You are here: HomeNews2015 08 11Article 374511

Catholic Church adopting slave labour in Ghana – ex-Minister

Read Comments Comments (133)

• BB 8 years ago

WE SICK AND TIRED OF YOU GUYS!!!!

• John,Tema 8 years ago

GMA ignore this advice you'll complicate issues,don't take on the Catholic Church & incompetent Mahama govt at the same time.May be after you've finished John Mahama you can tackle the church.

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

PLS DRS GET REAL! BE PROFESSIONAL DONT LOOK ON WHILE PEOPLE DIE. PLEASE DO SOMETHING NOW!RESUME WORK NOW WE APPEAL

• facts 8 years ago

I don't think the Bishop considered the implications of his action. He should reconsider his decision for the sake of present situations. People will not forgive him because he is supposed to know better. If the intension is ...

• putin 8 years ago

GMA is too small for the Catholic Church . GMA is baby organisation and cannot take on the Catholic church in any way. Dr Kwaku Afryie is speaking out of ignorance . We talking about The Vatican ...dont go there.

• SAMMY 8 years ago

DOES DR. AFRIYIE KNOW THE KIND OF 'SLAVE LABOUR' GHANAIANS ARE ALREADY GOING THROUGH? HE SHOULD JUST GO TO THE INDUSTRIAL AREA, ACCRA, & DO SOME SMALL RESEARCH ON THIS, & HE WOULD FIND HIMSELF & THE DOCTORS BLESSED.

• Nii Nortey (NY) 8 years ago

This Dr. Afriyie, is in a different world. His advice to the doctors should not be taking serious. The leadership of the doctors union are treading on a wrong path to destruction. They are going to fail and will leave their m ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

I am shocked this Afriyie man was a former minister. What does he mean by slave labour? Where on this earth will other workers or professionals be allowed to strike in support of their colleagues in the public sector when the ...

• J0eY LOnD0N 8 years ago

You will be called the junta!

• Shabi 8 years ago

Nonsense! Nii Nortey dont be daft. Some of you say things which are so offensively asinine and provocative in substance - if any, that one is left with no choice other than to retaliate in kind.

I presume that the NY after ...

• Nokware_ Asa 8 years ago

A good look at how they treat their drivers and house-help, and then they will appreciate the true meaning of the term "slave labour".
    This guy who hails Sewfi, the predominantly Cocoa growing area in this country, should ...

• king Abdallah 8 years ago

How much at all do the doctors pay for the food they eat everyday. If farmers should demand 100 gallons of fuel everyday from the doctors can they afford to buy food... Greedy people.

• JA 8 years ago

What happened GHS? Really does the Techiman Holy FamilyHosp qualify as a teaching hosp? God save Ghana! It is good hosp but not up to the standard of a teaching Hosp. That is the truth, take it o ...

• Dr jay 8 years ago

Good point but let's tone down the Rhetoric and try to be neutral to solve this.I'm a doc too and I know innocent people are dying.

• Doctors Without God. 8 years ago

We won't resign. If we do, we won't be paid for the time we are home until the time are hired back when all our demands will have been granted.
    They have no choice but to grant them all. We hold the key to their lives. You m ...

• Kwame Opoku Nti 8 years ago

point of correction. You did not hold the keys to our lives but only God holds the keys to our lives. God is merciful but you are wicked. Even, if your mothers are dying u will not go back to work. You forget somebody hold th ...

• Zoobe-Zoobe 8 years ago

another fool talking

• Joejoe 8 years ago

The advice by Dr. Afriyie is out of professional sense and he must re-examined himself before exposing his blocked minds publickly

• Busher 8 years ago

what nonsense made-in-Ghana goods!

• Raila Odinga 8 years ago

The church has its own rules and regulations.You simply do not go on strike and leave patients to hang and even die.You, Afriyie, can go to hell.

• back door director 8 years ago

Welcome back from hibernation.
    Afriyie do you know you are the most useless minister of health in this 4th republic?

• Osei 8 years ago

What did you do when you were minister of health?

• Ateks 8 years ago

That is the most appropriate question for the former Minister of Health.

• OWEN,NEW YORK. 8 years ago

WISE UP OSEI ! HOW DOES THE BLACK AFRICAN THINK IS DIFFERENT FROM AFRICAN AMERICAN.THE MERE FACT THAT DR. AFRIYIE DIDNT DO IT DURING HIS TIME,DOESN'T MEAN HE CAN'T ADD HIS VOICE TO THE WIND OF CHANGES BLOWING. HE BROUGHT THE ...

• Sarkodie USA 8 years ago

Why not work for free? I left the country because it's no longer fixable

• NANA GBADAGO 8 years ago

This is a proof of NPP hand in this action of GMA. Hurray to the Catholic Church

• Brofo 8 years ago

Kwasia, NDC leaders always talking through their asses..... Fix the economy and solve the problems facing Ghana, instead of diverting attention.... You think we will be fooled forever.

• Dr. J 8 years ago

You are a stupid boy!

• Brofo 8 years ago

Your entire family are fools...in fact, foolishness will never cease in your lineage because it is in your DNA

• Jew 8 years ago

A former minister, I believe under NPP patapaa party. How much more evidence do we need to know that NPP is behind the doctors greedy attitude.

• Sarkodie USA 8 years ago

Why do MP's make more than doctors?

• gyan 8 years ago

Law makers should make more. Doctors have their private hospital all over Ghana.

• Nii Nortey (NY) 8 years ago

Sarkodie, if you really live in US please go and check how much doctors working for the cities, states and the federal government make compare to the senators, congress men/women.
    What is your reason why you think doctors sh ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Because they are MPs to which doctors can run for too.

• Say some 8 years ago

Sarkodie or whatever u called urself, if u tink mp's takes more moni Dan doctor den tell de greedy doctors ur supporting to quit n become mp's too.foolish boy

• Nana 8 years ago

Remember he is a medical doctor and a member of GMA.

• Thunder 8 years ago

here they go, npp appendages asking waywzrd doctors to take on institutions that understand the value of human life. you will all be exposed

• Thoughtful 8 years ago

It's about time people fought for our rights

• Kobinadu 8 years ago

If he was indeed a Minister of Health, why did he not ensure that the doctors had a veritable conditions of service when he was in charge?

• Bruno 8 years ago

The doctors say they have been pursuing this agenda of conditions of service for 19 years. Why did that Minister not provide the conditions of service when he had the power to??

• Amidini 8 years ago

It is unfortunate on the part of Fmr Min to blame Catholic church bold decision to dismiss the doctors who joined their colleagues on the strike.

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Busia was the first Ghanaian Prime Minister to sack striking workers.Did somebody tell Busia that he was a slave master?I would like to know if he was.Thank you.

• kofi 8 years ago

SHAME NPP FOR SURPPORTING GHANA MURDERERS ASSOCIATION GOD WILL PUNISH YOU

• KG 8 years ago

Dr, it is obvious from.your comments that you are not conversant with christian values or with living according to strict moral values. The less said about your regard for the suffering of innocent sick people and even for hu ...

• Jonny 8 years ago

All that Nana Akufu Addo wants is to rule people dead or alive. All die be die party doctors.

• Nene 8 years ago

They fired them period. Good example. Very soon all of you will be unemployed. You will then see the reality of life. You want to quit, the Church just helped you to get your wish. Why you crying. Fools.

• yaw 8 years ago

you are very useless, know life is as-take here. people are dying and the Catholic Church values life. No compromise

• Pedro 8 years ago

This man is foolish. I want to see him sick and find where he will go for treatment.

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

GMA must do something about it and it will good for all Ghanians .God bless you oman Ghana.

• ED ADDO 8 years ago

Oh where is Margaret Thatcher when you need one? I don't understand why the Government has not sacked then all greedy Doctors. They are just bluffing with the lives of Ghanaians. They are not ready to resign. Why will any ser ...

• Seth 8 years ago

Stupid fool. Is that harsher than people who are losing their lives? Boffoon.

• Love Catholic 8 years ago

You do not take on a job before asking for conditions of service. Conditions of service are spelled out in your appointment letter prior to starting any new employment. Why now? GMA officials should be dragged to court and no ...

• KING LOMOTEY 8 years ago

NPP must not appear to be behind the doctors' strike, or it becomes political to the death, no pun intended, with people passing daily,

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

A Doctor must in no way abandon the sick for his selfish interest like a Captain should not abandon a sinking ship.The Catholic Church of which I am a member is 100% right to sack those greedy bastards.Did anybody force them ...

• Bernard 8 years ago

As a former Health Minister, was Dr. Kwaku Afriyie brain dead at the time? From the above interview he granted, it is clear there are some evil Ghanaians behind the doctors strike. During his tenure as health minister he real ...

• David TEMA. 8 years ago

Dr. Afriyie is not only mentally sick from neurological deficiencies but must be a gay and awaiting govt to approve gay rights, and would be well.

• IB 8 years ago

What are you talking about Minister? Why didn't you sign this Condition of Service when you were the Minister of Health? What a cheap Political gimmick and stupidity. These Doctor's should be booted out. The Catholic's are 10 ...

• Alfred 8 years ago

listen to another useless Ashanti monkey shoot rating animal. tale them on your stupid self. you are a useless clown only good for a lab experiments. nonsense. tell them to resign, you mother fucker npp animal.

• Kwame. Nungua Accra 8 years ago

Dr Afriyie should have worked on the doctors CBA when he was the country's health minister so why is he now saying they don't have condition of service

• TRUTH IS SUPREME 8 years ago

Shocking! Mr ex minister do u care about training more than human life u are being trained to save!
    Eh! When u finally qualify as fully fledged doctor and your demands are not met, what would you do?
    No Mr ex minister! I t ...

• Ndlovu 8 years ago

What an unfortunate statement!!. The Catholic Church is bigger than Holy Family Hospital. The idea to sack the doctors was purely a management decision and not a church one. I am not sure a catechist, priest or bishop were in ...

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Even the Bible demands good pay for hard work.

• kwaku ba 8 years ago

which verse? Is it good pay for doctors or for teachers or for whom. Please elaborate.

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

God "will repay each person according to what they have done."

• Paa Bobo 8 years ago

Oh! Dr what? that is a stupid suggestion. Can u fight the catholic church? What did u do when u were a Minister?

• Togbe 8 years ago

If u live in a glass house u dont throw stone. Whats de drs complaining abt. Dey shd be happy bcos de sack & de resignation would yield de same effect.There is nothing special being a dr so our drs shd stop misbehaving.

• Komla 8 years ago

where was Dr. Afriyie during President Kufour's Government when the doctors' claim they don't condition of service for the past 40 years?

• son of man 8 years ago

The catholic church will always remain inhuman. Priest without sex

• k d 8 years ago

I believed this man speaking is one of " those" taking all missionary schools and hospitals what will left for the government. He should learn to talk

• gyasi 8 years ago

Kwaku Afriyie is getting insane.

• kwame 8 years ago

Pls check your facts well before coming public.What will you say about the Chinese Indians and the Labanese who pay slave wages to ghanians but our leaders are not concerned

• Unselfish 8 years ago

Selfishness is killing Ghana

• john mahama 8 years ago

gay marriage is the solution to the problem

• Pastor Josiah 8 years ago

The former Health Minister was not serious. My question is who at all were the parents of some this politicians? How were they brought up? Who were their teachers, and who are their pastors/ In the night what are things that ...

• stephen mensah 8 years ago

as a catholic member i will say sacking them want help but rather talk to them, but i dont know if they pay them if they do then they have to bcz they need their services and they are not ready so they should go for other to ...

• Nokwar 8 years ago

Look who is talking! Which is harsher: people dying or doctors being sacked?

Here is a former minister! God help us!!

• akuffo addo 8 years ago

Useless opinion by a useless former minister. They said they will resign. What the management has done 7s to make their resignation more painless.

• William Dzikunu 8 years ago

Shame who are they. They can be sacked like any other person who misbehaved.

• Omanbapa 8 years ago

Mr Afriyie got it all wrong, why am saying this is, they themselves wanted to resign,so someone has taken the lead to do job for,is it not good and advantage to safeguard their time by writing to their employers

They Will ...

Interesting! The decision to release the doctors harsh? What about decision to let people die in the hospitals? Hm only because mahama has "failed"

• Yin 8 years ago

Did Dr Afrieyie read the contents of the letter the Catholic Church wrote to the GMA? These Dr notified the hosp of their intention to strike in solidarity with their colleagues, and u re saying what? U re heart less people s ...

• soth 8 years ago

Now is clear that NPP is behind GMA strick mmmmmmmm withn this attitude when GHA with developed?

• DEMO AGAINST CATHOLIC CHURCH 8 years ago

ALL GHANA PEOPLE MUST AND SHOULD DEMONSTRATE NATION WIDE AGAINST THE CATHOLIC CHURCH NATION WIDE, FROM CONCERN PEOPLE OF GHANA, THIER BAISED

• Kwesi 8 years ago

GHANAIANS SHOULD RATHER BE DEMOSTRATE AGAINST THESE HERATLESS DOCTORS WHO CHOOSE MONEY OVER PEOPLES LIVES.

• IB 8 years ago

Check your grammar and spellings, it could be typo error. So you want people to die and rather have sympathy for these greedy bastard Doctors. You must be ashamed of yourself bro.

• Say some 8 years ago

Kwasia gyimiii? Go n gada all ur family members for dat ur demonstration. Infact remember to add grandparents wai, fish, mudfish

• king solomon 8 years ago

KING SOLOMON IS THE MOST POPULAR MUSICIAN IN GHANA , TWIT HIM, FOLLOW HIM ON FACE BOOK NOW, @kinsol88199968 on twitter.

• Adam 8 years ago

Hypocrisy, in one breath you are saying there is no law binding the catholic church to the current agreed conditions of service of those doctors and in another breath you are advising the GMA to take the church on? On what g ...

• Martin, Pretoria 8 years ago

Ask him again bro, the bible says every labour deserves his wages. But let me ask that fool that are the Dr's not been paying?

• kofi (usa) 8 years ago

the ex- minister behavour is stupid

• Adomba 8 years ago

This ex NPP Minister is exposing himself as part of those inciting the GMA to go on strike. the govt have been weak and now they want to bite more than they can chew by trying to take on the Vatican (catholic church)

• kwam 8 years ago

This is a stupid minister of state, since when did he detected the Catholic church is employing slave labour? Is it now or long ago?

• BoyzIImen-Tema 8 years ago

Useless npp comments

• ALHAJI 8 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF,EVIL CRIMINAL NUMBER IN GHANA HISTORY,FOOLISH MAN

• saanabong peter 8 years ago

govn't shoud take actions like holy family hospital and God will bless ghana.
    because, after the negotiation will they bring back the lives of those who has passed away

• saanabong peter 8 years ago

why should you use human life for politic?

• CAK 8 years ago

Is a nice action by the Catholic Church.GMA must be proud of this.

• Kwaku Willie 8 years ago

I am surprise about the ex minister. He was in office and did nothing about the doctors condition of service but he think he has the right to speak to this issue. Mr. Afriyie has no shame. What did the ex minister say when th ...

• Bozoo 8 years ago

don't tolerate rubbish. There was one Ghanaian doctor who worked with St. Joseph Hospital in the States and he used to show up at work with Rasta hair not brushing his teeth and also showing up late at work very often. He was ...

• Gathafi 8 years ago

Drs please what is happening to innocent people.Do want them to lose their lives before you go back to work .Pls sit with the government and solve the problem and go back to your work and save life

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

THE CATHOLIC CHRCH CAN GET DOCTORS ALL OVER THE WORLD TO COME AND WORK FOR FREE.
    SOME GHANAIANS MAY SAY LANGUAGE BARRIER,BUT OUR DOCTORS STUDIED IN MANY COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD WITH DIFFERENT LANGUAGE.

• Dr. Sefah-Amanwaah 8 years ago

We can no longer allow such so-called Dr. Kwaku Afriyie an ex-NPP minister to pronounce such abusive lanquage to the catholic which has done more things to educate the people of Ghana even in the colonial days up to the twent ...

• Zechariah 8 years ago

what kind of Dr is he?? stupid bastard. Take the Catholic Church to court yourself .fool and merciless goat

• Kk 8 years ago

Catholic is doing what Mahama is afraid of doing. Sack all of them

• William 8 years ago

Very good start, I wish the govt can follow the examples of the Catholic church.
    The demands by the doctors is beyond comprehension. The more they are paid, the less other civil servants get. If they don't like the term of ...

• ghanaba 8 years ago

Dr. Afiriyie is having private hospital, ask him if his doctors and nurses are on strike. Dis politically insane leaders will kill Ghanaians

• Obolobo 8 years ago

The Ex-Minister is the most sensible person amongst all those who are insulting him. Because all of you are block-heads and thus could not pass mathematics in your O levels and SSSCEs just because you have weak minds that can ...

• Mr Shortman 8 years ago

Did you pass it your self?

• John 8 years ago

Here we go! So the marriage between the GMA and the NPP party has been consummated. Dr Afriyie is now advising the doctors GMA to take on the holy Family doctors? Did the hospital employ the entire GMA? IF the strike is again ...

• Pround pepeni. 8 years ago

THE STRIKES BY DOCTORS ARE TOO MUCH. THEY HAVE A POLITICAL AGENDA. BY DOING THIS THEY HAVE HELP TAKEN THE NPP TROUBLES OFF THE MEDIA LIMELIGHT. THESE DOCTORS ARE WICKED.

• Wiz 8 years ago

Oh npp why are u denying u know nothing abt the Docters strike? God will surely punish u for this in Jesus mighty name

• OSAMAN BIN KARIM 8 years ago

THIS NPP MINISTER OF HEALTH IS TALKING NPP-TALK. THA CATHOLIC CHURCH HAS THEIR ETHOS - COMPASSIONATE MEDICINE! THE GMA IS TALKING MONEY MEDICINE. THETWO POSITIONS DO NOT SQUARE SO THE TRAINEES MUST GO! ITS THAT SIMPLE.

• Hamzy 8 years ago

This doctors are misbehaving like over pampered kids. Even in Ebola stricken Liberia. Sierra Leone and guinea Their doctors don't recieve salary up to Ghanian doctors. Stop this murdering game and resume work or resign

• APOSTLE ELIJAR 8 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU, THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. SACK THEM AND SACK THEM OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

• Catholic 8 years ago

Our ancestors survived without doctors.Let the doctors go and never return even to see the soil of Ghana.

• Nii Armah( B.A) 8 years ago

Kudos to da Catholic Church in Ghana for prioritising human lives first dan dis greedy bastards doctors who can only diagnosed malaria in patients.
    Am saddened by ma party(NPP) members stand on dis doctor striking saga.
    I ...

• Augusco Boy 8 years ago

Glad to see the Catholic Diocese of Techiman act as they should!

These useless and dumb doctors in Ghana think that they can take the whole nation for a ride. We are talking about a country that is almost bankrupt and the ...

• Paadi Tempa 8 years ago

The GMA should permit one of its members to attend to Dr. Kwak Afriyie even though they are on strike.It seems there is something wrong with him and needs urgent attention before he start roaming the streets

• Kojo Oppong 8 years ago

Kindly check on the terms and conditions of service for UK doctors. The most interesting aspect in it is that it entails allowances , lots of allowances. But also obligations, lots of obligations for the doctors to fulfill, ...

• Mr Shortman 8 years ago

Your are very stupid. Why didn't you tell the doctors that their action is very hash? Childish thinking.

• Galley Dzokoto 8 years ago

Much as I admire the attachment of the techiman diocesse to Christian values, am compelled to note that the main message conveyed by the good news bible is the importance of the struggle to defend human dignity. The strategy ...

• Haile Manasseh Mengistus Selaise VII 8 years ago

Kweku Afriyie is not considering the welfare of the innocent majority who are suffering at the expense of the irrational demands of these so called medical doctors who have had their training at the greater expense of the tax ...

• Kwame Opoku Nti 8 years ago

Dr Afriyie, Why cant u prepare such condition of service when you were the minister of health? You are a disgraced to this country.

• lazy and greedy Doctor. 8 years ago

For the Catholic Church, life is paramount. This core belief cannot be compromised. If you in our institutions, you have to share this fundamental belief or you are out. This is why the Catholic Church opposes abortion.

• DD 8 years ago

Catholic hospitals treat their staffs very well and better than GHS. If these doctors are given better conditions at the Catholic hospitals and the also go on strike who should attend to the patients. Since the management of ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

The hospital is private though catholic so their conditions of service differ from the public sector. So if doctors in the public sector go on strike and they decide to follow them,the church has every right to lay them off. ...

• Ricky 8 years ago

The Docs should live and let us die and we shall report them to the ALMIGHTY GOD. When we get there before them, we shall draft a 'REWARDING CONDITION OF SERVICE' for GOD's approval for them.

• shalom 8 years ago

Politics is evil,how can a former Minister whose gov. also faced similar insensitive moves that saw alot of innocent lives lost .Today bcs of politics you ae justifying an illegality to be legal. We are doomed as ghanaians bc ...

• kofi danquah 8 years ago

you see that is so clear the npp is strongly behind this gma strike and their happy.my observation has confirm this with the exception of only ken aygapong and wreko borbby but even this two gentle men are people who will spe ...

• kwabena opare addo 8 years ago

this man is disgrace to medical profession,a social misfit and mayopic who does not desrve to be call a doctor.infact you have shoot your teeth to your foot and one day you and your so call nana will surely pay for these crim ...

• Marcus kolare 8 years ago

bcoz of political power listen to e nonsense dis soo called formal health minister is saying

• Kofi Adjei, Mampongteng 8 years ago

People should stop insulting all doctors and classifying them to be murderers. Majority are very good people who their hearts out. I was told one Dr drove from Asokore Mampong to save me when he was called at 2am when I was s ...

• J. A. Asunka 8 years ago

Hey guys pls cease fire!!!. Let us for once stop this NPP, NDC thing. The catholic Church is a major stake holder so far as the provisions of health service is concern. And the former minister is asking the GMA to take them o ...