Germany and other developed nations are going away from Nuclear energy and Japan is still paying a price from its disaster. It didn't go away.
So, in the wake of the flood/fire disaster this Nuclear news sneaks its way i ... read full comment
Germany and other developed nations are going away from Nuclear energy and Japan is still paying a price from its disaster. It didn't go away.
So, in the wake of the flood/fire disaster this Nuclear news sneaks its way into the power grid matter.
Hopefully, the process takes so long the power grid becomes sufficient without it.
Tina 10 years ago
Ghana can't even manage flood & fire outbreaks & we're talking about going nuclear.
Ibn Batuta 10 years ago
Ghana has been at the forefront of nuclear research in Africa for years. This was something Kwame Nkrumah's set up.
sista clary 10 years ago
And so what Ibn?? Can we handle a fire outbreak in a nuke factory? Stop dreaming and use solar.
Nana Yaw 10 years ago
We can easily manage two medium size plants without any fuss. 700.00 MW at each plant will go a long way. Our polytechnics and universities are capable of producing competent staff to operate them safely. No doubt whatsoever. Even backward Pakistan has nuclear energy!!!
Lazy Engineer 10 years ago
Ghana does not have the capabilities.
We cannot even design drainage systems. We are just dreaming. I know the lazy engineers will be bragging,yet we will just end up killing everybody in Ghana and some people in the West African region. Our lazy engineers should be left alone to keep on sleeping. We have a long way to go.
Koku 10 years ago
We have been cautious for too long since the 1960s when Nkrumah started this idea by now we should be able to convince ourselves with our caution and be prepared for it . Indeed our engineers are really lazy and politicians selfish cowards businessmen only good for buying and selling.None of these group are ready to take risks and venture to invest. ALL THEY WANT IS QUICK MONEY.
Eric Joe 10 years ago
This flood issue, should be a good warning sign to our law makers. for God would never send an Angle, to physically warn us, about what lies ahead if we there proceed to any thing call Nuclear. Nuclear could be a good thing for our nation, but we are really far from this stage. see we can not even inspect our Gas and petrol station regularly, how there could we manage Nuclear? Don't even introduce this debate, for that would be like trying to show a fool how to use a chewing stick, or buying a touch light for a fool, he or she would be lighting it in a broad day light, to search for some thing in an open environment. Let us look for other options like the solar energy, which wouldn't do us any harm even if we refuse to inspect them or service them. Just remember, the average Nuclear disaster, could wipe Accra to Aflo away from the map. even this may affect the nation all the way to the B/A.
so for God Seek stop talking about Nuclare Power fo now.
Lazy Engineer 10 years ago
Let us stop talking about this nuclear nonsense. I am very 100 % sure that the international community will not finance it, and will stop this attempt at self-destruction.
This world belongs to all of us, and no part of it w ... read full comment
Let us stop talking about this nuclear nonsense. I am very 100 % sure that the international community will not finance it, and will stop this attempt at self-destruction.
This world belongs to all of us, and no part of it will be entrusted to naïve and incompetent engineers in Ghana. Tweeeeaa again
FRANK 10 years ago
We are not capable of maintaining ordinary hydro and thermal plants. How much more nuclear. Damm you fools
kakabo 10 years ago
Chief Gye wo ahome.We are unable to manage refuse arising from ordinary kenkey leaves and yet some lunatic and bogus scientists in Ghana who have not written even to page of research since they obtained their useless degrees are clamoring for a nuclear power plant. Agyimisem ben ni.
Alex London 10 years ago
Ghana as a nation is mentally deficient when it comes to health and safety. Nuclear Energy? It makes me laugh. The twin disaster of fire/flood shows that we have no idea or strategy in place to quickly and effectively respond disasters. If it was a nuclear plant disaster it would wiped out every living soul in Accra because we would have no idea about how to deal with contamination Do we have so short a memory? Have we forgotten Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant disaster.
The Almighty God has given us sun which free, our future is in the solar energy. And another thing....Nana Yaw you still have faith in our universities to produce quality graduates. I would not count on it
Farmer 10 years ago
The way things go in Ghana a standard nuclear power plant will require 50 years of planning and another 25 for construction with a cost of 10 to 50 times what's necessary due to 4 generations of corrupt officials.
75 yea ... read full comment
The way things go in Ghana a standard nuclear power plant will require 50 years of planning and another 25 for construction with a cost of 10 to 50 times what's necessary due to 4 generations of corrupt officials.
75 years from now nuclear power will be long replaced by upcoming better alternatives which offer new income opportunities for the champions of corruption who will never go away. LOL
Dr. Kwame Osei 10 years ago
we shoukld NEVER have nuclear energy - our basa basa ways and the flood that happened the other da is a SEVERE warning that we should never entertain the ideas of NUKE in Ghana.
YIKRA 10 years ago
Ignore this people who can even manage market waste and sewage systems.
hamed al parsi the iraninan 10 years ago
IRAN IS READY TO SHOW GHANA HOW TO DEAL WITH NUCLEAR
Obroni 10 years ago
well said Nana, we can't even maintain our waterpipes, ECG cables, theft, petrol stations exploding etc.
Please no nuclear disaster in Ghana.
well said Nana, we can't even maintain our waterpipes, ECG cables, theft, petrol stations exploding etc.
daladam 10 years ago
IF IRAN IS WILLING TO TEACH US HOW TO USE NUCLEAR THEN IT CAN BE DONE
BROTHER
BROTHER
Plasma Kote 10 years ago
Please think twice
nuclear facilities 10 years ago
Am a Ghananian working with a lot of Ghanaian technicians on a project and work discipline is a major problem across the board. Inaccurate measurement, use of improper tools for a job, safety lapses, forgetfulness are just a few of the weakness of a typical Ghanian technician, each of which could be detrimental in nuclear facility operation. Generations of work discipline culture would have to evolve before we could contemplate nuclear power operations in Ghana.
sista clary 10 years ago
Hands off neuclear !!! We can't handle it, never ever! Stop dreaming and be realistic. The developed world should prevent us backward nation like Ghana from obtaining such dangerous type of generating energy. We are not duty minded to do things properly, it will just end in the biggest catastrophe ever in history. Do we have the know how and means to fight a hazard like that of Fukushima??? We have enough Sun, waves and a lot of waste which can serve well as alternative form energy. Come down people and let's cut the coat to our size.
Ghanaman THE REAL 10 years ago
How can any serious thinking person imagine that we can safely operate a nuclear power station in Ghana with our sadly second rate thinking and performance in every sphere of life? Do we have the right technical personnel/expertise?? Do we even have the funds to procure the nuclear fuel/storage of the waste??? Where is the plant going to be site - along the coast or inland???? If a developed country like Germany is giving it up, is this a question of fools treading where angels fear to tread?????. Be warned dear Ghana. Research with small quantities of nuclear material is not the same as running a nuclear power plant.
So, in the wake of the flood/fire disaster this Nuclear news sneaks its way i ...
We can easily manage two medium size plants without any fuss. 700.00 MW at each plant will go a long way. Our polytechnics and universities are capable of producing competent staff to operate them safely. No doubt whatsoever. ...
We cannot even design drainage systems. We are just dreaming. I know the lazy engineers will be bragging,yet we will just end up killing everybody in Ghana and some people in the West Af ...
We have been cautious for too long since the 1960s when Nkrumah started this idea by now we should be able to convince ourselves with our caution and be prepared for it . Indeed our engineers are really lazy and politicians s ...
This flood issue, should be a good warning sign to our law makers. for God would never send an Angle, to physically warn us, about what lies ahead if we there proceed to any thing call Nuclear. Nuclear could be a good thing ...
This world belongs to all of us, and no part of it w ...
Chief Gye wo ahome.We are unable to manage refuse arising from ordinary kenkey leaves and yet some lunatic and bogus scientists in Ghana who have not written even to page of research since they obtained their useless degrees ...
Ghana as a nation is mentally deficient when it comes to health and safety. Nuclear Energy? It makes me laugh. The twin disaster of fire/flood shows that we have no idea or strategy in place to quickly and effectively respond ...
75 yea ...
BROTHER
Please think twice
Am a Ghananian working with a lot of Ghanaian technicians on a project and work discipline is a major problem across the board. Inaccurate measurement, use of improper tools for a job, safety lapses, forgetfulness are just a ...
Hands off neuclear !!! We can't handle it, never ever! Stop dreaming and be realistic. The developed world should prevent us backward nation like Ghana from obtaining such dangerous type of generating energy. We are not duty ...
How can any serious thinking person imagine that we can safely operate a nuclear power station in Ghana with our sadly second rate thinking and performance in every sphere of life? Do we have the right technical personnel/exp ...