You are here: HomeNews2015 06 30Article 365621

15% hike in petroleum prices tomorrow

Read Comments Comments (119)

• ken 8 years ago

GO AND RE-ELECT FOOLISH MAHAMA FOR A2ND TERM NEXT

• fredsaid 8 years ago

AND GHANAIANS WILL BE FOOLED ONE MORE TIME BY TAKING SMALL BRIBES AND VOTING FOR NDC WHILE THEY CONTINUE TO STEAL THE BIG TIME MONEY IN BILLIONS. THEN MORE DINING HALL PREFECTS WILL BE APPOINTED TO CONTINUE WITH THE MESS.

• Nick 8 years ago

NDC is the most useless part with incompetent president. A president who has no clue; he is ignorant in everything and has no ability to perform, and needed to be booted out!!!!!!!!!

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Mahama, we told you so. If you dine with the devil, you should have a long spoon. IMF will run you down. AFEI DE WO BETIE OBIARA?

• Gen Mosquito 8 years ago

Nobody should complain, nobody should cry. What a man sow is what he reaps. We invested in NDC in 2012 and this dividends.

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER 8 years ago

HOW COULD A MATUAL ABCDERIAN LISTEN TO AN ADVISE.ATOPAHENE MAHAMAH HAS NO CHOICE THAN TO TAKE THEM AS GIRL-FRIENDS AND ACCEPT THEIR DUBIOUS REGULATIONS.HE HAS STOLEN ALL THE COUNTRY'S MONEY TO BUILD HIS GONJA EMPIRE IN DUBAI ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 8 years ago

On-coming events cast their shadows before them. I have no doubt that the worst is yet to come, if our economic history is anything to go by.
    When NDC decided to push JM for the presidency, Nana Konadu quite eloquently descr ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

Once you are incompetence in putting things together you will continue to increase petrol price every weekend and the cedi too will continue to fall till Ghanaians change the government. NDCfo abon wo amanuo mu yie!

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Rawlings and his misguided, inexperienced "let the blood flow" chanting youth violently took over this country in the 80s and mismanaged it for 20years. The result was a Cuban-style communist dictatorship, economic mismanagem ...

• nana boamah 8 years ago

In fact,this is the most heartless group of politicians Ghana can boast of.i am not surprised because they spend valuable time thinking of how to use ways and means of winning elections instead of planning how to improve on t ...

• Ndewin 8 years ago

if u were not foolish, u could have run for the presidency.ur mum bi prostitute fork by an arm robber to birth u.folish magot

• AKOSUA OBINIM 8 years ago

Hey Ibrahim, will you shut up.

• forgive 8 years ago

Is this one a human being?oh no..

• Kofi Mumuni Dum, Dumsor 8 years ago

Epect more increase in taxes and prices because a dead goat has no brains to thout better solutions. A dead goat has no heart so he is insensitive to the plights of Ghanaians. All that the dead goat thinks about is CORRUPTION ...

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

They assume by the end of the year, people might have forgotten about the increase. The assume that the day dumsor is solved, Ghanaians will fall in love with NDC again.
    They assume by dishing out few cedis and cushioning so ...

• The mask 8 years ago

The economy is hitting many families hard and many have run out of ideas.

Boachsoft Finance 2012 software, developed in East Akim Municipality (Akyem-Maase and Bunso) in the Eastern Region of Ghana and in Accra/Sakumono, i ...

• Kwabie 8 years ago

Next time we will be careful where they put their thumb prints. Useless government, do we have to pay for the inefficiency of government. This is just like the last days of Dr. Kwasi Botwe as finance minister.

• 6430 8 years ago

I hope u read this I am waiting for your coment.

• kwesi attah legon 8 years ago

Foolish man your president went and take a foto in front of CNN. So his girlfriends will know that is a gay and another fool. First time he hear of BBC you are all going to die by like knowledge

• KK 8 years ago

Is that what we got after Senkyi Retreat?
    Is that what you meant by 'Better Ghana?'
    Is this the unprecedented achievement you deafened our ears with?

• kwesi attah legon 8 years ago

Foolish man your president went and take a foto in front of CNN. So his girlfriends will know that is a gay and another fool. First time he hear of BBC you are all going to die by like knowledge

• Nana Addai 8 years ago

Another 15% increase!!! Oh God save Ghana.

• SMILES 8 years ago

THERE ARE MORE AND GREATER PRICE HIKES AHEAD. THE FACTS ON THE GROUND PREDICT.

• DWUMFOUR 8 years ago

WO I CARE FOR YOU INDEED. PLEASE GOOD PEOPLE OF GHANA DONT LET THESE THIEVES BUY YOU AGAIN AND REELECT EASY OPTION MAHAMA.
    HE HAS NO CLUE TO MANAGEMENT NICE TALK BUT FULL OF DECEPTION. 28% INCREMENTIN 3 MONTHS WOW

• daladam 8 years ago

MAHAMA DEMAND RE-ELECTION GO VOTE FOR HIM AND SOON ALL GHANA BE STARVING TO DEATH YOU GHANA FALKS ALL DESERVE MAHAMA

• Comment 250 8 years ago

Mismanagement and lack of vision bring the IMF onto the block. These politician do not feel what the taxpayers feel.

• SAY IT AS IT IS 8 years ago

It high time subsidies on fuel is scraped in ghana. It is only a pity the poor in society thinks any increase affect them the most. But in reality it the rich in society that enjoy these subsidies on fuel.
    Some have two to ...

• ana 8 years ago

You are the biggest fool in the world

• Ganiyu 8 years ago

Why? Or has the Ankaful facility thrown you out?

• mr. kwedjo 8 years ago

am with you brother, all subcidies must be removed else the country will be poor by helping the individual rich people to cheat the poor and and the country. Ghanians must learn to work for everthing they want in life. "SUBCI ...

• wise king 8 years ago

have you been help by some one before? if yes then god will punished you for say that stupid thing. even illiterate person will never say that

• wise king 8 years ago

you are the most stupid person I have ever seen

• TUGA 8 years ago

U are the most foolish person i hv ever read his msg on social media. Who told u only rich ppl use car? I think is Asiedu Nketia. Kwasea!! Gyimiiiii

• SAMO JEWELERY/FACEBOOK 8 years ago

If u need yellow n white gold rings for your wedding n engagement...then call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 for latest pictures to choose from.....we have offices in HO,KUMASI, KASOA AND ACCRA SPINTEX ROAD.....u can contact us ...

• issah 8 years ago

all those ndc ministers must have theirs salaries and gratuities slashed. we are we paying these idiots so much only to bear the brunt of their incompetence??? they should not live on some fat salaries and free amenities whil ...

• Prophet 8 years ago

NDC administration is a useless one, lack clues as how to go about things.Mahama is indeed a dead goat.Ghanaians will show him the exit come 2016.

• Adjorlolo 8 years ago

A very confused and clueless government we are cursed with. How on earth will you leave the pricing of a such as petroleum products which has inelastic demand in hands of private merchants? Why on earth would you peg price of ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Mahama and his clues are SATANIC!!How can he peg the pricing of petroleum products at the mercy of NDC wicked souls when our own TOR is left to rot.SATANISM

• STUPID LEADERS 8 years ago

WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY????? MAHAMA IS A STUPID LEADER. CANT HE SEE GHANAIANS ARE BLEEDING?

• Adjorlolo 8 years ago

A very confused and clueless government we are cursed with. How on earth will you leave the pricing of a commodity such as petroleum products which has inelastic demand in hands of private merchants? Why on earth would you pe ...

• Animal Farm 8 years ago

Eiiiiiii, we were told that the price of fuel will be reduced drastically and now let us look at what is happening.

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Kwasia you voted based on what ndc told you insteadof the realities on the ground and you are now asking who should look at what is happening?

• Identity politics 8 years ago

Emmanuel, you are an idiot. Have I told you that I voted for a reduction in fuel prices.

• TOTO AGBO. 8 years ago

Go and vote again for that stupid man and his good for nothing ministers again.John Mahama kill us all and come again to rule us in 2016.IDIOT.

• NII BOSTON 8 years ago

That's what Ghanaians deserve, more fire

• t t 8 years ago

the 3 percent from jubilee what do we do with that oil from western region?

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER 8 years ago

WE DRINK IT LIKE PITO IN THE JUBILEE HOUSE.GHANAIANS DESERVE WHAT THEY ARE IN.WHERE ARE THOSE THWARTS WHO ARE ALWAYS ON THIS WEB-SITE INSULTING INNOCENT PEOPLE.I WANT TO HEAR FROM CORNEY KOLA DOUGLAS AND KWASEATO BBC NEWS TO ...

I think it is a rumour otherwise like I will join in any action against you which will be lawful'. Hahhahhh somepeople do not know what they are calling for??/

• Abebs 8 years ago

It is time for Ghanians to learn from Egyptians. We are just been taken for granted and we only sit down and talk. We will all die of hunger before 2016. All the taxes are being used to pay judgement debts whiles we go beggin ...

• Banza Yaro 8 years ago

Poor Mother Ghana is now bleeding the blood of the devil. We voted for a lied on success, and ended up with a miserable failure. Is this what we get for chaining the white man for our freedom? After 58 years of the black man' ...

• Paul oduro a k a Justice,Bosomtwi sta 8 years ago

stupid NDC.party

• Ghabay,NY 8 years ago

Sayoo,onupka be jen lo! Hey chineke God,come down now ooo!! Your people are suffering at the hands of this useless NDC,damn! 15 percent increase in petroleum prices,which means prices of everything else will also go up.Yet so ...

• TUGA 8 years ago

May god hv mercy on which ppl Ghabey? Those planing to vote for these criminals like the Tepa linguist, god shd even burn them bf 2016 cos dey are fools, greedy n refusing to think

• SAMITU ROSE 8 years ago

READ SOLE COMMISSIONER'S REPORT ON JUDGT DEBTS AND U WILL SEE HOW SATANIC ATTAMILLS AND BETTYMOULD AND BARTON ODRO AND BEN KUMBUOR WERE,,,VERY SATANIC....Read Justice Appau's Report On Judgt Debts And See The Evilness Of Ndc ...

• Iyke 8 years ago

Mahama is indeed a specialist in failure.Nothing seems to be working in Ghana

• Great Ashanti's Germany 8 years ago

I want BBC and Douglas Bristol, the two donkeys to look for prez kufur era to compare their godfather Mahama as ruling on Ghana to fire, as the due clam as their Ghanaians, now Ghana is for sale, how citizens can leave bette ...

• Kojo 8 years ago

We voted the NDC to power let's enjoy them. Cedi is sure to hit 10 cedis to one dollar before end of 2015.

• Cha 8 years ago

Better Ghana agenda

• Osofo 8 years ago

Boy, these NDC folks don't think about the common person. They promised that the IMF loan wouldn't increase fuel prices. Even when the worldwide oil prices fell, ours stayed the same.

• sir imam Ahmed 8 years ago

Fuck man total bullshit..I hate Ghana and the current government. .Should be open revolution this too much

• Big Joe 8 years ago

Hmm!! My brothers in the north and those in vota pls let's change the tribal politics.

• Kojo 8 years ago

Forget it. The NDC can take the country to the Stone Age but the VR will still vote massively for the NDC

• Odii 8 years ago

Eii! God, were u really de one who gave us this useless government? Please save us for mahama is killing us!

• zombie politician. 8 years ago

Our President ,Ministers and so called managers of our Country are very Wicked,Selfish,Greedy, full of Lies and Evil for this Country.Very soon the masses will have no option than going the Liberian way,we destroy the country ...

• KWAME 8 years ago

After messing up the economy, it is the ordinary person on the street that will suffer. The citizens of this country will bear the mismanagements of government. That is what is happening to all of us.
    We have been supporting ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Nana Yaa Djantuah and his crews are EVIL

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Nana Yaa and her ndc crews will fall like Babylon

• kofi 8 years ago

can the government impose taxes on the prices of petroleum products then is confusing wen they tell us they pay subsidies on the same products. these issue needs to be debated. they are deceiving us.

• De 8 years ago

Ours is a gov't that robs its own majority poor to enrich the elite few and cronies.

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Mr Minister of energy,tell us where the oil from the Jubilee oilfields go?Journalists in Ghana are very lazy or have no professional skills at all apart from reporting NDC and NPP bad news.This guy,Minister of energy must be ...

• Kofi Mumuni Dum, Dumsor 8 years ago

This is what happens when you have a dead goat as President, A The brain of a dead got is dead Therefore he cannot think out innovative solutions to Ghana's problems. The heart of a dead goat is dead. Therefore, he is insensi ...

• Iddris 8 years ago

Gov't must also start paying all workers base on the dollar equivalence.Stagnant salaries coupled with galloping hike in petroleum.For how long must feverish birds tremble in silence b4 their keeper?

• yensiamoa 8 years ago

When election is drawing near,Bature will come out with 'Asante Faction and Akyem Faction' to deceive the non-Akans
    to vote for NDC. This simple trick is always working for them. No whiteman,a single one, will vote for NDC g ...

• kush 8 years ago

I think what the goverment should do is. To closed down all the foreighn berous everybody that want any currency should go to bank. Thats the only thing. And again we need manufactory compenies

• inna 8 years ago

Get ready Ghanaians, Electricity bill 51% increment, water 15% increment, fuel 15% increment, car insurance 600% increment, salary 0% increment.

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

If we don't add value to what we produce,we shall forever borrow till thy kindom come.The more you borrow and service debts,the more your economy becomes fragile.The Cedi will never be stable if we don't create wealth in the ...

• KK 8 years ago

It is no secret that export of cocoa has been a significant source of foreign exchange earnings for the country which governments over the years have used to strengthen the cedi. The Kufour administration invested so much in ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Mind you,it is not Kuffour who decides the world commodity prices.You can produce more than 20 million tons of cocoa annually and still find yourself worst off.There was a time in our history when Kwame Nkrumah intentionally ...

• TUGA 8 years ago

So how many goods hv you produce locally so far? Thank you.

• TUGA 8 years ago

So how many goods hv you produce locally so far Boy? Thank you.

• KK 8 years ago

Why waste efforts to increase local production then? And why not stop production altogether so that world price will increase? Of course you would not earn a penny. You see there is no logic in what you are saying. You are no ...

• GADIDIMGADAM 8 years ago

Tax to loot under the e dey bee k3k3 kicks in tomorrow. Vote for me I am young, vote for me I am handsome, well, whatever you voted for, it is seriously working for you. What a better Ghana agenda!!!.

• RPG 8 years ago

It is time to call for fresh elections. The Mahama NDC gov't doesn't know what it is doing or what it is about.
    Ghana needs fresh elections now.

• EC 8 years ago

Only God can save us from these hardships. The unsinkable ship Titanic is sinking fast and deeper.

• abba 8 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• abba 8 years ago

THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS. EVEN GOING TO 'IMF' TESTIFIES.

• paa 8 years ago

does what u get when u get an idiot as president, seems like am also an idiot because I supported for him , thought he was young and was eager to suceed at a faster rate not knowing I voted for a moron.

• Joe 8 years ago

This is a government that does not deserve to be in power even for a day because they do not know what they are about. Ghana is sinking and sinking fast and there is nothing to stop it with this incompetent NDC still in powe ...

• Paul Coleman 8 years ago

Just that our leaders are falling to learn.IMF has nothing gud to offer.

• Obrefo 8 years ago

Why can we allow IMF to run Ghana? Or publish the blue print from IMF so we can prepare ourselves for what is coming? A bunch of incompetent criminal idiot fools are at the helm of affairs and can't anything right. They've st ...

• kojo 8 years ago

How can a murdurer, stealer, a dead goat, tanii, somebody who has never taken one accurate decision for himself rule a country. I tell u Mahama has an angel face but has devil heart.

• Dp 8 years ago

If this is your better Ghana,then bring back our normal Ghana.Nkruasefoc aban.

• Obiba Broke 8 years ago

The only thing killing ghanaians is tribalism , ndc is not a good political party. Ghanaian must vote wisely next time or stop making noise.

• Kojo 8 years ago

Increase hike by 200% we in the VR will still vote for NDC

• TUGA 8 years ago

Yes kojo,i agree wit u. We wl vote for dem even if NDC sells Ghana bcos y3 y3 mmoa ntia, 3na y3 gyimi gyimi kakra nso

• Wumbei enoch damba 8 years ago

Better Ghana indeed.
    We are still under colonialism but indirect. God save us

• fo kofi 8 years ago

we are following the path of Greece and sooner or later , we cannot pay our debts. Bankruptcy staring us in the face. But NPP told u so.

• Boyzzz 8 years ago

Ay3 ka!

• komfo 8 years ago

So this government has not learnt any lessons from what happened in Burkina Faso.
    Time will tell.
    The day the masses will rise up,nothing nothing will be able to stop them.Demo by the Old Fadama residents should be a warnin ...

• jaara 8 years ago

they should increase it to. 100% we will still survive with our meager salaries. we sick n tired of them.

• SAMITU ROSE 8 years ago

STUPID MORONIC ATTAMILLS WAS A PLAIN THIEF WHO THOUGHT HE COULD USE NPP FAULTS IN NPP ERA AS EXCUSE TO EMBARK ON MASSIVE GARGANTUAN CREATE LOOT AND SHARE OF THE STATE COFFERS....THAT STUPID FOOOOOOOL SAT FOR BETTYMOULD AND BA ...

• pope 8 years ago

i will manage and wait till 2016 so i can vote this stupid president out...is this better ghana ?

• Kwame appiah kubi 8 years ago

useless people .how can you increase petroleum prices at this time .still some useless people from volta Will defend this.

• TUGA 8 years ago

I luv this. Hahahahaaaaa, some useless people are still considering to vote for this thing he call him self the president of Ghana. I wonder if those people have common sense, including some learnered people. JDM himself eve ...

• been 8 years ago

Pls stop insulting the president, remember we gave him the power to rule us. Ghanaians are very ungrateful after all that pres Koffour did we voted npp out cos it is akanfo party. Pls be quite and suffer. Npp akanfo party ene ...

• Wise King 8 years ago

because of some voters ignorant. stupidity ,selfish and tribalism ,that's why we are going through all this hardship now. we must keep quite and feel the heat now, hahaha,,,,,,herrrrrrr,,,,,What a John,,,,hmmm,,, I call him ...

• tho 8 years ago

mahama kwasia

• kk 8 years ago

Cost of living is getting high everyday but our income levels are the same if not dwindling. Hmmm Ghana.

• Yelvuh Naa 8 years ago

Allah will punish John Mahama and his entire ministers and cabinent ministers for making Ghanaians suffering in this hardship period. Allah is Watching them.

• Amonserv Bay. 8 years ago

It is rather unfortunate that Ghanaians are going to pay more for fuel,water and electricity.What have we done to deserve this kind of treatment?Let us follow the people of Nigeria and vote this incompetent,visionless,cluele ...

• muhammed fuseini nash 8 years ago

I TINK SETH TERKPA TO RESIGN BECOZ DE MAN IS INCOMPETENT. DIZ SUPPOSED TO USE DE FIRST SHARE OF DE IMF PROGRAME TO STABLZE CEDI AGAINST DE MAJOR TRADING CURRENCY BA STILL IT KEEP ON ON DEPRICIATING VERI BAD

• DOMINIC 8 years ago

I regret voting for Mahama....will be vigilant next year.

• JOYCE 8 years ago

NDC is a toast!

• ROGUE LAWYER 8 years ago

The Person who made this ivorian a Minister had a question to answer in the satan hell of Petrol fire

• darko paa-kwesy seth zdove 8 years ago

another increase in fuel? oh my God, come save us.

• concern citizen. 8 years ago

Eiiii,,,this useless mahama govt.yoooooo,we are just watching you and your incompetent gov't.2016 is coming soon.Hmmmm,Ghana we are really suffering.Eiiiii.

• bright 8 years ago

i think de govt of de day is clueless n incompetent to say de least.wy shd ghanaians suffer for their inability manage de cedis.its a pity .we deserve better.

• Ilunga 8 years ago

Ghana has oil underground. It is being lifted by companies Ghana gave the concessions to and has only 10%.

The oil is lifted and exported for $$$$. Everything is dollars in Ghana. In some western countries, there are laws ...

• Kweku 8 years ago

A well reasoned analysis. I like it.