You are here: HomeNews2015 07 16Article 369132

No one is born gay – Clinical Psychologist

Read Comments Comments (104)

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

WHILES MEDICAL SCIENCE TELLS THE FACTS. POLITICIANS WTH THEIRE EVIL INTENTIONS RAE SAYING SOMETHING DIFFERENT

• Atugabiig 8 years ago

IT'S NEVER TRUE. SHE DOESN'T KNOW WHAT SHE IS TALKING ABOUT.

Where is your scientific evidence to prove that they were born so.

• kwesi 8 years ago

There are lots of scientific evidence contrary to what the clinical psychologist both in the animal world and in the human world

• kofi wassa 8 years ago

There is a UN report conducted in 1964 and 1972 which debunks any link of humans born with gay or lesbian tendencies but it is possible to find man with more of woman hormones and vice versa which can be corrected by introduc ...

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

OH WELL, HOW COME VICE PRESIDENT, AMMISSAH IS GAY? HE TALKS LIKE GAY, HE WALKS LIKE GAY, HE THINKS LIKE GAY, HE MAKES SIGNS LIKE GAY, HE LIFTS HEAD LIKE GAY. IN SHORT HE BEHAVES LIKE GAY, AND YET NOBODY IS BORN GAY. THE FACT ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

HARDSHIP DOES NOT MEAN THAT YOU SHOULD USE THE POLE ON A POLE,OR THE HOLE ON A HOLE.
    ITS ADAM AND EVE,NOT ADAM AND ADAM OR EVE AND EVE.
    HARDSHIP HAS BEEN THERE SINCE THE TIME OF JESUS"JESUS SAID THE POOR YE WILL ALWAYS HAV ...

• USACANADAUK 8 years ago

On what medical basis is she saying this, Thank God I don't live in a country led by FOOLs.

• jeo 8 years ago

There is awealth of evidence by reputable scientist showing that it is a lifestyle but no one was born a homosexual. You know what happened? they were shouted down and most of them lost thier livelihoods because those people ...

• Pito brewer 8 years ago

Gobbledegook!

• jeo 8 years ago

I thought you had a different opinion or hade something to refute my post.

• Pito brewer 8 years ago

There are no definitive scientific answers, which explains why the subject of homosexuality is so polarizing and divisive. In genetics (and nature), things are not always as clear-cut as we would like them to be. For example, ...

• kosh 8 years ago

backwards educated people,if he or she is that reputable,what has she invented,lack of education,I see people with this views that people choose to be gay as so ignorant,,,,,Its like looking at Boko Haram and wondering how ca ...

• bons 8 years ago

Big man if u want to argue intellectually then do so the right way if there is such a study done by the apa then plzsubmit a link or at the very least a reference

• NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

You are a big FOOL. HOMOSEXUALISM in neither sickness or a disease and so does not need a medical basis. If you don't understand what is being said just keep your mouth shut.

• TINA, USA 8 years ago

Oh so you know God, so why don't you just live the way He made you to function, male or female.

• Aba 8 years ago

Thank God you are far from here. That means one less to corrupt our youth. But you still have time to change your ways.

• Nana Malik 8 years ago

You and your kind (battyman) twist facts, even scientific facts to support your dirty sexual behavior. Mind your language, battyman

• 4 Year Old 8 years ago

Being gay is not natural. It is unnatural. Even animals do better than gays. A he goat will not climb another he goat. but gays claim they were born that way.
    It's mentally illness and simple idiocy.

• Agyei Ayensu 8 years ago

why is hhomosexuality being discussed in Ghana? don't we already have enough problems in the country? we dont even have what to eat and we are discussing trumu trumu. away with such disgusting stuff

• Yaw Paul 8 years ago

It is good to hear such refreshing news. I have said that if you choose to eat your own feacal matter, you could give reasons for it. Indeed I have always said that these bestial behaviour called homosexuality is either learn ...

• Dr Garbas 8 years ago

I can say for a fact that most of the time it is a learnt behavior that is extremely diffcult to correct. Studies says over 90% of lesbians will sleep with a man when the opportunity presents itself. I have personally slept w ...

• kwaku ba 8 years ago

Your analysis is bush and of no merit. and the so called clinical psychologist needs to go back to school and learn something. No wonder Ghana is in the mess it is with people in positions that we are to trust are spewing suc ...

• Dr Garbas 8 years ago

Legalization of same sex marriage in the West was not based on any scientific evidence or basis that they were born that way, it was all a political move to win votes. There has been no Gay DNA discovered up till now. The fac ...

• kwaku ba 8 years ago

Your claims are not supported by the evidence. Please.

The fact that it has been observed in other animals who are genetically related to humans however distant is clear evidence that it is natural. So Yes there is DNA ev ...

• Dr Garbas 8 years ago

No one says homos should be treated badly, I never said that in any of my write ups, what im saying is what you confirmed that because of the inability of the opposite sex in prisons they resort to homosexuality which most of ...

• kwaku ba 8 years ago

My Brother, you gave this attack on gays then now you claim you wish for them to be treated equally. Which is which. Lets be careful what we say. somebody reading will say Dr so so and so said something so I can slap beat and ...

• jeo 8 years ago

Going through your piece i was looking for some evidance but did not find any. You rather resorted to making sneering comments typical of recent ideologues who want to socially engineer the whole world to oblivion. Youpeople ...

• A J 8 years ago

U shd rather grow up for spewing this nonsense. I bet a time would come, incest marriage and marriage btn humans and animals would be legalised all in the name of rights and all the nonsense. God have mercy on mankind! !!

• kwaku ba 8 years ago

We are not talking about mature consenting adults. Are you sure you can stand as a referee in peoples bedrooms and blow the whistle on certain acts? come on. We are a free people. As long as the behavior does not harm others ...

So why is the US constitution discriminating against consenting adults marrying more than one or siblings marrying? do not tell me about genetic disease nonsense.

• kwaku ba 8 years ago

ha ha ha ha ha. You are a fool.
    Because the law says if you marry you marry one. full stop.

Can you take more than one passport? Do we give passport based on sexual orientation? So pick another government issued document, ...

They Forget that South Africa has has gay marriage since 2006 and legalized gay relations since 1998. Cote D'voire and Bukina have legal gay relations and those countries have not

• Bob 8 years ago

How many gay goats, sheep and dogs have you ever come across? Waste of space!

• Kofi nii 8 years ago

Ghana must in any way accept the evil act. We shld take the law in our hand as Ghanaians fish out all the gays, lesbians etc. because believe me those so call our leaders will go and collect money and come back and pass that ...

• LAST DON 8 years ago

Total liability with no pedigree, Adult Pampas user, Chronic Gay with gross uncontrolled dirty pronouncements.

TOGB33 LIKE THAT !!!!

• guit 8 years ago

i just dont blv this clinical psycho.there are more questions than answers. if u dont have the urge man ur manhood will never get erection.just like a very ugly woman will not make u get erection

• CORNEY 8 years ago

That woman is making emotional comment not based on facts,she is just following the belief in the country but she is professionally wrong,the fact that we don't like that in Ghana does not mean we should lie to the public abo ...

• idi 8 years ago

can you make the same arguments for thieves, greedy and corrupt politicians, prostitutes, pimps etc.

people make choices and that is what it is about. we have more serious problems in Ghana...armed robbers, evil and wicked ...

• kofi 8 years ago

At least all that you have mentioned play a major role in our society and you should know that. Even the Good Bible has not compared a gay to pilfer. Why do you???
    God abhors homosexuality and if you are one then God will de ...

• idi 8 years ago

that is all I am saying.

• confused 8 years ago

this psychologist does not know what she is talking about.

• kofi 8 years ago

Are you one? You rather don't know the question to ask. All homos I know learnt the act from another. You have not done any research into this my friend. Also, you should know that sex orientation is very very difficult to ch ...

• MOMONO 8 years ago

PATHETIC

• Max 8 years ago

No one is also born straight. No one is also born to hate or kill. Our surroundings and the way we are brought up by our parent deeds determines how we will end up in society. Africa is far from understanding the meaning of d ...

• Brain 8 years ago

fire burn u and ur family if u practice this abnormalities

• TINA, USA 8 years ago

I think Max, you do not understand the word born straight- it simply means you are behaving naturally, how God made you to function. So everybody is born straight, except those who want to be crooked and behave abnormal

• Roslyn 8 years ago

You are dead wrong and i do not know where you got your degree from. Do you even read at all? What sort of psychologist are you? What scientific research have you done to draw to this conclusion? Go back to school. Don't risk ...

• kofi 8 years ago

What is your facts and practicality? At least she cited practical examples. What have you learnt and where? I believe you rather don't read.

You are SCREWD !!

• kofi 8 years ago

Humanity as presently constituted is on a suicide mission.
    African nations should stay on the side of God and nature. Persons should lift up their hands in opposition to this satanic agenda that would ruin humanity. Every f ...

• NANA K 8 years ago

YYYYYEEEEEESSSSSSSS!!!! I AGREE WITH YOU TOOOOTTTAAALLLY!! THIS IS A FRAGRANCE FROM YOUR MOUTH. I KNOW THIS GAY THING IS A LIFESTYLE THAT PEOPLE CHOOSE. WE SHOULD NOT IN ANYWAY ADOPT THIS INTO OUR SOCIETY. NEVER EVER!!LETS AP ...

• MAN NO SOBER 8 years ago

Homosexuality is a learned behavior from a permissive environment and usually from peers and others who have some form of control or influence over victims. Lesbianism is usually acquired in boarding houses in schools, where ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

In the US, homosexuality begins from social exclusion. Right from kindergarten, the Americans have a perfect figure for a beautiful woman. The ideal is slim, leggy, blond hair, small waist, and blue wide eyes for ladies. The ...

I am an American, and for your information, Gay men are the ones who spend the most time in the gym and have the most perfect body and looks, they tend to be educated and succesful as well, so I don't know where you are getti ...

• TINA, USA 8 years ago

Are you sure you know the subject matter of this discussion? This topic has nothing to do with whether you are educated or successful. This is common sense the Almighty God has endowed all of us with, if you refuse or decide ...

• c.stephen sackey. 8 years ago

Where do people like this come from?
    I've never read such trash being trumpeted as a scholarly work, ever, not even on a blog like this.
    I like your style though.You are fearless of contempt.

• Nana 8 years ago

I do agree with you clinical psychologist.
    These gays leave in the world of assumption and they are also gender thieves. The laws should deal with them.

• Kobinadu 8 years ago

There is a spiritual angle. It is almost a given that those who show such tendencies were themselves abused in their early years and an evil spirit gained access to them. Every homosexual can be delivered through spiritual po ...

• OBRONI 8 years ago

Dear Madam, as a doctor you should know better, see medical quote hereunder;
    Sex chromosomes differ between males and females. Females have two copies of the X chromosome, while males have one X chromosome and one Y chromo ...

• Lingh from Canada 8 years ago

You are trying to debunked an argument but your basis are so immature, impractical, nonsensical. Homosexuals are not born. Even psychologists in north American gives less than 10% of the cause of being homosexual biological. ...

Whats wrong with all these religious fools. I agree with you though, 10% of Ghanaians are born currupt, and 90% learnt the trait. Even though it is the most religious country in the world, they cannot stop being corrupt.

• CHARLIE 8 years ago

I use to support her philosophy until I made research myself. Homosexuals exists as early as the beginning of the of the bible and all over the world. This lady have a typical African explanations of homosexuals sex orientati ...

Having both male and female organs does not make you gay.

• OBRONI 8 years ago

It does to her standards, because if its a default and you have both genitals you could choose any you want but are at risk to be called a lesbian or gay no matter what choice you make

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

You are a very confused person. Where did you hear that gays, lesbians are hermaphrodites? Where did you learn this? Snails have both sexual organs yet there are clearly identifiable male snail and female snail..

• Osei Yao 8 years ago

WHERE DID THIS WOMAN STUDY? IS SHE EVEN PROPERLY ACQUAINTED WITH CURRENT TREND OF THOUGHTS IN HER OWN CHOSEN PROFESSION? YOU ARE DISTANCING YOURSELF FROM SCIENCE. YOU ARE POSSIBLY INFUENCED BY SOME BIBLICAL, RATHER THAN SCIEN ...

A doctor cant even apply what she learnt from school and through research because she is blinded by religion. This is why it is still a 10th world country

• Ama 8 years ago

People are born with feelings. A boy can be born with the feeling for a fellow boy.The opposite sex just does not attract him even if pressure from society leads hom to marry the opposite sex he still has his preference for t ...

• Sir Sam 8 years ago

People are born with all kinds of feelings, whatever you develop becomes a part of you. Do you how know many people die with attributes, characteristics, feelings, and abilities that never get developed? A lot.

Again, there is no scientific evidence to prove they were born Gay.

• Trotro 8 years ago

You have to rather grow up, I think you are mentally sick and it will help you a lot if you go to see that woman for treatment.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

Two faggots decide that they want to have a baby, but they
    don't want to adopt because they want the baby to be as close
    to their own as possible. So they both masturbate into a cup
    and have a doctor use their sperm to ...

• Kyei 8 years ago

We are part of nature. I have lived in the West for decades and I can tell you that people there living in their concrete cities have lost touch with reality. TheY seem to forget that we are and will always be dictated to by ...

• Zip-Up 8 years ago

Madam you seemed to be an intellectual but your speech as a psychologist is very raw without intellectual academic reference, whereas there are a lot of scienctific investigation done in the Topic of your choice ( Homosexuali ...

• Kyei 8 years ago

Uhm, can you please inform us as to what has been scientifically proven in relation to the topic of the article?. I.e. No one is born gay.

• bokassa 8 years ago

I have seen men who are working very hard to be men but have more female charecteristics. There are about 5% WHO i think biologically have dual .hormone

• Stephen Maglott 8 years ago

Madam Diana Baah Odoom claims to be a Clinical Psychologist, but she is completely out of step with the majority of those in her profession who say that she is lying. All humans (and we believe all animals) are born with a n ...

• Kyei 8 years ago

Stephen,
    First of all, if you claim that the majority of those in her profession oppose her view. Who are these people and how did you come across this information.
    Also, where are these people from? Are they from Ghana? Do ...

• bokassa 8 years ago

IT IS MORE THAN JUST FEELING, FOR YOU CANT DETERMINE YOUR SEX BY YOUR FEELING

• c.stephen sackey. 8 years ago

Dr., you should thank your gods you don't have to have a continuing education (CE) to renew your license.
    If it were required your licensed wouldn't have been renewed.
    God, what a dinosaurius mind for clinical psychologist!

• Kyei 8 years ago

Perhaps the substance is lacking but the Dr has a point...

• TINA, USA 8 years ago

If you are the type who only believe in science, then research very well and you will find out that, research after research proves that no one is born gay, period.

• True talk 8 years ago

It is an acquired taste, and a wrong one at that and that is why the world needs more free for all, no holds barred, heterosexual sex aplenty.

• Papa Kofo 8 years ago

This psychologist does not know what she talking about. Many are born gay!

• General Mosquito 8 years ago

Mr Indian powers black magic guy....Fuck u...can u guess my name? ....if not shove ur magic up ur asss

• TINA, USA 8 years ago

many thanks to you and God bless you a million times with your whole family, because this article will save a lot of people especially the youth not only from confusion but most importantly from destruction.

• kast 8 years ago

DO PEOPLE LEARN TO BE HETEROSEXUAL OR ARE BORN HETEROSEXUAL?

• Kofi/USA 8 years ago

Let me tell you.. it's a spiritual disease period

• OBIKYIRE 8 years ago

How would she explain hole in the heart patients.Madam Doctor.You have shown that it is only in Ghana you may have followers of this shallow reasoning

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Now, what has hole-in-heart got to do with homosexuality?

• HERB DEFENDER 8 years ago

In a way she has a point...same can be said of straight people..etc.

• Kasapreko KWABENA . 8 years ago

Homosexuality is a psychological "disease". No person was born homosexual. At times when people are unsuccessful in courting the opposite sex, then, they turn to the same gender as they are. Lower animals even do not have sex ...

• Black Amer you call..."AKATA" inwardl 8 years ago

Way back African Tradition teaches one that some people's personal angel/deity is male and others are female. But there is a third type of angel which is made up of both sexes. In such cases, that human being with such an ang ...

• GHANABA 8 years ago

How many Ghanaians are wearing used gay designer clothes or take donations from gay people. Voodoo Clinical Psychologist.

• OKYEMAN 8 years ago

There is no biological evidence to show that gays were born so. It is a learn behavior. Now think identical twins- who have the same genes( DNA). If gays -homosexuality is by birth, then one of the identical twins must be gay ...

• OKYEMAN 8 years ago

Hence,homosexuality is not cause by genes (DNA).

• Dawadawa 8 years ago

Where did this clinical psychologist obtain her qualifications from? Has she really read the literature. And which seasoned intellectual argues this way?

• bons 8 years ago

I dare the psychologist to provide clinical evidence suggestting that homosexuality is learnt behavior. On the contrary evidence exist that might show that homosexuality could be genetic. Saying so hoever there is also the p ...

• IDI AMIN DADA OF GHANA! 8 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU MADAM ODOOM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• IDI AMIN DADA OF GHANA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU MADAM ODOOM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kofi wassa 8 years ago

For the benefit of those who may not be aware.I draw attention to the report produced in june 1963 by a panel made up of specialist in medicine,psychiatry,law ,sociology and theology after a conference on homosexuality.These ...

• Kyei 8 years ago

This type of article will never see the light of day in modern media because it so happens that the media industry is the most 'pro gay' industry of them all.

They do not want this information, all they want is 'pro gay' ...