Founder’s Day: Let’s reflect on Nkrumah’s life – Gov’t

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Thomas 8 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah was unique

• NDC TOPMAN 8 years ago

FROM 2017, IT WILL BE FOUNDERS' DAY

• LAST DON 8 years ago

The irresponsible Hen leaves its kids at the mercy of predators for selfishness sake and like the irresponsible parent who would hypocritically reprimand his kids in public whilst secretly; he fuels them behind the scenes to ...

• AKANIBA 8 years ago

FROM EGYPT. ANOTHER FAKE ASS NEGRO.

• HONESTY 8 years ago

You fools have to settle for useless arguments every time someone tells you to think of yourself, and children.

1. Egyptians are Arabs and Nkrumah had many black kids. How was he going to settle with a Ghanaian woman of yo ...

• don`t care © !!! 8 years ago

pls pass this on to akufo addo.. Happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting what you don’t have, rather it’s recognizing and appreciating what you do have( not all die be die or burning of markets). If someone once m ...

• BIG JOE 8 years ago

MANDELA, DR KING, KWAME NKRUMAH AND MALCOLM X WERE ALL COMMUNISTS FUNDED BY RUSSIA. THEY HATED FREEDOM AND DEMOCRACY.

THESE PEOPLE HATED WHAT AMERICA ND THE WEST STOOD FOR, WHICH FREE ENTERPRISE, DEMOCRACY AND INDIVIDUAL L ...

• HONESTY 8 years ago

It is how we have bought those ideas of free market, democracy and freedom that is a problem.

A whiteman would never exchange his brother or sister or fellow white for 20 pieces of silver( money) but a black father is re ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

BIG JOE, I hope you get over this Communist nonsense. What is Ghana, a Capitalist Country doing with Communists Red China? Begging them, and see all the Red Chinese in Ghana? Why are you guys enjoying the Red Chinese fr ...

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

#KWAME NKRUMAH ON AUTOMATION, CYBERNATION AND CYBER COMMUNICATION

When Kwame Nkrumah was talking about automation and cybernation with the aid of nuclear energy in the early sixties not very many even in the west understoo ...

• Shabi 8 years ago

If Russia and Communists hated freedom and Democracy, I wonder why they also did not trade in slaves.

If Russia and Communists hated freedom and Democracy, I wonder why they spent so much resources, men and moral commitme ...

• Shabi 8 years ago

My friend, dont bother to waste your time trying to undo all the gains of independence and justice that were made by the Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah. Any such attempt will not work. Africans are now slowly becoming awake. Many ...

• Joe 8 years ago

NDC TOP MAN is 100% right

• francis kwarteng 8 years ago

Even though more can be attributed to Nkrumah's idiologies he was more or less a selfish entity in Terms of political power.

• Artic 8 years ago

All the Osagyefo was attempting to do was to gear our mindset towards PATRIOTISM and an unflinching love love for the Ghana and Africa. Read his books and you would understand where he was coming from but unfortunately we did ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Thank you Artic.

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

And all he was doing was for you! What else did he do for himself? Reflect on the question. Now think of all the other politicians and what they have done for themselves and revise your definition of selfish.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Ghana and the world must blame UP / NPP headed by Nana Binaddo's father and Business , for terrorizing and kill of a very prominent person like Dr.Kwame Nkrumah. Shame on them.

• BIG JOE 8 years ago

DONT TRUST COMMUNISTS. MANDELA, STOKELY CARMICHAEL, MALCOLM X, PAUL ROBESON, WERE ALL COMMIES WHO HATED CAPITALISM AND DEMOCRACY. COMMIES ARE BAD PEOPLE.

• mensa 8 years ago

NKRUMAHS WAS OVER TROWED BY GHANA PEOPLE AFTER HE TRY TO BE A MUGABI STYLE DICTATOR AND HIS ARAB ALLYS BOTRAY THE MAN AND NEVER HELPED HIM, AFTER HE LOST PWOER

• IB 8 years ago

Nkrumah destroyed Ghana

• goodman 8 years ago

Thank you very much Ghana. Dr nkrumah deserve this respect.

• Okunka 8 years ago

Nkrumah is dead and gone. Let's reflect on Mahama's life. Let's think of today, because we are sinking. A person on the verge of drowning cannot afford to think of glorious days and glorious people. Its a question of surv ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

People without History have no Roots. That is why Africans are not respected elsewhere!

The USA has the President's day. You see museums all over the developed world where they bring History to life and about their gre ...

• HANS 8 years ago

WE SHALL ALWAYS WORSHIP NKRUMAH FOR SAVING US FROM IGNORANCE AND ABJECT POVERTY.THE PRESENT STATE OF GHANA ATTESTS TO THE FACT THAT WE WERE LUCKY TO HAVE BENEFITED FROM NKRUMAH'S FORESIGHT.

HIS TRAITORS, DANQUAH-BUSIA TRA ...

• BRANDY SEKYI-DJAN 8 years ago

AFRICA'S MAN OF DESTINY. NKRUMAH, THE GREATEST AFRICAN WHO EVER LIVED ON THE SURFACE OF THIS WORLD.
    HIS DETRACTORS MAY WANT TO OBLITERATE ALL THAT HE DID IN THE INTEREST OF GHANA AND AFRICA, YET WILL HE FOREVER LIVE.
    INDEED ...

• Kofi UK 8 years ago

Every Ghanaian has benefited from Dr Nkrumah's legacy and indeed the whole of Africa. It is only the ungrateful ones who rebuke him for the right things he did. The best leader to emerge from Africa.

• Yaa 8 years ago

Are we? The poor are suffering, graduates have no jobs, mentally sick are roaming on the streets, disable can only beg for their daily living, women and children are murdered on the streets often, poor parents can not feed th ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

That is why Nkrumah would be crying if the dead have anything to do with the living. How sad Nkrumah would be if he could have knowledge of what Ghana has become.

Let us see his aspirations and dreams that he dreamt of G ...

• AKT New York 8 years ago

Yaa,we are in the 21st century people don't look for job any more but they create their own job,graduate,or under graduates if you don't know Google and find out .No wonder Africa is left behind.Look around America here we ar ...

• Jacke Jones, VA 8 years ago

Jesus is the Saviour and the Messiah, not that power-hungry dictator. Nkrumah is the cause of all Ghana's problems. He inherited an economy better than South Korea and Malaysia. Because of power, be brought all these criminal ...

• Ama Ghana 8 years ago

Jake Jones or whatever you call yourself you mentioned Jesus at the start and ending up with insult and tribalism. Jesus accept people from all walks of life even sinners. Know Jesus better ok!

• Okunka 8 years ago

He was even thinking of bringing Mali and Giunea to team up with Ghana. We would have been sadled with these Islamic terrorists in Mali.

• Odanku. 8 years ago

There are dead cocroaches in your head so you need to see a psychiatrist.

• IB 8 years ago

terrorism is far far away from Islam be wise with your comments. Nkrumah destroyed our nation that is why he was overthrown. Christians are members of this terrorists groups, we ignorant beings only aim at using it as an oppo ...

• TARANTULA 8 years ago

Jacke Jones, can you please see a doctor as soon as possible?

• Artic 8 years ago

Your name even suggests how confused you are. A Ghanaian with a white man's name? You have lost your African and Black Personality. I'm sorry for you. The Osagyefo was one of the greatest African leaders in modern history.

• Shabi 8 years ago

Artic, ignore Big Joe ...... or sorry, I mean, Jack Jones (you see, he has too many monikers).

I actually doubt if he is a Black man. If by any unfortunate chance he is, the American police will deal with him sooner or la ...

• IB 8 years ago

are u saying Jesus is the creator, do you think he created himself. this is purely ignorance, the Almighty God is the saviour not Jesus

• Joe 8 years ago

Lets celebrate Jesus. Amen.

• Mr Kwabena Adjei 8 years ago

FOR KWAME NKRUMAH
    Antiquity adds nothing to probability,
    The run and lapse of time cannot engender a mutation
    In a gene of truth to a gene of lie
    In order to deny evidence.
    Reactionary onslaught and sophistry
    Cannot gat ...

• Kwaku Amoako 8 years ago

September 21st 1909 was a Tuesday therefore if he was born that date then his name should been Kwabena Nkrumah. According to research Nkrumah's real name is Kofi Nwiah, born of a Ghanaian mother and a Liberian father. He str ...

• Robert Agyemang 8 years ago

I am not surprised.They said Acheamong was a Nigerian and Rawlings a Togolese.

ROBERTO,

There is no smoke without fire. Kofi Nwiah never grew around his father. The hard working Nzema woman from Nkroful ( MADAM NYANIBA) raised him as a single mother.

• James Okine 8 years ago

Don't waste your time,SARPONG.Your father is a mossi from Bourkina Fasso.You were my neighbour.

James Okine,

You have it wrong, I am not Sarpong, I have no reason to hide my identity. My Ancestors are from Sudan, who migrated to the present day Ghana some 700 years ago.

• Albert Owusu-Ansah 8 years ago

Kwaku Amoako,kwasea.the more you rant,the more your idiocy and illiteracy becomes explicit.You don't even know that the ancestors of the people of Grain Coast also came from Sudan.Do you know Liberia was called Grain Coast be ...

Kwasea,you don't even know that the ancestors of Liberian natives(the people of Grain Coast) also came from Sudan hundreds of years before the American colonization.The more you rant,the more you expose your idiocy and illit ...

• Odanku. 8 years ago

You born of a Ghanaian mother and a bantu father.You were caught stealing and jailed for 7 years.

• AKT New York 8 years ago

Kwaku Amoaku,are you walking about Akuffu Addo a.k.a the ugly man .This description is true of Nana Addo .....
    All those you mention above have No certificate fine out ....

• Omanba 8 years ago

It's very good to say this, but my question is that are doing what your so call socialist part stood for? Nkrumah was a socialist man and he demonstrated it. You and your socialist part has come with unprecedented corruption ...

Nkrumah's prophetic sayings are lessons for African politicians today.

• michael oppong acanchawah 8 years ago

hoo! nkrumah we remember for ur afford fight u fought for ghana

• Dr Robert K Glah 8 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah is African solidarity for sustainable industrial Revolution.

• Nana Antwi 8 years ago

This government likes shifting responsibility to we the people. They should please tell us what they have decided to do to improve our lot AFTER REFLECTING on Nkrumah before telling us to do same. And that's is Leadership Nkr ...

• TEE 8 years ago

NKRUMAH NEVER DIES, MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PERFECT PEACE

• Helpten 8 years ago

Great leader

• ma hummer 8 years ago

we all think government should rather reflect and seriously think about what Osaagyefo did and ask themselves if they can even do one quarter?

• TEE 8 years ago

NKRUMAH WAS JUST BORN IN GHANA BUT HE WAS FOR AFRICA

• DIRTY WORK 8 years ago

AFTER THE INDEPENDENCE WHAT HAVE WE DONE FOR EVEN HIS FAMILY? HAVE WE EVEN KEPT WHAT HE LEFTS FOR US? WE SHOULD LEAVE HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE. NKRUMAH WILL CRY IF HE CAN COME INTO LIVE AGAIN, EVERYTHING HE LEFT IS DESTROYED BY ...

• No Tribalism 8 years ago

Lazy ndc govt this is useless holiday.... Foolish NDC party fiix the enconomy period.

• Wahab 8 years ago

Nkrumah the greatest African of all time. He saw and preached against neo-colonialism long b4 it was properly actualised on the African soil. While he must take all the credit, Mahama can never be said to be continuing his dr ...

• K'dua 8 years ago

Kulungugu bomb throwers, imperialist stooges who have now turned into acid throwers will join the likes of Ivan the Terrible or Hitler in history books.
    Kwame Nkrumah never dies!

• Yaw 8 years ago

Did I hear correctly that Kwame Nkrumah worked tirelessly to ensure freedom for oppressors?
    Who else will put up such a joke statement but Omane Boamah and his fellow loose talkers.
    You can portray or hail him (Nkrumah)as y ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

How old are you? How long ago was Nkrumah Overthrown? If you are going to make comparisons, then do so correctly. Do not compare Now Ghana to the now Kenya, Uganda, Zambia, Tanzania and others. Compare what Nkrumah di ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Yaw, no matter how you feel about Nkrumah, His name will stand tall above that of his antagonists. Nkrumah Circle bears it's proper Name again, KNUST bears it's name again and Nkrumah did not rename them, just to give you a ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

I know nothing will make you see sense and that's exactly my point.If one compares what he inherited to what he did for the country at the time when the population was under six million,it beggars belief that the likes of you ...

• ndc the bane of ghana's development! 8 years ago

Nkrumah should come and see the speed with which the ndc government is traveling with corruption and mediocrity.

• JAMES Y 8 years ago

It is an occasion worth celebrating; we must all make the most of it. Whatever his enemies have been doing to tarnish his name in death his standing flourishes; such is the man!

• Abeku Quansah Ativorgbe. 8 years ago

Nkrumah and others made sacrifices for us but Mahama and others are not making any sacrifice for tomorrow's children. Every arm of gov. is corrupt not only judiciary. The country has been hijacked, any one who try to defend t ...

• sam 8 years ago

WE SHOULD NOT FORGET IT THAT THE PEOPLE OF GHANA PUT AN END TO THE MAN RULE AFTER HE STARTED TO BE A MUGABI STYLE DICTATOR

• Fatia Helena Ritz 8 years ago

A day to be remembered by all Ghanaians for that matter each and every one of us should have a positive attitude towards Ghana .

• Jonas 8 years ago

I do not know the reason why people are still complaining about the founder's day? If u are saying that, is not Dr. Nkrumah alone fought for da Ghana's independence thus true but who was the leader then? So now, how will u ca ...

• W.o asempa, kintampo 8 years ago

thank you MR president for recognizing the good works of osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah. may God richly bless you and your government.

• George O.Appau--Virginia, USA 8 years ago

When is the ruling National Democratic party going to tell Ghanaians the truth? As a matter of fact this government is the worst in Ghanaian history since independence. Mr president tell your men to stop throwing dust into th ...

• Sammy yao adadivor 8 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah alone isn't a founding father in our country and he can't the were six people who became a testament of dedication passion and will power fought and toil with their blood before the mission was accomplished... M ...

• Ghana must know. 8 years ago

Dr. Omane Boamah noted that President John Dramani Mahama has through hard work, perseverance, tolerance and patriotic zeal, recaptured the vision to transform the structure of the Ghanaian economy. What's this man talking ab ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

That's all it is.If we want to emulate the enormous contributions of Nkrumah, we must stop plundering state coffers.The talk talk is mere lip service.

• IB 8 years ago

if u read pure history u will never applaud our founder more than once

• Aryiku Nartey 8 years ago

I doff my hat for you my TRUE son of Africa. The star of Africa and Ghana wI'll never forget you. You established you name NKRUMAH without doubt. You have set a very high standard which till date, none of those leader s who h ...

• goodman 8 years ago

Thank you very much Ghana. Dr nkrumah deserve this respect.

• BBC 8 years ago

Doctor Kwame Nkrumah, Ghanaians SALUTE You!!!

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

TO THE SO CALLED DOMBO-BUSIA DANQUAH TRADITION.

WHEN SHALL THE NATION CELEBERATE THE BAD WORKS OF THESE ANTAGONISTS AND ANTI-ELEMENTS.

NKRUMAH LEFT BEHIND ONE OTHE GREATEST POLITICAL HISTORY FOR THE PEOPLE OF GHANA AND ...

• chief 8 years ago

This is a political decision that has set this country on a collision course. The country currently is not united in this political quest for the significance of this day that is suppose to bring us together. Politicians will ...

• michael oppong acanchawah 8 years ago

we still remember someone who is dead and gone ghanaians cant we think about what is ahead of us ghanaians our leaders are destroying country and graduate are not getting any work to do, disable one's also beg for food for li ...