You are here: HomeNews2015 08 23Article 377080

Man arrested for tapping power from Mahama’s residence

Read Comments Comments (132)

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

THEY ARE ONLY HAVING A SHARE OF THE NDC GOVT CORRUPTION CAKE. FREE THEM EKROM AYEH SHI. NO JOB, NO FOOD NO ELECTRICITY

• JDM, CONQUEROR OF THE DOCTORS 8 years ago

I would have died of shock if it was not an Ashanti who did it.

• eva 8 years ago

prostitute son. adv ur foolish prez and ur ashawo mum and stop fooollling . odwan

• Nana Osei Yaw 8 years ago

Stupid fool. Give me 2 out of 10 Ashanti women who are 60 years & living with their husbands b4 calling him ashawoo child.

• NANAÖ MOTHER !!! 8 years ago

If you are an Ashanti by your name then your mother is one of them, idiot.The only way to get Power is to tapp from the president house where the domso ,domso is not effect.You see how smart the Ashanti man is? and how stupid ...

• TARANTULA 8 years ago

NANAÖ MOTHER, Correct for 9 points.

Im not an Ashanti but I admire their zeal for achievement and success. And I daresay that any non-Ashanti who does not admire that trait in the Ashanti people is just a useless man who ...

• Kofi Konadu. Kumasi. 8 years ago

Insult or no insult he is ghanaians elected president and will be ghanaians president for the next 4 years if you don't want him leave the country. Ofuii!

• Desperate for truth 8 years ago

A Nation of thieves from top down, all of you. From the Airport to the Seaport, from the Market to the Super Market, from Kokompe to the Boardroom. All of you including Civil Servants, Teacher, Doctors, Nurses, street hawkers ...

• Palava 8 years ago

Exactly but that includes your entire family members especially your mother and father.

• Desperate for truth 8 years ago

Sorry I forgot to mention you and your family. The point is all Ghanaians are corrupt naturally and that includes all Ghanaians. You included.

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

What is this GHC 902,000? This report doesn't make sense.

• The Only wise man in Ghana. 8 years ago

The man is scared of darkness and the only option he has is to tapp it from mahama's house so what is wrong with that? was it not mahama that brought this dumsor to Ghana? come on people that president is bias and idiot perio ...

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

Is it nt this northeners that fuck ur great grand parents n they gave birth to humanbeings like u , u Eva i gave u ghc 10 n fuck u at circle , idiot prostitute

• ben 8 years ago

Eva, are u really a woman, do u not know of any better insult than calling someone's mother ashawo, or is it cos you are one yourself? Show decency when talking in public.

• Sylvester Azornu 8 years ago

Please stop tribalistic attitude I'm an ewe half fanti half what is wrong with it ?? we are all one it can happen to a Ga,Akan,Northerner,ewe so please refrain urself from tribalistic comments.

• Akanba 8 years ago

There would've been tribalism is white man didn't made gold Coast. In Europe french are not tribalist to the English. Mmm they are country but in africa we called it tribe

• Kofi Ghana 8 years ago

Well said I agree with you totally, kudos, Sly

• ojah fire 8 years ago

And indeed by this time next year you will be dead you stupid bastard.

• Akanba 8 years ago

I guess ashanti is akan

Not all akans are ashantis but ashantis consider themselves superior to all other akans! Is that not true?

• Eric the icecool 8 years ago

We are wise and smart, are you scare?

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

You are still in the dark, Don't you know that you need 'numbers' to compete for survival in this world? Africans are many, but are minority every where they live because many are still in the dark.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

Here we have a a report of a most serious problem estimated to be causing a 30% loss of all power supplied to the ECG for redistribution,one reason why the govt wants to privatise it, and all you blokes can think of is to mak ...

• KOO THE BOY 8 years ago

good for him . the wise always live free.

• Saani Ahmed 8 years ago

Dead goat does not need electricity.He's already dead.

• Mahoman 8 years ago

Well said Doc.

• kwame ketewa 8 years ago

my question is was it through the president meter if so then fine but if it was through the main line then I beg the trial judge must ask questions good question

• Luther King 8 years ago

Does it matter where he tapped it from? Bottom line is illegal connection of which he pleaded guilty.

• Ali 8 years ago

I would want to tap into your mother's EBOLA ridden vagina and not pay for it, after all she is a professional prostitute. Hope you do not mind.

• Nana1 8 years ago

Ali u fuckup u are a fool kwaesa ur father chew gorro saaaa? En teeth all make brown. The whole Ghana ewes are far better than you. They are richer than u . Plus u are the poorest in ghana u work hard bring food and u price u ...

• Ali 8 years ago

Go back to school and learn to write in English and treat your mother of her vaginal EBOLA. Then I will tap into her. Bastard

• Ali 8 years ago

I would want to tap into Dr. Truth's mother's EBOLA ridden vagina. the mother is after all a professional prostitute.

• Menu Yaw 8 years ago

ask if Obama and other head of states pays electricity bill.aboa bi ba

• Potag member 8 years ago

These days it look as if the security around the first gentle man of the land has been very loose. Where are these security persons who are been paid with the tax payers money to guide the president and his entire abode? Plea ...

• Kpengson Ray 8 years ago

You can't even provide adequate protection to your President!? What a country!
    The bad nuts and terrorists are taking note of these lapses! Security agencies better wake up from your deep slumber!

• Coolio. 8 years ago

The best deterrent is some months in prison.

• AZIZ LONDON HEATHROW 8 years ago

Hahahaha hahahaha the dead goat is sleeping no wonder the guy had his way

• Iccash Vocational Training Institute 8 years ago

Any person in contact with David Dontoh should inform him that,he should fast and pray to avert any untimely death.Tnx for ur care

• nicname 8 years ago

Check your facts Lazy journalist! No one person was fined GHC 902,000. Abaah! How much is the ECG itself worth? You can do better!!

• Concerned 8 years ago

This is not lazy journalism but drunkenness. We all make mistakes but this mistake cannot be explained. With regards to the tapping of electricity, it clearly shows security is very slack. Can these guys protect IT systems an ...

• Peacemaker 8 years ago

Why all these plots against mahama? Like father like son.

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 8 years ago

Why is the man sent to court? Is the power not meant for all Ghanaians? Why should some have consistence free power whilst others are made to work and sleep in darkness.

After all what he's done is what the NDC founder Ra ...

• A C E P 8 years ago

AND SO WHAT?THIS STORY DOESN'T AND UP.NON SENSE.

• Naa - U.S.A 8 years ago

Tnk U. True, it doesn't make sense. They have to shift people's attention somewhere else now that it has come to light that the gunman is insane. All in the name of their dirty politics.

The Native English people in Britain spell it Offence.Their cousins who fled to America spell it Offense. Please choose one.

• andy 8 years ago

Stupid topic,all Ghanaian should tap their energy from Mahama's home .Ghana electricity was made to serve all Ghanaians.This goes also to the stupid Ghanaian Judges.

• Uncle Al. 8 years ago

Woye aboa papa, what nonsense is that??
    Mahama's residence is his private property he as it long before he became president so what stupidity are you t expressing here?

• George 8 years ago

Too much errors.

• PEEVE 8 years ago

And you are no better. You don't say "too much errors." Substitute "much" for "many" and we will applaud you.

• Paa 8 years ago

Yours is even worse, Peeve! It is incorrect to say 'too much errors'. But is equally incorrect to say 'Substitute "much" for "many"...'. The correct structure is 'substitute "many" for "much"'.

• kwame ketewa 8 years ago

My question is was it through the president meter?if so fine but if it was through the main line then what is the offense the trial judge must good question to his meter is he not a Ghanaian? Give him his money ECG give them ...

• fire 8 years ago

Crime is crime.it doesn't matter where he is tapping it from does all

• Kaajii 8 years ago

How can mahama caused Dumsor to deprive Ghanaians of electricity and turned around to enjoy 24/7 electricity. Double standard at its highest point. Is he Ghanaian than
    others . Tell all the stupid judges to
    release all th ...

• SEEK, BEREKUM 8 years ago

DID THE PRESIDENT CAUSE DUMSOR? NO WONDER. THE LEADERSHIP OF THE NPP IS MADE UP OF IGNORANT, UNINTELLIGENT AND NAIVE PEOPLE SO MUCH SO THAT THEY ORGANISE PRESS CONFERENCES AND LIE JUST AS THEY LIED IN THE SUPREME COURT.
    SHA ...

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

Unimaginable & unprecedented things are happening. The misery imposed by this government is too much. Most of the people see president John Mahama as the cause of the poverty and hardship in Ghana & that is why people are att ...

• Uncle Al. 8 years ago

Really? Dumb idiot.

• Adane usau 8 years ago

Senseless

• Yussif 8 years ago

Ah this story is worthless except it's meant to divert attention from all the economic challenges of this government,how was he able to do that ?how far is the guys house from that of the president?and which house re we talki ...

• Eddy 8 years ago

Good initiative from ECG to take this action to sanitize the electricity company. But we must all agree that the main enemy of the company is the its own staff. they commit serious level of criminal activities in almost all t ...

• Eric the icecool 8 years ago

Why mahama is staying in the light whiles the most prominents people are staying in the dark

• Asuoba 8 years ago

Son of ayigbe cocoa farm caretaker with Ashanti name.
    Steal fowls, now electricity.
    Ebeeee

• Nana Amarh 8 years ago

There was no need to increase tariffs if continuous illegal connections exercise is done spontaneously across the entire country. Curtailing the wastage is enough to offset any increment

• Joe 8 years ago

Our people again, is it GHC902 they are referring to or GHC902,000???

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Thief Man wey he dey steal thief man, e dey b keke !!!

• yaanom 8 years ago

Stupid story. How on earth can someone have access to d president ' s metre to tap power. Lazy journalist.

• PEEVE 8 years ago

What kind of English is this? What happens in the training process of these "journalists?"

• Abdul 8 years ago

Fire or what's your name self? If you are saying crime is a crime then what judgment should be given to John Mahama?by causing financial lost to the state,death toll rising by not satisfying doctors demand, causing damage to ...

• Love 8 years ago

Poor quality of services/electricity supply. work on the powers outages to ensure constant energy supply.
    There is always dum so! so how does the culprit get power from the president resident???

• truth 8 years ago

the guy doesn't want to get heat stroke now!

• Abington, London. 8 years ago

Let's not pat ourselves on back for catching this guy. Let's think of the security implications, our president's life and indeed his family's were serious put at risk. Supposing it was a terrorist, ok how about if the wiring ...

• OD4 8 years ago

pls let me tell u even ur stupid NDC gurus knows that Asantis are wiser than any tribe.why r u scared?

ASANTES ARE THE MOST STUPID PEOPLE.

• JH 8 years ago

OD4, Did u just said the ashantis are wise? You guys can't even speak any other language in Ghana not to mention English language... eblutorwo dzimakplaa!!!

• broken 8 years ago

some of your comment are as if u do not have parent at home how can u insult some ones mother insult the president the fact that he is the from your party should not give u the right to call him a th****f

• My Opinon 8 years ago

Who doesn't know Mahama isn't a Thief?

• Kodjo 8 years ago

You are a FOOL!! You think because you support that septuagenarian it gives you the right to call "OUR" president a thief. Ignorant, skid mark!!!

• Aden 8 years ago

Good job Mr. Pls do it all over again

• Agonaba 8 years ago

"No Former President has experienced this ordeal as a results of Dumsor"A word to the current administration is in the North.

• POOR GUY 8 years ago

Of course, in these dum dum days who wouldn't want to enjoy uninterrupted electricity like the President and his family do. Don't blame the poor guy, he was tempted by the ghost of dumdum to want a taste of what the Architect ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

I read this:

"Prince Gyimah has pleaded guilty to the offence and has been fined GHC902,000...."

Fined a whooping GHC902,000????
    Obviously there is some error there, considering we read later that the culprits were f ...

• Nokware_ Asa 8 years ago

But will any of these so-called leading
    [Ace;Senior] and what have you Journalists, think about putting their sinking house in order?

• Osei Akoto Jackson 8 years ago

Why arresting someone who thinks he is entitled to benefit from his taxes? John Mahama should also be dragged to the courts for using free electricity and other amenities without paying and still stealing from the poor taxpay ...

• akwasi ernest 8 years ago

And what happen to the money

• fanzy 8 years ago

am sure the man was tired of dumsor in his house
    hahahaha

• dad 8 years ago

hmmmmm a country where de poor is always at fault and the target.....a Perez and his ministers failed to solve de dumsor and now simeone is punished for stealing his power????de judges should also be fast to sentence politici ...

• Dzantu 8 years ago

What does the law say about enjoying state property that has been given free to another citizen? With all the huge salaries and allowances why doesn't the President pay for utilities? That is why African leaders don't want to ...

IF THE PRESIDENT DOESNT REALLY PAY FOR ELECTRICITY, THEN IT MEANS ALL OTHER PRESIDENTS HAVE ENJOYED IT. KUFUOR ALSO ENJOYED IT. WHY ARE YOU BEHAVING IN SUCH AN ETHNOCENTRIC MANNER?
    WAS THE MAN ARRESTED BECAUSE THE TAPPING H ...

• Ababio 8 years ago

is nothing is all Better Ghana Agenda. the young man is not guilty

• Ababio 8 years ago

all because of dumsoor

• Tony Lithur-NDC Create, Loot & Share 8 years ago

John Mahama, where are your other children? Just asking?

MAHAMA' S CHILDREN ARE IN YOUR MOTHER' STINKING OVERSIZED VAGINA.

• Menu Yaw 8 years ago

OVERSIZED? HABA

• Hostage Negotiator 8 years ago

Endanger deterrent.

• ANIMAL FARMER 8 years ago

So John Mahama's residence was enjoying electric power and the poor man was arrested for wanting to enjoy that same power, which he pays for every month and doesn't get it, when his taxes is used to supply it freely to John M ...

• Andelino 8 years ago

Okoto de3 ne bo dwe...

• Prince 8 years ago

What's going on in this our country? Tapping power from the president residence? This act is unhead off.

• Teiko 8 years ago

Was the power tapped from The Jubilee House? That shd be mahama's residence, If not, then what makes it exceptional? Does mahama pay bills in this country? Power to many homes are tapped so if it is to his private home then t ...

• Tamier 8 years ago

Well well we are all Ghanaians but ewes are different in every aspect which is why all the akans are scared of them.They are very sneaky,snake underground envious and dangerous tribe just look at JJ tricked and sneaked on Lim ...

• Basketmouth 8 years ago

"His Worship Kotoku fined them between GHC600 and GHC1,200. They were also asked to pay damages of Gh¢200 to the power distributor".

Is there such a thing as "His Worship"?

• Agonaba 8 years ago

Evan the British maybe stopped using that title,but our brainwashing still carries on,God have mercy.

• jon 8 years ago

well done to the electrician he did so well

• meyaa 8 years ago

Keep it up ECG.

• 7B 8 years ago

Corruption begets corruption. What is wrong bout that. Dead goat is messing up. Everything bout him is a total failure. Mahama the worse is coming because you are a FAILURE. ..

• Israel Jude 8 years ago

Stupid judge! Hope he judges well and good for damages against ECG when customers also litigate because of power outages that cause damages to their appliances

• Kumah Paul 8 years ago

hnnnnn another one security breach.

• YAW MAN 8 years ago

WAYOME,BETTY,MAHAMA,IBRAHIM,ETC GET AWAY WITH WHITE COLAR STEALING DAILY INCLUDING KUFFOUR AND RAWLLINGS ALL THIEVES

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

Akufo addo ur tactics will never work , an idiot old man

• JB Mann 8 years ago

I am wondering how Gyima entered Prez Mahama's house and tapped the wires after the electric meter.

The fact is that anything before the meter Prez Mahama is using does not 'belong' to him, but to the ECG.

If Mahama's h ...

• kwame 8 years ago

oh mahama hmmmm

• Zuri 8 years ago

NPP people are just bent on killing Mahama because certificateless & drug addicted Akuffo Addo wants to be president at all cost!

• Ghanamaa. 8 years ago

Nonsense, is the president your match?

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Tweaaaa!

• Kwesi George 8 years ago

These people will do it again.In Ghana we do not punish criminal acts so what stops them for doing the same thing again. They should pay the money and then sent to jail.Everything is upside down in Mother Ghana.

• Miss May 8 years ago

Mahama is the thief and he is the one to be arrested and charged.

• morrocco 8 years ago

an hair dressing saloon own by one ewe lady has been supplying an illegal, and looped power to about 70kiosks,even accross street, and taken about gh15from each kiosk for the past seven years with the conivance of some ECG gu ...

• morrocco 8 years ago

it is gh15.00per month for the past seven years

• QED 8 years ago

Be an Ashanti or not, only very bold and brave man could make this attempt. These are the men Ghana needs. Not Cowards who toil under stress, murdered yet they do not complain nor react. GOOD FOR MAHAMA!GHANA! All acts of ste ...

• kofi gh (USA) 8 years ago

uncle Al was Kuffour house not private? Wake up don't be stupid.

• blackstar 8 years ago

lol....

• john mahama 8 years ago

a brother of the dead goat

• Nokware_ Asa 8 years ago

“It is an exercise to endanger deterrent in the entire general public – our wings are spread all over the country now to make sure we mop up all those we think are engaged in illegal connection. This is just a tip of the ...

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

It is never good for stelling the gorvement iterms,God bless you oman.

• QED 8 years ago

WHEN THIEFMAN STEALS FROM THIEFMAN, ONLY GOD LAUGHS. Mode mo nye ayi. Obi koye ayi a, na mo nso akoye ayi.
    QED.

• Osei Menu 8 years ago

the english could take you far.electricity coporation is not a man.did the thief stole from the President?no from electricity com.,aboa ba

• sid 8 years ago

does the electric power belongs to the president? if so y should he. alone?What blood runs in his body?who.had been the cause of all these b.......l shit

• SYLVIA 8 years ago

So call Eva, I think you don't read the advice I gives you, act like a lady. Why can't you just learn to behave. Are you a dzimakpla or kplamase. Thanks

The guy needs not be punished. Mahama does not pay for the electricity, what is wrong if some else obtains some for free?

• zaro Gee 8 years ago

I think the presidents security staffs should be changed. H e could have placed a camera there to see and hear all that's been said and done . I ll have hime try that for NPP

• Kwasi 8 years ago

A village man is usually sentenced to 3 to. 6. Months or years in jail for stealing goat, and an Electricity meter thief is giving a fine. The poor man goes to jail and the urban criminal is fined.

• Debs 8 years ago

the guy get vim! Well done!

• kuku 8 years ago

SHAME ON YOU MAHAMA, YOU BROUGHT CURSE UNTO GHANA FOR RIGGING THE ELECTION

• SERENITY 8 years ago

"endanger deterrent" or ENGENDER DETERRENCE?