You are here: HomeNews2015 06 12Article 362084

Noguchi damns Parliament over Ebola vaccine trial

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Observer 8 years ago

DEMOCRACY GONE AWRY. EVERYTHING IS SEEN IN POLITICAL AND TRIBAL TERMS. I HOPE NEXT TIME YOUR CHILD GETS A POLIO OR YELLOW FEVER VACCINE THINK ABOUT THOSE WHO SACRIFICED TO HELP YOUR CHILD AND THEN YOUR TRIBAL LOYALTIES.THIS ...

• Justman 8 years ago

DEAR MR. OBSERVER IT ISVERY SIMPLE. BE THE FIRST TO SACRIFICE BY BEING IJECTED WITH EBOLA VACCINE OR VIRUS.

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

THESE GHANAIAN SCIENTISTS HAVENT BEEN ABLE TO CREATE A DRUG FOR EVEN MALARIA OR CHOLERA AND LOOK AT THAT IGNORANT AND RECKLESS STATEMENTS THEY PROPOUNDING

• Mary Malone 8 years ago

It massive resources and massive funding to "create a drug," especially for an infectious disease.

While Ghana has some stellar scientists and a good university, there simply is not the funding available to fund the develo ...

• kofi 8 years ago

OUR PARLIAMENT HAS BECOME USELESS NOW. WHEN YOUR SPEAKER IS 80% TRIBALISM AND 20% POLITICAL WITH NO SENSE OF NATIONALISM, SUCH DECISIONS ARE BOUND TO COME FROM THE LEGISLATURE, GOD SAVE US.

Even "tribalism" is political.

Ghana would be extremely unusual if the majority of its PMs are NOT political!

And, you know what? This is not unusual. Indeed, it is a reality that the entire world's countries have to d ...

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

This issue is not a political or tribal one. Most of us the public , including the parliamentarians are nor Biological scientists. We don't have enough information about the nature of this vaccine, the procedures of conductin ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Hmm! I admit most of the "Joe Publics" out there are not Biological scientists, but aren't the parliamentarians supposed to know this health protocol or any other that is out there before penning their signature down to make ...

Great insight.

• THINGS FALL APART 8 years ago

INFORMATION, INFORMATION, INFORMATION!. EDUCATION, EDUCATION, EDUCATION!.
    THESE MEDICAL PROFFESSIONALS WHO UNDERSTAND THIS EBOLA VACCINE TRIAL WOULD HAVE SACRIFICED TO DO IT WHEN THE PACKAGE GOT ACCRA INSTEAD OF SENDING IT H ...

Hmm, amazing bunch we are indeed! On the other hand our Obroni conscience mentality is killing us stupid. If someone should repackage this same Ebola preventive Vaccine and label it as coming from Any of the western countries ...

• afadzi 8 years ago

I'm wondering if you would make you and your family members available to be used for the trial just to prove how much you love the country. It's easier said than done.

Some of us are willing to do just that since we believed that if Ghana should make strides in her quest for technological advancement with the rest of the quantum world, then sacrificing now to play with the big boy in not to ...

Great insight into issues surrounding Ghana's vaccine trials. Thanks.

• KWAME ADU 8 years ago

U JUST EXPOSED YOUR IGNORANCE ON THE WHOLE SUBJECT.NO UNIVERSITY IN GHANA OR ANYWHERE IN AFRICA IS INVOLVED IN DEVELOPING ANY VACCINE. SHUT YOUR MOUTH IF YOUR BRAIN DOES NOT ...

fuck off you arsehole. Now read this below from Professor Alex Dodoo, bozo.

“Anybody, be they professors or lay people or journalists peddling wrong stories are undermining our national security interests,” he said on ...

• afadzi 8 years ago

Where were these bunch of professors when they needed to prove whether there was an outbreak of bird flu in Ghana? With all their good for nothing "whatever center" , they could not scientifically prove until they sent it to ...

• Fireman 8 years ago

Please check your facts before making incorrect statements. Noguchi Medical institute did make a positive test for bird flu. The sample was sent to Italy for confirmation as standard practice required by the WHO

• Canadasheabutter( GhUWR ) 8 years ago

ANOTHER STUPID PAID AGENT OF THE ENEMIES OF AFRICA.

AHERE ARE THESE MANUFACTURING PLANTS OF SANOFI , CSL , GLAXOSMITHKLINE , MERCK FROOST , NOVARTIS .

ARE THEY NOT IN WEST . WHY DID FRANCE , GERMANY , CANADA , BRITAIN ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

So you are against any form or medication apart from the one prepared in your home right? Or we don't believe Ebola is a disease? If we agree it is a disease then as a country we must prepare against it. And prevention alone ...

Great post, Emmanuel. Thank you.

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 8 years ago

WHICH MEMBER OF THE GOVT GOT PAID FOR THIS BILL GATES FUNDED MEDICAL RESEARCH?
    STUPID EMMANUEL. WHY DONT YOU GO TO WESTERN NATIONS AND CONDUCT TRIALS OVER THERE? BECOS YOU KNOW HOW MUCH YOU'LL PAY TO YOUR SUBJECTS BEFORE CON ...

Many have commented here on why Ghana was chosen--out of all the countries WHO APPLIED (yes, Ghana APPLIED to host the vaccine trials, they were not forced).

Here's one reason why you should WANT vaccine trials in Ghana: ...

• Justman 8 years ago

VERY SIMPLE EMMANUEL. BE THE FIST TO BE INJECTED WITH THE EBOLA VACCINE OR VIRUS.

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Yes, Ebola is real but do we have to accept the inevitable? Why should we go for that trial vaccine? Was there any reported case of Ebola in Ghana?

It is about time we resist that attempt by the multinational companies ...

Pelicles, you don't seem to get it, do you? This Vaccines to my understanding so far, were developed by the World Health Organisation together with the University of Allied and Health Sciences in Ghana. Now then, tell me as t ...

That would be the logical first step...to approach your representative and ask them to explain the specifications for vaccine trials signed into law.

Better yet...ask for a copy of the law yourself and apply your own inter ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

Now we live in a country where sensationalism has become the order of the day. No professionalism anymore. In the name of politics we are breaking down every institution. How can this country be build. Those kicking against t ...

The protocols for vaccine trials are established in Ghana after being voted to pass by Parliament.

So how can these MPs ask "are there any systems" to guide the protocols? Shouldn't these MPs KNOW there are protocols? How ...

• Onetribe 8 years ago

Stop repeating meaningless words from people with something to hide. We us Ghanaians deserve to know why trials in Ghana, risks involved before anything happens. At the moment the educated idiots can only tell us it is good f ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

How are we going to know when we don't trust the institutions mandated and bequeathed with the requisite know how. Who are we to believe? We must allow institutions to work. We can ask all the questions and when answers are g ...

Whose words am I repeating? Examples, please, or retract your accusation.

Ghana is hosting the trials because they fought other countries to do so. Your parliament voted the law in that dictates drug trial regulations.

• edem 8 years ago

I agree with the MPs. you have enough staff at Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research use them and your family. educated fool. I worked under a prof doing research there in the 90s and I know how you guys line your p ...

• Emmanuel 8 years ago

The issue has nothing to do with Voltarian my brother. It has to do with an institution located there (University of Health and Allied Sciences). In Ghana we find indigenes of all tribes everywhere. The identified people that ...

How about the many volunteers from many countries who did not have to, but chose to do the right thing and risk their lives in the ETUs in West Africa, trying desperately to save the Ebola victims?

Do you think these volun ...

• afadzi 8 years ago

Why not you and your family?

• Fireman 8 years ago

TRIBALISM!!! OHOOOO! It WILL DESTROY GHANA!

• fela 8 years ago

Most ghanaian MPs know nothing,back benches who just come there for their money because of high unemployment and high salary and also to accomplish personal ambition.i was once an MP,Honourable.That is all know,most will not ...

• Justman 8 years ago

IT IS VERY SIMPLE JUST SURRENDER YOURSELF TO BETE FIRST TO BE INJECTED TH EBOLA VACCINNE OR VIRUS OR WHATERVER EBOLA THEY CALL IT.

• samabia 8 years ago

Suspicion and Mistrust of Vaccines

Suspicion and apprehension about vaccination is fairly common, particularly among several specific disenfranchised communities in the United States and internationally. For these communit ...

• samabia 8 years ago

1. Agogo Center: Hepatitis B antigen, Prasugel for sickle cell disease. these trials are ongoing
    2.Kintampo: completed malaria vaccine trial in 2014
    3.Navrongo: Conducted vitamin Trials in the 1980s
    Where was parlaiment. U ...

My worry is why the west rejected the the vaccine trial and why Ghana now prof.

• leslie 8 years ago

The west hasn't rejected it.
    How will you feel when you are told that the medication the doctor prescribed for you has never been tested in blacks??.
    I am sure you will be scared.
    The vaccine is not a disease.
    Ebola has k ...

• Justman 8 years ago

SIMPLE. BE THE FIRST TO TASTE THE EBOLA VACCINE AND VIRUS PUT TOGETHER.

• Janet 8 years ago

What the learned men are not understanding is that, the choice of Volta Region was absolutely wrong. VR and Ashanti cannot be chosen for such a globally sensitive trial at this time of confused democracy in Ghana where fools ...

• Justman 8 years ago

VRY SIMPLE INJECT THE HEAD OF NOGOUCHI MEMORIAL INSTITUTE WITH THE EBOLA VIRUS AND KEEP HIS ALL HIS FAMILY AROUND HIM. SIMPLE NO ARGUMENT ON LAW.

• j k 8 years ago

they chose volta region and hohoe ,,hohoe which is the center of the region is where the vaccine is to be tried so that when it fails the ebola virus can quickly spread across the region then they can achieve their of wiping ...

• Quartey 8 years ago

Prof. Kwadwo Koram is just telling lies. They should tell Ghanaians who gave he and his friend Prof. Binka the authority to convass on behalf of Ghana for the clinical trialsto be conducted in Ghana. These are the facts. Prof ...

• afadzi 8 years ago

Those idiots should pray that the people injected with the virus should not die from it. We will not forgive them in anyway.

• Dallas 8 years ago

This has exposed the mediocrity of our parliamentarians. They don't know what doing in parliament. Our parliament is full of half-educated literates.

• Bogan 8 years ago

You call those claiming they are members of parliament human beings. They are STACK ILLITERATES following dead goat brain. A parliament that does not understand anything and everything YES and YES. THEY are soo dumb and headl ...

• jOHN lEWIS BLAY 8 years ago

MY COMMENT IS SIMPLE LIKE MOST PEOPLE HAS SAID.
    THERE SHOULD BE LEADERSHIP BY EXAMPLE.
    THOSE LEADERS FACILITATING THE WHOLE THING AND MAKING THE NOISE SHOULD FIRST TASTE IT.
    AFTERWARDS THEY CAN CONVINCE OTHERS BY SAYING T ...

• kwana 8 years ago

Prof William Ampofo should agree to surrender his children first for the trial before he goes to Parliament.

1. Why is it that USA, Italy, France, United Kingdom, Russia, Germany and Canada have refused for its unspecified ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

If this is the level of knowledge and seriousness of our MPs then God help us! How can we advance scientifically if we cannot even undertake basic scientific trials without interference from those ignoramuses in Parliament? W ...

• ghanaba 8 years ago

Posterity will not forgive this generation of MP's.
    I suggest they shld start the vaccination with their children and wives then we will follow suit

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Ghana had campaigned to get a vaccine for Ebola

• ghanaba 8 years ago

Let them start with their wives and children and we will follow suit.