You are here: HomeNews2015 06 10Article 361858

Too many lazy people in Ghana's public sector - Expert

Read Comments Comments (42)

• moi 8 years ago

Yet every month they religiously take their salaries. How can we not play the blame game? People must be held accountable.

• ivy 8 years ago

we are lazy

• POP 8 years ago

JESUS SAID THE TRUTH

• Tijani 8 years ago

and they also feel etitled. they think the govenrment is respsssble for everything. ghanainains are also naive and freeloaders

• Kwame Nkrumah 8 years ago

Top govt officials are themselves mostly lazy, incompetent and stupid. Thus, they cannot enforce discipline and hardworking ethics in the people they oversee. Black people, black brains....you will continue to wallow in pover ...

• Shabi 8 years ago

Ghanaians must begin to see and understand what these so-called experts are and to disregard them for what they are made of and what they are. Simply put, they are professionally inept, unenlightened and as dumb as they come. ...

• Join Hands 8 years ago

Whether we call it laziness or unproductive, we should all voice our concerns. We can clearly see that the attitude to work is bad and sad, morale is low, and there is too much corruption. I believe if the people from the dia ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

They are corrupt too.

• Abudance. 8 years ago

100% truth, lazy, individualistic behaviors, across board.

• Omanhene (U$A) 8 years ago

To me, it shouldn't have been that long for our leaders to know that "many so-called government (public) workers are too damn LAZY, incompetent, careless about government property, disrespectful to the public they serve, dema ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

The deputy minister does nothing coz the minister wants to prevent him/her from exposing their corrupt ways or b part of it.

• Pelicles 8 years ago

We are lazy and wicked.

• Abudance. 8 years ago

Ghanaian workers are only entitle to their right to salary but never take responsibility, how can we develop.

• ivy 8 years ago

you are right

• abena-kwabena 8 years ago

They call hard workers eg. cocoa farmers names such as "kokoasefo".

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Goil filling stations lack standards,most of their underground cisterns are corroded and leaking seriously.Govt must not waste time to make new regulation for experts to inspect all cisterns at Goil filling stations and the r ...

• sista clary 8 years ago

You said it all and right. Ghana public sector is overstaffed not effective and lazy. Go the ministries, you will see too many of them sleeping or handling their mobile phones

• Al Hajj AAA-RASHID(OH.USA) 8 years ago

OYIWA? Ghanaweb just proved the author of this article right.

We are so lazy, Ghanaweb can not even take the trouble to look for the real picture of the sector minister being referred to, so they just put the picture of a ...

• O'BOYE 8 years ago

Gov't should start pay its workers on hourly bases. No more broad based minimum wage, Let's learn from the standard of the developed counties. You can't come to work @ 9am, take your lunch @ 11am, report back @ 1pm, leave off ...

• AKORABS 8 years ago

O'Boye, they can keep to their time, but what about results? If your manager himself does not know what he wishes to achieve, how can he set you targets and monitor that you are or are not achieving these? The President himse ...

• TOGBE 8 years ago

if we put characters like allotey jacobs on ecg board what do we expect to happen.....its the same everywhere thats why laziness and incompetence abounds everywhere...

• AKORABS 8 years ago

Togbe, well said. I heard this guy on Adom FM and I said, greed and selfishness and a soupcon of sycophancy are all that are bellowing out of this guy. He was discussing this BORST and BDC's issue. Apparently, he is on the BO ...

• Jojo Jumah 8 years ago

Over 30% of filling stations in Ghana are owned by politicians and political appointees including some Ministers of State. What do you expect? Shame on all these idiots

• kwasi 8 years ago

Fire, acid, Ebola, flood and doom so choose one and cast your vote

• HAWA YAKUBU 8 years ago

Privatize many of these government agencies. This will help eliminate this lazy attitude by some Ghanaians. All elected government officials want to stay in Accra and supervise work at Paga and Hamile.

• Djan 8 years ago

Ghanians are very lazy people

• KAE 8 years ago

LIKE ABLAKWA, FIIFI KWETEI, HANNAH BISIW, OMANE BOAMA, FELIX KWAKYE AND OTHER BABIES WITH SHARP TEETH. (ALL SQUARE PEGS IN ROUND HOLES)

• Addo Agyei K 8 years ago

Ghana people are not lazy. Yes it is true because the people do not get what they deserve when they work in Ghana. Abroad Ghanaians are declared the most hard working individuals because they get what they deserve and use it ...

• STEVE 8 years ago

This has been going on for ages,and is time to check the lapses within the public sector. In my opinion, they are been paid monthly for not doing what is expected of them. Is also the main reason why the nations institutions ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

EGYA OPAYIN

UNLESS THE GHANA CIVIL SERVICE ID OVERHAULED ALL OF THESE HEAVY DEFICITS WILL GO ON FOR THE NEX HUNDRED YEARS.

YOU NEED TO KNOW THAT,NONE OF THE SO CALLED PUBLIC SERVICE OFFICERS EVER HAD MIDLE LEVEL PROFFES ...

• Alordome Godson Kwashie 8 years ago

Those so called lazy people are those highly paid in the name of paper called masters, phD,etc

• Tet 8 years ago

You can't get a PhD if you are lazy.

• Jojo Jumah 8 years ago

VERY VERY VERY TRUE!!!!On Point. Too many lazy people especially political appointees

• sid 8 years ago

u omitted incompetence top if the parson at the top is incompetent n corrupt n lying how can he control? better sit up let ur deed be seen there u.can accuse others

• Mark Boateng 8 years ago

We're just beating about the bush. Blackman is capable of managing his own affairs. The INDEPENDENCE, is in other way meangliness.

• Kwao Akuffo 8 years ago

Workers become lazy because of the following : 1. Poor supervision, lack of motivation & poor leadership skills

• Mark Boateng 8 years ago

The blackman is capable of managing his own affairs. The INDEPENDENCE is in other
    way not necessary. Because we're just beating about the bush with full of malpractices.

• Man of Character 8 years ago

Let's all join hands and throw the biggest net so as to fish out the lazy ones. A country led by lazy people is like preparing your soup in a perforated pot. Even the Holy Book says, the lazy hands should not eat. People in t ...

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

We are still sleeping.

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Correction, correction.

• ekow nyame 8 years ago

If that is right as it were, then the reason is not far fetched. The post independence and aftermath management of the public sector has and is responsible for this. There is no demand for for service and accountability from ...

• Kweku Sakyi 8 years ago

In most government offices there are multiple people doing work that could easily be done by only on person. Until the government is willing to get rid of the extra workers, nothing will improve.