You are here: HomeNews2015 07 09Article 367394

Talensi Referendum: 57% rejects Mahama, NDC

Read Comments Comments (133)

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

He spent millions of Ghana money and got only 42%

• Whatever 8 years ago

If in rejection, Mahama is winning, then in acceptance, NPP will have 0 or 1 vote

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

The fundamental duty of any government in the world is to provide peace and security, and it controls the security agencies including the police and the army to perform this function. It was the duty of the government to pro ...

• Baba Ahmed 8 years ago

Fantastic write-up. Npp will continue to write beautiful and ("sound and logical arguments") and forever remain in opposition. This is because for all the chapters of their failure to win elections they have a long list of we ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

It is only in a lawless country like Ghana that a criminal like Azorka can come on radio and claim to have ''boys'' that he sent at election time '' to make sure nobody shares money''.
    WHICH LAW OF OUR LAND ALLOWS THIS? If t ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

O PEOPLE OF GHANA, WE ARE DOOMED. READ WHAT YOUR FOOLISH INTERIOR MINISTER SAID. My question to this foolish man is, WHO ENGAGED THE SERVICES OF THESE ILLEGAL ''SECURITY AGENCIES'' as he called them, INSTEAD OF THE POLICE? Gh ...

• vigour 8 years ago

Ghana elections is based of simply majority. NDC won the election and nothing more.

• Obroni 8 years ago

if we could calculate all elections based on number of votes, no votes would be last to seats of MP as well and the outcome in parliament would also be completely different.
    What about the effect on skirt and blouse voting ? ...

• Charlie 8 years ago

Mahama's NDC got 42 % in an NDC's stronghold, and you think they have done well? What if it was held on a neutral ground, say, somewhere in Central Region or Greater Accra. Please think through.

• william 8 years ago

What a deliberately lazy and superficial analysis!!!

• BIRAHMA 8 years ago

Whether Jonah swallowed the whale or the whale swallowed Jonah, at least there was a swallow. No matter how we turn and twist the issues the fact still remains that the NDC candidate won

• Charlie 8 years ago

Hahaha! 'u're right'

• MANSA MUSA 8 years ago

HAHAAA...THIS ANALYSIS IS STUPID....SO WHAT HAPPENS WHEN EVERY PARTY THINGS IT CAN WIN THE PRESIDENTIAL SEAT....THE ON WHO GETS THE MOST VOTES WINS ....`WHY CANT OPPOSITIONS MERGE?....

• Charlie 8 years ago

Hahaha! william, 'u're are right'

• Moses 8 years ago

What kind of one-way analysis is this? Please, apply the same analysis to the performance of the other parties and tell us the results. The reason some of us are against stupid and unintelligent analysis like this is that it ...

• Charlie 8 years ago

What concrete & visible projects are you talking about?. Why do you have to wait as a government in power, until such a period before rushing to to embark on devt projects? Whose duty is it to devt an area, a govt in power or ...

• Julius Kuusaalesuo 8 years ago

I think this article is slighted. Was it a presidential election or parliamentary election? Let us be balanced with our analysis of issues

• Kwame Birmingham 8 years ago

42 and 27 which one is a rejection? Npp could not even get 30% so akuffo addo is doomed then

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON. 8 years ago

Poor calculation by yet another Media House sponsored by the NPP to make things look grim for the NDC.

47% is way ahead and much better result in a by-election where the Largest opposition scored abysmally 22%.It indicates ...

• Mosaic 8 years ago

Thank you Kola. The analyst is myopic in all respects. Don't forget the seat was held by NPP before the by-election. The question is, With what percentage did the newly installed chief win for the NPP in 2012? From winner to ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 8 years ago

Numbers can be twisted for any purpose. The results show NPP had 27% and NDC 47%. This means 53% of the voters rejected NDC while 73% of them hated NPP. HOW ABOUT THAT?

• Kobby 8 years ago

Dats the truth my brother

• Solja 8 years ago

God will bless you man....any idiot comes out with stupid analysis against NDC leaving the rest out....now I wish everyone reads ur analysis too.

• Azumah Nelson 8 years ago

This is Bull Shit. The NDC won and thats that,

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Don't mind these NPP rented newspapers,let them start fooling themselves to see the next election like a movie.
    They forgot that in the last election the NDC candidate got 9119 as compare to 10366 in this election and in the ...

• OMANBA 8 years ago

This is the downside of our political system .NDC lost the popular vote but won the election.

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Try to learn your system very well.
    In the parliamentary election in Ghana it is first pass the vote,not by any popular vote,it is that based on that reason that the likes of Titus Glover who won by three votes are in parli ...

• Ali 8 years ago

Voodoo mathematics as Dr. pink sheet's calculations during the trial

• Pips 8 years ago

What a load of crap!!!! The PNC who were beaten by just 9 votes are even demanding a recount because they just can't accept the fact that they were beaten by a useless party like the NPP. They do accept that the NDC won fair ...

• Opipi 8 years ago

NPP are very good at practicing what i call "Dada Ba" politics. They sit on radio stations and make so much noise whilst NDC are on the ground in villages and remote areas selling their party to ordinary Ghanaians. NPP foolis ...

• Sahara 8 years ago

Who calculated and wrote this shameful story...even PNC did better than the noise makers...opposition FOREVER!!!! Every voter in Ghana should reject these noise makerz

• ROGUE LAWYER 8 years ago

How do you knew for eg if pnc do not contested, her votes could have been either for the NDC or NPP?
    This type of bogus armed chair Analysis is one of the reasons you are loosing everything since that certless lawyer becam ...

• PHILIP NARTEY 8 years ago

my political science lecturer will be throwing out with this one leg argument...DR.GYAMPOH I SALUTE U WAI...!!! AND INDEED DR. AGGREY DARKO thank u for enlighten us to understand these issues from broader perspective. there i ...

• Abii 8 years ago

Yes, DR. AGGREY DARKO, Yes DR. AGGREY DARKO. He had been a seasoned lecturer. I love him paaaaaaaaa. God continue to bless him to enlighten us all

• Mensah 8 years ago

USELESS, IDIOTIC, NAIVE WRITER

• Iganatiev Popovich Alexeiyevich 8 years ago

The president should sleep in spite of thunder. It's hands down for Mahama. Those who polled for the nunquam parties would have elected Mahama rather than waste their votes on political nonentities. The opposition parties sho ...

• Oliver 8 years ago

NPP will be in opposition forever. They never learn because of their extreme arrogance. For their rule for 8 years they completely NEGLECTED parts of Ghana: myopic party!

• The African Patriot 8 years ago

No one is tribal than you and your likes. You are just jealous. Your families are in Ghana suffering. The many years that Rawlings rule over Ghana and brought hard ship to the Akans did not negatively affect Akan alone but mo ...

• Obournana 8 years ago

Foolish and useless analysis. Has the paper forgotten the number of candidates on the ballit? It was not yes or no on the ruling government but parlianentary election. Ghanaian media lacks critical thinking hence the authors ...

• KOJO 8 years ago

Was it a two way election?

since when has a parliamentary election that is contested by multiple parties/candidates been presented as a two way results.

nkwaseasem ara kwa.

NPP stop being foolish

• Abrewa nana 8 years ago

This is some kind of voodoo crap. It is just like a bawuminomic analysis of some sort. Aaaba NPP!

• Joe 8 years ago

The Talensi election was not a referendum on Mahama it was a parliamentary election won by NDC period. If you guys want the real meaning of referendum they should go and ask the people of Greece they had one just last week.

• Kadigariba/Kamil USA 8 years ago

As kweku baako said voodoo mathematic.what about the individual parties this is a sarcastic thainkers analysis.

• PHILIP NARTEY 8 years ago

how can you think like this nana akomea...so if is propaganda so we just throw anything out there to a sway the real issue. first and foremost ghana is not practicing parliamentary system of governace and the mechanism for pe ...

• Sam 8 years ago

That animal who wrote this is rather shallow minded! .That idiot calling himself Casely,an economist said on Ghanaweb that NDC had better not contested the Talensi seat & that they would be wasting resources! .If NDC had ind ...

• AKUTTO 8 years ago

NPP WILL NEVER LEARN

• JAMES Y 8 years ago

That mathematical explanation pre-supposes that all the votes cast in favour of the other candidates in the by-election would go to NPP. It is not real; is it? The thing is, the NDC and, thus, Mahama has won, pure and simple! ...

• Alonso 8 years ago

Please go n check what president John Mahanadi got in 2012 election in talensi presidential, n compared it to what npp n the rest party got.wrong analysis

• Ja 8 years ago

Poor you. Want to find any light at the end of NPP'S poor performance at Talensi

• Seidu Yakubu 8 years ago

You are confused. Try to educatd well.

• moha 8 years ago

57% rejected ndc but 73 % rejected nana addo and npp.analysis of convenience.shame

• mirakuma 8 years ago

If this argument is anything to go by then 72 percent also rejected akufo addo's message as well as the entire npp.

• Dondada SA 8 years ago

Mr writer am dissapointed in ur analysis bcos ur case submitted is full of bias 42 against 27% of the Npp and u ar still dreaming a fools paradise thinking u loosers got chance pnc is taken over from u as the second most pow ...

• abass yakubu 8 years ago

stop barking like dogs.you got 27% .why are you now talking about 57. shame to you.main opposition look at what you got as compared to other parties..FOOLS WILL NEVER LEARN.

• Me 8 years ago

parliamentary elections like this one are localised, in that every candidate who contested comes from that area and so have kinsmen who will vote for their own no matter what. so votes are split into bits and pieces. what ha ...

Seriously, this argument is baseless. What scientific base has it that those who voted for other smaller parties would reject the NDC when the contest is between the NDC and Npp?

• BEN USA. 8 years ago

In fact, I'm ashamed today to be Ghanaian. How can you do such comparison. I'm a die hard NPP supporter, but will never buy into this stupid analysis. The fact is who won the seat? NDC right? So whether they won with 40% o ...

• Charles 8 years ago

Npp can never win in Greater Accra again. They should forget that. Beside, northerners were all Nkrumaism, since CPP was feeble due to coup by Busia n his Gang that led to Nkrumah dieth abroad, they were left orphans by this ...

• Kwaku Dua 8 years ago

Please find your dictionary and get the meaning of referendum well and revisit what you term 57percent rejected Mahama in Talensi.This is an election involving 6 personalities.Wrong analyses .The 6are from different backgr ...

• wisdom 8 years ago

This is vodoo analysis.....

• Moko Moko Be 8 years ago

72% rejects the NPP.

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

Bawumia voodoo Analyses

• back door director 8 years ago

B T was never at the National sports authority...

• YAHAYA IBRAHIM 8 years ago

If u write what u want ,u will read what u dnt like. Ghana 4 u. Analyse paaaaa nie lol

• TK 8 years ago

If 57% rejects Mahama,then how many % rejects Nana Addo´s NPP?The answer is 72% rejects NPP.Be fair.

• topdogy 8 years ago

If the writer had done a good research he would have found that, this is the biggest win for NDC since 92 and the poorest for the NPP with a campagn lead by the flag barrer himself.

• Hamza 8 years ago

What a clueless article, poor analysis which is clouded by ignorance on the part of the writer. If we are to go by his analogy, then 71 percent rejected nana addo, implies nana addo will not come close to winning nect year el ...

• mensah andrews 8 years ago

This is an idiotic analysis.Did you see Mahamas name?so you think PNc voted for ayariga? Attend better school okay stupid fool

• KK 8 years ago

This analysis is too shallow. It lacks standard statistical inferences and sound scientific principles.

• ato 8 years ago

So wasted all ur time to spew thus rubbish. Guess u don't have a job.

• Araba Lucy 8 years ago

Stupid analysis

• concerned ghanaian 8 years ago

Yes 57% rejects Mahama,but 72% rejected Nana Addo, let's get serious.

• insida 8 years ago

The writer must be very stupid or sick...how many ghanaians then reject the npp..????... sick writer

• jj 8 years ago

NPP's voodoo mathematics and crazy analysis

• OPINION 8 years ago

What a poor analysis. What about that the Talensi seat was won by the NPP the last time and yet Mahama won massively in the same constituency and now they won is it back? So what nonesense are you writing here?

• johnson 8 years ago

Wrong interpretation of figures. The PNC would have voted for NDC because of similiarity on ideology. It would have been worse for NPP if there was no PNC.

• london Ba 8 years ago

If money can buy ghanaians like this then the country is Doom for ever

• African Eagle 8 years ago

NPP, NPP, when are you going to accept that this party is not good for Ghana. If not because of your party this country would have been ahead….

• KUJO 8 years ago

VOODOO ANALYSIS

• Abdul-Kareem 8 years ago

The writer should bare in mind that this was just a parliamentary elections, and not a presidential elections. Hence, the analysis cannot hold. Bcos with the parliamentary elections, the outcome is based on simple majority an ...

• kojo 8 years ago

in 2012 mahama had more votes than the ndc mp so wat sort of nonsense referendum is this .......jimiiiii

• S.A.M KANAWU, TEMA 8 years ago

hv u checked 2012 prez. votes data, prez. mahama won there n npp palimentary also won.
    so they voted 4 mahama as prez. n npp palimentary candidate
    pls we need technical n scintific facts n analysis not just mere propaganda. ...

• God is wise 8 years ago

I wish we all vote CPP/PNC in 2016

• Grace 8 years ago

This is a very stupid article. Why don't you compare to the 2012 elections where Ndc lost in that constituency. You will clearly see that they has been a big improvement. Dummy!

• KYEBI DWARF FOR PRESIDENT 8 years ago

SOUR GRAPES!!!

• koo 8 years ago

This cheap analysis

• salam 8 years ago

This shows how you are mathematically bankrupt in your analysis. The whole turnout was just 64%. Also it has always being a normal thing with by-election in the country that turnout is always low.

• Pwallace 8 years ago

i find this report of the just ended bye-election by an obviously anti-Mahama/NDC shallow minded political journalist very laughable. The logic of lumping the result of all others against the winner and declaring that as the ...

• Kennedy 8 years ago

Now in an election we now put together all the loosing candidates votes and say the ndc lost by over 57%?.It's shameful. Wast of time .Completely disgrace after all.All this things call themselves journalists. It's pitif ...

• Edward - Kumasi 8 years ago

Did Mahama contest?
    This sort of analysis shall continue to keep you in opposition.

• asonaba kofi 8 years ago

per the writer`s assessment we can safely conclude that 72.06% of the voters have rejected the npp as the alternative government.

• AAA 8 years ago

By this our NPP logic, it means 72% of the Talensi voters also rejected our drug addict. Next time let us think deeply before we put out such warped analysis.

• gyan 8 years ago

NPP is wasting our time. The fact is if given power NPP will destroy the country.

• Laari 8 years ago

Ghanaweb should not waste their time publishing this kind of wrong analysis.
    When John Tia lost didn't JM win?

• kojo 8 years ago

You see if u tell lies u keep on making mistakes Bt Baba was on Olympic Commitee not NSA

• Kwesi 8 years ago

It is a simple question of looking at the cup half-full or half empty. Looking at it from another angle means that a whopping 72% rejected the NPP at Talensi. This cannot be good news for the NPP, given that they were holding ...

• Ofosuhene 8 years ago

By yur calculations, it means that 72.06% rejected NPP as against the 57% of NDC.So what is the stake here.

• Kwesi Baidoo 8 years ago

Mahama must go in 2016,Ghanaians across the regions will definitely reject him,he is corrupt,a crook,a liar,incompetent opportunistic ,hater of the Akans .His northern cronies are incompetent with no brains.

• YF-Heidelberg 8 years ago

If you get 42 percent from your stronghold, you call this a win? NDC will fall come 2016

• Ebb Nuell 8 years ago

do u really understand why NPP lost de election?
    its because of such miserable analysis u fink winning an election is by writing articles or by de click of a computer mouse. wise up nd stop giving urself hope in the air. l ...

• KARAMBANI 8 years ago

1.JA Kuffour and Nana Addo, who is more attractive to floating voters?
    2. John Mahama and Nana Addo, who is more attractive to floating voters?
    3. John Mahama and Nana Addo, which of the two are supporters of PNC likely to ...

• Osono 8 years ago

Akufo Addo is being deceived n fooled by such media houses.Instead of Nana to open his eyes n devise strategy that will bring him to power,he believes such fantasies. NPP only had 27% of the total vote cast n these stupid ana ...

• MENSAH 8 years ago

If this stupid argument holds then 71.62% do not want Akuffu Addo and his NPP hooligans.These low brain and stupid journalism must stop

• agyata 8 years ago

WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM, MR. WRITER? YOU PREDICTED NPP WOULD WIN, BUT THEY FAILED. DON'T WORRY ABOOUT THE NDC, WHEN WE GET TO THE BRIDGE WE WILL CROSS IT.

• GHANABA 8 years ago

Only fools and people who still believe the Earth is flat will accept your garbage analysis.

• Salifu 8 years ago

What a ridiculous article !!!
    Our voting system is based on the "First past the post" system as practised in the UK for instance. Under this system, the candidate with the majority of votes WINS ! Mr, if you don't know how ...

• Ebb Nuell 8 years ago

This is what an old man in Talensi told me
    Common sense told them to chose economic hardship over tribal insults!
    Wise up n start treating everybody like a Ghanaian...u r destroying this great party!!!! Thank you.

• HOPE 8 years ago

What about 72.06 rejection of NPP? the issues are not as simple as this writer wants us to believe.

• Ebb Nuell 8 years ago

Jux to add up that was a consoling but Bogus analysis it saddens me that the NPP hope to suceed in 2016 with such faint minded pple in other words implying 73% of the Talensi pple rejected Nana nd the NPP. Woe onto the NPP in ...

• Sharon Teiku 8 years ago

By simple reasoning this means 72.06% rejects Akuffo Addo, NPP. True or False?

• Sisko 8 years ago

Note that while 57 percent rejected NDC a whooping 72.2 % rejected NPP, so what is the big deal?

• Efo Xormeku 8 years ago

Let take a look at this simple analysis. In 2012 Mahama had over 17,000 votes as against Nana Addo who polled over 7,000 votes. About 10,000 votes difference. Now in the just ended by- election at Talense which is NDC strongh ...

• King Philip (aka Thinking-Man) 8 years ago

I wish Mahama and Portuphy would come to Western Region to listen to some of their so called Regional Executives who are predicting, working harder and conspering with some MMDCE's in the Region for the party to losse the fo ...

• Iwan 8 years ago

These perennial losers will always find a way of softening their embarrassment when they are defeated. So NDC had 42% we should declare the one who had 28% winner?

• Kay Eghan 8 years ago

What kind of calculation is this? Whoever did it must first come up with what percentage Prz.Mahama got in 2012 before we will take him serious. We are waiting.

• yao johnson 8 years ago

ANALYSIS IS WRONG. I EXPECT THE AUTHOR TO DO SAME TO ALL PARTIES AND GIVE THE PUBLIC THE TRUE PICTURE. HOW MANY REJECTED NANA AKUFO ADDO.
    THE AUTHOR SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER AND SHOULD STOP THIS CHEAP POLITICS. ONLY LAY PEO ...

• bashings 8 years ago

stupid analysis! what about NPP, add the rest of the percent of votes to NDC'S what do we have?

• sonkrolo 8 years ago

47% IS FAR BETTER THAN 27%.

"However, as the people of Talensi have shown—they gave the parliamentary seat to B. T. Baba, but rejected the Mahama administration by giving 57.25% of the votes to other candidates."

This analysis is totally wrong. You ...

• frikola 8 years ago

57% reject mahama but wat percntage of voters reject the dwarf? that is 73%.

• son of man 8 years ago

And 70.32 .percent reject npp. 90.99 reject de others

• think before you......... 8 years ago

did your analysis consider the rejected ballots??????

• Paapa 8 years ago

Poor mathematics. How can you say this,,you think all the other parties will vote for NPP presidential candidate come any election. Shame you

• koomanu 8 years ago

OMG!!! Mr.Author,for heaven's sake dont make mockery of yourself.BT Baba was NEVER,repeat NEVER been the NSA boss.
    He was chairman of the Handball Association of Ghana and President of the GHANA OLYMPIC COMMITTEE (GOC).
    The ...

• KOJO 8 years ago

Please if you say this then it means Ghanaians voted for Mahama.on the 2012 elections which we all know that EL stole the peoples verdict for NDC and his presidency. Why do you think the president can't bite the people around ...

• kweku buati 8 years ago

First past the polls is patliamentary election.keep deceiving yourself. Check the parliamentary results of all the constituencies in ghana during 2012 general election. Parliamentary elections are basically local giants conte ...

• nii 8 years ago

I wish I know who wrote this, I blame JJ for given the freedom of speech for such nonsense ppl to also talk and make comparison that has no water, I pity ur parent cos the school fees they paid is a waste

• Jah Tool 8 years ago

Farm Yard Analysis. cheeeeeeeew!!!

• The researcher (issaku issah) 8 years ago

YES 55 PERCENT ABADONED NDC BA ASK UR SELF HOW MANY ABANDONED AKUFFO ADDO AND NPP.... THE SEAT WAS FOR NPP AND NDC HAVE NOW TAKEN OVER WHY ALL THESE FALSE ANALYSIS GO TO 2012 AND CHECK THE RECORDS OF TALENSI PARLAIAMENTARY RE ...

• The researcher (issaku issah) 8 years ago

SORRY 57 RATHER

• Sonkronsuo 8 years ago

Sycophant analysis. what is the basis of your analysis? What is the basis that should it be general election, the people of Talensi would vote for Taller(Akufo Addo) to became President at all cost. I think your analysis was ...

• Abdul 8 years ago

Stop this unpopular analysis.Even if the referendum is factual,then compare the percentage to the 2012 results of JM.However,Ghanaians now patronise skirt and blouse voting.So forget.

• Kwesi Ninsin 8 years ago

Which percentage rejected NPP?

If anyone was rejected it was the NPP. After all that was their parliamentary seat. Therefore the appropriate question to ask is which percentage of the voters rejected NPP?