You are here: HomeNews2015 09 03Article 379452

I queue to buy food at Ashesi - Patrick Awuah

Read Comments Comments (55)

• Akuffo Bawumia 8 years ago

What a simple man

• Senior Wisdom 8 years ago

In Ghana Pastor want their Bibles to be carried - FACT!! And Politicians would never join a queue - FACT!!
    This is a man brought up in the West. Will be called Myself. It is a poor country but the arrogance and corruption is ...

• kwadwo 8 years ago

Go to the Ghana Airforce(Flying) wing and you will be amazed. Pilots want airmen to carry their flight bags. No exception.

• naa 8 years ago

You are right my brother. The day of reckoning is nigh......we pray for good health.....

• aku 8 years ago

Don't wory my brother. The day of reckoning is nigh.....

• JOHN MAHAMA'S BROTHER 8 years ago

Say that again, my brother! These Fake Pastors! Anyway, FAKE PASTORS are in serious trouble because UK Christians are going to expose them big time. Watch the following youtube video.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOGk3PbFeGI

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

Why Pastors? Visit the offices of these so called "big men" and there will you see how they throw their weights around on their subordinates. A "messenger" or a "garden boy" is called by the work they do even though they have ...

• Ben 8 years ago

This guy was trained in the USA and understands personal worth of co-workers/subordinates. I see military brass, generals and admirals queuing to buy their lunches and finds it hard to understand why some Ghanaian bosses will ...

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

AVE you now come to your senses? This guy just craving for attention. Didn't you know who u were before marrying the white woman? Now, u profess to be emlightened. Massa, if I were u. I will wear chalet wotey and take trotro ...

• Asumadu 8 years ago

Good point. Queue for food and so what. Who wants to know whether you were eating konkonte or waakye and so what. Ah may3n new y3 ho. Rawlings used to sat the same bullshit. "I was eating y)k) gari as if it is not food.

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA IS BELIEVED TO HAVE 50 MAIDSERVANTS, HOUSEBOYS, CHEFS AND ASSISTANTS(LAUNDRY MEN, CÀR WASHERS, BAGGAGE CARRIERS) FOR EMPLOYED FOR HIS FAMILY. DEEP THROAT SOURCES SAYS HE AND FÀMILY EAT WITH GOLDEN CUTLÀRRI ...

• Ignorant Acheampong 8 years ago

You are very ignorant like my name.IDIOT comment.

• ELINAM 8 years ago

Seriously.
    Pretenders with NO value are all too common forcing our youths to copy their toxic and unethical behaviors instead of emulating people like Mr. Patrick Awuah.

• Aj 8 years ago

Elinam,it's the character of the so called colonial masters.the British and the French have such behavior which has ran deep to our system. it is only the Germans and the Americans who actually carry their things by themselve ...

• Nana 8 years ago

Don't shift the blame to our colonial masters its unique to only blacks bcos we lack self respect.We believe so much in segregation of humans.I remember that in Russia professors,cleaners,students all queue to buy food.

• Jj is a murderer 8 years ago

we Need people like this to lead Ghana ,not that bofoon mahama.clueless fool with no brain.

• kkk 8 years ago

the politicians and people in authority in ghana can learn from this. too much "do you know who I am"

• kwadwo 8 years ago

And most of them were trained in Europe and America.

They will not learn, my brother, especially the Fake Pastors. Anyway, FAKE PASTORS are in serious trouble because UK Christians are going to expose them big time. Watch the following youtube video.

www.youtube.com/watch?v ...

• Asumadu 8 years ago

Expose who? It serves them right. Paying these faked pastors mortgages, cars and so non all in the name of miracles. What miracle? Apuu t)) all is juju. Give us break.

• Chiefi amankwa 8 years ago

U see the society is sick

• kwadwo 8 years ago

More than sick

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

Because he had his training from the United States where unlike Ghana,even the President carries his own luggage into the plane if he is traveling.

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

This is nothing but a self glorifying publicity statement. Who told you that Americans or westerners don't have things done for them? Go and find out how many workers Donald Trump of bill Gates has? Many of these ppl have nan ...

Will the Fake Pastors learn from this simple man of substance? No, they never will! Anyway, FAKE PASTORS are in serious trouble because UK Christians are going to expose them big time. Watch the following youtube video.

• Boss 8 years ago

Who gives a shi_t?

• Kwame Omari 8 years ago

Yours is the height of primitive behaviour. When an issue comes up that everyone can learn from, you come out with such stupid remarks.

• NAAH BANZIE 8 years ago

he called himself boss, but he is the most foolish guy .

• Boss 8 years ago

Who really gives a shi_t that he queues to buy food? None of that sanctimonious nonsense matters. Do you think this fool will be blabbering his horn if he didn't queue to buy food?

Please! There are far more important issu ...

• Obodum 8 years ago

What,s more important than humility as exemplified by Mr. Awuah? Have you observed how some ghanaian bosses treat their employees? Instead of commending Mr Awuah for his example which is worthy of emulation, you resort to ins ...

• Boss 8 years ago

This is nothing to commend. It's what should be expected.

We shouldn't be commending people for doing what is normal.

His statement is trying to suggest that he's better than people than queue in line for food. Why? He ...

• truth 8 years ago

folks MUST learn from this noble man. No wonder he founded a UNIVERSITY.

• dwirantwi 8 years ago

Short sighted to enter into partnership given the cost of education - providers.

• pkirks 8 years ago

Are you better than those who queue to buy food because you are the founder of the place?

• the punisher 8 years ago

read articles and apply your common sense to understand them and stop displaying ur ignorance for all to see

• gha 8 years ago

that is what it is in America first come first serve

• B.K. 8 years ago

...and(gha,or whatever you call yourself) that is what it is not like in Ghana. Mr. Awuah is reminding Ghanaians that just becau5e you are a 'big man' does not mean that you should lord it over everyone.

• B.K. 8 years ago

Asehi above should read Ashesi.

• abenase BORGAH. 8 years ago

You wouldn't know, that man is a big man but decides to go simple.In recent university rankings, Ashesi is seen even placed ahead
    Some of the traditional one's in Gh. Am happy that this time around I didn't see any political ...

• tom 8 years ago

You are right my bro the Armed Force Regulations need amendment, its full of colonial ideas. It must be updated to suit our current trend.

• peaceful thinker 8 years ago

i tried being a humble leader in ghana too and had a terrible experience. using the bag carrying scenario, in my case when i chose to carry my own bag, everybody else threw their bags at me to carry too. Ghana is peculiar in ...

• abigee 8 years ago

Yes, you queue because of your American education. Europeans too don't jump queues no matter one's social status. The black man, that is, we are sick in the head. The more we break the rules, the more powerful we feel. Are we ...

• Patricia Wali 8 years ago

Good job Patrick! You are exemplary.Do not despair.Show all those that hard work and humility pays and keep it up.I am very proud of you!-The only Ghanaian with a big,sincere and honest heart-hard to find here where most peop ...

• Shedrach Akesse Gyeni 8 years ago

That's very true, that he queue to get his food. On the contrary, I do not permit him to follow me in the line, I just leave the queue, or allow him to lead.
    It's not fine that the hardworking Prez. should follow the queue t ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

You are wise but the President of your College does not care about that and apparently he wants to inculcate in you students the virtue of humbleness

• Nana Opoku Acheampong 8 years ago

Surely your description of Ashesi as " a private, non-profit liberal arts college " must be inaccurate as I learn Ashesi is introducing Engineering from next academic year.

• apietus 8 years ago

Patric Awuah for president

• Obibini Takyi 8 years ago

Sometimes traveling is learning and also educational, look at this honest and humble gentleman educated from u.s.a. Unlike the n.d.c idiots governing bodies who come to u.s.a every now and then but they learn nothing only cor ...

• Henry 8 years ago

I now understand. Trained in Japan and the US I always would unknowingly give excuses why I need to carry my bag from my car to the office. I remember telling a young lady it was not courteous for a lady to carry a mans bag.

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Please stop.

• snrjnr. 8 years ago

Hypocrisy

• Dr. William Acquah 8 years ago

Well done.Hope others can emulate you.I had the same problems setting up a surgical clinic in my hometown. Ghanaians are very very envious.PHD- syndrom exists.Never, never give up realising your dreams!

• Nkwantabisa, Italy. 8 years ago

He thinks that's the right thing to do, that's good of him, God bless him for that. But I think it would have been otherwise if he would have married a black woman from Ghana.

• inercycl 8 years ago

We understand your simplicity. Those paid by the state should do the same . However how does your institution get the non-profit status? I don't understand!

• Jennifer 8 years ago

I honestly don't see why this is newsworthy. So what if he stands in line for his food? Why is it such a big deal?