You are here: HomeNews2015 06 09Article 361618

No tears for Accra Mayor – Minister

Read Comments Comments (93)

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Mahama we have pointed long ago is a curse upon this nation of ours , all we will see as his legacy is the incompetence , deliberate sabotage of anything worthy or valuable including virtues , lack of morals or conscience and ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: BILLY BILLY---------
    IMAGINE BUILDING INTERNATIONAL AIRPORTS IS NDC PRIORITY SO THAT THEY CAN OVERBLOAT THE CONTRACT SUM AND POCKET STOLEN MONIES....Does NDC Know That Woyome Money Could Have Built Good Drainage Syst ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

WHETHER THIS IS DELIBERATE OR JUST STUPID HATRED JUST REMEMBER THAT THIS DOES NOT HELP YOUR AKUFFO JUST MAKES PEOPLE MORE DETERMINED TO VOTE AGAINST HIM. YOU SAID THE SAME ABOUT MILLS.

• Mr.N 8 years ago

One cannot believed that this Mayor Vanderpuije once lived in New York City in the USA. Africans award is nothing to write home about.

• TWEAA 8 years ago

What award, APUU.Only inAfrica can this happen.A continent being headed by somebody they call Mugabe.

• Loway 8 years ago

United we stand divided we fall

• jerry 8 years ago

THIS MAYOR MUST STEP DOWN SINCE HERE IN GHANA WE CANNOT AFFORD ON THE JOB TRAINING HE ADMIT HE SUCK SO HE NEED TO GO PLAIN AND SIMPLE

• Raila Odinga 8 years ago

What business does this stupid man, Ekuban has in meddling with an issue associated with Accra ? Accra is not Bantama or Kumasi, so shut the fuck up, you poop!

Deal with the numerous problems in Kumasi and leave Accra alon ...

• Gaius 8 years ago

Hahaha!!! u are just a joker.I believe you've never witness war before. So be careful what u say.Now to u the so called Reverend, what would u have done if u were the mayor? U see!!!some u this self acclaimed minister are jus ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Oh osofo,Hmmm. Read the prayer again. If funds were not available, what can the mayor do? The government has to come out with the money and ensure it is used properly'

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

AYARIGA, NOT ONLY YOU HAVE FAILED GHANA.

APART FROM DR. KWAME NKRUMAH OF BLESSED MEMORY, ALL OTHER GHANAIAN LEADERS HAVE FAILED GHANA BIG TIME!

DUBAI, WHERE YOUR BOSS MAHAMA LOVES TO VISIT WITH WIFE LORDINA, WAS TRAN ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

IF BISHOP HOWARD MILLS SAYS THERE ARE NO VIRGIN IN CHURCHES,HOW CAN WE BELIEVE REV EKUBAN.
    HE CAN USE ARRONS STAFF AS HIS PENIS FOR THE VIRGINS.

• mensah abrampa 8 years ago

You don't seem to get it so you keep defending the indefensible. The mayor can not be faulted for the unavailability of the funds but why did he not come out to tell his side of the story? Why did he have to wait till the dis ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

If he had commented earlier, then he is no politician. They are liars,all of them.

• Got to Say it 8 years ago

The Superintendent Minister of the Methodist Church, Bantama, Very Reverend Charles Aaron Ekuban, has said that if the Mayor of Accra loses his job, so be it. I have no tears for him because he has sat down for things to go w ...

• mensa 8 years ago

THIS MAN HAVE DONE NOTHING FOR ACCRA SINCE APPOINTED TO THE JOB OF MAYOR THE ONLY THINGS HE HAVE DONE
    IS ARGUE WITH PEOPLE AND TRAVEL THE WORLD ON TAX MONEY. THIS MAN TIME IS UP FALKS

• abba 8 years ago

What about the high way authorities and planning authorities. Surely the responsibility of the disaster should not only be the fault of the Mayor. Don't you think. You church Minister preached but your own surrounding in the ...

• Etse 8 years ago

First things first, sack those whose primary responsibility is to keep the city clean and safe, afterwards you can punish those who create filth. A pastor's job is primarily to preach, counsel and comfort his congregation he ...

• daladam 8 years ago

HE HAD NO PLAN FOR THE CITY AS FAR AS EVACUATION,HE HAD NO PERSONAL STAND BY TO HELP PEOPLE ,HE DIDNOT BLOCK ROAD THAT ARE USUALLY FLOOD THIS MAYOR CANT DO ANYTHING PEOPLE HE MUST STEP DOWN AND STOP WAISTING OUR TIME

• Nii Okai 8 years ago

Which of those ministers of God supported the mayor or even understood that they need to advice their congregation to help with cleanliness so that our gutters should not be blocked?

In reality if all these superintendent ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

IF NDC IS ADMITTING FAILURE LEFT AND RIGHT WHY RETAIN THEM IN 2016?

Incumbent Chairman of the governing party Dr Kwabena Adjei has told starr news in an interview that he is being blamed by members of the National Democra ...

• KEN 8 years ago

the city of accra cannot afford a mayor on the the job training the man said he failed and he suck so he must step down and go home fast plain and simple

• Love 8 years ago

Papa, you have church members who have done the filt in this countryand perished among other innocent ones in disasters like this. what have you done, Oso?

• Nii 8 years ago

The trouble is we have too many Ashantis in Ga (Accra) who don't pay tax. They hawk the goods on the streets without regard to protocol. They show no respect for the indeginous Ga people. They drop litter and have made Accra ...

• nite 8 years ago

If Ashantis go back, where would your Ewe folks in Ashanti go?

• FUSENI DAWADAWA 8 years ago

LISTEN TO THIS IDIOT,YOU THINK ACCRA IS FOR YOU DIRTY AND LAZY GAS.IDIOTS,IF IT IS NOT OTHER TRIBES HOW CAN YOU LAZY AND DIRTY SEMI-BEINGS LIVE?.KWASEA SEE HOW WE HAVE REPLACED YOUR WOODEN HUTS WITH MODERN BUILDINGS.WHAT DO Y ...

• Nii 8 years ago

You have run Ghana politics since independence and look at the result. Corruption upon corruption. Ga (Accra) was beautiful before you ugly baboons came to here. You are smelly and ugly parasites. Ashantiman in suite looks li ...

• Nsemfoo 8 years ago

The former mayor of a French seaside town has been sentenced to jail for four years for ignoring flood risks before a storm that killed 29 people.
    Rene Marratier hid the risks to La Faute-sur-Mer to avoid putting off propert ...

• Tsitsi 8 years ago

sadly no-one is commenting on the French example because all have fallen short of the standard. So many are benefitting from bending rules, hiding risks, turning a blind eye to wrong-doing and we turn around to blame others.

• Obaa sima 8 years ago

but dey ll compare fuel hikes to germany nd uk.. most incompetent government ever...
    its interesting how d men of in diz country has raised red flag on ndc nd mahama led government ..

• Rasmusen Akoto Dey 8 years ago

Minister the mayors work is not about asking and conning people to take money from them in church.

You should rather be preaching to your church members who do not heed to simple instructions from the mayor and his staff t ...

• WAHALA 8 years ago

The Man of God has head the nail on the head. You don't wait till there is a problem then you say you were not given money. You hold a Town conference and lay your plans before the people, and make your case for money and th ...

• Love 8 years ago

you are so stupid, Wahala. if u do wait untill there is a problem, why did this minister wat untill the flood to be saying what he only just spewing.

• Nana Effah 8 years ago

Start the drainage exercise from Malam.If the Accra Mayor does not know where Malam in Accra is,he should ask even Market women for direction. The situation there is desperate.

• Maame Abena 8 years ago

In my view the timing of the demolitons is not wrong as more rains are in the forecast. Better late than never. The question is whether the exercise will be fair and not selective. We must be vigilant so that people will not ...

• Moore 8 years ago

You are so shallow-minded you can't see what the mayor did for Accra. In any case, I don't blame you since you live in the bush. Just compare the work of all past mayors of Accra and you will say kudos to Oko. Some of you oso ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

ONLY VISIONLESS PEOPLE LIKE YOU WILL SAY KUDOS TO OKO.WHAT HAS HE DONE?JUST MENTION ONE!

• Abua 8 years ago

Please you also have a part to play. Did you play your part as a minister of religion (not God because I cant be sure of that) can we say you should forfeit your collection for one Sunday?
    I am sure you spent 90% of your tim ...

• GHANAMAN 8 years ago

HE IS FIGHTING A SYSTEM THAT IS CORRUPT TO THE CORE. AND BY THE WAY HE MAY A CORRUPT AS WELL.

• ananseba 8 years ago

It is rather unfortunate that so many people have to loose their lives before we wake up to reality of this danger. Now the Mayor and Government have no excuse to act. AND THE TIME IS NOW NOT TOMORROW. Strike while the iron i ...

• LEGE 8 years ago

OFFENDERS ACCOMODATION IN YOUR CHURCHES. WHAT A TWAT

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

Yes

• VICTOR CARRILLACE 8 years ago

NOW, THE BITE. SINCE NO TEAR WOULD BE SHED FOR THE ACCRA MAYOR, I WOULD ADVISE HIM TO LOOK AWAY WHEN HIS MEN GO ABOUT DOING WHAT MUST BE DONE TO PREVENT A REPEAT OF MAY 3,2015. THERE ARE STRUCTURES ON WATERWAYS TO BE CLEARED, ...

• jj 8 years ago

THE WICKED IS NOW EVEN MORE PERFORMING THEIR WICKEDNESS

• jj 8 years ago

any ndc lizard can wake up and say , this is waterway poing to the houes of an npp man and oko will bring the bulldozer

• lankwei 8 years ago

Who needs his crocodile tears?

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

THAT'S ALL GHANA'S SUCCESSIVE LEADERS KNOW HOW TO DO BEST:

1. SOURCING LOANS, LOANS & MORE LOANS
    2. GO AROUND THE GLOBE COLLECTING ALL KINDS OF FAKE UNDESERVING QUALIFICATIONS AND FRIVOLOUS AWARDS.
    3. LOOTING STATE MONIE ...

• hot head 8 years ago

Bastard pastor, shut the fuck.

• ?? 8 years ago

You see how stupid you are. How can you do demolition in a rainy season adding salt to a sore. You shall never become a leader in this country or head any government organization. That's my wish. Because are don't use your b ...

• Nii Noi 8 years ago

Go and shave

• Joseph Ganyobi 8 years ago

JEALOUS KUMASI MAN. ....THINK ABOUT KUMASI AND PRAY TO GOD FOR SOMETHING LIKE THIS NOT TO HAPPEN IN YOUR KUMASI. ..AND STOP PUTTING YOUR MOUTH WERE IT DOES NOT BELONG. ..JEALOUS. .JEALOUS

• ED 8 years ago

It's a pity. Ghana as a country has more educated illiterates than uneducated. We can't move forward until wolves in sheep clothing decide to remove the sheep and show everybody what they really are.

• Otoo 8 years ago

Dr. Vanderpuije will go down in history as the best Accra Mayor and even the best Ghanaian Mayor. His achievements are numerous and they are there for everyone to see. It is only blind men like this Bantama, Minister who do n ...

• Futurama 8 years ago

This lame president has no balls to sack the mayor. End of story.

• Hahahah 8 years ago

He has failed long time ago,, cholera alone killed about 200 people bcos of waste in accra and u call ur self best mayor...tweaaa even johanisberg mayor will not title him self best mayor in africa....hypocrite

• Eshun 8 years ago

Some of these pastors are destroying the methodist church. They dont even think about the poor in the church. All they know is money, money, money and family. The Good Lord is watching!

• Kobby 8 years ago

Those pointing fingers that pastor shd preach to members to keep cleanliness are hypocrites. Don't u go to church? Meanwhile u engage in all nefarious acts. Pastors hit the nail right but we don't take. Politicians must also ...

• Kofi Boateng, London 8 years ago

Abba, or whoever uses this name in expressing his mind on the subject, I dare ask you that do you simply speak your mind without any consideration. Did you read when the Mayor in his own words said, he had failed his constit ...

• Kofi Boateng, London 8 years ago

Since the Mayor himself declared openly that he had failed his constituency, why is he still in his job? This can only happen in Ghana. If there is any honourable thing yet for him to do is to RESIGN, and resign immediately

• Iwan 8 years ago

Look out for this wonky Methodist Minister in NPP rallies. He will not necessarily be wearing a cassock. Buffoon!!!!

• Otoo 8 years ago

This guy I believe has not been long in Accra. Kwaku, please when did you come to Accra from the BUSH. You are rather visionless. Any sensible person who has been in Accra for a very long time knows what this Mayor has done f ...

• James K. Adams Tamale 8 years ago

Dear Mayor you should be ashamed of yourself those dead because of your selfish game will visit you day and night.You always speak of developed nations they resign do the same.

• Maxwell-Suhum. 8 years ago

WHO CARES ABOUT YOU TOO LOOSING YOUR JOB? WAS THE MAYOR THE ONE WHO ALLIWED THEM TO BUILD ALONG THE THE WATER WAYS? WERE THE AFFECTED DEAD WHEN BUILDING ALNG THE WATER WAYS? VANDAPUJE DIES NOT NEED YOUR TEARS TO SUCCEED AS A ...

• onukpaduna 8 years ago

Wolf in sheep skin

• Aklig Caringson 8 years ago

mr minister of God, Mr Vanderpuuje has not asked for your tears if loses his job so stop this nonsense and hypocritic noise.you just want to be heard and quoted in the newspapers.

• Private Mensah 8 years ago

The mayor must go

• OKOE ADJEI 8 years ago

Who voted this Vanderpuye as the best in Africa?
    Anyway, how many mayors do we have in Ghana, apart from Accra and Kumasi? Mayors, in general are elected on political party bases; who voted this stupid entity who goes beatin ...

• Ama Amponsah 8 years ago

Eh Sofo Ekuban you too? Yoo!

• Dei Fiamavle 8 years ago

Maybe Accra is over populated, hence, the mayor is not able run the wheels of capital effectively. How about if every tribe stay in their regions and stop the migration to Accra

• Citizene Vigilante 8 years ago

Sorry ooo, Supervisor Minister, the Mayor paid for his awards.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

IF WE CANNOT BELIEVE THAT THERE ARE NO VIRGIN WOMEN IN CHURCH,THERE ARE NO MEN OF GOD IN CHURCH EITHER.
    LET REV EKUBAN ASK BISHOP HERWARD MILLS.

WHETHER HE SHED TEARS FOR THE MAYOR OR NOT,THE MAYOR DID NOT GET THE TOOLS T ...

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Oh, the mayor should wake up every morning and complain about the failure of the Minister of Finance to release funds for drainage? On the other hand, should the mayor wait until the rainy reason is over, more havoc unleashed ...

• zagboli 8 years ago

He does not need ur tears. ."rev"....who have even shed one for. .before? ??

• Dagbandow 8 years ago

It always amazes me when men of God make such statements. They don't have empathy for other people. God have mercy on them.

• Dan 8 years ago

A MAYOR ADMITS HE HAS FAILED N STILL IN post. He has not got the decency to do the honourable thing which most politicians in civilised democracies do - T O R E S I G N. BLACK AFRICAN LEADERS HAVE NO SHAME N WILL NOT BE SURP ...

• Fred 8 years ago

Please what do you want the mayor to do, you are accusing him of not doing what he should have done long ago and now he have started doing what he should do , you are still accusing him that this is not the time. Please let a ...

• fredie 8 years ago

But who in ghana does a good job? Including church overseere, pastor and their bishops. The atitude of Ghanaians only shows that every one in Ghana have failled the system.

• back door director 8 years ago

Fake minister you claim you are people of God yet your congregation is rotten to the core

• ADUANABA YAW - NEW YORK 8 years ago

AARON IF YOU WERE TO READ OR LISTEN TO WORLD NEWS,YOU WILL KNOW THAT EVEN IT HAPPENS IN AMERICA SO FLOODING IN GHANA IS NOT STRANGE.ALL THE SAME AM NOT SURPRICE BECAUSE YOU ARE IN THE ASHANTI REGION AND MORE SO BANTAMA.YOUR T ...

• Obiba 8 years ago

here we ho again, Ghanaian, pastor when is the time, why not today but next time, or you think it will not happen like this anymore, gh we talk too much with political mind not the growth and betterment of ghana, we should al ...

• Bob Boboo 8 years ago

Oko Vanderpoor,the most stupid tribalistic,attention seeker mayor in the whole world not only Africa.He tried changing the name of Ohene Djan stadium,he removed Akwaaba from kotoka airport, stressed the old Lady madam Theodos ...

• Obiba 8 years ago

this same man oko who was pulling down buildings and moving out containers whom we call him names , ghana ghana

• NOKWARE ASA 8 years ago

It is time for al the churches - Methodist, Catholic, Presbyterian,, Pentecostal, Apostolic, Seven Day Adventist, and the mosques gather all their congregations & members to clean up every Saturday. It is the right thing t ...

• Abass 8 years ago

I wish this so called pastor will fear God and show to Ghanaians his receipt of dues. I strongly believe he don't even know what property dues is. Your robbery of followers contribution every Sunday to make yourself better. T ...

• Abass 8 years ago

You don't mind your own problems. All we hear about ministers of God is that they are sleeping with their fellow Christians wives after promising they of spiritual prayers.
    As a man of God have you ever say something about ...

• Raila Odinga 8 years ago

What business does this stupid man, Ekuban has in meddling with an issue associated with Accra ? Accra is not Bantama or Kumasi, so shut the fuck up, you poop!

Deal with the numerous problems in Kumasi and leave Accra alon ...

• Adroba 8 years ago

No tears as you arrive at the gates of hell. Look at people who must know better. What? Is it politics or ignorance?

• Dan 8 years ago

If not now, when is the time to demolish to prevent the situation from happening again?

• Mr Gentle 8 years ago

we should be mindful that all blames should go to all responsible including authorities not to one person because it takes several people to build a nation.

• Sevenn 8 years ago

The whole country is a joke.

• Apostle Nyumutsu Israel ( Nene Aduima 8 years ago

I wonder when the church acuse political leaders when the church itself has woefully failed. We (the church) sit back folding our hands and painting politics black. I challenge the church and the Methodist minister to awake a ...

• mii fuk yuu 8 years ago

you people were ones standing and kicking against when he started the demolishing. why don't you tell your congregation to respect nature and change their lifestyles?

• adam cockra 8 years ago

i wander if that man, oko, i able to sleep and feel happy with his family when through his negligence and incompetence hundreds of ghanaians perished in fire and floods. he must resign or be sacked.