Kent and all that crap were just went through the motions. These mati-mihu peop ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah was not with UGCC when Ghana attained Independence in March, 1957.He worked for the UGCC as a General secretary between 1947 to 1949 where he founded his own party the CPP.Out of the Big 6 of famous 1948 riot,on ...

Oyiwa! Tell the all-knowing Professor that. How would he take that approach to hair-split the achievements of our past Leaders?

In effect, what you are pointing out is that once out of the team, if it finally wins a Cup, ...

• KAKANKO 8 years ago

I DISAGRee. WE ALL HAVE SEEN THE PIC OF NKRUMA AND the big 5 guys pronouced
    our independence on 6 march 1957. so why distort this history

• Ataa 8 years ago

What at all is this clown looking for? Anytime we celebrate Founders day he has one rubbish or the other to spew. He is just fighting so that Ghanaians can accord them also some credit. These NPP guys started destabilizing ac ...

• Ablekuma 2003 8 years ago

Yes,the Prof. is correct. The facts and processes always seem to be lost in the narratives.

• Etweba 8 years ago

A typical okay professor.
    Yes Oquaye or whatever, so what.
    You and me were not there . So why say it like you saw it.
    Awam professor, don't stop taking your amnesia medicine else you will forget your name

• Asafo Kwame Sowah 8 years ago

History cannot be re-written. Whoever gave the green light we care less. The film of the Polo Grounds declaration is available. At least Nkrumah had the previledge to inform Ghanains. Who prevented the others from being at th ...

• Ataabi 8 years ago

People are destroyed for lack of knowledge(Hosea 4:6)
    Freedom comes from the knowledge of the truth (John 8:32).The Professor may be wrong or right. Ghanaians must be like the Bereans (Acts. 17:10-11). Do some research. You ...

• John hubert 8 years ago

Ghanaians know the truth . Prof OQuaye is naive for a so called professor.

• Cash 8 years ago

Let us change the name of Ghana to the Republic of Kwame Nkrumah.

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

With the modern technology of internet,we can find out facts for ourselves.The Duchess of Kent,Princess Marina visited Ghana in 1957 purposely to celebrate the independence with us and to deliver the good will message from Qu ...

• Ga Royal 8 years ago

You are a BIG Foooollll To insult Ga's

• Teiko 8 years ago

Too Know!!!! and So What!!!!!!! All these so called learned people in Ghana, Still we going backwards! Very Sad. I stop here, will not waste time on such so called book long fools, so many abound in Ghana/Africa.

We all know that he who wields the Power reserves the right to declare freedom to his or her subordinates. But our Freedom did not come free, nor was it voluntarily declared to us. We wrestled it from the British, whether or ...

I meant to say:
    "How DOES This Little 'Error' Really Matter?"

• whayo 7 years ago

Why is this moronic Prof trying to distort history. You have tried many times to give credit to those who do not deserve it. Whatever you say, Nkrumah still remain the founder of Ghana.
    Foolish Prof

• registered independent 8 years ago

Why so much jealousy towards the only visionary leader Ghana has ever had?.YOU CAN NOT ERASE what this patriot did for Ghana,africa and the black race from the minds of honest and right thinking Ghanaians.GET A LIFE AND EXAMI ...

The truth is that apart from the USA, all the other former colonies of Britain got their independence through a peaceful process. Now, the process always begins in the British Parliament and the British Parliament used to pas ...