You are here: HomeNews2015 09 21Article 383035

Ghana marks 106th birthday of Dr. Kwame Nkrumah

Read Comments Comments (123)

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

Our Nana Addo ugly Who art in Ghana Loser be your name Thy defeat come again Your free education be done by NDC As it is in your promise Give us this day our all die be die plan And forgive us our supreme court verdict As we ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

We won't forget what he taught us. Nation first before individuals

• AKANIBA 8 years ago

HE TALKS BLACK BUT COULD'T MARRY A STRONG BLACK WOMAN.

• Benoit Kalala 8 years ago

He transformed Ghana's education system and educated millions of my generation.

• AKANIBA 8 years ago

HE DIDN'T DO A SHIT. HE IS THE REASON GHANA IS FUCK UP

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

Lazy monkeys....

• don`t care © !!! 8 years ago

Hmmmmmm! miss you & your foresight!!!

• Apraku 8 years ago

Great man with great ideas, l was n't born during that time but read a lot about this great African leader whose legacy will always live on forever.

Notwithstanding we don't have to forget those gentlemen with whom he stru ...

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 8 years ago

REMEMBERING THIS GREAT AND NOBLE AFRICAN:
    WE WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER DR KWAME NKRUMAH BECAUSE:

1)Unlike many African graduates living abroad,upon graduation, you returned to your native land Ghana to
    serve your country.

• mensa 8 years ago

WHEN HE STARTED TO BE MUGABI STYLE DICTATOR

• Patapaa 8 years ago

Bad leadership in Ghana was started by Nkrumah. In fact all our problems started with him. Nkrumah was a dictator and very ambitious. He introduced one party rule in Ghana and made himself life president. He was neither carin ...

• HANS 8 years ago

YOU SEEM TO BE BRAINWASHED BY THE 1966 TRAITORS. YOU SHOULD BE GRATEFUL FOR MAKING IT POSSIBLE FOR YOU TO EXPRESS YOURSELF TODAY. GHANA IS FUCK UP TODAY BECAUSE OF THE FOLLY OF BUSIA AND AFRIFA.

• Nana Ansah 8 years ago

#KWAME NKRUMAH ON AUTOMATION, CYBERNATION AND CYBER COMMUNICATION
    When Kwame Nkrumah was talking about automation and cybernation with the aid of nuclear energy in the early sixties not very many even in the west understood ...

• francis kwarteng 8 years ago

Nkrumah is dead and gone, he did almost everything right apart from his idea of becoming a life president, dictatorship, primitive Kankan-Nyame Voodoo and the Nsawan life imprisonment detention.

• AKANIBA 8 years ago

HE IS THE REASON WHY GHANA IS FUCK UP

• kwabena ohemeng,london 8 years ago

Even you cannot write good englsh and you are insulting Osagyefo.What is Ghana 'is fuck' up.You cannot even string up a simple past tense.Next time write 'Ghana is 'fucked' up.What is 'fuck' up? YOU ARE A TOTAL DISGRACE!!!!.

• AKANIBA 8 years ago

WHAT DOES ENGLISH GOT TO DO WITH IT. YOU MUST HAVE LOW SELF ESTEEM TO THIS WRITING ENGLISH IS SOMETHING GREAT. IF A WHITE CAN WRITE YOUR LANGUAGE, U WOULDN'T COMMENT ABOUT IT

• UP 8 years ago

It took a white man to come to Gold Coast to teach you how to write Akan in your own language. What the hell was your great great great great grandfather doing in 1820? Stick your nonsense up your fucking arse!

• ANABA 8 years ago

I CONCUR!!!WICKED ,POWER DRUNK DICTATOR.

• HANS 8 years ago

MAY BE YOU WERE NOT ALIVE DURING THE DAYS OF NKRUMAH. YOU SHOULD NOTE THAT NKRUMAH WAS NOT A DICTATOR. NKRUMAH WAS FAR AHEAD OF HIS PEERS AND HE INSISTED THAT THE BEST SHOULD BE DONE FOR HIS MOTHERLAND, GHANA. IT IS HI INSIST ...

• mensa 8 years ago

STOP THE DENIAL BROTHER HE WAS OVERTRW BY GHANA PEOPLE BEACUSE OF HIM TURNING INTO A DICTAOR

Please stop impersonating Francis Kwarteng, author of "Ghanaweb Readers On Nkrumah’s Political Vision and Solar Energy Prophecy."

Remember Nkrumah is"Africa's Man of the Millennium," "A Universal Man," "The Greatest Afri ...

• Palmwine Tapper 8 years ago

OFUI! that's what your evil slave masters say. Primitive idiot, don't you have a brain of your own? Go back to your primitive backward world where no one have brain of their own. OFUI!

U are afool. Crawl back in ur borehole u hear. Idiot

• Kwaku Amoako 8 years ago

September 21st 1909 COULD NOT BE THE BIrth date of a Kwame. in the Kwa clan of West Africa , Kwame is a male born on saturday and so a male born on the 21 st September 1909 should have been called Kwabena. GO FGURE the actu ...

• Ad WA b 8 years ago

If you say Nkrumah was a dictator den he did Dat due to the circumstances Dat surround him Dat time, if you have a president who's aim was just to develop his continent not only just his country been opposed left right cente ...

• Afoakwah Baptist 8 years ago

Oh what a wonderful prayer may this be done AMEN

• Nicholas G 8 years ago

Blasphemy of the Lord's prayer is the worst mind mare u want u and your descendants to suffer

• Ashante Ewe Man 8 years ago

Kofi Nima where in US do u know ? Have u ever rent a single room before? U are KAYAKAYA SON

• The Mask 8 years ago

In January when the assembly of heads of state of the AU convenes I believe there ought to be stronger focus on the issues at stake.

• APOSTLE ELIJAR 8 years ago

HELLO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH, YOU'VE GONE TOO SOON. WE MISS YOU A LOT AND I KNOW THAT YOU ARE NOT RESTING WELL BECAUSE OF THE MESS THE LEADERS DESTROYING YOUR VISION.

• KanyeEast 8 years ago

Mark my words, Kufuor will be quiet, Akufo-Addo will be afraid to speak Nkrumah's name, and the Asantehene will definitely be tongue-tied. Happy Birthday, the Great African, Osagyefo!

• AKANIBA 8 years ago

WHO CARE ABOUT NKRUMAH. HE COULD EVEN MARRIED HIS OWN BLACK WOMAN, YET HE WAS PREACHING ABOUT BLACK, BLACK.

• OBIBINI 8 years ago

That is why the police will always beat people like Akaniba.Apart from being nation wreckers they are tribalists ever ready to sell the nation to the imperialists.Even dogs acknowledge the greatness of OSAGYEFO.

• mensah 8 years ago

He married an African.

• mensah 8 years ago

He married an African.

• MR TRULY TRULY 8 years ago

You still fight over old history whiles the white people find ways to work together in building their societies. What you said is a shame so look in the mirror every day to pray for peace & happiness among Africans in particu ...

• Abeku Quansah Ativorgbe. 8 years ago

They sacrificed for the people living today but today's people do not want to sacrifice for the children of tomorrow.

• Ghana man 8 years ago

ink ghana has become how we r today bcos the big 6 could not agree to disagree, so political oponents became great biter enemies the UGCC n the CPP became serious enemies after independence so we could not depend on ourselve ...

• JONES 8 years ago

IF GHANA STILL HAVE SUCH LEADERS CORRUPTION WILL NOT HAVE BEEN AT THIS LEVEL TODAY. GHANAIAN YOUTH WILL HAVE BEEN BETTER OF TODAY. LOOK AT THE SHOOLS, INDUSTRIES AND DEVELOPMENTS THAT DR, NKRUMAH DID NO LEADER AVE ANY VISION ...

• Hostage Negotiator 8 years ago

The greatest African to ever live.You are a quintessential of good leadership in the world.I pray that your brainchild 'Science City' comes to fruition very soon in Africa.Happy birthday to you.We love you and always will.

• Useless mahama 8 years ago

The guy is fucking dead, get over it. So you bring the economy down by celebrating his birthday.

I've never heard Great Britain celebrating Winston Churchill's birthday before.

• Artic 8 years ago

President's Day- USA= holiday

• ANABA 8 years ago

WHAAAAAAT?WHAT DO YOU SMOKE?

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

This fawning attitude by a section of Ghanaians towards Kwame Nkrumah is simply barmy and nauseating.For how long will this lunacy go on?Nkrumah is no saint and Nkrumahism,whatever that means,is dead....Ghana must move on !

• OMANBA 8 years ago

It is because you fail to see and reason.Had it not been Osagyefo you will still be a slave of the imperialists.

• Ambrose Jones(pen name) 8 years ago

DEAD AND LIVE BUT NOT DEAD AND GONE. HIS WORDS WERE THE FOUNDATION OF OUR MASION THIS FAR.
    REST IN PEACE THE NATION'S FATHER.

• HAWA YAKUBU 8 years ago

May your soul rest in perfect PEACE founding father of Ghana.

• Aj 8 years ago

Madam Hawa,I can see your love for Dr Nkrumah but at the end of the day you fail to realized that Dr Nkrumah always preach of unity among blacks.but most of your comments are hate tribal gimmick. when Dr liman who was also th ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

The idea of "one-man showmanship" by Nkrumah is why we are suffering today. Yes, that is my opinion because when he was the president, how big was the capital and what did he do rather than trying foolishly to unite the secon ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

Everything about Nkrumah was fake:

His name was fake.

His title was fake.

His independence was fake.

His marriage was fake.

His friendship was fake.

His continental unity was fake.

And his date of birth i ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

BY , DR. SAS, ATTORNEY AT LAW
    READ:
    "....Biological sciences affirm the notion that all humankind are equal, and that exposure to knowledge and culture accounts for why some are more inclined than others to achieve greatn ...

• Kwamebeba 8 years ago

Like most Africans our birth dates are fake because we lacked family members with the llteracy to reckon our real date of births but Osagyefo rectified this by making literacy a common thing so that SAS's family members got t ...

• Sam 8 years ago

Tell SAS, his so-called father"s birth certificate[1896] was fake. Can he prove that his grandparents registered his father"s birth with the Gold Coast Birth and Death registry within 42 days of his birth ? He can piss off wi ...

• GOLD COAST 8 years ago

This fool was taken(naked,barefooted and with distended stomach)from his parents' village farm(against their protestation) - to be educated at a GET school(where he learnt how to use cutlery), UCC and Legon - all because of N ...

• Kwabena Ohemeng,london 8 years ago

Pericles did you live under Osagyefo's presidency or you are one of those reading about him from books and jumping to absurd conclusions?The BBC voted Osagyefo as the greatest politician of the 20th century and that sums all ...

• Aj 8 years ago

Kwabena,to your own words the BBC voted for Dr Osagyefo as the greatest in African and yet they perpetuate his overthrow.even awarding kotoka a statue of bronz shape man of him kotoka.doesn't end there they force Ghana to nam ...

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Despite his many developmental efforts, Nkrumah's 9-year reign was marred by tyranny that was surpassed only by conman Rawlings.In addition,his lack of economic management coupled with his ambitious overspending left Ghana ba ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 8 years ago

Even the imperialsts acknowledge the good work Osagyefo did for Ghana.And you expect Osagyefo to have dined and wined with political criminals like Busia,Obetsebi Lamptey and others who out of love for power were killing and ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 8 years ago

All those Nkrumah arrested and detained deserved to be arrested and jailed.They were throwing bombs killing innocent ghanaians and destabilizing the nation.America which critcised Osagyefo has detained its'enemies' in Guantan ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 8 years ago

I prefer tyranny and development any day to JA Kufuor's corruption and pillaging. Just think about it my friend how China and Singapore came to be what they are today.

• GENERAL MARCUS-GARVEY-ASIA. 8 years ago

NKWASIAFUO,STUP A FUCK UP FOOLS> AND STOP INSULT OUR BLACK HERO.MONI TWAASINI.

• Palmwine Tapper 8 years ago

GH still WEEPS for their Greatest Loss in History! The evil party of Abrefa Busia, Akuffo Addo, JB Dankwah and few greedy, CORRUPT soldiers who were paid mere $500 each overthrew one of the greatest leaders of the World with ...

It's a shame that Dr. Nkrumah's own brainchild, the CPP, is in a political doldrums, as the party is stuck in the past with no prospects of playing any meaningful role in contemporary Ghana politics. A party that was founded ...

• KOTOTOTO 8 years ago

WHO CARES ABOUT THE BIRTHDATE OF A TYRANT AND DICTATOR. THIS NKRUMAH GUY WASTED GHANA'S RESOURCES TO PURSUE HIS OWN SELFISH DREAM OF BECOMING THE PRESIDENT OF UNITED STATES OF AFRICA. NOT TO MENTION THE UNLAWFUL IMPRISONENT O ...

• Milton 8 years ago

Seeing so many negative comments here about the great Nkrumah shows how intellectually deprived, shortsighted, unappreciative and hypocritical Ghanaians are. Nkrumah's legacy shall never be outlived or surpassed by none of hi ...

What a disgrace to mention Dr. Nkrumah's achievement in the same breath as the most corrupt leader in our history, John Agyekum Kufuor. And you have the audacity to call Ghanaians hypocritical and intellectually deprived. Who ...

• Balderash 8 years ago

NDC used IMF to enslave us but they want to associate with Nkrumah. Traitors. NDC is even more capitalistic than NPP. Don't tarnish the image of Nkrumah because you don't follow Nkrumah.

• gasser 8 years ago

Ashantes and the aAkyem are still doing the same fucckking shiiit

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Was it not the same (P)NDC lead by the insane and murderous Jerry Rawlings that overthrew an Nkrumahists party in power. They only invoked Nkrumah and dragged along the hungry CPP politicians when they needed their votes in 1 ...

Had it not been his selflessness towards emancipation. These fools trolling ghanaweb insulting Dr. Nkrumah will still be calling white man massa! What he did for ghanaians and the black rqce can't be repaid and only weak bitc ...

• ANABA 8 years ago

BECAUSE RAWLINGS IS STILL ALIVE AND KICKING,I DONT BELIEVE IN WITCH CRAFT ELSE THIS MURDERER SHOULD BE 6 feet UNDER BY NOW

• Ibn Adam : CanadasheabutterGhUWR 8 years ago

RIP _ YOU WERE REALLY AN APOSTLE , WHY SO SOON

NO LEADER IN AFRICA & GHANA CAN EVER OUTWIT YOU

• VINCENT ASANTE 8 years ago

2 DAY IS MY BIRTHDAY

• DUMSOR 8 years ago

tHE HOLIDAY IS NOT IMPORTANT

• Michael K. Tettevi 8 years ago

From grace to grass.

• wahala 8 years ago

ARE YOU THERE? MAHAMA WHAT ARE YOU DOING FOR GHANA TO BE REMEMBERED AT 100? DUMSOR PRESIDENT;;;

• Nanabanyin 8 years ago

May your soul rest in perfect peace. Those of us who believe in you will live your vision and make it reality for the betterment of MOTHER GHANA

• Prof. Alhaji Awuni Dauda 8 years ago

This self-glorified tyrant should count his blessings that he was not shattered into little pieces in Kulumbugu. And yet Atta Mills and his cohorts continued to worship him.

Thank Godness that he went and never will have ...

• woyowoyo 8 years ago

i appreciate the invaluable contribution of Osagyefo Nkrumah to the nation.However i dont think a poor country like Ghana has to embark on a national holiday to celebrate his holiday.You can celebrate his birthday by organisi ...

• Moses Konotey 8 years ago

Honour is given to the those honour is due. Indeed you are a great man. May God keep your soul save in his care.

• adenkyekyd 8 years ago

Nkruma was man of action. Today marks his birthday as Ghanaians marking the day, we have to mark of problem solved day. We could use the day to open big completed projects like factories he built but collapsed like Nsawam can ...

• kk 8 years ago

A great African and a true Ghanaian,a patriotic ghanian.

come back and see how yr country is in mess. what yu left for them they coudnt handle it.

• Pk 8 years ago

Why do we always want to live on our past glory as a nation instead of moving forward. He has played his part and gone what abt us. Let us as individuals think of what we can do for this beautiful nation now and let us stop d ...

• Robert Kaiser 8 years ago

Happy birthday to you rip

• Masahudu Musah 8 years ago

Birthday when one is no more you still add years to his years why Ghana ?Though he has done a lot for Ghana,but that does not means you should fool Ghanaians and spoil heavy amount of money.Remember Nkrumah is not the only pr ...

• Akora 8 years ago

Australians and New zealanders celebrate ANZAC day, as a holiday for the dead Soldiers. They also celebrate the Queens birthday as members of the commonwealth.Turkey celebrate Mustafa Kemal Day.He died in 1938.They even call ...

• Linda 8 years ago

Fuck anyone who envy NKRUMAH. he is the real man, we wish he still alive.

• Asunafo 8 years ago

Check out Nkrumah's suit

• ebony 8 years ago

happy beleted birthday osaggyefo we will always remember ur good deals and ur etiquette. May God bless u

• Adams Ganibu 8 years ago

May God bless him where ever the soul is

• Atoapoma Abransamadu 8 years ago

What is the need for this yearly celebration? It is a complete waste of time and the country's meagre resources! The money and time could have been used for something better for our communities!

• UP 8 years ago

Your parents said the same bullshit when the Akosombo dam,Tema Harbour etc were being built.USA citizens gets a holiday on Martin Luther King Jr"s birthday.Go and put concrete on the Sahara Desert! Soms of Traitors! We are s ...

• QED 8 years ago

No difference GHANAIANS working 5 days a week or more. THEY ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING FRUITFUL BESIDE SINKING THE ECONOMY, STEALING THE NATIONAL WEALTH AND IMPOVERISHING 24 MILLION GHANAIANS. HAD IT BEEN IN CHINA, KOREA, VIETNAM ...

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

We always not forget you you let our nation strong and unity ,we celibrate your birthday and may God bless you and oman Ghana.

• Agyemang Antwi Stephen Shepherd 8 years ago

We thank God for such a wonderful leader. Our current leaders should emulate from him.

• Agyemang Antwi Stephen Shepherd 8 years ago

Ghanaians should be proud of this noble man of africa. And we should learn his good works.

• KING 8 years ago

WE LOVE YOU PAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA. NKRUMAH YOU ARE THE BEST, WE WISH THE WHOLE MONTH WILL BE GIVE TO YOU AS HOLIDAY BASED ON YOUR ACHIEVEMENT

• ama 8 years ago

Kwame nkrumah never dies,Africa unite

• QED 8 years ago

He is remembered for the sad condition of today when he misled us from BETTER CONDITIONS OF GOOD GOVERNANCE (COLONIAL RULE) to CAT-AND-DOG politics. THE BIG QUESTION IS: ARE WE BETTTER-OFF THAN WHITE-RULE OR WORSE-OFF?
    Thoug ...

• Hostage Negotiator 8 years ago

Do you think the Whites do not have problems such as corruption? Shed off this mental deficiency and if you like 'unblack' yourself and join the whites.

• QED 8 years ago

If you accept your mistakes, you CAN correct yourself. If not, and mathematically blunt, you live with ignorance to show it. IF BLACKMAN HAS 0.00000001%=10 TO THE POWER NEGATIVE 6 of WHITE PERFECTION TO LIVE WITH,which I pray ...

Silly Cow! Did Dr Frimpong Boateng,born to a sefwi mother and Asante father in poverty use a laptop when he went to school? We are worse off because of the narrow-mindedness,selfishness and pure hatred exhibited by Afrifa,Kot ...

• QED 8 years ago

Did Dr.Frimpong Manso and myself highly educated, lawyers, doctors, give comfortable living to 24 million TOILING Ghananains, unemployed graduates youth, and saved 1000 Ghanaians swept to the Sea, burnt at Circle Gas Station ...

Opposing views never ever comes in the shape of bombs,unless you are a UP.NLM fanatic. Terrorists always ends up in jail.By the way,you have proven your Idiocy. Dr Frimpong Boateng not Dr Frimpong Manso! Hence your gross stup ...

• QED 8 years ago

Kofi, stay where you are. It is good for u, primate chimp!!!. Banana is not hard to find from the jungle. What led to 1956 CPP/NLM FIGHT in Kumasi? Did ANY NLM member attack CPP member in Accra, Cape Coast, Takoradi,Tamale,Ho ...

You are personification of a brainless twat.So far,you have not said anything sensible that proves you belong to that human race.Giving the circumstances surrounding your birth, you can only excel yourself in foolishness.

• QED 8 years ago

You chose Dr.Frimpong Boateng as the most learned man in Ghana. That is correct. I chose Dr. Frimpong Manso as a product of CPP IDEOLOGICAL LEADER of Ashanti Young Pioneer Movement and Asiedu Nketia, the most learned men in G ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

I was only 12 years in 1966 when Nkrumah was ousted from power.I was so young I could not tell the difference between a good leader and a bad leader but we were told that Nkrumah is more than the devil himself.We celebrated ...

Dear BOY KFI,

God bless you too.

Thanks.

• Unjust 8 years ago

Really we are having problems and you talking about Nkrumah are you serious?Citizens are now taking the law in thier own hands,because they no longer believe in the law of the land.Thieves are being killed because individuals ...

• ???-Dede(the real deal) 8 years ago

18 September 1909 is date of birth

• Kenneth washato 8 years ago

God bless Ghana

• Ben 8 years ago

Nkrumah was not born on 21/09/1909 Elst his real name would be KWABENA not KWAME. Please refer to a calendar.

• Ebo Yawson 8 years ago

Is good to observed such great Hero like Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah date of birth as a Nation for the legacy HE lead to us, as a people, The founder of our dear Nation, an educationalist, a Freedom fighter, Hard working man ...

• ERICUS 8 years ago

@@ Kwaku Amoaku, what you're making a point, he could be Kwabena or Kwabla as you said. My father who was born Kofi decided to write Koku as his name saying he don't like the name Kofi. So it could be same as our Dr. Kwame Nk ...

• pablo 8 years ago

If KWAME NKRUMAH were to see the state of africa today, I think he would faint

• Agbeli Kumordzi 8 years ago

That Nana Akuffo Addo is a joke
    Even his own village don't have good drinking and toilet what can that short man do for Ghana

• Serwa 8 years ago

Stop talking nonesense. Nkrumah built Tema and Takoradi Habours how many years ago? He built Akosombo and COCOA PROCESSING how many years ago? He built universities and industries. He built the Amotor Way andd for decades, we ...

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 8 years ago

Dr Kwame Nkrumah was a great man and a great leader but he was not the founder of Ghana. He and others renamed the Gold Coast Colony as GHANA in recognition of the Empire of Ghana. It is true that his father was a Liberian an ...

• Nexty, London 8 years ago

Yes we all on point Kwame Nkrumah got us independence. The question is why a public holiday. This week alone, Ghana has 2 holidays. The nxt one is on thursday (24/09/13). Is just a joke. All these holidays then y'all complain ...

• Kwame( USA.) 8 years ago

Long live Dr Kwame Nkrumah of Africa, The founder of OAU.He was a great leader of Africa believe that.Let me quote what he said,quote and quote, Ghana's Independence is meaningless unless it is linked up with the total libera ...

• ****((((((****** 8 years ago

DEAD TYRANT BUT WORTHLESS NIGGERS
    IN GHANA WILL.MMOA MMA.TWEAAAAAAAPUUUITA
    KWAME NKRUMAH HAS MURDERED PREGNANT WOMEN(ONLY GA) WOMEN FOR HIS WORTHLESS KANKAN NYAME.BRITISH GOV LEFT KWAME NKRUMAH 600 MILLION POUND STERLING.T ...