You are here: HomeNews2015 08 11Article 374485

Flagstaff House ranked world’s 10th most beautiful Presidential palace

Read Comments Comments (100)

• Thoughtful 8 years ago

I don't know why the name was changed back to Flagstaff House. Vindictive NDC

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Your Vindictiveness should rather directed to Kukurudu instead. Wasn't Kwame Nkrumah there once upon a time in Bethlehem, huh?

• DOWBIAH ROKO. 8 years ago

KWASEA THE BUILDER GIVES THE NAME HE WANTS.HUH,THEN IT SHOULD BE KWAME NKRUMAH JOB 600.DON´T YOU PEOPLE HAVE BRAINS ALWAYS TALKING ABOUT A DEAD´S BRAIN.NKRUMAH HAS GONE AWAY WITH HIS STUPIDITIES AND DICTATORSHIP.SO GIVE US ...

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

I can scale over this fence with ease. Pit up higher,.stronger fences. Plant big trees, not shrubs. Nkwasiafuo

• HANS 8 years ago

PEOPLE NEEDED WATER TO DRINK. INSTEAD USING THE MONEY TO PROVIDE FACILITIES FOR PROVISION OF WATER, KUFOUR USED THE MONEY TO BUILD A HOUSE FOR A FEW NPP MEMBERS. WHAT A SELFISH PRESIDENT!

• Abass 8 years ago

Kwame nkruma is dead and gone he is of no use in today politics.

• Klutse 8 years ago

Jubilee capture Ghana's half century independence anniversary. Flagstaff house is a relic of British colonialism. Between the two I think Jubilee House is more appropriate.

What jubilee?? What did we celebrate at 50? Jubilee celebration when the clothes designed for the celebrations were imported from China? Or the presidential palace built by Indian engineers with Indian loan ??
    Can we serio ...

• Citizen 8 years ago

We like flattery and deception in Ghana. We don't realize when white people are laughing at us.

• profferlio 8 years ago

Why do u leave castle and go and waste money billions of dollars to build this nonsense. Mean while ur people are suffering. What was wrong with the castle?

• HUMANISM 8 years ago

... AND WHAT HAVE D PHYSICAL WALLS DONE FOR US AS A PEOPLE ?

THERE IS NO RULE OF LAW ; THERE ARE NO ADULTS IN GOVT.; THERE ARE NO ADULTS IN PUBLIC DEPARTMENTS; THERE ARE NO ADULTS IN D GENERAL PUBLIC.

ALL WE SEE IS D ...

• Pasasa 8 years ago

Respect the villagers choice of beauty. For me, it's not my choice of beauty it looks like a vactory but for some of my good friends from the village, it's ok and I respect that. full stop.

• TEE 8 years ago

WE HAVE TO MAKEOVER WHEN THEY LEAVE IN 2017

• ELINAM 8 years ago

The air of aesthetic has ran out of Ghana.
    We celebrate ugliness. Churches are in open gutters and uncompleted unpainted structures with no shame.
    A Ghanaian church in the US operates in a former green house for plants, and ...

• Loway 8 years ago

About the building

• Joe 8 years ago

Looks like the Ashanti Stool

• Sly 8 years ago

What's ur worry

• Thoughtful 8 years ago

Which is setting Ghana backwards

• Raila Odinga 8 years ago

What criteria did this people use ? Architecture - Fail.
    Style - Fail
    Materials _ Fail
    Landscaping - Fail.
    Colors - Fail.

Failures all the way

• bala 8 years ago

wetin be dis

• KWAKU ANANSE 8 years ago

NPP KNOWS HOW TO RUN A NATION, FOR THE BENEFIT OF GHANAIANS. IN ONLY 8 YEARS, GHANA BECAME AN OIL PRODUCING NATION AND A MIDDLE INCOME COUNTRY. VOTE THESE THIEVES OF THE NDC ROBBERS OUT IN 2016 AND SAVE GHANA FROM DESTRUCTION ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

This is one of the bogus reports in history,you call that palace the 10 most beautiful palace in the world?
    Even the outside look alone turns me off and some of us have always been talking about the look of the structure,we ...

• p djamgbe 8 years ago

Corney you are right, structure-wise it looks ridiculous. Whoever says that house is beautiful doesn't seem to know what beauty is when it comes to buildings.

• Nana Kwaku 8 years ago

How many Presidential Palaces do you know?At least I know the Kremlin which is truly beautiful,the only problem with Flag Staff Hse is the main road in front with street hawkers.

• Joe 8 years ago

you know witches and wizards do not like anything good right?

• ME MAN NTI 8 years ago

Aaah I know an ayigbeman will never appreciate anything not done by an ayigbeman. These people are the ones who are driving Ghana backwards with no shame, because their straw mats were not used as a wall fence nothing will se ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Really,our straw mats saved your people including your parents who were sleeping on rafia mates prior to arrival of our Atsatsa,even up until today some of your people in the bush still sleep on those hard rafia mats because ...

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

If it had been built by nyebro and his little god Rawlings , it would have been the most beutiful building in the universe

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Corney, the story is not a fake one, but authentic. It's actually up there at number 10 among the world's most impressive Presidential edifice. Don't know how it achieved that fame or status in the thickness of the top brass ...

• Maame Grace 8 years ago

Kwasea go to Eyedemahs and see what they do there the outside of the white house is as uly as the flagstaff house. The reason you dont like the building is because it was built by the NPP shame grow up and dont be a sad pers ...

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

If it had been built by your god , and nyebro Rawlings , it would have been the most beautiful in the uniwerse.

• p djamgbe 8 years ago

Kwaku Ananse you are a liar. Ghana has always gone backwards under every regime since independence. Until we the ordinary Ghanaians start telling the truth this is how things will always be.

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

Whatever the NDC will do the beautiful edifice will still be known as Jubilee House. We thank Oman-ba pa, JA Kuffour for his vision. The NDC said the house was a hen coup and the refused to use it; they even wanted to degrade ...

• OSEI ASIBEY KWARTENG 8 years ago

WE ARE THINKING OF BETTER THINGS THE COUNTRY CAN GET AND SOME IDIOTS ARE TALKING ABOUT PRESIDENTIAL PALACE.

• SENKOAAH. 8 years ago

THE PLACE THAT WOULD BE TURNED INTO POULTRY FARM IS NOW NUMBER TEN IN THE WORLD.GHANAIANS MUST KNOW NOW WHO THE NDC PEOPLE ARE.THE PARTY OF PROPAGADA AND NO VISION.NOW THEY HAVE TURNED IT INTO ZONGO CHIEF´S PALACE WHERE KALA ...

• gh 8 years ago

silly piece

• Ahmed 8 years ago

We don't care how magnificent it is. We want our living condition to be better.

• Kwame K 8 years ago

It is not ethical for leaders to enjoy their lives while the country is poor. Let's hope our leaders get to the level of being servants instead of being kings. What do we gain if the country is ranked among the top dirty coun ...

• ed 8 years ago

GHANA HAVE NICE PALACE BUT MOST FALKS HAVEING PROBLEMS FEEDING THEIR FAMILYS

• Martin 8 years ago

This is a bogus article without substance. This is the work of someone being mischievous, by simply adding Flag Staff House to the list. This explains why Flag Staff House is not accompanied by a write-up. The other buildings ...

• ndc 8 years ago

THEY HAVE CHOPPED $27 BILLION TO DRY BONES LOOK AT THIS LIST OF THE RICHEST IN GHANA IN 2013 AND SEE WHERE THE NDC POLITICIANS, FRIENDS AND FAMILIES ARE INCLUDING WOYOME AND ASIEDU NKETIA

WILL TELL YOU WHERE THE 27 BILLION ...

• ALIMI YAO 8 years ago

The first time I saw this building a few years ago, I thought it was the headquarters of a new Communist Party that been established in Ghana.

• Osofo 8 years ago

A beautiful presidential palace in a filthy country. What an ironical contradiction. The northerners have soiled the flagstaff house with cola (bisi)

• me 8 years ago

NDC knows the cost of everything but the value of nothing. Atta Mills sais he was going to use it as a chicken coop. So now the chickens have gone home to roost.

• paps 8 years ago

thanks npp brainers we need you back

• Saint 8 years ago

I'll like ghanaweb to prof their source as to where they get this kwaku ananse story from.
    Thanks

• Fo Koku - Tanyingbe 8 years ago

Well done Kufour and NPP!

• Prof. K. Thunderpants 8 years ago

WHAT WE NEED IS DEVELOPMENT FOR THE WHOLE COUNTRY AND NOT JUST A BEAUTIFUL PRESIDENTIAL PALACE

• George 8 years ago

Wisdom is working. We need these kind of people to lead this nation. Anyansafoo mo wo he?

• John Storey Mann 8 years ago

I thought the NDC referred to it as a pen coup. Now Kufour takes the credit and these stupid NDc guys cannot even plant trees.

• Emperor 8 years ago

is this an achievement,oh blind people open your eyes

• Kwabena Yeboah 8 years ago

Why is it that these brainless ntafour will never appreciate gud things fm their master, ndc is a curse to all ghanaians,my wife is tani women n i ll divorce her,or else i ll ve brainless children

• Martin 8 years ago

Your arrogance is diminished by your limited command of the English language.

• mma 8 years ago

Had this huge sum of money been put to better use, our doctors and others may not have been embarking on strikes now.Should we be happy about this waste?

• Yaw Buor 8 years ago

The NDC gave a similar amount to Woyome. They could have used the Wayome money to build at least 50 hospitals.

• impromptus 8 years ago

Within 8 yrs K4 manage to write off huge debt, provided oil, independence of BoG & Audit office, women & children protection, build institution etc. What I didn't like about him was honouring himself with medals. Otherwise, h ...

• Kid 8 years ago

You are objective ,,Kufuor stands tall among the leaders we have had as a country ,,but the only bad side was awarding himself golden medals ...Generally he is still the best .

• Small Tweaaaa 8 years ago

Apio dey flow for journalist I'm house or what?
    Kai Kai Kai Kai kai

• exgratia 8 years ago

It shows the foresight of previous government( NPP).Thank you, papa Ku four.

• Kwadwo Boakye 8 years ago

Everyone go and check the website theestle.com and find out if it is even worth reading the article.
    KwadwoB.

• Aric 8 years ago

NDC nation wrekers

• jabar 8 years ago

I DON'T KNOW Y THEY CHANGED THE NAME TO FLAGSTAFF HOUSE OR THEY DON'T KNOW THE MEANING. OH STORBON NDC

• nana 8 years ago

Another lazy research work by another company,what's so nice about the flagstaff house that makes it deserve this positions.

• show man 8 years ago

I thought it was one of the most ugliest building in Ghana. Ghanaians are very deluded. Are you telling me this container is more beautiful than Westminster?. You're just jokers.

• Kid 8 years ago

Please take your time to read and understand b4 u spew your dung from ur mouth.The analysis of the palaces was not done by Ghanaians & Westminster is not a Presidential palace ..

• Nana 8 years ago

Sorry, but whether this is a presidential palace or not, this monstrous structure has absolutely no architectural merit at all by any measurement.

• Branaboy 8 years ago

Flagstaff House is the colonial name left to us at independence. IT was the Headquarters of the Military Officer Commanding the Accra garrison, the name Flagstaff (Flag Officer).

Looks like Nkrumah liked and kept the colo ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

No.10 beautiful Presidential palace in the world yet they cannot pay their doctors.It is only FOOLS who take pride in the beauty of their Presidential palaces while the majority of their citizens are wallowing in abject pover ...

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Thanks for your efforts.

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Ghanaweb stop posting this type of useless headlines and let's think about how we solve the nation's problems

• Clinton 8 years ago

Now you ndc people are proud u insulted president kuffuor and gave all sorts of name to this magnificent edifice, when he was putting it up. Shame on you all who disapprove the building of the Flagstaff house. God bless NPP g ...

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Came on it became oil production nation but the deal with this oil company was a bad deal and we don't benefit in it sorry n go down to the bottom of it and you will find out

• TEE 8 years ago

JUST IMAGINING MAHAMA AND HIS FRAFRA NTAFUO NPEPEFUO INSIDE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE. AFTER 2016
    THE WILL BE A LOTS OF CLEAN UP INSIDE THE BUILDING BCOS ONLY THESE NORTHERNERS ARE LEAVING THERE. THE PLACE IS REALKY STINKING YES MAHA ...

• Michael 8 years ago

Proud of it we have something to show twirls,good football,and a great Jubilee house

• Nana Kwame Holland 8 years ago

This is so ridiculous that it is no longer funny. One of the ugliest and dysfunctional buidlings in the world nominated as the tenth most beautiful presidential palaces?

And then this :According to well-informed sources, t ...

• Jack Moro 8 years ago

ARE WE TALKING ABOUT NDC POULTRY HOUSE AS THEY CALLED IT OR A PRESIDENTIAL PALACE? NDC HAVE NO SHAME!

• kweku manu 8 years ago

but if its occupant cant enforce a simple directive to save the innocent lives of ordinary citizens who transacted businesses with a BOG licenced microfince company DKM ,then then it reduces the beaty of the building to zero

• Andy 8 years ago

Now no more chicken palace I wonder why some of these so called ghanaian intellectual act or speaks like a fool.

• Daanaa Sampson 8 years ago

How do the stupid ndc people feel? Floppy brains repleted with calousbess, insensitivity and foolishness. They don't have any shame, else that ballot staffing president will not stupidly go an occupy it. Stupid people. Poult ...

• Ali MAHAMA 8 years ago

Kuffour and NPP Good works for Ghana are always visible for the world to see Others are Capitation Grantt, NHIS,School-Feeding,LEAP for the Poor,water for the Central Region, 4-Year Course for JHS Good Roads. Tema-Aflao,Tete ...

• Chicken Poop 8 years ago

in Togo is the most beautiful building in West Africa followed by Executive Mansion in Monrovia, Liberia built by Isreal.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 8 years ago

A slave dungeon would have still been the presidential seat had it not taken a visionary and wisdom laden Akan leader.

I don't mean to demean other tribes but the AKans are mostly the ones who appreciate wealth, the ...

• NYAME BA LEE 8 years ago

So how do Ghana BENEFITS from dis stupid sorvey.dis is nonsense.

• Michael K. Tettevi. 8 years ago

The right name is Golden Jubilee House and not Flagstaff House as insisted by late NDC Attah-Mills. Those who created it call it Jubilee House to mark the 50th. Anniversary of Independence. How can tenants be more powerful th ...

• So? 8 years ago

Here we go with this kind again.

• Social commentator 8 years ago

Is NDC aware of news? Where they used and termed it as. Nkokobuo. Hmmmmmm . Shame on us all

• ddkt 8 years ago

politics for Ghana be too much

• kwaku 8 years ago

So who said flagstaff house ranked no. 10th most beautiful presidential palace in the world. My countrymen this is a lie, a big lie. That structure looks like business promotional centre.

• Joe 8 years ago

Payoff the contractors and stop disgracing Ghana. How can you be using the facility and refuse to pay the balance of a mere $10million. Shame unto Mahama and his failed government.

• Jacob Allen 8 years ago

It makes sense as four full staff Ghana flags flying in front of that building.

• vicky 8 years ago

The NDC gov't said a lot of nasty things abt that building now who is grading it?

• inercycl 8 years ago

How about the environment in which the building stands? was that taken into account? It would be last

• Golden Boy 8 years ago

Well done former president Kufuo, this foolish NDC people said they were going to rear paultry in there when they come to power, we can all see instead of paultry they brought in goat's not even live once but dead goat's, sti ...

• adasa 8 years ago

Political segregation and insults in Ghana will lead to all out war one day to settle matters once and for all. Our future politically is not good

• Augustine 8 years ago

How about food for the poor to eat?

• Osei kuffour 8 years ago

Can't stop laughing... Laughter go kill person ... Concert party all over the place .

• ebo 8 years ago

Propaganda had it as Mrs. K4's house. Others intended to use it as poultry farm. What do they say to this acclamation?

• GHANAIANS MUST CHANGE 8 years ago

SOME GHANIAN'S MUST CHANGE THEIR ATTITUDE AND BEHAVE WISELY THIS ATTITUDE OF BLAME GAME AND COMMEND WHEN
    IT IS GOOD AND CONDEMN WHEN IT IS BAD.
    WHY SHOULD WE TALK ABOUT NAME CHANGE WHEN SOME ONE IS COMMENDING ABOUT A BUILD ...

• Eva Ayesu Debrah 8 years ago

Haahaa ooh my beautiful country Ghana,the chicken box has now become the tenth most beautiful presidential palace in the world.will those people salute ex president Kuffour administration for a work well done.FIRE BURNYOU

• DADA RICH (MANSO AMENFI) W/R 8 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA MAY GOD RICHLY BLESS YOU FOR THE GOOD WORK YOU ARE DOING FOR MOTHER GHANA .IT TAKES BRAVE MAN TO PERFORM DESPITE THE CRITICS COMING FROM ALL ANGLES.YOU ARE A FUTURE HOPE.