Many Ghanaians are criminals. You find them in every sphere of life. So don't shout as if criminals are only found in one sector.
Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 10 years ago
So yo call yourself hon.minister?I dont agree with you because you know you are a criminal than those you are talking about.
facts 10 years ago
And Mahama? As a Vice President a committee was set up to investigate him but the findings were never made public after who set the committee was killed. This minister could not talk for fear that he would be sacked. A judge spoke of the create loot and share practice of the NDC government, this the
minister could not utter a word. We never heard him on GEEDA, etc. He has now found a cheap target, hypocrisy.
Nana Barimah 10 years ago
The most corrupt body under the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources is the Forestry Commission.The Mafia is headed by the current Chief Executive and was given official backing by the recent past Chairman of the Board.This Mafia has a structure that work from the Head Office with a shadow thru' the Regional to the District offices. Asem beba debi.And Jesus wept.
APONKYE 10 years ago
If 5% of our ministers were working like this man, we would have been better off.
The Indian should been locked up for the next 20 years.
Kufuor ruined the attitudes of Ghanaians. Now no conscience - Kufuor's legacy.
If 5% of our ministers were working like this man, we would have been better off.
Kofi 10 years ago
It is true.They are selling teak trees to the Indians waawaa and at cheap price.I have stayed in Europe for so long and I know the value of timber.
insight to the bone 10 years ago
We have followed with keen interest the criminal activities of the brothers Mahama and several times on this forum tried to let our people know the worst kind of criminal has occupied the highest office of the land through the murder of President Atta Mills. This affair with the equipment is only the tip of the iceberg which will bring down the mighty Titanic of the Gonja pepeni mafia. As the story develops we will hear of German , Swiss and Arab bankers looting the state coffers through bogus schemes and azaa loans. We shall encourage the American FBI and European union organized crime office to start investigations so their foreign counterparts do not go Scott free but answer in a court of law for their participation in corrupting a sovereign. There is not a single project in Ghana today that didn't have the Mahamas siphoning of billions of dollars yearly to Dubai , Switzerland , Germany , Iran , Italy and Brazil.They were so selfishly greedy that they didn't even bother to take their time to cover their tracks so there is documentation and evidence all over .Ghana has become the private property of pepeni Mahama and his relatives who are strategically placed in every institution of state to ensure pepeni omanhene gets his cut. This story of the equipment and their ridiculous stupidity in attempting to justify daylight theft is more than just proof of their low life criminal minds . Acting like kids when they think no one is watching to rob the cookie jar. Somebody should tell those fools that they can continue to rob banks and later on claim they are the Robin hood and so work for free , give me the equipment and fuel so i too will work for free. We see here the inner circle of the criminal mafia which includes Julius Debra , Collins Dauda and notice they are all pepeni idiots. People of Ghana dont bother shooting these idiots rather arrange to have them poisoned quick so the die and we are free. They have destroyed the economy and we are now on a roller coaster ride heading directly for chaos which will lead to political violence evolving into ethnic tribal wars whereby millions of the innocent may die. It will be better to start killing Mahama and his relatives / tribesmen so we can preserve the peace and let better more competent people come and put things right. Yes i give props to the man who went to pepeni fake christian 's church to shoot him dead .Even today they go about as if nothing has happened and continue stealing as they are convince the people of Ghana are stupid and will forget by Friday this crime. YOU CAN NEVER JUSTIFY THEFT AND CRIME . Coward pepeni has run away from his post with a fake excuse he is on leave but we will let him know he can run but can not hide, his days are numbered as God will surely punish him for his wickedness
Brito 10 years ago
How can forestry commission supervise the cutting down of trees in forest reserve?And daily guide thinks the minister was wrong?
Obed Adore 10 years ago
Sir, of course the teak trees need to be harvested at the right time and that re-forested according to plan. You know that those trees are not to stand there for life and be killed by pests. They are planted for various reasons, one of which is to harvest them at the right time.
gee 10 years ago
the north is already deprived and why should people sit in their offices and sign pacts with foreigners to fell trees. Why not other parts of the country where food and other minerals are in abundance.
Please save us this de ... read full comment
the north is already deprived and why should people sit in their offices and sign pacts with foreigners to fell trees. Why not other parts of the country where food and other minerals are in abundance.
Please save us this degradation we are already suffering galamsey problems
concerned man 10 years ago
I thought they are campaigning for more trees to be planted up north? How many trees are left and some are being cut down?
De 10 years ago
Those put in charge of safeguarding the national resources abuse social trust. That has always been the mantra and hymn sung: "Order from above", "instruction from above", "some powerful people are behind". This madness and gross abuse of power needs to end. It doesn't save us any good image. It stinks of corruption, nothing more.
Obaapanyin Birago 10 years ago
Does the Indian work for forestry commission or is buying from them? Am told Ghana's Finance Miinistry is full of Foreigners, most of them from Other African countries. How true is that.
i dnt hav name 10 years ago
wht an explanation from the Commision? Why allow the cutting down of the trees in a forest reserved? Do U understand the word reserve? The commesioner is sick, he is a stupid fool. Kill the reserve and the sun will kill you at the north. No the animals in the forest will even come and live with you in ur houses.idiot
Amidini 10 years ago
Please dialogue, we want peace
G. K. Berko 10 years ago
Granted that the Minister might have been impatient in this particular case, he surely might have drawn from long existing experience that he seems to be sharing with the general Public.
Given what has happened to our For ... read full comment
Granted that the Minister might have been impatient in this particular case, he surely might have drawn from long existing experience that he seems to be sharing with the general Public.
Given what has happened to our Forests Nation-wide, and our Plantations all over, I am not surprised at the sudden outburst of anger and denunciation of the Forestry Personnel by the Minister who seems to be an exceptionally passionate advocate of the survival of our Forest Estates.
As someone who personally led and supervised the creation of many square miles of Teak Plantations in Ghana, and partly initiated commercial extraction of Teak according to the legal Standing Orders of the Forestry Practice in the Country, I could not counter any excuses in seeing how pervasive our Plantations and the original Forests have been wiped out, during my last visit to Ghana a couple of years ago.
When I visited some of my former Forestry Colleagues at that time, everyone of them was lamenting on the fact that they had simply wasted their lifetime efforts and expertise in managing our Forests and creating our Plantations.
Many of the Colleagues were complaining about how recently commissioned Technical Officers of a few years working experience had had a field day of acquiring massive wealth in dubious extractive activities in the Forests and Plantations, and they, who created the Plantations were retired with barely anything to live on for a few years.
On the surface, it would sound as if these older and mostly retired Officers complaining were only doing so out of jealousy. But the fact was on the ground. The land had been laid bare in all the Plantations I had a chance to observe personally at close quarters. Those in the Forest zones, like the Afram Headwaters and Opro Forest Reserves had largely given way to incursion of grass. Not only had the land been ravaged to exploit their natural rich Timber but also had been devoid of almost all the Teak Stands in the Plantations created.
If any strict adherence to extractive policies by the Forestry Commission were to be followed, at least, there would be some regeneration of the Plantation crop seen to be replacing the stock taken out. Nothing. Absolutely nothing of that sort was observed.
One would expect that exploitation of the Teak Produce would be according to some well-managed regiment or schedule like an intermediary yield or final yield, both of which would have seriously involved intensive effort to replenish the stock.
So, I can understand the frustration of the Forestry Personnel complaining about the Minister's comments. But so do I also understand the anger and disappointment in the allegation of the Minister's, be it fully correct or not.
If all the Agencies in the Government were functioning transparently, and interactively, the Minister would have even been aware of the presence of such a prominent Company operating in the area.
While the Forestry Officers in this case may be fully innocent, it is the failure of the Forestry Commission to restore Public trust in the operations of the Commission's Personnel and sub-Agencies that has led to the Minister's outrage.
The Forestry Commission, not necessarily in its current membership, is largely to blame for the massive destruction of our Forests. Our Forestry Laws were long neglected. Offenders were never or hardly processed to account for their ills. Forestry Field Personnel were mostly ignored, and left to their own devises to survive and keep at their work under very difficult working environments. The vast supplies and fitting remuneration commensurate with the demands of their duties were refused them by various Governments. And their respective membership of the Forestry Commission could do little as they had been all the time tied to the whims of the ruling Governments that appointed them.
If the Commission were strictly made up of technocrats with relevant know-how and appreciation of the goals of Forestry, I seriously doubt that such a huge mess could have even begun in Ghana.
I hope the Minister, even if he is wrong in this case for having jumped to conclusions, would continue to infect the rest of his Government Nation-wide with his passionate concerns for our Forest Estates.
That could be an effective way to get the necessary attention from the Government to reverse the trend of our disappearing Forests and Plantations.
Long Live Ghana!!!
Kwamebeba 10 years ago
The situation of Forestry in Ghana has gone from bad to worse because those who were in charge had never had passion for our forests. All that the people at the headquarters were looking for was the income from forest products. Research and Development was not in the books and people who had passion for the forests were not motivated. Plans for the School of Forestry at Sunyani by Nkrumah's administration were great considering the equipment that was available but was locked up in dark rooms after the coup. In fact, Ghana is realizing her self inflicted wounds since the 1966 coup.
Asaliga N j 10 years ago
the min
star is right
the min
star is right
OBRONI 10 years ago
The workers of the forestry commission are working together with the culprits so guilty as charged.
Just like ECG workers, Ghana Water Company,police and all others checking laws and instead of arresting or penalizing them a ... read full comment
The workers of the forestry commission are working together with the culprits so guilty as charged.
Just like ECG workers, Ghana Water Company,police and all others checking laws and instead of arresting or penalizing them accepting their bribes
GBEADESE 10 years ago
Mr. Commissioner, is it good for you to say what you are saying? The permit thy have those not give them the power to go to any town to log or you don't know that? If you don't know go and find out ok? How many trees did you plant there? YOU HAVE TO STEP DOWN FOR SAYING THAT. Whaaaaaat
Fa Be Wo So 10 years ago
Foreigners shouldn't be given any permit to fell trees in Ghana, whether forest reserve or not. What stops Ghana government from exporting the trees itself? Just deport that Indian and let him go and do logging in Mumbai or Calcutta. There are trees there too.
Greedy Ghanaians should be made to understand how rapid the Sahara Desert is advancing south. In another 25 years, Ghana can be as dry as Niger or Mali where torrential rainfall is a rare occurrence.
jabuni 10 years ago
north why? these are reasons why we don't have rains.
MR TRUTH 10 years ago
THE FORESTRY COMMISSION STAFF SUPERVISE THE STEALING. NATIONAL SECURITY IS USELESS IF NOT IT IS NOT DIFFICULT TO FIND OUT. GO TO WESTERN REGION AND SEE THEM IN ACTION. ONCE YOU HAVE ANGREEMENT WITH THEM, THEY WILL LEAD YOU OUT WITH THE STOLEN TIMBER. MOST OF THEM ARE CRIMINALS. WHY EXPORT TIMBER IN THIS DAY AND AGE? ARE LOG EXPORTS NOT BANNED? WHY SHOULD AN ORDER COME FROM ABOVE TO HARVEST LOGS? WHO GAVE THE ORDER? CORRUPTION AT THE TOP AS USUAL.
the crusader 10 years ago
All recuited by p/ndc are crooks and new billioneers in town for no fruitful business in sight
u just check arround.? Akromfoo soon and on sundays they go to assamblies of God.abbba.
All recuited by p/ndc are crooks and new billioneers in town for no fruitful business in sight
u just check arround.? Akromfoo soon and on sundays they go to assamblies of God.abbba.
the crusader 10 years ago
What have you ever done right since?
Northern Concern 10 years ago
I applaud the regional minister. Such are the actions these officers of the forest commissioner. Why won't the minister be informed about such a business? I guess when it is tree planting these very officers will run quickly to the minister for endorsement!
Adjorlolo 10 years ago
They are more than Criminals. Nation wreckers. The Chief executive must be fired and jailed. Why will any sane person allow the felling of trees in an arid region such as the Upper East? In fact there is no discipline and patriotism in public institutions and among Public Administrators. No punitive measures and this has led to corruption in the highest form.
And Mahama? As a Vice President a committee was set up to investigate him but the findings were never made public after who set the committee was killed. This minister could not talk for fear that he would be sacked. A judge ...
The most corrupt body under the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources is the Forestry Commission.The Mafia is headed by the current Chief Executive and was given official backing by the recent past Chairman of the Board.Thi ...
We have followed with keen interest the criminal activities of the brothers Mahama and several times on this forum tried to let our people know the worst kind of criminal has occupied the highest office of the land through th ...
Sir, of course the teak trees need to be harvested at the right time and that re-forested according to plan. You know that those trees are not to stand there for life and be killed by pests. They are planted for various reaso ...
Please save us this de ...
Those put in charge of safeguarding the national resources abuse social trust. That has always been the mantra and hymn sung: "Order from above", "instruction from above", "some powerful people are behind". This madness and g ...
wht an explanation from the Commision? Why allow the cutting down of the trees in a forest reserved? Do U understand the word reserve? The commesioner is sick, he is a stupid fool. Kill the reserve and the sun will kill you a ...
Given what has happened to our For ...
The situation of Forestry in Ghana has gone from bad to worse because those who were in charge had never had passion for our forests. All that the people at the headquarters were looking for was the income from forest produc ...
the min
star is right
Just like ECG workers, Ghana Water Company,police and all others checking laws and instead of arresting or penalizing them a ...
Mr. Commissioner, is it good for you to say what you are saying? The permit thy have those not give them the power to go to any town to log or you don't know that? If you don't know go and find out ok? How many trees did you ...
Foreigners shouldn't be given any permit to fell trees in Ghana, whether forest reserve or not. What stops Ghana government from exporting the trees itself? Just deport that Indian and let him go and do logging in Mumbai or C ...
THE FORESTRY COMMISSION STAFF SUPERVISE THE STEALING. NATIONAL SECURITY IS USELESS IF NOT IT IS NOT DIFFICULT TO FIND OUT. GO TO WESTERN REGION AND SEE THEM IN ACTION. ONCE YOU HAVE ANGREEMENT WITH THEM, THEY WILL LEAD YOU OU ...
I applaud the regional minister. Such are the actions these officers of the forest commissioner. Why won't the minister be informed about such a business? I guess when it is tree planting these very officers will run quickly ...
They are more than Criminals. Nation wreckers. The Chief executive must be fired and jailed. Why will any sane person allow the felling of trees in an arid region such as the Upper East? In fact there is no discipline and pat ...