You are here: HomeNews2015 09 10Article 381041

Ghana's population hits 27.9 million

Read Comments Comments (25)

• Pee 8 years ago

Now that NDC realises that a new voter registrar is in the offing he has come out to increase the population figure to justify the EC figure of more than fifty percent.
    Director remember some of us don't have short memories. ...

• John,Tema 8 years ago

The same criminal NDC activists will get these Togolese to come and register even if a new one is created.We better get the National Identification in order before we get a new register.

• ASEM 8 years ago

JUST GIVEN BIRTH WITHOUT PROPER PLANING,AFTER THAT THEY WILL GO TO ABROAD BEGGING FOR FOOD...OH AFRICA...

• Grant K 8 years ago

Let us compare the 2008 population and twent twelve thru 15 and see the difference. God bless this president. The truth shall prevail.

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

Gerrymandering is manipulating the boundaries, but in our case the population and figures to suit us. This is the same bull-crap that got us the additional useless MPs. Seriously, how did they come up with this figure of 28 m ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

Ghana tweaa!! They don't know anything. Apuu tuu.

• PAPS 8 years ago

WHY THE .9, FOOLS?
    WHY PRETEND YOU KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING?
    EDUCATED FOOLS TOO LAZY TO APPLY WHAT THEY'VE LEARNT.
    WHY NOT JUST SAY 28 MILLION?

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 8 years ago

NDC and their propaganda. There is no way Ghana's population can reach 29 million let alone additional 900 thousand. The population cannot just grow additional 4 million plus in just three years. Crooks at the helm of affairs ...

• NEVER PREZ MATERIAL. 8 years ago

THEY CAN,T REGISTER UNDER UNBORN BABIES IN ASHANTI REGION TO VOTE AGAIN.

• blueprint 8 years ago

You can make it even 100 million. We still say no to the ECOWAS register

• Tsalekpor 8 years ago

The Chief Statistician is off the mark with this comments. Ghana's population figures are ridiculous. Our population is an estimation based figures and therefore not accurate. Ghana needs a scientific based population figures ...

• APOSTLE ELIJAR 8 years ago

YOU NEED TO TELL NPP THIS SO THAT THEY CAN UPDATE THEMSELVES AND STOP MAKING UNNECESSARY NOISE.

• Hard Listeners 8 years ago

This is very strange and funny indeed. The last census conducted in 2010 was never officially declared yet you come midway to tell us that population is now 27 million so you can go ahead with your tricks of manipulating elec ...

• Freddie 8 years ago

Stop your ndc work. Only national ID can give the true figure. Is no true abah !

• kanga 8 years ago

Where is the family planning programs that was initiated in the seventies, why are all these poor folks breeding like pigs, and the government seems less concern. Ghana is too small as far as resources are concern to cater fo ...

• Freddie 8 years ago

419 maths.

This is an NDC plan to rig the election. When was this census done? We will never permit any foreigner to vote.

• JJ 8 years ago

These stupid NDC thieves think that Ghanaians are fools. Who do they think they are deceiving? Stupidity.

• KOO 8 years ago

Who can with certainty state that Ghana,s population is 27.9million?.We are still using the old methods of estimation at a time when technology can help give accurate figures.It is time to discard this nonsense.

• Nana Oben 8 years ago

The Chief Statistician is obviously trying to support Assiedu Nketia's assertion that the projected 2.7% annual population growth ALSO TRANSLATES to 2.7% increase in the number of ELIGIBLE voters, thereby validating the curr ...

• blind followers 8 years ago

He will do everything to win power greedy bastard...no wonder he kill prof Mills

• KANAWU KASABA 8 years ago

If you factor in the population growth rate and do the match, you don't even get this fabricated figure meant to assist this govt manipulate the voter register

• Yaw 8 years ago

On what basis do you measure the population of the country?
    I don't live in Ghana and yet I am being counted and it's not only me.It's the same with many people I know who are not living in the country.The figure is always q ...

• BY BYE BUY.Toronto,Canada 8 years ago

BIG PROBLEMS IN GHANA

• Kodwo 8 years ago

Am afraid if the door is open for new register we will now get about 20million in the new register.we butter think twice before we act.