You are here: HomeNews2015 09 16Article 382104

Ghana’s Cedi now “a joke” – Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (113)

• kpata 8 years ago

The cedi is NOT the only currency dropping against the dollar, go check it out and stop the nonsense. Even Obama have no control over the dollar so check some facts

• Yaovi 8 years ago

why do NDC want to run away from this truth? with oil production, Ghana is HIPC again

• The Mentor 8 years ago

Sweet!

Nuff Respect Bajan.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/09/15/jamaica-ganja-deal/

JAMAICA – Ganja deal

Canadian-based company to develop products in Jamaica

Added by Barbados Today on September 15, 2015.

Sav ...

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENSA 8 years ago

SHORT DIVISIVE AKYEM MAN AND HIS ETHNOCENTRIC FAMILY AND FRIENDS LIKE NANA YAW OSAFO-MARFO AND RABID TRIBAL FOLLOWERS WILL DIVIDE GHANA ALONG TRIBAL LINES BY AKYEM, ASHANTI, GA, FANTE, DAGOMBA. THEY WILL REMOVE VOLTA REGION F ...

• don`t care !!! 8 years ago

hmmm!Akufo-Addo you sound more than a joker...you have not & `ve never suggest tangible solution 2 any of the national issues..so what makes you think you will do better than the incumbent...party lever you earning poor marks ...

• don`t care !!! 8 years ago

party lever you[[are]] earning poor marks..Hmmm!not 2 talk of national lever...

• CASSIER 8 years ago

HOW MANY SUGGESTIONS DO U WANT AGAIN FROM THIS MAN, NDC AND MAHAMA ARE JUST INCOMPETENT.

• JOHN MAHAMA'S BROTHER 8 years ago

AKUFFO ADDO KNOWS NOTHING! NPP ALWAYS BLAMING HIS EXCELLENCY JDM! YOUR FAKE PASTORS ARE ALSO A MAJOR PART OF THE PROBLEM! A RESPECTED NPP EXECUTIVE (SO WE HEAR) IS GOING TO EXPOSE THE FAKE PASTORS TOO, THROUGH A MOVIE BY UK-B ...

• kpata 8 years ago

what oil? how many barrels do we produce? Am not part of your politics stuff rather saying the truth bro, I don't belong to any stupid Ghanaian party but Akuffo Addo is just politicking to say that

• Menno 8 years ago

U talk like this cos u are selfish.. Think about the country as a whole. 3b in 3yr for oil revenue wasnt enough now u beg imf for 960m. Arent u ashamed. Now imf tells us how to live our life. Think

• Dessie 8 years ago

IF GHANA RECEIVE 3BILLION OIL REVENUE THEN WHY DO WE SEEK IMF..walking ,isinformation machines

• AMB 8 years ago

Stupid idiot. Do you know the world market price of the oil? At this price level are we even covering loud cost? How about Cocoa? The price is also almost at ban all time low. With this kind of low revenue from our major sour ...

• AMB 8 years ago

Comment meant for Yaovi and not Kpata. Sorry

• Humanity 8 years ago

Accepting mediocrity is Africa's downfall. I am amazed at how some Ghanaians reason. shame
    "Often one blame's external forces for the deficiencies & difficulties in one's life, when at proper inspection, it is from within"

• Dessie 8 years ago

Ghana oil production is just a peanut..besides, the oil is not for Ghana..go ask facts from K4

• yaw 8 years ago

He will never be president that is the
    truth

• Dr. J 8 years ago

How match it's a barrel of oil? Of cocoa? Of gold? So stop this nonsense. Do you know USA debt now? In the trillions, so please come again!

• JUDAS THE BETRAYAL 8 years ago

U killed ur master to overtake presidency see how you mess up with the economy" FOOLISH GUY you no fit be president u better go compete mr ibu or agya koo bcuz u re total comedian"stinky dead goat" gyimi gyimii

• KWAME KPODO 8 years ago

KPATAPA, EVEN IF NDC OR MAHAMA IS FOUND ON TOP OF YOUR MOTHER RAPING HER, YOU WILL STILL VOTE FOR NDC. GHANA IS BEING RAPED BY NDC AND ALL YOU CAN THINK OF IS INSULTING AKUFO ADDO.

Sweet!

Nuff Respect Bajan.

JAMAICA – Ganja deal

Sav ...

Sweet!

Nuff Respect Bajan.

JAMAICA – Ganja deal

Sav ...

U killed ur master to overtake presidency see how you mess up with the economy" FOOLISH GUY you no fit be president u better go compete mr ibu or agya koo bcuz u re total comedian"stinky dead goat" gyimi gyimii

• KWAME KPODO 8 years ago

KPATAPA, EVEN IF NDC OR MAHAMA IS FOUND ON TOP OF YOUR MOTHER RAPING HER, YOU WILL STILL VOTE FOR NDC. GHANA IS BEING RAPED BY NDC AND ALL YOU CAN THINK OF IS INSULTING AKUFO ADDO.

• kanewoo 8 years ago

Wo maame twe,Mahama is better than the wee smoker,kwasia like that.

• MUKARFA 8 years ago

@ IF OBAMA HAS NO CONTROL OVER THE DOLLAR,THEN WE SHOULD SIT DOWN FOR THE CEDI TOO TO DROP INTO OBLIVION...YOU REALLY MUST BE AN IDIOT.
    ITS A PITY FOOLS LIKE YOU ARE ONLY IN THE NDC AND NOT IN ANY OTHER POLITICAL PARTY IN GH ...

• PRINZY@BONN-Germany 8 years ago

Under Mahama Ndc gov't watch Ghanaians are continuing getting POORER & Poorer as the cost of living gets higher and higher. Doctors are not paid, NHIS is collaps, Dumsor killin Businesses. Oil, Cocoa, Timber & Gold revenue al ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Nana Binaddo Buhari isn't a problem to only the Ashanti/ Akyem tribal Npp party, but for Ghana as whole. When President Mahama busily fixing our economy and putting plans to put an end to our power crisis, Nana Binaddo roamin ...

• Humanity 8 years ago

Are you for real? One can understand why AFRICA is so poor. shame!

• HANS 8 years ago

NPP UNDER KUFOUR INSTITUTIONIZED CORRUPTION IN GHANA. THE PRESIDENT OFFICE WAS THE CORRUPTION COORDINATION CENTRE . KUFOUR HIMSELF WAS QUOTED SAYING CORRUPTION STARTED FROM THE DAYS OF ADAM THUS ENCOURAGING GHANAIANS TO INDUL ...

• Marko 8 years ago

learn the proper language structure

• HONESTY 8 years ago

This man thinks we are all naive. At least, if you did not incite your people against having a consensus when the national forum was organised, we would have gotten to somewhere.
    Ghana can never achieve any meaningful result ...

• JoEY L0nDoN 8 years ago

Bro the next hot Banku is on me anytime,anyday amen.

He is just a headless chicken flapping about trying to gain conciousness but in reality he is dead. He is of as much use to Ghana as a "condom" with a hole it.

• Joseph Abugri 8 years ago

Ghana has always been indebted. Think about real things you can do to build Ghana.

• Menno 8 years ago

You are very stupid to say that. Must we continue to be in debt? How donu jump from 9b debt to a whoppin 95b in jx 6yrs. Arent u ashamed ? You want Akuffo Addo to advise Mahama, poor u. By the way whats your level of educatio ...

• Nii 8 years ago

Menno, the problem is that k4' govt wasn't using 70% of revenue to pay for the salaries of about 600000 government employees under the killer single spine salary structure. Almost 79%Bro. Govt has other responsibilities that ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

I believe most of the people supporting other parties blaming the government don't check economic facts before the comment on the economy

• JoEY L0nDoN 8 years ago

They even know better than you and i.Just a bunch of crooks,hypocritical beings.

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Every Tom, Dick and Nana thinks he can solve the country's problems. This is - invariably - all we heard in the past, pre-elections.

• Skains 8 years ago

Okay, Lawyer Economist Akuffo Addo, tell Ghanaians or explain to them how to fix the problems about the cedi and how to create youth employment, among others. Don't just talk about these problems. Even an elementary school ...

• Menno 8 years ago

Whats your level of education?

• DESTROYERS PARTY N D C 8 years ago

Qfui do expect an opposition to solve the problems of DEAD GOAT?If he can't solve the problems why he can't he go away and leave GHANA ALONE.

• Majesty 8 years ago

Nana where are the jobs Mr. Kufour created for the youth, you always boost about? Where did they go, huh? Tell us what you can do better and how because Mr Kufour government did not create any job for the youth, graduates and ...

• ASANTE NKAE 8 years ago

WHY WASTING TIME ON THOSE CRIMINAL JUDGES ? THEY MUST FACE DEATH SENTENCE EACH BY HANGING OR STONING THEY ARE THREAT TO FREEDOM AND JUSTICE SOCIETY DON'T NEED THEM

• Ataa 8 years ago

So this man has no sense in his head? Is it not only a stupid person would continue to do the same thing and expect different results? Akuffo Addo tells us what you will do differently and stop this useless and foolish populi ...

• Menno 8 years ago

So you expect Akuffo Addo to bring his policies to your presidents table and tell him how to do things? Whats your level of education?

• AZIZ LONDON HEATHROW 8 years ago

Why can't you just retire and be a good statesman

• A.B.Y 8 years ago

Aziz, tell your father to retire from having sex with your Mom. Fuck you.

• Agbee 8 years ago

A.B.Y,this is not about who can insult most. It is about logical reasoning.
    "..... an NPP government is Ghana’s surest bet to return the country onto the path of progress and prosperity, a path which President John Agyekum ...

He can compete with mr ibu or agya koo....comedy is his profession he has no idea of presidency" foolish man"you killed to gain power now see you mess up economy,,stinky dead goat.

• HAWA YAKUBU 8 years ago

Ghana cedi is a joke because no drug deals ugly man.

• Odeneho KD new York 8 years ago

Hello where are the NDC communication agents after Ghana has been declared as a HIPC country. This communication agents should come out to give us explanation why Ghana is HIPC.I think Dr.Mammoud Bawumia did not come to throw ...

• Agbee 8 years ago

"..... an NPP government is Ghana’s surest bet to return the country onto the path of progress and prosperity, a path which President John Agyekum Kufuor put Ghana onto before the NPP exited office in January 2009." These w ...

• Menno 8 years ago

Ok.. So what have u achieved in your life in this last 6yrs ? I am sure u work for sum1.. Get ur own business and battle the economy then u will understand.

• Nkwantabisa 8 years ago

Some people are ignorance, they don't actually know what is going on in this world. The man is telling the truth, about the falling of our cedi.Every day the cedi is going down and this NDC government cannot do anything to br ...

• Yaw Ghana.... 8 years ago

Please, Npp and Akuuf, stop being so negative. Stop your constant doomsday prophesies. Shame in you.

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

Sweet!

Nuff Respect Bajan.

JAMAICA – Ganja deal

Sav ...

• adasa 8 years ago

I don't like how Nana does his campaign. How can the ordinary Ghanaian understand that the cedi is a joke. Or he think it is the businessmen alone going to vote. He should go and learn how to communicate persuasively from soc ...

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

It is one thing using state resources to bribe your way to become president and quite another having the brains to govern successfully....as buffoon Mahama has now realised to his chagrin !

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Sir, everybody knows that. What we want you to tell us is what you will do about it. If you go around saying we are suffering I'm sorry it's no campaign message. If you want your campaign message to be the failures of NDC th ...

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

He has no message , he is now a liability to the Ghanaian society

• Ashitey 8 years ago

A very stupid nonsense. Because you obtained weak third class, you have not sense to crosscheck your rubbish. The cedi is not the only currency that is weak against the dollar. You are a foolish useless old man. Go fuck your ...

• Sam 8 years ago

Health issue and opportunity
    Get approved quality health product and prevent yourself from the following chronic sicknesses and disease

Are you suffering from Cancer? prostrate and breast cancer, skin cancer, cancer in ...

• Sarah 8 years ago

Master don't u know redenomination of de cedi devalued de currency, the work of NPP, and no one should be blamed for it. There was no need for that in de first place but kufour thought he was smart ..? However, NDC is just we ...

• Menno 8 years ago

I will say no harsh words cos u are a woman. Do u know how business was wen the cedi was stronger than the dollar. How do u think it will feel now if 1$ is equal to 1cedi? U see the NdC couldnt manage this.

Brain dead man! A strong currency can be maintained by a strong value-added export,And that is not the case in Ghana. How can a $48 billion economy have a currency with the same parity as an $18 trillion economy? In other wor ...

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

So I Marvell, as do many Ghanaians about how Dr. Bawumia is accurate on his economic forecast of our nation. The man is indeed an economic wizard! He has never failed even once, in analysis and forecast. Yet, anytime he makes ...

• Godwin Agot- Gbewaa College 8 years ago

No wonder u keep dreaming. Instead of spending precious time telling people what u will do to fix the identified problems u spend all time blaming and attacking NDC. Politics of irrelevance

• Kodjo 8 years ago

Always spewing negatives. Sad and angry old man!!!

• Menno 8 years ago

U tell us if those negatives are lies. U r a sad hypnotized young man. Who doesnt care abt the state of the economy.

• Kodjo 8 years ago

Twat,, do you hear any other opposition leaders around the world constantly talking down their economies at every opportunity. Ghana is doing well, Mahama is making mistakes along the way but Ghama is NOT a basket case. Your ...

• Choman Daboya 8 years ago

in fact people are fooling in Ghana papa. Upon all this mess Manama and his administration is causing us,some ppl still back him! !.is high time we start thinking big US Akufo Addo is urging us.long live Ghana long live our n ...

• gyan 8 years ago

Mahama's era is the best. Mr. Nana will worsen the case he is not having magic wand. Nana is rather a joker.

• tweea 8 years ago

Evil man you are rather a joke.

• joe 8 years ago

opposition for life

• Yaovi 8 years ago

dumsor for life

• sevenn 8 years ago

NPP/NDC is a joke...

• George-U.S.A. 8 years ago

Ghana's democratic voting pattern is a serious problem for national development. The NPP/NDC Party mentality is the one problem plunging the nation into a deep trench. NDC Volta, and NPP Ashanti is the Ghanas disease. Ashan ...

• efo 8 years ago

that stupid guy mahama is gay that is why Ghanaian are suffering like that . Nana God bless u

• summerday 8 years ago

those who still defends Mahama at this time should recall the state of Ghana 3yrs ago and they will realise we are getting somewhere. U'll then realise that u are sinning against the incoming generation,our children,our young ...

• Agbesi 8 years ago

some of the NDC boys will graduate and will wish there was even an enemy president called Kuffour that will provide them National Youth Employment programme to prevent their life from becoming miserable. Pls practice politics ...

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

Joke started with your fathers when they connive to overthrow Nkrumah and you have the audacity to spew nonsense

• Akyemafia 8 years ago

Nana doesn't know teee ee about economics or law. He is a fake lawyer, without law education because he was thrown out of Oxford for unruly behaviour and which obviously truncated his law education and therefore, he has no la ...

Nana Akuffo Addo what about the Japanese, Chinese, Nigerian and others currencies which are hundreds and thousands to the dollar as the Cedi used to be before the currency was reprinted by Kufuor.

• Joe 8 years ago

Ghana Cedis is worthless more than a toilet ,and those who criticize the truth shame on you. I noticed that Ghana economy never healthy the manner it was portrayed even before MAHAMA came to office due to total depend on i ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Ghana Cedis is worthless more than a toilet ,and those who now criticizing the truth shame on you. I noticed that Ghana economy never been healthy the manner it was portrayed even before MAHAMA came to office due to total ...

• W.o asempa, kintampo 8 years ago

Nana you look like a comedian anytime you stand on a platform to talk. continue to entertain ghanaianas 2016 is just by the corner.

• Kwadwo 8 years ago

Honesty, what's the end results, even though, Akuffo Addo incited npp not to attend like you're claiming, those who went; what's the achievement now or better still what's the progress now?

• HONESTY 8 years ago

And if everyone was to work and bring their ideas on board instead of sit back and sabotage, imagine what we would achieve and the future of our kids.

You people always want to follow the whiteman and yet don't know how t ...

• Herry Camara 8 years ago

He's out of his mind npp should stop their political mentality, GH is moving forward.

• kwesi nyarko 8 years ago

John mahatma has failed Ghanaians ,therefore we will surely vote him out of that office come election time

• JOHN MAHAMA'S BROTHER 8 years ago

AKUFFO ADDO ALWAYS BLAMING HIS EXCELLENCY JDM FOR NPP'S WOES! YOUR FAKE PASTORS ARE ALSO A MAJOR PART OF THE PROBLEM! A RESPECTED NPP EXECUTIVE (SO WE HEAR) IS GOING TO EXPOSE THE FAKE PASTORS TOO, THROUGH A MOVIE BY UK-BASED ...

• Senior Citizen Braunschweig Germany. 8 years ago

President Hamidu Mahama and his party NDC have already been religated to the background by their abysmal performamance,and they should brace themselves psychologically to form the opposition as a manority party in Parliament ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

NPP has no effective campaign strategy.Thank you.

• Ideology uk 8 years ago

You lost because the same problems were in the Government you were more or less the number two. Any defence to that?

• Konkonsa 8 years ago

npp is an evil cult, always doing everything impossible to derail the good course of Ghana. i pray that after your most successful defeat in 2016, all your devilish conspiracy will turn to confusion so that you expose and eat ...

• ALI 8 years ago

NDC IS ALIVE WITH VERY EFFECTIVE CAMPAINGN STRATEGY! WROTE BOY KOFI.
    YOU WILL BE A BOY FOREVER, CANNOT GROW YOU HAVE EYES BUT CANNOT SEE ! DO NOT WANT TO SEE ! BE PATRIOTIC GHANAIN AND FAIR
    THANK YOU:

• Diasporan 8 years ago

This short, ugly, tribalistic, deceitful and violent clown is the biggest "joke" in Ghana.

• Zongo T 8 years ago

nonsense

• ALLROUND 8 years ago

Akofo Addo sounds like Iddi Amin of Uganda whose finance minister once said "Ugandan money is like toilet paper" Why do Akofo Addo degrade his own currency? Is he using dollar, euro in his daily transactions. What a useless p ...

• David Mensah 8 years ago

Never be president is better than Foolish president as we have now
    I dont know why people of Volta cry
    The whole volta is Ndc. No job no money and you still give your vote to Ndc because you people hate Npp

• David Mensah 8 years ago

Kpata Nana Addo is talking about Ghana
    So go back and do your home work

• gha 8 years ago

Npp cant build the nation stupid

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

NDC have hired web commentators here always changing their names because for you not to be feeling the effect this current crippling economy has on you, you must be benefitting from part of the corruption (Gyeeda, Sada etc) w ...

• Dan Buduh 8 years ago

I just want the NPP Flagbearer to answer the question: Why did an NPP exit in January 2009?

Thank you.

• Kweku Boama 8 years ago

The GHC is not a joke. Akufo- Addo is a joke, Akufo-Addo is 'papa ajasco'. What do you expect when you politically 're-denominated the cedis for you loot!.Now you can see the riple effect on our economy. Lucky you aren't in o ...

• Komla edem 8 years ago

Check Your Records Sir, over here in USA we see GHS as the only currency which is able to appreciate agains the $. We feel Ghana economy is strong and resilient.
    All Ghanaians need to learn is to live within t your means. E ...

• Sankofa 8 years ago

Nana, you are a bigger joke!

If, for the sake of argument, you became president, you would inherit the same cedi you are running down now.

Such irresponsibility by a septuagenarian who would be our head of state.

• Stephen Opoku 8 years ago

I do agree the statement of Nana Akuffo Addo cause we re living in crisis

• AKAJATAME 8 years ago

Addo is saying what he knows so leave him.He is a joke to Ghanaians.Afoko says he is still at post Adgyapong confusion and you say you are doing raise and rebuild which people are you going round with Addo think.