You are here: HomeNews2015 07 31Article 372151

Cedi begins to slide

Read Comments Comments (109)

• SUZZY 8 years ago

To hell with this brainless economic team

• pointed clitoris 8 years ago

Bawumia predicted that the dollar will go for not less than 6 cedis in few months, anyway, the ewes and northners know that ndc has failed but because of tribalism, opportunism, and illiteracy, have blinded them

• ben 8 years ago

It is this arrogant and tribalistic behaviour of this akans that is causing their downfall. If cedi is going down why insult ewes n northerners? Has the cedi not depreciated under Kuffour government? Have akans stopped voting ...

• AGYEMAN! 8 years ago

Wikileaks: Akufo-Addo's Reputation As Marijuana Smoker May Damage Him Politically

>

05-Sep-2011
    Comments ( 84 ) Email Print

Related Stories

It is becoming increasingly ob ...

• Bank of Ghana 8 years ago

The ugly Kofi Wampah is blowing shit once again, all what the idiot is saying has absolute nothing to do with the truth. He is talking nonsense!

• halid 8 years ago

Ben, don't think that any moron who posts tribalistic comments here is an Akan. Some people deliberately hide behind the internet and pitch Akans against other tribes so that some political parties will appear more tribalisti ...

• Chief 8 years ago

In fact, that is exactly NDC thrives on and they will continue to whip up tribal sentiments to their advantage. Until non-akans realize this NDC will continue to take them for a fool

• Kwasi Boateng 8 years ago

Chief, let the truth be said. There are many Akans that try to look down upon non Akans and make derogatory statements about the non Akans.

Some in the political kingdom have fallen in line with such Akans and make state ...

• Klutse 8 years ago

How do you tell this person is Akan? Remove your tribal spectacles first, then understand that faceless non-Akan people can also ignite tribal sentiments to convince people like you against Akans. i realized that long ago whe ...

• Humanity 8 years ago

It wrong to bring ethnicity into this, and the person is an IGNORANT MORON, though, I note, you have also perpetuated the same ill; insulting AKANS...is there any difference between the two of you?

• Nana 8 years ago

many are asking Ghana to go federal to reduce this tribal fighting.

• been 8 years ago

Ben am very disappointed at you are the akans the only people feeling this heat? Why should one chose to suffer bcos he was insulted by some idiot. I don't think those making such comments at even card bearing members of the ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

It is good we are all looking at the various causes of the failure or non functioning of the state , we say its a failed state because it does not benefit the people in any way. The compromises made in the constitution totall ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

I respect your analysis but let me say this:every politician has who he trust no matter which constitutiojn they abide by:constittution may allow bipartisan but I believe that every politician nowadays has their own interest; ...

• Sam 8 years ago

Hurry Long the Republic of Akan .Maama is humiliating us.

• Sam 8 years ago

Hurray long live the Republic of Akan,and allow the Northerners and Ewes Export their shea butter and gari.

• AMIDU FOR PRESIDENT 8 years ago

Stop this nonsense. How much did they pay you to divide this peaceful country? Shame on you.

• Kay 8 years ago

Insight to the bone is an ndc trying to fool people by pretending to be npp and akan. He always comments with tribal insults. His sole aim is to divide Ghanaians on tribal lines so that his party can gain political advantage. ...

• OLD SODIER 8 years ago

Ewes and Northerners are really educated but i wonder.. They love tribalism too much and keeps voting this criminal Aseidu Nkaties party NDC. They've been ruling Ghana than any of the parties in Ghana . Look at Ghana now rate ...

• me 8 years ago

u are also been tribalistic.is it a must dat northeners n ewes support ur party?nonsense

• Asante. 8 years ago

You are stupid, Bawumia is a northerner. You do not even know how to spell northerner - FOOL

• Kakaminamor 8 years ago

When did you Ashanti's had value for education?

• Wisdom HD. 8 years ago

You and Ashanti people are stupid and ignorant. Does it mean only ewe and northern vote for NDC,same time how many Ashanti people can be compared to Ewe in terms of education, not even ten percent.Stupid fool.

• Kofi O-D 8 years ago

So is Bawumia now an Ashanti,just because U need to use and dump him later like U did Aliu????

• APONKYE 8 years ago

NPP's only prayer is for things to go wrong. What an UNPATRIOTIC party!!! They are delighted for Ghana to be destroyed if that will give them power.

And the Akyem/Akyem mafia have been infected with this evil unpatriotic w ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Kwasia!! Now blaming Mahama's incompetence on NPP's prayers.

• Michael- USA 8 years ago

Why do u reason like that?????

• momo 8 years ago

Surely a president has to take responsibility for his actions. ..bit immature to blame it on others or the so called no evidence prayer of the opposition! Come on dear take a more mature approach... like they say if you can' ...

• momo 8 years ago

The above post for DOOM-MONGERING NPP AT ITS GAME AGAIN

• Sethoo 8 years ago

When Bawumia said you can't do propaganda with economics NDC thought he was insulting them.How could you pump $20m every wk into the economy thinking the cedi would appreciate.True Lunatic Charles is better than JDM.

• Dessie 8 years ago

the same thing were told to Obama team:Eric Geithier;Obama super smart guy but in the end American economy is back on track:ghanaians talk a lot

• Anukware 8 years ago

Is this the way the American economy picked up? Visionless president leading thieves and brainless people, is that how Obama is, is that the calibre of people leading America and are they thieves? You have a useless governman ...

• KOSEK 84 8 years ago

Thats the problem with most Africans. their mouths are always 2 minutes ahead of their brains

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

Those who were trusting in Wampa and the government, you better wake up from your day dreaming, sit up and face reality. When the Dollar still holds its worth internationally and they deceive you to believe the dollar has dep ...

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

Does Ghana's economy control the world economy or is it the other way round?
    Wait small and you will know the truth: when dollar and cedi stand toe to toe, who is who...

• PRINZY@BONN-Germany 8 years ago

Attention!, Attention Ndc has paid some youth to go on internet to fan in tribal sentiment, insults on one tribes against another. Specially Akans against Ewes,Northerners & Gas to create Divisions among Ghanaians to gain pol ...

• NANA 8 years ago

Hmmmmmm nothing is going well for these people, how can you pump money into the system with the mind of helping lift the cedi up? Naa its a bad strategy. Fix the economy and the cedi will automatically get to the appreciabl ...

• okofo 8 years ago

If majority voted TWICE for such a CLUELESS government, then majority of Ghanaian voters are certainly FOOLS!!!

Come 2016 election, give another mandate to this Tibonkoso government, and Ghana will be up for bidding at the ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Stop displaying your ignorance here,you are rather the fool not Ghanaians.

What do you want the government to do about the cedi,pump more money in to keep it strong,how many countries do that?

Stop disturbing our ears w ...

• Alhassan Walla 8 years ago

Ha, ha, ha, ... Stupidity galore. I guess you made the computer you posted this "shit" from by yourself. Go and tell Mahama to walk on his feet from Accra to Bole next time he visits his folks up there.

This is the type o ...

• tara 8 years ago

FOOL FOOL FOOL
    NDC FOOL

• Palogo 8 years ago

Oh Corney how sad that you are blaming the people for your failures. Your NDc knew the nature of Ghanaians, their taste for foreign goods when you were shouting edebee keke. We have a better Ghana agenda whiles you had no clu ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

USD ($)buy 3.453 - sell 3.456EUR

(€)buy 3.769 - sell 3.773GBP

(£)buy 5.378 - 5.385

The above were the rate as from yesterday given out by the BUSINESS GUIDE which was consistent with the BOG figures on their ori ...

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

CORNEY YOU SOUND WISE, BUT YOU ARE AN UNREPENTANT FOOL. WASN'T THE GOVERNMENT WHO SAID THAT HIS FINEST ECONOMICS AND MINISTER OF FINANCE HAVE OUTSTANDING SOLUTION TO PUMP $20 MILLION DOLLARS DAILY INTO THE ECONOMY? AND WASN'T ...

• J0eY LOnD0N 8 years ago

Which currency does not float?

• Stoway 8 years ago

You found the actual change rate on the banks' website and you decided to go to your affiliated forex bereaus and black market to get rates that suit your mischief. Tell us how much you will get when you take a dollar to chan ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

Americans lift their debt ceiling,pumpinh billiuons of dollars into their economy:it took Obama more than six years before americans begin to see improvement ,,Ghanaians talk more than listening

• bi 8 years ago

But the American money was pumped into strategic industries and other capital ventures which has resulted in the upward trajectory of the US economy

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

My friend, even the said pumped in of $20 million into the economy was done twice and the rest was left to speculators. Actually, the BoG just set up a trap and helped bring the "hoarded dollars" back onto the market which p ...

• Bobby,Denmark 8 years ago

This Mahama administration can't never deliver on many of their promises because of their greediness.They have built an empire which is full of thieves.The Ibrahims,Anyidohos,Nketias are just few to mention.You can't eat you ...

• pilolo 8 years ago

I am happy, I want it to slide like it stepped on okro so the small pounds I send will be chafu chafu in Ghana. More grease to your elbows wampah

• FOOLI,SH SOLOMON NKANSAH 8 years ago

Just like Prophet Bawumia said, the exchange rate will expose you if you lie about the economy. Hmmm here we are at it again. Let's wait to hear what the Ndc idiots communicaters will have to say again.

• genuwine 8 years ago

Dumb government with shallow minded economy team ,how can u pump dollar into the system believing it will help our cedi to gain,wait ,just solve domsor and automatically production will go up and then we can make some dolla ...

• TEE 8 years ago

ALL OUR MONEY AND GHANA IS BROKE PERIOD

• Kwesi Payin 8 years ago

These Ndc economic small brains don't know the tin, when they try to teach you the tin, you insult the teacher. Just 3 weeks of gains and the the Ndc fools were all over the place beating their chests and clapping for themsel ...

• Yussif 8 years ago

BoG boss must be probed,I suspect something is going on behind the scenes,it can not be natural,his decision to pump taxpayers money to enrich the un scene hands in the currency trade must be investigated by the BNI.Many ve q ...

• NANA AKUFO ADDO 8 years ago

FALSE!!!

THE CEDI APPRECIATED AS HIGH AS 2.9 GHC TO THE DOLLAR. MORE APPRECIATION OF THE CEDI UNDERWAY.

LONG LIVE MAHAMA.
    LONG LIVE TERKPER.
    LONG LIVE WAMPAH.
    LONG LIVE GHANA.

• Sam 8 years ago

gyimii gyimii

• Eadee 8 years ago

See how hard you trying to defend this incompetent government...stupid!!!

• Omanba 8 years ago

The Ghana CEDI is SERIOUSLY SLIDING despite the regular dollars the Bank of Ghana is pomping into the system to sustain the cedi.

Dr. Mahamadu Bawumia, NPP Vice-Presidential Candidate, has already commented and the NDC IDI ...

• TEE 8 years ago

WON'T ACCEPT THE TRUTH PERIOD. BAWUMIA WILL PUT NDC SECRET LIES INTO SHAME PERIOD

• Bell nono 8 years ago

That is what the speculators, economic saboteurs and the currency traffickers were shouting for.

• rikuss1 8 years ago

Bad economics we told you so. How can you just be pumping cash (dollars) to kill its value. you need production to do that. when you increase your export, that problem would be solved automatically, and that is the time you n ...

• YB 8 years ago

Health issue and opportunity
    Get approved quality health product and prevent yourself from the following chronic sicknesses and disease

Are you suffering from Cancer? prostrate and breast cancer, skin cancer, cancer in ...

• JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS 8 years ago

THE GOVERNOR OF THE BANK OF GHANA DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS DOING. THE MARKET DICTATES THE STRENGTH OF A CURRENCY, ON THE BASIS OF THE FUNDAMENTALS OF ANY NATION'S ECONOMY. DR KOFI WAMPAH AND THE BANK OF GHANA OF GHANA ARE WAS ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

Ghanaians should lower their expectation on cedi currency:because of currency venerability:the movement of currency here and there,the world economy is in venerable position as Mohammed al Harian of Alianz financial chief ad ...

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

The Cedi is a problem. Dumsor is a problem. Infation is a problem. Public Deficit is a problem Borrowing are accepted. Abbaaaaa, why cant Mahama and his fake NDC gouvernment leave Ghana in peace.

• Onipaba 8 years ago

Mahamma is a looser and he knows that.Only foolish and stupid people dont know this.Period.All he does is talk.He should have been a school teacher rather than taking the whole nation for a ride thanks to the foolish idiots w ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

Currency speculators beware.

• adanko 8 years ago

How much is being pumped into the system by BOG? IS IT $20MILLION A DAY OR $20MILLION A WEEK?????. Some of us are confused and disturbed! All these activities are not sustainable. Block all the loopholes in the NDC thieving ...

• EWE PRIEST 8 years ago

THEY WILL ACOMPLISH NOTHING,ABSOLUTELY NOTHING,EVEN WITH THE OIL.UNLESS WE BOOT THEM OUT AND PROSECUTE THEM ASWEL,GHANA WOULD SINK FURTHER IN HARDSHIPS & TO THE ABBYSS OF ECO-DISGRACE.ALREADY APPROACHING A FAILED STATE STATUS ...

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

WELL SAID, EWE PRIEST, WE WILL SHINE OUR EYES "WELL-WELL".

• sankara mfedemele England 8 years ago

Mmm nothing seems going on well for this president.i really don't no if ppl around him is not helping or he does not take advice.or maybe he was not the president but was wrongly chosen!!is sad though hadn't not he will feel ...

• Yaw USA 8 years ago

So happy I don't have to send much home I wish it get back to 4 cedis Thank you JDM

• BBC News 8 years ago

Pumping $20m daily is just speculations by the central bank just as to persuade those hoarding forex to bring it out. But with this tool adopted by the central bank things will get worse in the long run.

• sankara mfedemele England 8 years ago

Supporters must agreed to it that their government has failed big time and let's be patriotic and vote them out and see if the real vision man nana the Antipas can shift our country for better.lets him good ppl in Ghana pls,

• HIGH PRIEST 8 years ago

Blessed are those who continually think for the rest of the people and do the right things
    Blessed are those who do not sleep because they wish the country well
    Blessed are you when uncouth people attack you from various an ...

• Josh 8 years ago

Wow, I like your Beattitudes. Nice writing

• AAA 8 years ago

Yes,let it slide for a while, then we can shore it up again and wipe out the remaining of the speculators. Great opportunity to make the speculators bankrupt.

• Kwame Wise 8 years ago

A country full of fantasies!!! Until leadership and people in authority listen to expects in various fields of economic management, it will take a miracle to save our nation called Ghana from such selfishness, sycophancy, hy ...

• Kwame Wise 8 years ago

Worst still, Ghana has become like one of a "slot" gambling machine in the streets of Las Vegas in the U.S. where the old and young seek economic fortunes!!!

• Kofi UK 8 years ago

Ghana's economy is not that significant in world's trade. We need to strengthen our export rather than imports where people prefer stronger cedi in order to bring rotten goods from other countries. China and Japan have kept t ...

• WASHISHI 8 years ago

GHANAIAN TRADERS,POLITICIANS AND BUSINESSMEN WHAT DO YOU NWANT.CEDI MUST GO UP OR MUST GO DOWN.MUCH NOISE ALL THE TIME NPP ON ONE SIDE AND ACADAMICIANS ON THE OTHER SIDE.

• inercycl 8 years ago

when the well runs dry!

• Ngi 8 years ago

What has happened to the $20 million injection to stabilise the cedi.

• DANNY BLUE 8 years ago

NPP HOARDERS OF DOLLARS SHAKING

• Farmer 8 years ago

I love the expression for yet the greatest foolish act of the monetary leadership. Let this be a reminder to them hence forward. YOU CANNOT BREAK THE MARKET FORCE WITH EVEN THE MOST LOSS MAKING MONETARY INTERVENTION. That's i ...

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

You teaching the concept of flying to a Fish in the river.Ignorant Mahama and NDC Corrupt worshipers have no Idea of Monetary policy and Markets!.

• Swedru 8 years ago

Both, a strong and weak currency have their positive and negative aspects. A weak currency favours exports and incoming tourism as a strong currency imports and outgoing tourism. However, what kills an economy and a country i ...

• Ado Mensah 8 years ago

This is due to the fact that people have realised the govt't lied about relasing 20million dollars every week. Where does the money go to?

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

The NDC was NOT elected in the last elections and they know it. Just like a thieve ,they have broken into Power and Stealing much as they can before they run out!.

If injecting $20 million is no more working, why not try $40 million? Keeping a brain-dead person on life support doesn't make the person a living being. It only prolongs the drying process.

• yebopower 8 years ago

Stop comparing the cedi to the dollar.Ghana is not USA. Produce what you eat,trade with other African countries,solve dumsor ,stop stealing money and everything will be fine

• James 8 years ago

Telling lies has always led to disgrace.
    How can a broke government pump $20 million into the forex market per day?
    Where from that money?
    John Mahama and NDC have been telling lies for the past 3 years.

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

This Suffering is really needed to awake Ghanians to understand that only their VOTE will remove this Ignorant Mahama and his Gang of NDC thieves from power!.

• Willy 8 years ago

Excellent, Halid,it is NDC that is always doing those things for their political ambition. I wished some one drummed this to the Northerners and indeed the Akans to be ware of the diabolic characters.

• None 8 years ago

1 US Dollar = 3.82 GHC

www.xe.com/currencyconverter/convert/?Amount=1&From=USD&To=GHS

TODAY: 7/31/2015

• john mahama 8 years ago

Ghana has a donkey ruling the country that is things are getting worse.

• john mahama 8 years ago

Ghana is not fall from becoming a failed state because of foolish mahama

• Tekonline.org 8 years ago

As of 5-minutes ago, MoneyGram's rate was $1 = GHC3.33

• keyboard 8 years ago

Ghana is suffering de same to it currency

• keyboard 8 years ago

Ghana is suffering de same to de cedi

• SEEK- BEREKUM 8 years ago

BECAUSE OF STUPIDITY, THE NPP THINK THAT THEIR VOICEFCIROUS MINORITY CAN TURN INTO MAJORITY.
    USELESS PEOPLE.

• Jt 8 years ago

Ignorance on the highway. What do have to stabilize cede against doller. Countries like China that produce half of what the world buy including USA have yen lower than doller for economic sense.

• MUKARFA 8 years ago

FOLKS THIS IS NOT ABOUT AKAN OR EWE,ITS PRIMARILY DUE TO THE FACT THAT GHANA NOT BEING AN INDUSTRIALIZED NATION DOES NOT HAVE THAT ECONOMIC MUSCLE TO BACK HER LEGAL TENDER,SECONDLY OUR NEGATIVE CULTURE OF NOT WANTING TO MANUF ...

• giwa 8 years ago

R we sure it is 20 million they r pumping,this people can pump only 15 million into the economy and pocket the 5 million dollars.

• charles coffie 8 years ago

i told a friend in u s a that the cedi will depreciate from six cedis to a dollar in the sense that the ndc government did not sweat for that and there are no resources to back that fall of the foriegn currency

• charles coffie 8 years ago

poor ndc government,Your have nothing better to offer ghanaians only than looting of our money headed bymahama

• Ben Bolga 8 years ago

The government is too desperate to win political power. Rushing everywhere.