You are here: HomeNews2015 06 16Article 362796

Accra flood prevention drainage project hangs in the balance

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Chris 8 years ago

This same dumsor said the project will start soon and now no project. Hello, get ready for another disaster next year. Ayigbe, pepe and fantis, you see what you have caused Ghana? The election is next year, go again and exhib ...

• .USMAN. 8 years ago

Go and see how Prez Mahama of Ghana has transformed Gonjaland with Ghana money just within the two and half years that he has been in power. Every town, village and hamlet in Gonjaland has received a facelift with new facilit ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Mr. President, please tell the truth! Didn't you and your government misapplied the loan as you have been doing all along? Could you give us a tangible and convincing proof that you have not spent the money?

• mensa 8 years ago

go to work on this issue already mr mahama stop the talk it is time for action

• Zangina 8 years ago

Mr President, I feel sad about this whole debacle. After cutting the sod for such an important life saving project, you now backtrack? Holy Moses where are we going. Lets all get ready to drown because the rains are yet to co ...

• TOGBE 8 years ago

KUMASI AND TAMALE AIRPORTS CONSTRUCTION ARE THE PRIORITIES OF NDC SO THAT THEY CAN OVERPRICE IT TO DESTROY GHANA

• GOD SAVE GHANA. 8 years ago

MISPLACED PRIORITIES,THIS IS NDC FOR YOU.DRINAGE PROJECTS WAS STARTED IN ACCRA IN THE LATE 60S AND EARY 70S FOR THE LONGEST GANG IN GHANA'S POLITICAL HISTORY TO PUT AN END TO THEM,AND TURNED ARROUND FOR OUR HEAD OF STATE TO B ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Busia came with the idea of the Accra drainage system but the residents of Accra or, the Ga people said that he was trying to redirect the sea to Kumasi. He saw that Accra was below sea level and that there should be a draina ...

• Leadership Deficiency 8 years ago

There are so many heavy machinery on lease or sale on Spintex road and there are millions of folks ready to work. Why does the government need a loan for. Please use the local currency to hire the necessary people and machi ...

• dredger dramani 8 years ago

Ohh challe,.. Press repeat on your comments. Just like you said, common sense to use local resources and to pay people properly to just manage it well. Instead, Kwasia Bi has scammed so much that the logic of obroni sika and ...

• Brian Williams 8 years ago

Thanks for your sensible comment. Busia saw this problem and wanted to solve it, but obviously Kutu Acheampong saw differently. What a shame.

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

So grey haired young men could be such deceptiveve? I read about the immediate commencement of this project only yesterday here and what just happened? Oooh, never have I been so stunned by mountain of lies. I will conclude t ...

• K. Adams Abeka 8 years ago

Dear President another promise and loan again note why don't you pay people to clear the sand in this gutters or send prisoners to do such walk.Dear president what are you using our taxes for just engage 100 people provide t ...

• Manu 8 years ago

the capital should be moved to another location

• James. Adams 8 years ago

Why waiting for a loan we can clear all this gutters for the rain water to flow should we wait for a loan upon this Shame unto our leaders who just promise and seeking power whereas the people are dying If you have used half ...

• nii nii niiiii 8 years ago

Sooner or later,the govt will not be able to pay its debt.It is not smart to buy any govt bonds or treasury bills as they are likely to default at some time in the future.Gh is doomed period.

• kwasi 8 years ago

STOP THE BULL-CRAP ,ALLOCATE GOVT MONEY TO THIS FLODDING ISSUES OF ACCRA AND FIX THE PROBLEM.

• Akos 8 years ago

Mahama is at his wits end about how to find solutions to solve problems facing the nation. Certainly without a solution, the crisis of flooding will continue. You failed to do your homework before seeking help from the coloni ...

• samy 8 years ago

WITH TALK , TALK, TALK AND ZERO ACTION

• Abeeky Mensah 8 years ago

There is the right way to accomplish long term development goals and there is the fool’s way of doing things hoping to get there, Mr. President. A fool’s way has been written in our history books care of the Dr. Busia adm ...

• NDC 8 years ago

BLAME THE WEST.

• STEVE 8 years ago

In my opinion, the Accra drainage project can be constructed without foreign loan. Dr. Kwame Nkrumah completed most local projects in the country without a foreign loan. All governments after him have are corrupt, and that is ...

• The Mentor 8 years ago

NKRUMAH STOLE THE MONEY FROM THE COCO CROP AND THE FARMERS GOT NOTHING. HE TOOK FROM OTHERS ALSO. HE WAS TAKING GHANA INTO COMMUNISM. HE WASN'T WHAT YOU THINK.

• STEVE 8 years ago

Are corrupt, and not have are corrupt.

• gee 8 years ago

yes they are waiting for foreign loans so that they can divert half into their bank accounts

• J.Davis 8 years ago

IS PRESIDENT MAHAMA,NOW TELLING GHANAIANS THAT OUR LIVES ARE NOT WORTH MORE THAN $600 MILLION.THIS IS AN INSULT ON EVERY GHANAIAN.MAHAMA COULD BORROWED MONEY AND SHARED AMONG THEMSELVES BUT CAN'T DO SAME TO SAVE PRECIOUS LIVE ...

• James Martin 8 years ago

Because you've mismanaged our resources foolishly

• The Mentor 8 years ago

THIS HAS GONE ON FOR YEARS. ALL GHANA PROBLEMS HAVE. NOW THE CHICKENS ARE HOME TO ROOST. IT IS AT THE POINT OF NO RETURN. NO ONE CAN FIX IT. THERE IS NOT ENOUGH MONEY IN THE TREASURY.

• Zangina 8 years ago

Remember Mr President you said You will FIX the problem!That was the second commandment within 4 week.

• ZION A.AYARIGA 8 years ago

A whole project that will save lives and beautify the city and country is to put on hold because of the IMF, even hottles and casinos are built at the cost of two billion dollars in the middle east and Asia. Oh God , we lac ...

• Victor Hugo 8 years ago

Meanwhile the demolition of people's homes and structures will continue in order to hide government's failure!

• Kweku 8 years ago

My brothers and sisters. It is time to rise up and stand firm. NDC and NPP both need to remove themselves from office and a new breed of young Ghanaians need to take control of the country. Both have failed and if we continue ...

• YEBOPOWER 8 years ago

This Dramani guy and his NATIONAL DISASTER CRISES cartel, has no good plans for Ghana.The president is confused and needed to exit the thrown. Ghanaians must rise up in any form ,every form to kick out this guy. This guy lac ...

• Daanaa Sampson 8 years ago

This ballot staffing president doesn't know how to do best anything except lies amd thievery. Corruption is his horlemark. He is a thief. He has stollen that money for the storm dranage. Yet the babies with sharp teethes will ...