You are here: HomeNews2015 08 17Article 375648

Doctors’ strike: 500 dead in 17 days

Read Comments Comments (129)

• Jen b 8 years ago

God please come save mother Ghana

• HONESTY 8 years ago

The bogus demands of the doctors to intentionally ship wreck Ghana should never and ever be tolerated.

They have been killing many because of their negligence and greediness for many years.

In fact, they knew this the ...

• HONESTY 8 years ago

@@@''..The bogus demands of the doctors to intentionally ship wreck Ghana should never and ever be tolerated.

They have been killing many because of their negligence and greediness for many years.

In fact, they knew t ...

• Vero 8 years ago

Sacrificing human beings for money is evil!!
    Blood money will never make this doctors happy in life.

• USMAN 8 years ago

Go and see how Prez Mahama of Ghana has transformed Gonjaland with Ghana money just within the two and half years that he has been in power. Every town, village and hamlet in Gonjaland has received a facelift with new facilit ...

• HONESTY 8 years ago

If indeed poor Mahama has transformed Gonja, then that is a very good news.

For so long, we have been unfair in the way we distributed the wealth of the nation.

The north was completely neglected for donkey years to o ...

• YAAWA AYARARMA. 8 years ago

STUPIDMAN LIKE YOU WHO TOLD YOU THAT,YOU ARE AN ASHANTI GO AND SEARCH FOR THE PLACE YOUR ANCESTORS CAME FROM.WANGARA AND A SLAVE OFF SPRING MAN LIKE YOU!.

• HONESTY 8 years ago

If a slave like myself can still value right from wrong and understand the value of all those lives lost just because of greed and yet, a free born like yourself can not see above your nose, then I feel sorry for the future o ...

HEHEHE,HONESTY,INFACT I LIKE YOUR RESPONSE.WHAT I DISLIKE MOST ARE PEOPLE PROCLAIMING IAM THIS AND IAM THAT LIKE WHAT YOU SAID THAT YOU ARE AN ASHANTI AND THE COMMENTS OF INSIGHT TO THE BONE WHICH SEEMED TO BE TRIBAL HATRED.W ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

We are fed up with stupidity and foolishness , anytime a none Akan takes over the reign of govt the country visibly and factually goes backwards . Kotoka Rawlings , Mahama and Liman have been the cause of unbelievable hardshi ...

• Kay 8 years ago

Insight to the bone is an ndc trying to fool people by pretending to be npp and akan. He always comments with tribal insults. His sole aim is to divide Ghanaians on tribal lines so that his party can gain political advantage. ...

• HONESTY 8 years ago

You should change your name to, stupidity and ignorance is 'inside' to the bone.

Your only cure is to be shot and buried.A senseless waste of space.

I think the world's population is getting too crowded and the UN shou ...

• David 8 years ago

Why not get out of Accra and build you so called AKAN STATE in the forest. Idiots

• VICTOR CARRILLACE 8 years ago

THANK YOU. WITHOUT AN AKAN AT THE HEADSHIP OF GOVERNMENT, GHANA WILL INDEED PERISH. SO? YOU SAID IT; LETS PAIN GHANA RED! ASHANTI KOTOKO ALL THE WAY. ABA!!!

• Koo Nimo 8 years ago

Northerners have had free education for years. When they finish school they migrate to the south

• Ali 8 years ago

Why no reveal to the world that he fucks your mums ebola stricken vagina as well. Besides you are the son of bastard.

• WISE UP 8 years ago

Wht has this got to do with docs strike? So u are saying tht Mahama's nepotism has crippled Ghana's economy.By this, it's b'cos Gonjaland has a face-lift, so if the same kind of resources has been shared throughout Ghana, the ...

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

The blood of these dead people will be on the heads and hands of some people. Man has his reasoning and arguments but God knows all things. One thing is for sure: the blood of these people will surely be required at the hands ...

• Anty Dumso 8 years ago

You are really a man of little knowledge. I hope you drink too much. Next time think before you write. Foolish Ewe or PEPENI. Your Foolish presidente has no brains

• Kay Agyapong 8 years ago

None of your relatives' sick I think

• Barima Osei 8 years ago

Ijust want to know whether the striking doctors would be paid for not working since August 1. Also, would they gladly cash their salaries? If yes,what would they do about the sick people who died as a result of their strike?

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

DEAD GOAT MAHAMA SHOULD BURY ALL THE DEAD, AND BURY HIMSELF ONCE ALREADY DEAD.

• West Orange, NJ resident 8 years ago

You sound like someone who couldn't get admission to medical school. Just shut up. The nurses themselves are on record that they can't work without the tutelage of the doctors so what are you talking about.
    If you are not di ...

• MOSES ASAMOAH 8 years ago

Tell us the normal death rate in our hospitals within 17 days. I mean had the doctors not been on the illegal strike, how many people would have normally died anyway?

• HONESTY 8 years ago

I never envisaged becoming a doctor until I had a little exposure working with foreign doctors.

Foreign doctors with all their good salaries and remunerations would still cycle to work because not only is it cheap but ext ...

• HONESTY 8 years ago

You lots are very ignorant. Try using appropriate words. Sacrifice sounds too complex a word for your understanding. How absurd.

• sally 8 years ago

AND SO WHAT? U SWINE! THEY SHOULD GO TO HELL.

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

GHANA'S POLITICIANS ARE ALL JETTED ABROAD FOR MEDICAL TREATMENT OR EVEN MEDICAL CHECKUP AT GHANA TAX PAYERS EXPENSE.

DO THEY CARE?

TO GHANA POLITICIANS, OTHER GHANAIANS CAN KILL THEMSELVES, AND THEY POLITICIANS WILL NEV ...

• blackboy 8 years ago

Sit down here and talk rubbish. Any family member of the doctors could be taken care off, but about the poor? Joke with your health.

• Omanbapa 8 years ago

Ghanafour kasa, whoever punished this has to be questioned, how, where and when did the person got that information from.

My concern is,how many people died nationwide before the strike, ghanaian have got the habit of qu ...

• back door director 8 years ago

What type of voodoo statistics is that. Now so called private health insurance providers are the source of mortality data in the country.

Tell us how many people died in the country over the same period last year.

Your ...

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

Excellent point. In my view, the main problem in this country is the way we choose our leaders, as it is any idiot can spend his way to power to become a king or a political leader. Managing a country is a serious business th ...

• Gbessi Zolawodji 8 years ago

fools with tribal bigotry . what do you know about governance ?

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

Irrelevant bastards

NDC is crazy!

• Sibruku Tifalo 8 years ago

Too Much in only 17 days,so Cant this Silly Gorvt find a better solution to this problem? Like the DUMSOR issue now,When is he really going to strike a deal with the Doctors? Is he waitin to SACRIFICE MORE BLOOD?

MAHAMAH'S LOOTING AND UGLY BEARDED MAN VANDERPUIJE MISMANAGEMENT OF HIS ADMINISTRATION ALSO CAUSED THE DEATH OF ALMOST 200 PEOPLE AT CICLE IN ONE DAY.THEY HAVE NOW ARRESTED A POOR AND INNOCENT PERSON FOR CAUSING THAT FIRE WIT ...

• sowah 8 years ago

omufri ho ye wo dada ma omu fa entu strike omo ako nu omu ye nia omupe nyankupon na obe tua omu ka paaaaa

• Kay 8 years ago

So before the strike how many people were dying daily
    I'm interested in that
    At least it'll help us to compare and have a better picture of the effect of the strike

• The African Patriot 8 years ago

It was the same government that reported that Doctors from Hospitals in the BA are working and therefore it is the minority of doctors in the Ashanti Region and Greater Accra who are not working because of Strike. This inform ...

• KOSEK 84 8 years ago

i agree with you Mr Patriot if a bunch of footballers and their hangers on have threatened to go on strike they will do whatever they can to fly $4m dollars , charter a plane with full security , fly halfway round the world t ...

• GILBERT 8 years ago

Kay I agree with you 'papaapa'.
    Even in their presence, we still recorded death. I believe it's about time we told these doctors the truth. Though they're very indispensable, I think they're too much pampered. Enough is eno ...

Tweaa NDC propaganda! So how many died from Dunsor!

• Successfullman 8 years ago

Make extra income online by just investing $18.Call or whatsapp Ben on 0266434975 for more details

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Yes, lies and lies all along

• JB Mann 8 years ago

I don't really get you.

Why should NDC propagate lies to discredit NPP in this case?

It is logical to assume that this is NPP propaganda to discredit NDC - so that the whole world knows that because NDC did not pay hug ...

• eddies 8 years ago

this is pure vodooo and kangarooo stastitics. does govenment has the records for same periods over the past years?
    what about the debt owed by the govenment due to which essential drugs are not being supplied?
    will the doct ...

• Oheneba 8 years ago

Why fail to give deaths for 17 days when doctors were at post to enable us draw proper conclusion.

• Dzigaman 8 years ago

This is the time for Mahama to show some leadership.
    This outrageous demands by these Doctors needs to be nipped in the bud as soon as possible. There are reasonable demands and there are outrageous demands that have hidden ...

• Dr, Love 8 years ago

Those demands are so outrageous and laughable. Which country in the world can afford this ?
    Even in the so called developed countries Doctors have to pay to pack in the hospitals that they woirk in.
    Can you imagine that hap ...

• NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

Politicians in those countries you are talking about do not lead ostentatious and pompous lifestyles as we see in Ghana. Pay the doctors what they deserve.

• Dzigaman 8 years ago

You must be on a different planet.
    They all becaome millionaires during and after being MPs

• dan 8 years ago

so you don't find mahama, MPs, and politicians' service conditions of service OUTRAGEOUS?

You know these guys do not get paid in arrears! Even when they have been voted out of parliament for their incompetence and lack of ...

• Selassie I 8 years ago

All these made their money by running private businesses and not by government salaries.
    The Doctors are free to do the same.

• Selassie I 8 years ago

That's on point Dzigaman. We are in a capitalist country and apart from those who haven't completed their bonds, they are free to go and work anywhere they want.No one has pointed a gun to their heads to work in state run hos ...

• Kwamebeba 8 years ago

Both NDC and NPP are the opposite sides of the same Ghana Corruption Coin. Those thinking any of these two parties ruling Ghana will change anything are merely fooling themselves. It is a cumulative effect and this is evide ...

• Lil USA 8 years ago

Komalt there u hypocrite

• herty 8 years ago

kwame I totally I agree with you dear

• Wu Tumpo Nie 8 years ago

Are we going to bring in Cuban Doctor to work without service conditions?

• duke 8 years ago

FOR THE WHITE CUBANS. MAHAMA WOULD RATHER PAY THE CUBANS WELL AND ON TIME WITHOUT ANY ARGUMENTS THAN TO PAY HOME GROWN DOCTORS OF THE SAME COLOUR AS THE PRESIDENT. THIS IS THE MENTALITY OF BLACK LEADERS. IDIOTS!

• john 8 years ago

They will work for less money, and not greedy like the home grown ones to help get nana elected.

• GhanaBa 8 years ago

Nonsense!People die whether doctors are on strike or not. Stop this propaganda. Tell us how many people died in Ghana when Doctors were not on strike

• JB Mann 8 years ago

From your logic, then we do not need health facilities and professionals at all - because whatever we do people will die so we don't have to worry.

GhanaBa, the statistics only mean that much more people have died as a di ...

• Esor 8 years ago

They are destined to die,doctors are not God.

• peaceman 8 years ago

This what happens when you have a bad and evil leader

• Qathafi 8 years ago

So what?Even with doctors,the death toll is higher.Gvt should stop negotiating with them.Greedy bastards

• ASCONA 8 years ago

Foolish statistics. Compare with last year d same period wai

• Ama Bea. 8 years ago

what could have been the number if doctors were at work? If they like let them be on strike for ever. Playing politics with peoples lives. After all nature can take over 30000 lives at a time through earthquakes and tsunami f ...

• Goliath 8 years ago

On the heads of the IMF and Government for sneaking in austerity and not wanting to negotiate!!

• Bella 8 years ago

Am very much disappointed with the doctors since this are a group of people termed to be educated, unfortunately they have showed us the level of illeracy they have and thumbs go up to the President for the decision he made a ...

• Lil USA 8 years ago

those who voted for ndc u see how they were killing u people like chickens this criminal will kill all of u to pay his juju man then when u wake up next if u see red u won't say is white

• Tony 8 years ago

Oh yes, the ugly face of Ashanti npp murderer. The blood of all the dead are on this primitive ugly looking npp doctor and his family.he will never know peace with all his family members. using human life as a bargaining chip ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 8 years ago

it would be stupid, uninformed , to put the blame on the government .
    anybody who want to blame the situation must put it at the door-mats of the Ghana ritual professions called medical drs in the country.
    GREEEDI BASTAR ...

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

Until the people wake up and put pressure on the gov to stop corruption and mismanagement, this trend will continue. The people must stop their NPP/NDC nonsense and speak with one voice to demand accountability and high effic ...

• Akwasi 8 years ago

Sack the Doctors if they are not ready to work and bring in Doctors from outside to take over please, stop negotiating with the striking Doctors and take a quick step to save Ghanaians from dying. Mr Minister take a quick ac ...

• Senior citizen Bs Germany. 8 years ago

Half baked or completely fresh polititians sometimes force themselves into political power to the disadvantage of the citizenry.A tipical example is the fact that a minute problem to be solved at a finger tip is more often th ...

• pharmacist 8 years ago

What an unscientific research. What was the number of people that died in previous years when doctors were not on strike? That can help us to make an informed decision . This can of reportage create unnecessary fear and p ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

Please take a quick action that can save Ghanaians from dying those that are ready to call of the strike should return to work or kick them all and bring Doctors from wherever to save Ghanaians.

• pharmacist 8 years ago

*this kind of reportage*

• MR.WISE ASANTE 8 years ago

God will surely ask you for the blood stain in your hands. If the your strike truly cause all this dead.

• Rev Kobina Otumanyi 8 years ago

I passionately appeal to my colleagues to return to work as they are not spoiling their case. I was in the regions and most doctors are working anyway. Please respect leading personalities in Ghana. Priests, renowned leaders ...

• Rev Kobina Otumanyi 8 years ago

I passionately appeal to my colleagues to return to work as they are not spoiling their case. I was in the regions and most doctors are working anyway. Please respect leading personalities in Ghana. Priests, renowned leaders, ...

• concern people of ghana world wide 8 years ago

join the doctors demonstration / strike to impeach mahama for allowing 500 people to die out of lack of medical cur,
    mahama have falled the country,
    note, 1.he had made depriciated the cedi. 4 cedis to one dollar.
    2. w ...

• Gbessi Zolawodji 8 years ago

go to school because ur writeup is full of grammatical inaccuracies.

• Dennis Avoy 8 years ago

The govt should seize their salaries for the number if days they have not worked to serve as example for others that nobody get paid for no work done.

• JOHNj 8 years ago

THE CERTIFICATE LESS FAKE LAWYER CANT WIN WITHOUT SPILLING BLOOD. CANT U SEE HOW THE ILLITERATE EDUCATED FOOLS ARE ALL FOLLOWING HIM?

• Ama 8 years ago

De govt is useless n lazy,if u cn giv ministers n footballers billions why cnt u compromise n giv a lil 4 doctors?? JM doesnt giv a shit abt public workers n i pray de worst doesnt happen in de weeks ahead. Even military n po ...

• ABDUL GANIU 8 years ago

Ghana! what kind of statistics is this? you just wakeup from your slamber and said 500 people die within 17 days and past on the media without any prove, what kind of Ghana are we living? God should save us.

• Ama 8 years ago

Funny wen p'ple attribute de strike 2 Nana Akuffo,are all de doctors in dis country NPPs??? Illogical n non sensical.

• cinty 8 years ago

GOD help us.

• dbecks 8 years ago

Better Ghana paa nie ....

• Rand 8 years ago

Let's get the truth out
    Doctors have been asking for years
    How many died same period last year
    But yes doctors go back to work and do less hours until sorted

• sojourner in usa 8 years ago

To be a doctor, you have sign a contract to protect the sick, ill, patience. And that should be your altimate focus of thoughts, if anything comes beyond that, you are not true to yourself. Whether rich or poor, you should ...

• victor in london 8 years ago

IS A LIE EVEN EBOLA CAN'T KILL LIKE THAT. WHY ALL THESE SILLY AND STUPID PROPAGANDA WITH HUMAN LIVES?
    THIS INCOMPETENCE MUST STOP.

• FEEDING 8 years ago

let them go feed on the dead

I was in las vegas before you with marine officers drinking to our heads, becareful, you are dealing with a person who knows places in USA before you thought of. I have seen them, and it does not matter any more. An experienc ...

Most diasporas are ignorant of the country they live in. I am not like that. Right from the beginning I was all over the places, and I can give so many accounts, but I want to quit. Most Americans do not know their country ei ...

• KOFI Kwame 8 years ago

Who Kills Them,Is Not Mahama who killed Those dead Ghanians,But why we Can't Hold them responsible as a Nation.Mahama Govts will Go,and still Doctors may go on Strike,Ghanians Should Walk to Paliament and ask for a law that m ...

• Olu 8 years ago

Government must fire these doctors are give the government hospitals to a healthcare management firm to manage for real improvement and churn profits .

Then rehire doctors that are worthy on service contracts to work for ...

• john mahama 8 years ago

this is too bad foolish mahama must do something about it

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

MAHAMA OWES EVERYWHERE, WHY?

• john mahama 8 years ago

I think the solution in all that lies in same-sex marriage in Ghana

• Cisse 8 years ago

So, have you also done your checks to be able to know the number of people that died when the doctors were at post between 1st to 17th July, 2015? No mans live is in the hand of a doctor. You guys will be doing us a disservic ...

• pkirks 8 years ago

This writer needs to be arrested and questioned. Where did he get his info from?
    By the way, do you think those stupid so called doctors striking are not loosing their loved ones too? We will all count our dead and Mr. Pres ...

• Abanga 8 years ago

That's a very useless analysis. Have u counted the number people dead due to dumsor?? Stop this cheap politics and face reality. All ndc communicators are fools. Mahama himself is not helping matters, cheap talk is all he kno ...

• David 8 years ago

YOU FUCKING MOTHER I GUESS

• Bread and kokonte 8 years ago

This is no case even when they were not on strike 1000 people died daily, they did not know anything apart from abortion. They should all fuck off.

AND CHEESE RATHER,NOT AND A CHEESE.

• David 8 years ago

Sensationalism. Please put out the names of those who died, what they died from, and and which facility

• Plain Truth 8 years ago

Put the blame of the Doctors' strike on Woyome,Tsatsu Tsikata, Kwamena Ahwoi,Ato Ahwoi, The 3 Mahamas, Kwesi Botchway, JJ and all those who have looted Ghana's coffers to enrich themselves and their families. Now they are see ...

• David 8 years ago

YOU TALK LIKE THEM- FOOLS AND NATION WRECKERS. WE HAVE INTELLIGENCE WHAT THE DOCTORS WANT. TRY THE STUPIDITY AND YOU WILL HAVE A WAR ON YOIUR HEAD. YOU CANT WIN

• Koo Nimo 8 years ago

This shows that the doctors are far more important than the politicians

• BUMBEBO 8 years ago

Mahama might be a happy man with guts. Who is sabotaging him? When are his guts? Ghana is disaster zone sold to politicians and their cronies and families

• Plain Truth 8 years ago

Yes, the Doctors are more important than the Politicians. The politicians can be replaced today with ease but Doctors cannot. This is purely demand and supply elasticity, which the Government Negotiators don't seem to realise ...

• GoodMan 8 years ago

You said your demands/degotiation is for 2016 so why the strike in 2015?
    Can you negotiate whilst on strike?
    After Doctors issue,UTAG will start theirs.After UTAG,CLOSSAG will come with their demand,then civil servants etc, ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

GMA=TUC=NPP=DEMONS

• Googman 8 years ago

so how many people died over the same period when doctors were working?

• Googman 8 years ago

how many people died over the same period when doctors were not on strike

• AKOS 8 years ago

DR. FRANK SEREBOUR MUST GO TO JHS 1

• Billy 8 years ago

Herbalists, prayer camps and witch doctors will charge ridiculous amounts to provide concoctions that purport to heal the sick who cannot afford private medical treatment or treatment abroad. Time to overhaul the healthcare d ...

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Could the doctors have saved all of them?Doctors have also been killing so many Ghanaians through inefficiency.Some Ghanaians have also been saved from the recklessness of some of the striking doctors.

• Wepiamo 8 years ago

That's the "good news" the doctors have been waiting for, at least, it shows how important they're, what a pity!.

• Humanist 8 years ago

The country where disabled people are beaten and chained
    I was travelling to Ghana to make a documentary about what life is like for some of the five million people who (according to Human Rights Watch) have a disability in ...

• Tougher kliku...Awesome VR 8 years ago

Breaking new????????????????????

General mosquito was negotiating condition of service for doctors when he developed serious diarhhra .
    Seeing the dangers of being crucified by doctors for asking why they wanted 40 gallo ...

• herty 8 years ago

if they want huge amount of money dey should resign n enter into politics instead since dat is where money is now.stupid fools.God punish dem

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

So mr, President of Gma you can not join your minister of halth to adivice your Doctors to start work to help oman Ghana? as your country!anyway you should start to goback to work and may God bless you all.

• Sarpong David 8 years ago

Man Panin have see? All de Ghanaians are dieing who will vote for 2016 election.

• Sarpong David 8 years ago

President dumsor.diawuo take good cure of Ghanaians .if not that we will impeach you from your office.

• c.stephen sackey. 8 years ago

I am following this ongoing African tragedy from afar-with all my biases, of course - but am wondering. Isn't the solution now stymied by the old African governance of yore-my way or the highway.That the abrasive personalitie ...