You are here: HomeNews2015 08 09Article 373925

Cigarette smoker in BNI grips for causing Goil fire

Read Comments Comments (116)

• Eagle eye 8 years ago

This is purely consequential and the kind of shoddy works that Ghanaians are very good at

Tell me the criteria for ur investigation
    and how can you prove that man did that and if that was it Accidental or Arson atta ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

I have been calling for the demolishing of illegal strictures constructed on waters ways since the killer flood killed more than 200 people in Accra, and have even called for the exercise to be extended to all the regional ca ...

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

I don't get it, is throwing away a lighted cigarette a crime in Ghana? Instead of charging Goil for the leak some poor guy smoking his cigarette is now being blamed. I have seen many smokers throw cigarettes in gutters so th ...

• BAD MOUTH 8 years ago

Foolish idiots. This useless government has the balls to claim that this action per-se caused the massive fire? how come the whole Accra did not burn, after all open fire cooking is pervasive in Accra than throwing cigarette ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

It is good we are all looking at the various causes of the failure or non functioning of the state , we say its a failed state because it does not benefit the people in any way. The compromises made in the constitution totall ...

• AGBEZUGE AMUZU 8 years ago

Insignt to the bone said:

"Whole groups based on ethnic backgrounds are excluded this was started by Achampong who appointed his Ashantis , continued by JJ who had a preference for Ewes and now Mahama who only trusts his r ...

• KOFFI 8 years ago

Indeed if anybody should be charged at all for the 3rd June disaster, it should be the authorities of Goil and Inspectors supposed to ensure safety of the environment and the City Authorities who failed to put out pragmatic w ...

• Freddie Kane 8 years ago

Massa I agree with you perfectly they big fish which is the owner of the leaking filling station is left n someone who even didn't know that the fuel was leaking. Our so called bni are useless. Look at the stupid investigatio ...

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

MAHAMA N HIS CORRUPT NDC GOVT HAVE TAKEN BRIBE FROM GOIL TO COVER UP FOR THEM AFTER GOIL CONSTRUCTED A POOR UNDERGROUND PETROL STORAGE VUNKER WHICH WASNT PROPERLY SEALED HENCE THE LEAKAGES. IT ISNT IT SAFE TO KILL OFF CIGARET ...

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

OH AKUFO COCAINE DRUG ADDICT, WAS ALSO SMOKING WEE AT THAT TIME. THESE DRUG ADDICT, AKUFO ADDO, IS A DEVIL TERRORIST IN GHANA AND HE IS BEHIND THIS EVIL ACT. . IF. SEVERAL WOMEN WERE KILLED FOR RITUAL BY NPP GANG OF ACID BOM ...

• THE GHANAIAN 8 years ago

I don't believe you have ever boarded a plane before, Kofi USA. Your hatred for Akufo Addo would only kill you because your hatred campaign on this platform cannot change anything about the man.

• eugene 8 years ago

internet troll is what he is

• /KOFI ADU DENVER USA 8 years ago

ARE YOU SURE YOU ARE IM AMERICA AND YOU STILL HAVE THIS MENTALITY OH NO

• eugene 8 years ago

your an ignorant nigger boy..You pay $3000 dollars to bribe the USA embassy, Pay $2000 for plane tix to NYC then you work in a toilet 10 hours per day, 7 days a week to live with 10 men in a bronx slum!

• Appiatus 8 years ago

Think well b4 u open that large mouth of urs

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

THE UNITED STATE GOVT FINED SHELL COMPANY BILLIONS OF DOLLARS FOR SPILLING LEAKING OIL INTO THE SEA CAUSING HARM TO FISHES AND ENDAGERING LIFE AND PROPERTY. THAT IS WHAT WE CALL RESPONSIBLE GOVERNANCE. MAHAMA N NDC ARE USELES ...

• eugene 8 years ago

to many source of ignition, car engines,short circuit from electric cables flooded, also the first story as somebodys cooking fire in house behind the station..The question is first how to stop the floods and wether tanks sho ...

• Joe Moore 8 years ago

are we going to say he is mentally sick too? if you know better then why can't you lead the investigation? some Ghanaian think that insulting and disgracing each other or those who are in authority is soo funny. but i underst ...

• WE WATCH AND WE WAIT 8 years ago

These people are playing with the peace and tranquility of our nation.Ashanti can take but so much bullshit.

• United Ghana 8 years ago

It's commons sense, idiot. Petrol should never under ANY circumstances leak from these underground tanks, but it did. Clearly a failure of the equipment which EPA claimed to have inspected a few months earlier.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

The arrest and detention of this guy is the most stupid thing ever done in the life of mankind.
    Under which law are they holding him,is there any law in Ghana that says if you smoke you don't throw the piece away,how will he ...

• MATHS 8 years ago

It is common sense that when one wants to throw away the butt of cigarette after it has been smoked, it should be put off completely. The report is saying that the smoker did not completely put out the fire before casting it ...

• AGBEZUGE AMUZU 8 years ago

I do not think that the smoker, if indeed he is the one in police grip, would throw the cigarette butt with the intention of triggering the fire. He would have endangered his own life in the process. I sincerely believe he wa ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Agbezuge,my comment is not a response to your comment,it is to MATHS who wrote it is common sense to put off fire before throwing cigarette butt.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

My friend,most people don't put off the fire before they throw the butt away,even in the west sometimes causing bush fires but it is more common sense to even a toddler that you don't need to put off a fire before throwing a ...

• Nana Nketiah 8 years ago

The quickest way to quench the burning cigarette is to throw it into water.
    This is exactly what the man supposedly did.
    Can he be blamed for not taking a petrol station (probably 200meters away), into consideration, before ...

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

These people had to find something to say at all cost. Even Mahama himself alleged that, he was convinced that the Accra fires were arsonist attempt to make him unpopular. At the end of the day he shamefully had to make a U-t ...

• X. X 8 years ago

Let the man go or else we will show you what fire looks like.Do you idiots think insults, excuses and scapegoats will make up for your incompetence? Don't push things too far because Ghanaians are very peaceful people but we ...

• Ka na wu 8 years ago

Exactly. Akan name will always be a scapegoat for NDC and Ewes

• Zoo 8 years ago

NDC,don't push us.

• Ghanavi 8 years ago

Why does some of you idiots always want to turn everything into a tribal war?!!

The logic behind the arrest doesn't make sense but this should not be turned into party/tribal war.

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Well said

• Ka na wu 8 years ago

NDC Ewe science. Cigarette smoke causes fire and flood

• ELINAM 8 years ago

Was it not raining at the time and who saw him smoking at the time? Was he the only person smoking at the time, and who just woke up from his or her sleep and slumber to have remembered the face of the smoker all of a sudden? ...

• Angel 8 years ago

please leave this poor innocent man in peace!!! how could he know that there was fuel in the rain so as to intentionally drop cigarette piece into it? why don't you use the over-choked circle gutters also as an ultimate cause ...

• Odasani 8 years ago

Please those accusing the guy should exercise restraint so that the innocent guy would not end up suing the state. In such cases there should be proof beyond every reasonable doubt that he is actually responsible. Again were ...

• Ghanavi 8 years ago

If indeed it was this man's cigarette that caused the fire, he would have died in the fire too. Such fires spread very rapidly and there's no way he could have escaped.

• Ebenezer 8 years ago

Exactly the point as you have eluded. There was no way this man could have escape dead or unhurt. The only possible means, which is highly impossible is that, May be the rain waters push the lighted cigarette a distance furth ...

• KOSEK 84 8 years ago

typical of the authorities to find a scape goat when all the poor bastard did on a cold rainy day was have a puff like you do. If GOIL took health and safety seriously the underground tanks will be secured enough to avoid the ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Ashanti/Akyem tribal Npp Party has succeeded destroying this beautiful country of ours.

• eugene 8 years ago

how's that hiv aids growing in your anus

• Peepe 8 years ago

Another REACTION to a serious, sad, but preventable ordeal. Be PROACTIVE and stop these nonsense after the fact. Where are the laws? Smoking around gaspetrol stations? What lessons do we learn from this? NBI or whatever the g ...

• WARNING 8 years ago

THEY ATCUALLY EXPECT US TO SWALLOW THIS BUCH OF STUPIDITY?MAHAMA IS PLAYING WITH FIRE!!!!!YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

• ABOA commission 8 years ago

WHY DIDN'T THE SMOKER ALSO DIE IN THE FIRE? DID HE USE A CATAPULT TO THROW THE CIGARETTE IN THE FIRE WHILES HE WAS FAR AWAY OR WHAT? STUPID INVESTIGATION

Blame the filling station for poor maintenance and jail a brother. Next time he will quit smoking..

• Ghanaian, NY 8 years ago

“flooding of Kwame Nkrumah was the remote cause of the fire.” This statement is redundant. Floods are natural disasters which happen everywhere. Texas had some towns completely under flood waters some few months ago. Drow ...

• Gbe 8 years ago

Pls give us a break BNI.this is totally absurdity.do not make him suffer for something he dont know about..these are all assumptions, not facts.your investigation seem so shallow and very clear for EVEN the blind could see.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 8 years ago

Gbe, you are straight on the point. By the way who saw Mr. Ofosu dropping the unquenched cigarette butt in the flooded water? Again was there a CCTV camera to pin point Mr. Ofosu dropping unquenched cigarette butt in the flo ...

• Berima 8 years ago

Don't even worry yourself cus there is nobody with the BNI.Those so called committee just want to prof that they have worked meanwhile they have done a cos 90 job.A country with comedian leader and his people.

• Togbe Fiti v 8 years ago

This is a joke. You cant start a fire of this magnitude by only dropping a cigarette butt in water mixed with petrol. You may be able to do that with the flame from a lighted match, but that is not what the report says. Leave ...

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

Why don't they blame the petrol that leaked from the ground? Smokers throw out unquenched cigarettes all the time but none ever caused a fire outbreak, let alone this magnitude of fire. We always scratch the surface of proble ...

• Kofi Virginia 8 years ago

this is an opportunity for public ad against smoking.

• king Solomon 8 years ago

please let us be realistic a bit .with all due respect I think the committee did a shoddy research .if indeed that man dropped the naked fire into the water filled with petrol from his hand he wouldn't have survived ..please ...

• Nana Nketiah 8 years ago

This is the Ghana you people left behind. These days, you don't need think about whether the lies you tell make you sound stupid.

Committees are set to by all means avoid the truth, commonsense and scientific facts, just t ...

• Mewuo 8 years ago

This is low blow, cop out

• Luther King 8 years ago

Mahama looking for a scapegoat to cover his incompetence. Shame on u Mahama and the disgraceful committee.

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

Oh Ghana!! How could they know that his cigarette definitely caused the fire. They just want to find an escape goat. I am not even sure if Ghana leaders know that congestion and gross attention to hazmat safety is the result ...

• Brofo 8 years ago

Dredge the drains and stop your nonsense of finding someone to blame...typical NDC government always, fucked up priorities. How in the world did you guys come up his conclusion?

• Mamuma Nkwantabisa 8 years ago

Thank u, king solomon, for sumitting a brief but thoughtful contribution. Meda kpe

• FRANCIS AGYAPONG 8 years ago

What investigation?
    Do we have security cameras at such location to determine that he was the cause of this fire.
    If you have evident initially why did it taje so long for the fire department and other security agents to ...

• Esi 8 years ago

Congratulations, blaming a smoker for causing a fire we all know was a result of ineptitude.

• Zoo 8 years ago

Mahama don't push your luck.hmmmm.

• CHRISTOS CHRISTOFF 8 years ago

Why are fools at the helm of the admin istration in Ghana? This problem was ab environmental hazard precipitated by COLECTED FLAMMABLE FUMES AND COMPRESED BY THE RAIN. The gazard was always there just waiting for conducive ...

• Adu-twum 8 years ago

What a heck?!?
    Ok. I'm throwing off the cigarette I'm smoking now, has it caught fire? No!.
    If there was no fuel leakage, certainly there wouldn't be any disaster...
    Safety standards in this country is too bad we woul ...

• Together we stand 8 years ago

Stop the blame game

• BRO DAN -TRC 8 years ago

HUMANITY; -'IF'- GHANA WANTS TO KNOW HOW NONSENSE AND SCANDALOUS THIS CRIME COVERING AGENDA IS; GHANA MUST WATCH FOR THE -"HOME DEPOT" COLOR- "ORANGE" AND THE -DEMOCRATS PARTY COLORS-"BLUE" IN THE PICTURE ACCOMPANYING THE ART ...

• OK 8 years ago

Only a dumb child will come to this conclusion. If this poor guy's cigarette started the fire, how come he wasn't burn as well.

• Ewiase 8 years ago

Oh a poor fellow smoking one roll to quench off his unsatisfactory incompetent doing of a comedian leader mahama and foolish committee as this wants to charge him something knowths nothing about... The disgrace of this commit ...

• Chicken tales 8 years ago

Sme ppl tok as tho ey av no brains, wil ey jux end up arestng an innocent man? Do sme f u knw wat investgatn x at all nd do u fink d man wudnt av a chnce to dfnd himslf. Moti h) afa politics ato mo ni so eeka nkwasiasem. I gu ...

• Omanba 8 years ago

KOFI USA IS A PIG WITHOUT VISION BUT INFUSED WITH DEAD GOAT SYNDROME. KOFI IS WAITING FOR HIS TURN AT THE
    SLAUGHTER HOUSE.

A PIG WILL ALWAYS BE A PIG WHETHER IT GOES TO SCHOOL OR NOT. SO IT IS WITH
    KOFI USA.

IT IS A W ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 8 years ago

Why did the smoker not die too? Why did the fire not start when he struck the match? What about the owner of the defective fuel station? If it is true that a smoker started the fire then he has to be COMPENSATED by the owner ...

• DEAD GOAT 8 years ago

fIRE

• Ebibiman 8 years ago

Hahahaaa Ghana law makes me laugh always. Lol
    What kind of kweku anansi story .
    Pls allow the guy to go.
    Cheers

• DEAD GOAT 8 years ago

bni

• SHAKA ZULU 8 years ago

SCAPE GOAT ALL THE WAY

• witch hunter 8 years ago

I am not a smoker but that could not be true simple because cigarette fire which came in contact with water mixed with fuel can't spark the fire simply because the water will quickly quench the cigarette fire before explosion ...

• Akonta besi fom 8 years ago

The committee that is blaming this poor guy is simply not intelligent.Blaming this poor soul instead of holding the big shots at Goil goes to prove that many of Ghana's so-called educated elite are simply unintelligent.Goil i ...

• Me 8 years ago

It's the petrol station that has to be prosecuted for the leaking fuel. There should've been a regular maintenance schedule followed to ensure the safety of the filling station.

• DANIEL KENU 8 years ago

THE CRIMINAL ACT WAS THE ESCAPING PETROL.

• ********* 8 years ago

He may have ignited the fuel, but the question is how did the fuel found its way into the floods? Is it not the negligence of someone or a group of people? It possible considering the time of day that he did not see the water ...

• Kwabena Danso, Gbawe-Accra 8 years ago

In my opinion the owner of the petrol tank should have to be arrested as well for that leakage.

• SARP 8 years ago

This is outrageous, so does this goddam committee means this innocent man threw the cigarette into the water and went away unhurt ? Oh Ghana, God help us.

• AYB 8 years ago

LIES LIES LIES TYPICAL OF NDC
    SHAME MAHAMA

• mahama 8 years ago

Why is nobody taking Goil to court ?

• eugene 8 years ago

But true where the tanks sealed properly? caps should only be removed to fill the tanks

• Keane 8 years ago

I do not think smoking and throwing butt away is a crime especially if its not a restricted area. The issue has to do with the poor safety culture at the said goil station.

• Abdul Wahab Seidu 8 years ago

I am not sure that he is the cause of what happened even if he is but he did not do it intentionally because how can he knew that there was fuel leakage. So, what happened was the work of Allah and not any body

• friendly chemicals 8 years ago

What you people are saying is concert .So the committee is concert .Every member of the committee should have 10 lashes and 5 years at Nsawam

• Zinzan 8 years ago

Common sense should tell everybody that the cause of the fire is the Goil Gas station that allowed the fuel to spill over. What has somebody 'walking his somewhere and smoking his cigarette' got to do with this fire. The caus ...

• Yamba 8 years ago

The cigarette tub drop in the water could not have caused the Fire outbrake. It was not in flames so how could it?

• The boy 8 years ago

Absolutely nonsense, let the man go,useless beings.

• Emmanuel ,Tema 8 years ago

Oh leave the poor guy alone and do your investigation well. No cover ups

• goodman 8 years ago

If he caused the fire why wasn't he killed by the fire?
    The cause is mainly the negligence of development by our governments

• Ogah Joe. 8 years ago

Please release this innocent man.He should not be used as Scape goat. The so called committee should deal with the Filling Station Manager who was not able to detect fuel leakage from his under ground tank. He must be able to ...

• AMBI 8 years ago

In Ghana today, laws protect the powers that be and wealthy individuals regardless their actions. But the weak and poor masses are often made to laugh at the wrong side of their mouths.

• Pro GHANA I A N 8 years ago

How on Earth can a cigarette smoker be charged!?! The whole story stinks! By the way quiet not possible at all!!!

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

Ei is that the way the BNI carries out investigations? God have mercy! In my lay man's view: 1. The Odaw drain /river had not been dredged within the last 5 years 2. Some minor drains which discharge water into the Odaw river ...

• Joe 8 years ago

I cannot believe why none of all those who lost their properties, injured and the families of those who lost their lives have not as yet SUED the AMA and the Ghana government for the negligence that led to the flooding which ...

• ddkt 8 years ago

they should leave him alone. we are trying to pacify our conscious

• THE GHANAIAN 8 years ago

Once again our system has shown to the world that we have a prejudiced justice system. it started with the famous election petition, then president's assassination case and now ... Common sense will show that the best way any ...

• Bismark 8 years ago

Please BNI, I think you need to consider what you mean by CAUSE.
    1.Did the man cause the leakage?
    2.By logic, even if he failed to quench the lighted cigar, will a lit cigar inflame rainwater?
    3.Could the cigar in rainwat ...

• truth 8 years ago

Mahama and Oko are the cause of the deaths. shame on the government

• Nana Takyi 8 years ago

There is no way lighted cigarette can cause fire. Besides it was raining heavily so were was this man standing to hve done that. Oh Ghanaian leaders and blame game.

• Adane usa 8 years ago

Leave that guy alone.He did nothing wrong.can't he leave his life.nonsense.

• leeskerry 8 years ago

this is unbelievable! how did they get that piece of cigarette? what did they use to identify the culprit? do have CCTV camera at time at the place? how can somebody smoke whiles it's raining and running in it? that piece of ...

• BILE 8 years ago

BNI FOR WHAT? WASTE OF RESOURCES.

• cj 8 years ago

plz watch this movie cigarettes don't start fire.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMrj9VFl2cY

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

this find in is unbelievable. it is not possible for lighted cigarette to cause the fire. can they experiment with water mixed with fuel or only fuel and put half smoke cigarette in it and see whether it will catch fire. ano ...

• obour 8 years ago

aaaaaba bni, how can u people suspect this smoker as the cause of the fire?
    where was he standing when he lit the cigerrate n dropped it. did the man vanished from where he dropped the lit cigerrate that started the fire or ...

• Boboobo 8 years ago

How is it that this gentleman who they claim caused this fire is still alive whiles over 250 people lost their lives, it dosen't make sense one bit, did he fly into thin air or what ?

• mahlon 8 years ago

Ridiculous. Cigarettes cannot ignore petrol.

• nana 8 years ago

As an environmentalist i see all this story as crap!!! The real culprits are EPA and goil. They should rather deal with avoiding reoccurrence of the flood and leakage than this bullshit they are trying to tell us. SMH.. I wou ...

• Joseph Nkrumah 8 years ago

If indeed the accused threw the lightened cigar, why didn't he died also? This is a waste of our time and money by the use of our resources to friends and cronies.

• ALHAJI 8 years ago

BNI ARE FOOOOLS,CRIMINALS,EMPTY HEAD,NONSES

• Public Interest Citizen 8 years ago

I hope this guy has a good lawyer. The State is desperately looking for a Scapegoat. What is the basis of this bogus charge? We just learnt that more dead bodies are being discovered at the scene of the accident. Yet, the com ...

• Kwabena Ansa 8 years ago

Shame unto you, BNI. From the word go, the Mahama administration was bent on finding somebody, a scape goat to accuse for the huge Goil fire that engulfed houses and caused human deaths just to save face and to hide their inc ...