You are here: HomeNews2015 07 24Article 370753

Depay reveals why he will not use his Ghanaian name

Read Comments Comments (82)

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

He should forgive and have played for Ghana

• 4 Year Old 8 years ago

You are only a child, so they say. Life abroad can make even the "big mouthed" Ghanaians run for their lives. Just sit and look around, my friend and you will understand.

• ??? 8 years ago

play for where ? kwasea...

• bhono holland 8 years ago

not all. but some of the white women are wicked.and ofcause not all the men are good,so i respect his dicision,

• Mosi Tatupu 8 years ago

The story surprisingly did not state the name of his father. Very poor reportage.

• Gogetter!! USA 8 years ago

I pity any Ghanaian with an all foreign name. Once outside Ghana you are lost for ever. The Williamses, Rawlingses, Mohammeds et al. Get wise an begin to give your kids some easily recognizable Ghana ID!! Depay?? Where i ...

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

It is sad, you know. I will understand this boy's case because her mom is not African, there are many Africans that can't speak their own language. There are many right here in Ghana who can't complete a sentence without brin ...

• Equity 8 years ago

Desaili became a French national and played for Franch national team. Mario Baloteli became Italian and played for the Italian national team. Both were Ghanaians who were abandoned by their fathers when they were young.

We ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

It is not blood (or Genes) alone that determines (determine) a person's Nationality. Just as many decide to adopt a different Nationality after they have long matured, so do we have to accept or, at least, acknowledge that t ...

• Brow 8 years ago

Foooooooool you only want to enjoy fruit of someone labour. Stupid Ghanaian taking care of your nephews and abandoned your own blood. Think

• edi 8 years ago

TO BE MAD AT HIS "FATHER" FOR LIVING HIM BEHIND.

• JJ 8 years ago

You and Barloteli should thank your parents for leaving you there and not sending you to some Sodom & Gomorah in Accra. Go look for your parents and take good care of them.You can afford that. Don't pay evil with evil

• Rasheed 8 years ago

Why did you abondon your son at age of 4?Had I known is always at last.

• PASTOR OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 8 years ago

VOD MADE HIM DID IT,,TODAY HE PREFER TO BE CALL A '''REVRENDE VOD -STALLION,,,

• The Stallion 8 years ago

That can be true. Vod does so many things. But mostly Vod does good things. The best Vod does is for you to be able to watch football and read the game well well. When you are on Vod and watching a game, you read it better th ...

• ???(ORIGINAL) 8 years ago

PLS., ASK HIM TO ADD THE KA=VODKA.HE HAS ONE IN JAPAN.HE NAMED HIM ABDUL HAKIM SANI-BROWN,THE CURRENT WORLD YOUTH 100M AND 200M RECORD HOLDER.HE BROKE THE RECORD IN JUST ENDED IAAF WORLD YOUTH CHAMPIONSHIP IN COLOMBIA.A FRIEN ...

• eddie 8 years ago

Everything happens for a reason, if his dad had been around I don't think he would be playing 4 Manchester United now.

• PASTOR OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 8 years ago

MY DAD STOP ME FROM BEEN A SOCCER PLAYER AND A BOXER,,,,SOME TIMES HE EVEN HIDE "PLASTIC"BALL,

• ???(ORIGINAL) 8 years ago

THAT WAS IN THE 70'S.

• Fearless. 8 years ago

Go to hell with your bulshit.We are forever soccer nation endowed with multi talent.What makes you better than Gyan?Tweeaaa!There are thousand and one out there in Netherlands of your kind who suffered the same faith and yet ...

• adoniss-iii 8 years ago

Guy are you retarded stupid or simply ignorant... I should just slap you through this phone for even comparing depay to gyan. .. by luck gyan. . just shut up.. With such little knowledge of anything no wonder why your entire ...

• Gyata 8 years ago

Isn't that FEARLESS guy an ass hole?

• Maka 8 years ago

Stop being a emotional junky and respect the stance of the young man. Most Ghanaian men think they can go f$$king around without being responsible. I have a daughter and I cannot imagine neglecting her not for even a day not ...

• KT Bonzi 8 years ago

He should rather wonder what happened to his father. It's not always a father's intention to leave a child and his/her mother. He should ask question why hasn't his father shown his face even though his son has become famous.

• Granger ranger 8 years ago

Are u stupid? U think exerting is football? U think his only concern is playing for ghana or Netherlands. What is wrong with some of u with ur heads in ur ass? Oh I get it u can't think

• Fearless. 8 years ago

Adoniis or whatever you call yourself,you are the idiot who does not think before passing comments.Compare his international achievements to that of Gyan and think.When did he start playing for the oranges and what has been h ...

• Gritty witt 8 years ago

Dude is that English u r typing or what??what language is that

Yes sir that will be English I write not the chew and poor that most Ghanaians are taught in the syto schools..
    brit born brit bred you know how we do it

How can I be pulling Ghana down when I don't live in your messed up country... It took gyan 3 world cups to reach your milestone. .something James Rodriguez did in 1.. Gyan took the easy route and I don't blame him for it but ...

• Banger 8 years ago

We can win the AFCON of Depay decides to play for Ghana so we urge you Nyantkyi to convince Depay.

I don't blame him thou.. but what African men go through with this women in uptown hmmmmm..

• Son of Man 8 years ago

Damn, I did not know the dude had Ghanaian background. The seeds we sow can come back to haunt us. OMG! That decision explains how hurt he still is.
    BTW, who the hell is comparing him to Asamoah Gyan? Gyan won't make the ...

• FL 8 years ago

His father is an ashanti idiot who marry the mother because he want resident permit to stay in Holland.After getting what he want,he left and fellow ashanti women in amsterdam.That is the way they are,they are Always ungratef ...

• KJ 8 years ago

Did not associate that with a Ghanaian name. I always thought he went by his mother's maiden name, but I stand corrected. Surprised he never officially changed his last name considering.

• Stefan Koons 8 years ago

if u can't associate depay to a Ghanaian ethnic don't it is not.

• Ganja Farmer 8 years ago

Ghanaian guys So your irresponsible behaviour of not taking care of your kids have gone international, such a good player.

• nelson 8 years ago

if only the mother told him the truth. because most of the white women are so useless up there.

• TONTON TE TONTON TE 8 years ago

This is a very old interview, why is ghanaweb reporting it now as if it was done a week ago. Need to be current a bit.

• Apple juice 8 years ago

We are even staying with our fathers n we still feel like our fathers are not there

• kosh 8 years ago

stupid article,the most important thing about this article is the fathers name that he doesnt want to use and you didnt say it,then what african tattoos has he got on his arms,this are important idiots,

• kp 8 years ago

He will also become a man some day. Let's hope he can handle the same issues that led his father away. Every one will be judged on the same issues they judge others.

• spur 8 years ago

most people are sick here..the guys dad abandoned him and has never returned..respect his decision..club football achievement greater than national team..depay greater than gyan just for wearing a united jersey..

• pete manu AMSTERDAM 8 years ago

MY FATHER LEFT ME (DEPAY) WHEN I WAS 4YRS.OLD BUT WHAT WAS THE CAUSE?. I HAVE IN EUROPE FOR ALMOST 30YRS. BUT IT COMES WITH RELATIONSHIP WE MEN ARE ALWAYS THE VICTIM WE ARE THE FIRST TO BE EJECTED FROM THE HOUSE,DENIED ASSERT ...

• champion bodey bepoase 8 years ago

so now u want ur fada to beg u b4 the whole world know dat he gave birth to and leave u at age of 4 n now u have become a star n u are there telling us nonsense.

• Victor Acheampong 8 years ago

This guy Fearless must be a very big MUMU.

• Braimah Mohammed alias Otumfour Nana 8 years ago

That is the right thing my friend Depay.Some fathers are very stubborn of their ages.I support u my wonder player and my team United.Dont play for Ghana please.

• williams Ju 8 years ago

You are not alone bro, but today I thank my father for not taking care of me and my two brothers and a sister. I was 5 then and today I have everything anyone will want in life I make $200.00 a day in New Jersey. I know I'm h ...

• Kwame Poison 8 years ago

Your Mum could at this stage tell u lies.Most white women are flirts and authoritative.You were a child at the time and the true events culminating into that estranged relationship between ur parents can easily be defaced wit ...

• ike 8 years ago

I blame Mahama for this

• champion bodey bepoase 8 years ago

Ike be serious,what does mahama name want here and next time dont try to bring ur politics here again.

• Cannasky 8 years ago

what!!! don't listing any fool my freind,how can you abandoned your own child at the age of 4 and you even want him to come and play for you. FOOL GHANAIAN.

• Daniel 8 years ago

Am on your side is common with Ghanaian men both home and abroad .all they no is having children and not being there, am one ,

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

Do not follow Balitori's example. Do your own investigations, do not accept everything your mom tells you and pronounce your dad guilty. You will also grow old and get married, then you will understand but it may be too late. ...

• Yoofi 8 years ago

You didn't miss anything. Ghanaian fathers are so mean. They don't share their meat with their children.

They eat all the meat whilst the children look at them like puppies.

That is why the children also grow up with su ...

• AKARMAH ABDUL RAZAK 8 years ago

Pls is DEPAY the same as DAPAAH?

• Prince ....doha 8 years ago

God make things good for those believe and have faith in HIM. ...Depay ur father didn't abandoned you bcos he wanted to. ...its jxt a circumstances that suppose to make u who u re today.

• Prince ....doha 8 years ago

human proposed God desposed

• I.O.B (Ag. Swd) 8 years ago

whatever he does, he still has ghana blood in him. Memphis Depay, the only ghanaian playing for Man Utd !!

• Tony 8 years ago

You did right my man,Ghanaians care less of their offspring.

• Abdul-Ganiyu (Smiling) 8 years ago

A good judge will listen to both paties bfore he or she judges. I live in Europe since centuries. Mostly some of the women will get pregnant and will not inform the men or they give the pregnancy to another man. Please ask t ...

• Emmeyscot 8 years ago

He definitely fucked off when he had his nkrataa, Ghanaians are good at that abroad.Balotteli's whose parents dumped him for some whites to look after him and own him forever was a very disgusting incident as well

• DenzelSey 8 years ago

You are very stubborn do not compare Balotellis incident to Depay. Firstly, His family were illegal in Italy and there son had a criticial illness.They were struggling to look after him so had fostered him. But still made tim ...

• Abu Hamza,former Palestinian. 8 years ago

Local man you do not know what is on in abroad so do not make unnecessary noise.

• John mensah 8 years ago

Have a close talk with your mother ask her what happens but don't forget that women are something else try and put your family together prove to them that God created different don't make mistake because ghanaians really love

• Tt 8 years ago

Ghanaian men. Pls stop dat behaviour

• Huzey 8 years ago

You guys have no idea what Africans will do to get their documents. Guys will take all nonsense from white women, cook for them, slave for them, and when you are about to get the papers, they will sabotage the process. You wi ...

• Real African 8 years ago

Everyone is jus jumping on the bang wagon without asking questions . In Holland the system will fuck u up and give the white woman all the rights , and the woman probably stop the mam form seeing is owm son , thats what happe ...

• Bernard Graham 8 years ago

Essien was neglected by the father. What sort of fathers do we have in Ghana?

• Adjoa 8 years ago

It takes 2 to tango... Don't always blame the man. Women can also be ruthless!!!

• TT 8 years ago

Well said. This guy should find out the course of the separation and stop this nonsense.
    Who cares if you do not sign your father's name.

• Teiko 8 years ago

I know his sibblings and aunties, his name is Dapaa and not Depay! From stories heard, the mother was like a "marijata" to the guy and she sacked him. Thatz what we know.

• Son of Man 8 years ago

If you are right. I have been wondering where the Depay comes from. Aha! just like Freddy Adu who is actually Fredua Adu

• Ofoe Dadeboe 8 years ago

Son am a Ghanaian as well with a colour kids white woman thinks all black men r stupid ask her y your own farher left you.only the thruth will set u free.unless u think like a woman but not like a man

• Adjoa 8 years ago

Thank God, you are a man and you will soon realize how these things happen.
    Who knows why your dad took a different path? Who knows the role your mom played in keeping you away from him.
    All I can say is you will soon be a ...

• Adjoa 8 years ago

Who did that?????

• time will tell. 8 years ago

You are still a child one day you will grow to understand your father.

• Sotuo Eugene 8 years ago

No man is perfect i thing i will advice my brother to 4 give his father and accept the name.

• majid 8 years ago

Ghanaian men are useless and ingrate. They don't take care of their children, they always suffer their women alone to take care of their children and run to another woman.

• Emmanuel nyarko 8 years ago

Some Ghanaians are found of doing that by not taking care of their own children sometimes I don't know why God gives such people children but people who will care for their children will not get it but u can't challenge God b ...

• kk 8 years ago

this is a warning to the fathers, especially the sperm donners. the childen will grow.

and yu will no longer be who yu were. I don't support his actions , but he should do what will make him happy..

• T PEN 8 years ago

YOUNG BOY ASK YOUR MOTHER IF SHE WAS READY TO LIVE WITH YOUR FATHER.IF YOUR MOTHER IS NOT THE ONE THAT SACKED YOUR FATHER.

• Esther 7 years ago

Do not be harsh on the Man. You have not been in his shoes.