You are here: HomeNews2015 06 30Article 365493

Mahama frees 900 prisoners; 14 on death row sentence reduced

Read Comments Comments (42)

• Justice 8 years ago

I DON'T AGREE WITH THIS PROVISION.

• OZA 8 years ago

"Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us". The is the most powerful statement of love!

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

Ghanaians what do you think these prisoners are coming out to do? Stealing and corruption is going to increase. Many people are going to be attacked from now onwards.

• +++APPEAL JUDGE 8 years ago

THIS CORRUPT NDC GUYS WILL SURELY BE JAILED.

• OBAA YAA 8 years ago

Learning to forgive is a therapy for healing. When he was asked why he seek conciliation from his oppressors upon becoming the President of South Africa. Mandela simply said he does not want to be imprisoned twice after his r ...

• HELL NO! 8 years ago

TOTAL NONSENSE!
    RELEASING CRIMINALS BACK INTO SOCIETY, EVEN AFTER A TEAR, JUST BECAUSE OF "GOOD BEHAVIOUR"?
    STUPID, IRRESPONSIBLE, LACKADAISICAL DECISION!
    FOOLS!

• Dzigaman 8 years ago

'' An ugly child of your own is more to you than a beautiful one belonging to your neighbour ''
    ''He who is devoid of the power to forgive, is devoid of the power to love.''
    Martin Luther King Jr.
    We all have made mistakes ...

• successfullman 8 years ago

Make extra income online by just investing $18. Call or whatsapp Ben on 0266434975 for more details

• Jeremiah Bayeh 8 years ago

They should go and behave well and become preachers of peace in Ghana. The society should also recognize and accept them into the family and society at large. I wish them well as they prepare to take a new life.

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

This criminal group will forever set their own traps and fall in them. When Kufour freed some hundred prisoners, these stupid fools including mahama went about saying Kufour had unleashed criminals into the streets again. Tod ...

• Bread and kokonte 8 years ago

Foolish those unlawfiully killed must be killed. Pardon for what?

• Prof. Alhaji Awuni Dauda 8 years ago

593 of the freed prisoners were ewes or p/NDC convicts. Another 205 were northerner or akans. There were no Gas or Dagombas.

11 out of the 14 on death row are from Nkonya district in V/R, 1 Ashanti, 1 Nzema, and 2 of unde ...

• KUNDIIMA 8 years ago

PLEASE LET US ALWAYS FEEL PITY FOR THOSE THAT COULD NOT ENJOY THEIR LIFE FOR NUMBER OF YEARS UNTIL NOW THAT THEY HAD THE FREEDOM TO ENJOY.

• johnson 8 years ago

stop lying and deceiving people. who told you they are ewes and northers? if they are arent they human beings?

• fuzi 8 years ago

it's true john mahama does't like dagomba's at all.becouse we form majority in sodom and Gomorrah that's why he is supervising the demolition meanwhile it's dagombas that natured and support you to become president.is that ho ...

• adam 8 years ago

Relationship between a man and a woman is meant to be enjoyed. But recently a lot of people out there are not happy when they hear the word relationship, because of their past experience with people.
    I have the following q ...

• Austin Techiman B/A 8 years ago

common sense

• Kwesi Baidoo 8 years ago

Replace the 900 freed prisoners with all the corrupt appointees of the NDC.

• Asem se be 8 years ago

The president is saying whatever crime one commits in Ghana, pardon is saying always available. What about using the occasion to execute armed robbers to serve as deterant to others? It will show a strong leadership than w ...

• anna 8 years ago

we are dead more arm robbers are we and our chn saved

• Okomfo, London 8 years ago

This is insane.We have to stop this prisoner release nonsense.

• SON OF MAN 8 years ago

THIS WILL NOT BE ENOUGH, GO ROUND AFRICAN PRISONS AND FREE ALL OF THEM.
    THAT WILL GIVE YOU MORE VOTES BOHYE-BA.
    NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO, YOUR DAYS ARE NUMBERED MAHAMA BOHYE-BA.

• DAAVI 8 years ago

WHY DO WE HAVE TO LET THE POLICE PUT THEIR LIFES AT RISK TO ARREST THIS CRIMENALS THEN WE SET THEM FREE? OR WE HAVE GIVEN ALL OUR MONIES TO WOYOME AND DON`T HAVE ENOUGH ROOM FOR THEM? OR MAJORITY OF THEM ARE NDC? OR NORTHNER? ...

• Bill 8 years ago

Do we have the death penalty in the country? I did not know this was the case. Any idea when was the last time a prisoner was executed?

• zombie politician. 8 years ago

We don't even need prisons in Ghana. If J.J Rawlings is walking freeee in his white shirt, with Gold murder chain with Big lndemnity Diamond Cross around his neck, entrenched in Ghana's Constitution,with his NDC students, one ...

• Grace Divine Jesson. 8 years ago

Mahama why are you destroying Ghana?

• Me Aning. Toronto 8 years ago

The prisoners will vote for bsc

• Alhaji A Brutus Germany 8 years ago

Fellow Ghanians take it from me next year the notorious Kombian who ambushed and killed 2policemen on duty will be given amnesty by the same Mahama before he leaves office because that criminal is a strong NDC activist,

• ndc die hard 8 years ago

they should all come n vote for de ndc n they will b free npp will put u back in jail

• pablo 8 years ago

Good job president....prisons are unafrican. African never had prisons nor borders till white boy came through. Why does ghana have a death penalty anyways?

• jeskyteou 8 years ago

Freeing inmates just because you don't have the space to house them is not the answer. Where is the Deterrence? Incapacitation? Retribution? Now, people can consider committing crimes because they know they will be released a ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

An escaped convict, imprisoned for 1st degree murder, had spent 25 years of his life sentence in prison. While on the run, he broke into a house and tied up a young couple who had been sleeping in the bedroom. He tied the m ...

• Lin Biao Wang-Yin 8 years ago

Just give me the 14 on death row so I can sacrifice them to my deities to stop flooding, dumsor, unemployment, demonstrations and outright political incompetence

• Agbeli Kumordzi 8 years ago

Those kumasi armed robbers are free to terrorize Ghanains again too sad I better get machine gun one criminal one bullet

• Ekow Samuel-NOISIEL-France. 8 years ago

Some how it is very good.

• Balawo President 8 years ago

Ex-prez Kufuor pardoned a number of prisoners at the end of his 2nd term. NDC took over. There was a spate of armed robbery as it is now. Koku Anyidoho as a presidential spokesman then used unprintable language to insinuate t ...

• Anas Muslim Larry 8 years ago

When they say that " 883 are first-time offenders who showed good behaviour after being sentenced. " That's a lie. They gained that freedom bcos the crimes they committed do not fall under the first degree felony.

• P. Otu 8 years ago

Per my understanding of amnesty granted to prisoners the criterion if am not mistaken has been spelt out in the report. Also, it does not affect people who committed robbery, rape, defilement, narcotics or having attempted to ...

• P. Otu 8 years ago

Amnesty

• Philip Twum Nkansah 8 years ago

I hope they will all leave a worthy life pleasing to God.

• Boss(Amansie Ba) 8 years ago

Go on and free Ataa Ayi also he is part of Ndc criminal gangs.

• Akua 8 years ago

he is releasing them because he want them to vote for him nxt year