You are here: HomeNews2015 06 23Article 364068

We aren’t ripping Ghanaians off – US Embassy

Read Comments Comments (83)

• SICK OF NONSENSE 8 years ago

THE RIP OFF STARTED LONG BEFORE THE SO-CALLED TECH GLITCH!!! AMERICA HAS BEEN KNOWN TO PISS ON YOUR FACE WITHOUT THE COURTESY OF EVEN CALLING IT RAIN!!!

• ATSU, HO 8 years ago

IF THERE IS TECNICAL HITCH CAN WE CONFIRM THAT ANYBODYHAS BEEN ISSUED WITH A VISA DURING THE PERIOD? THE TRUTH MUST PREVAIL

• mensa 8 years ago

we know that americans are not nice people if you going to leave ghana Canada ,new zealnd is a much better place for immegrants then amrerica will ever be.

• jerry 8 years ago

GIVE US BACK OUR HARD EARN MONEY

• KEN 8 years ago

IF YOU CAN DELIVER WE WANTS OUR MONEY BACK AND WE WANT IT NOW

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 8 years ago

If the vksa application is denied. I think it's the duty for the embassy tonrefund at least half the visa fees. Ghanaians should out the blame on their inept, lazy and spineless govt.for.not advocating on their behalf. I hear ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

JJ killed innocent people.Mahama is a Fool

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

Ghanaian complain to much.

• Ajit Babu 8 years ago

A Banana republic like Ghana thrives on hearssy (yese yese) and not on any logical reasoning. Welcome!

• Nzema K 8 years ago

what is hearsay about the story

• Sethoo 8 years ago

Hahahaaa George Bush Jnr & Tony Blair went to war with Iraq bcos of hearsay

• kweku trouble 8 years ago

tell that ignoramus.

• Dx 8 years ago

Rip off? It's their country. They have the right to refuse you entry on any or no grounds(Technical or otherwise). Where is the rip off?

• Nzema K 8 years ago

So what the hell is the Ambassador and his bunch of hungry looking Americans doing on our shores. Kwasia-ba DX Talk like a human being

• Aku 8 years ago

Wow Nzema K, where's the logic in what you typed. Just like many a black man

• Be Calm Folks 8 years ago

Honestly, what is there in Ghana to be gained by the U.S. Calm down folks and worry about the financial and corruption affecting Ghana badly

• Syman 8 years ago

they won't wait till you and your shite gets over there, they plan to stop you from even getting on the plane in the first place........

• tony 8 years ago

Nonsense, why do they let person paid for visa fee first and later refused him or her why not grant the person the visa first and then allowed him to pay before returning passport with the visa, this is highway robbery

• K L 8 years ago

Visa fees, like other fees sich as university application fees, are used to cover administrative and processing costs. Itbis also to help attach cost to process to discourage abuse by people who may just apply mulyiple times ...

• Meelon 8 years ago

Who should waste his time on ur visa application for free? better be quiet & join the line for days & still pay if u cant develope ur country but seek to run.

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Clear your filth and the odour and stay in your country. Period

• kutsii 8 years ago

Nonsense. That is the tipbof the iceberg in ripping off Ghanaians of their wealth in their natural resources.

American oil companies have reaped over 30 billion dollars since oil was discovered in the Jubilee fields with ...

• Citizen, Ghana 8 years ago

Even though you would deny it, it's an open secret, and true that you are a "Sherlock"! This has been your modus operandi ever since the creation of the United States of America. You are always ripping and feeding on the weak ...

• natural 8 years ago

throw away that ignorance,Americans nd people within it r hard working,they don't sleep 3 times during the day like y'all does.

• Why these Discussions 8 years ago

Nobody is forcing you to pay these fees. You can choose to stay in your Ghana and stop complaining. Why do you want to go to the U.S anyways if you feel this way?

• M Berger 8 years ago

we can get you a legal Visa to live and work in Europe. Contact by mail mkberger@yandex.com for further information.

• Hasan Rasta Germany 8 years ago

Stop stealing the poor Ghanaians money then later send them to Russia you foolish man. If you continue this we are going to call for your arrest. So be careful ok. Here is not a place for your criminal activities.

• Ibrahim anyas 8 years ago

Are u a consulate ? U are normal person like me who can also process and apply for legal visa, so y should I contact u?

• Kwame Kwaku 8 years ago

Why dont you do Ghana and black people a favor and target whites abroad with these scams of yours.

• Omanba Pa lslington- London 8 years ago

The question is that Why do they not stay in their own country? Does US ambassador begging Ghanaians to go to their office to apply for visa at all? Ghanaians should keep their money to themselves period. If you don't go ther ...

• sansan 8 years ago

Illiterate fool, omanba when did u complete sss, ur command over the queens language is really poor ,wake-up ur mind.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

I speak twi that is my language I am not English. Okay? Wo kwasea se wose gyimi ni ba! Am I wrong to write twi as well? Odwan ba! Come again!

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Hahahaa Omaba. English is just not ur thing n u r found wanting in twi too. LOL

Have you seen how stupid you are? Why do you use two names on ghanaweb? Idiot! Mr English man. You are disgrace. Ofui ba! I am waiting for you to come again.

• Kwame Birmingham 8 years ago

Hahahahahahakikikicchi, agyei omanba in trouble

• Godslove Amevoh 8 years ago

Omanna Pa if its true u reside in London why do u give such a comment? if we were all to stay in our own country where would u hav bn. These people are takn us a ride nd u are joking with it...plss behave kakra wai.

You said you have got a young president who is building your country for you so what else do you guys need any more? Tell me! Why do you still want to go to USA for? Think about this! Okay? USA does not need you guys but they ...

• Konkonte 8 years ago

U donkey why are u in London is that Kumasi?

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Omanba, just desist from ur foolish talk n enjoy ur welfare benefits, u lazy bum.

Oh! so you are jealous of me in that I am having benefit from the Queen and also holding British passport. You will die because I am blessed by the Almighty God. Do you get benefit from John Dramani Mahama the "Odwanfunu Pres ...

• Brian Williams 8 years ago

Blame the corrupt leaders in Ghana for making life hard for Ghanaians.

• Stupid Blackman 8 years ago

We conived with CIA to topple Nkrumah, now we are running to US and they are protecting their interest so that you don't spread poverty but you are crying out. Why? You have ruled yourselves for over fifty years. Build your c ...

• Konkonte 8 years ago

Some gyimi like that, why are u not farming in ur village omanba? Which omanba are u?islington London or Kumasi ba? Why don't u set an example n come home urself idiot,
    U had the chance to go but don't want others to go gre ...

• Agbeli Kumordzi 8 years ago

I blame Ghanains for going to those bogus embassies for sure they will not issue them visa but rob them
    Even communist Russia China and Bulgaria if they said sorry no visa for you they make sure to return your money immedia ...

• sojourner in usa 8 years ago

To be the villains of the world. They fair at their embessies? They should have done what UK and USA are doing to the Africans shoving their democracies, capitalism and homosexual laws on our throats.

• Bryt. 8 years ago

brox even wid d chinese embassy it visa b4 u pay d visa fee.
    If dey refuse to issue d visa u ll not be given d Ecobank draft to pay d visa fees.

• Rojas 8 years ago

Why should applicants have to pay for visa fees before the interview? My nephew was denied a visa for the DV Lottery, minutes after he had paid the visa fees!!! Why can't applicants be charged visa fees after it has been dete ...

• Ajit Babu 8 years ago

Does your mama let the men fuck her before she collects the money? Do you understand business?

• Woman's Voice 8 years ago

Not refunding a visa fee when a visa is declined is highway robbery.

• Agbeli Kumordzi 8 years ago

Ghanains should know America by now for it's hypocrisy and preaching stupid democracy and writing racist laws

• Tweaa bio 8 years ago

YES I CAN CONFIDENTLY SAY THAT THE US EMBASSY CONSULARS TAKE BRIBES FROM VISA CONTRACTORS AND ISSUE VISAS. I HAVE EVIDENCE TO SHOWIT. THE US EMBASSY ALSO MAKE HUGE AMOUNT OF MONEY BY TAKING VISA FEES AND DENYING 95% OF APPLIC ...

• successfullman 8 years ago

Make extra income online by just investing $18. Call or whatsapp Ben on 0266434975 for more details.

• Dessie 8 years ago

Technical glitch shouldn't be more than a week knowing the fact that it is a major problem..it is a conspiracy theory

In the days of clustering and vlan technologies, there is no such thing as technical glitch. It is a problem of classifies. Clustering is the technology where sevaral servers the talk to each other in a vlan mode can authunti ...

My first rental car was corsica. I did not know how to drive, but I drove it to first accident and the hertz rental came and grabbed the car leaving me by myself in Maryland I was not familiar. Managed to find calabash club i ...

• Paa Dico 8 years ago

If you had insurance on the rental, your experience could have been avoided. If I'm driving in DC and see a pedestrian on 14th St. should I stop and ask "hey buddy, u need a ride?" . . just bcoz he looks African? Metro subway ...

• Godslove Amevoh 8 years ago

My problem is, why they take ya visa, fee if they refuse u. At least they should return some portion. And de sad thing is dat its only in Africa that they do dat.
    They applied that in Jamaica and when the people refused wit ...

• Joe gidigidi 8 years ago

them dey cheat us oooo....but who go fight for us.

• Meelon 8 years ago

Every thing na double ooo! pls u for ripp them double if their politics no-go change for better, & them currency dey fall daily.

• Abiesi Adams 8 years ago

I was once refused visa when I wanted to visit United Kingdom in New York I was not charge for visa fess or what so ever,Why do they have to charge African countries visa fess even if they were not issued the visa .This will ...

• Punchba(USA) 8 years ago

That is totally not true, here in NY, if someone apply for UK and they refuse him, Visa fee for the application is not returned to the applicant
    Check your facts MASSA.

USA and UK poised to robb the poorest countries in terns of fighting know how. These two countries will take advantage of any ignorant nations.

• OBIBINI 8 years ago

This is truly desperation on the part of Ghanaians.They still want to go to this racist nation in which the blood of the blackman is worth less than the life of a whiteman`s pet.America is a hell for black people.

• THEREALTRUTH 8 years ago

Devils lie without blinking an eye. That's why they collect fees. And then sat they donate money to Ghana. They are giving back the funds they steal and only a small percentage. Big crooks of the world.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

A Ghanaian was being interviewed at the US Embassy to obtain visa,

Consul: Your name please?
    Ghanaian: Kwame Mensah
    Consul: Sex?
    Ghanaian: Six time a week!
    Consul: I mean Male or female?
    Ghanaian: Both male and female ...

• AFENYI 8 years ago

Nonsense! Our journalist just report without being critical!

• toph 8 years ago

Time will tell. Truth stands and jah know.

• Ekow Samuel-NOISIEL-France. 8 years ago

If there is a ploblem of technical fult, then we hope it is not going to last any long so we please you to accept our citziens for the visa and i hope ,may God bless you all in Jesus's name.

• daladam 8 years ago

CANADA ID A BETTER COUNTRY THEN AMERICA WILL EVER BE,WHY BOTHER GOING TO THE USA WHERE RASICM AND HATE IS
    ALL OVER WHY NOT GO PEACFULL CANADA AND NEW ZELAND WHERE AFRICANS ARE RESPECTYED AND TRATED WITH RESPECT

• American/Canadian/Ghanaian 8 years ago

You are wrong, even rich Canadians move to America to live

• Kwesi 8 years ago

To be fair to the US Embassy in Ghana, I think most applicants either do not properly prepare their applications or are truly not ready for the trip before applying for the visa. We hear more of those who were rejected than t ...

• Paa Dico 8 years ago

Ain't some folks confusing visa application fee with visa issuance fee?
    At the Ghana Embassy in Washington DC, one may choose to download a visa application form or pick one up from the Consular Section but, the visa applica ...

• Delilah 8 years ago

I suspect this is true however they should refund most of the money back to applicants if they are not granted a visa. People borrow money and go into debt - in effect recognise the conditions in the country and charge accord ...

• Meelon 8 years ago

have over thousand dollars for Ticket & more to move around in the States, why worry about visa fees in cedis? what about GH-missions abroad, check them first.

• kkd 8 years ago

?

• kkd 8 years ago

?l

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH AFRICANS AND WHY THEY WANT TO GO TO THE MOST DANGEROUS COUNTRY IN THE WORLD FOR THE BLACK MAN !! WHY? DON'T YOU SEE WHAT THEY DO TO BLACKS? YOU MUST BE NUTS TO BE DISCUSSING RIP OFFS ETC. AME ...

• Fifi Miles Ghana International Victim 8 years ago

Ghana International Airways was formed in US but when NDC administration suspended the GIA operations the Americans specifically the US Department of Transportation "looked at the others side" when the NDC failed to refund th ...

• Kanawu 8 years ago

This is not new. If any airlines collapse, in so far as US & UK citizens are not affected they don't cars. Africans can kill themselves who cares

• Kwame Ghanaba 8 years ago

Babylon has been stealing from the African since day one and the African willingly gives it up. Shame on you Ghanaians that keep applying for visas over and over again knowing you do not stand a chance. Instead, invest your m ...

• kojo 8 years ago

It is true you are using visa to extot the poor african who want to visit US a niece of mine went for an interview and was refused reason is that she will not return and most hurting part they never looked through the documen ...

• nana osae 8 years ago

Nigerians rejected the fee as visa fee. Why take my money for no visa issued. In USA who pays for a visa fee and money taken without issuance of the visa. God is watching you lot. No wonder there is no peace on that land ...

• blackstar 8 years ago

Lair lair