You are here: HomeNews2015 06 09Article 361572

Blame yourself, not mayors - KMA boss

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Paapidi 8 years ago

First, you are not really a major because no one elected you. Secondly, the sanitation exercise is purely voluntary and, therefore, you cannot force anyone to participate against their will.

• Tijani 8 years ago

They blame government for everything

• Apraku 8 years ago

You blame the government if the real infrastructure is not implemented.In the 21st century no open gutters are constructed in the cities but it is done in Ghana. Even that open gutters are not technically constructed since th ...

• ASANTE-ACCRA. 8 years ago

MAHAMA PLEASE THINK AND ACT LIKE A LEADER-BOLD,FEARLESS AND UNCOMPROMISING.SIMPLY BAN ALL THESE PLASTIC BAGS AND SATCHET POLYTHENS WHICH ARE SOME OF THE MAJOR CAUSES OF THESE FLOODS AND FILTH OR YOU ARE WAITING TO BE TOLD.
    W ...

• The African Patriot 8 years ago

Apart from that, where do the people throw their dust to? There are not a single dust bin to be found in Accra and the wise Mayor is throwing the ball into to ordinary citizenry. Most of our present leaders are not fit for th ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

"Since then, the “black man” has occupied the shell of political office but not proved that what the white colonial masters couldn’t do to improve the lot of his people, he can do. Problems making it difficult for Ghana ...

• kweku Menu 8 years ago

This is stupid talk. If there are no bins cant you keep the waste and dispose it at place that there is one or at home. You see how stupid you are and justifying your stupid behaviour. some human beings

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Mahama we have pointed long ago is a curse upon this nation of ours , all we will see as his legacy is the incompetence , deliberate sabotage of anything worthy or valuable including virtues , lack of morals or conscience and ...

• ABAAH 8 years ago

HOW DO SOME PEOPLE COMMENT STUPIDLY.WHERE DO YOU WANT HIM TO KEEP THEM BEFORE DISPOSAL,IN YOUR MOTHER'S PUSSY OR WHERE?.SO YOU PEOPLE DON'T KNOW WHAT GOVERNMENT IS SUPPOSE TO DO FOR YOU TO FOLLOW.THE GOVERNMENT OR THAT STUPID ...

• Paapa 8 years ago

Ghana is doomed.

• Fii 8 years ago

Stupid mayors engaged by incompetent president.

• Bongo Bongo 8 years ago

Yes Stupid lazy Ghanaians indeed. The government cannot do it alone the people must also contribute in their efforts such as making sure they take their rubbish home and not just dump them anywhere. The people MUST all pay ta ...

• think twice 8 years ago

Every where in the world government play leading role by providing access on everything then enforcing the law by charging every offender to pay for those who work to keep the city clean

• BRIDGET 8 years ago

STUPID APRAKU!!! NPP HASN'T EVER RULLED IN THE 21ST CENTURY!!!!! THE 21ST CENTURY BEGAN ON 1/1/2001. GET THIS INTO THAT YOUR EMPTY COCONUT ON YOUR NECK. NPP WAS IN POWER FROM 7/1/2001 TO 7/1/2009

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

'Your comment'' Are you Ghanaian if so then you are the most Stupid of us all.... If not then fuck you!!!

• ASHMAN 8 years ago

THE 1ST KUMASI GAY MAYOR, ADWOA BONSU

• Aba 8 years ago

STUPIDITY AT IT'S PEAK

• Asante. 8 years ago

How did the rubbish from your house end up in the gutters? Because you are irresponsible and DIRTY. Then, when you are asked to help clean it up, you come up with the stupid excuse that the sanitation exercise is voluntary. ...

• OBINNA 8 years ago

PAAPIDI, YOU ARE A FOOL

• Jab 8 years ago

Idiot! if people do not have a place to get rid of refuse where do you think they will throw them. If such people a the leaders of a country that is sad. No brains. Sorry for Ghana.

• TOGBE 8 years ago

When A Govt Is Advised By Akua Donkor What Do U Expect?...Bad Govnce Everywhere...Ide Biiii Kekekekeee...John Mahama Is Only A Big Joke Due To His Association With Akua Donkor So No Wonder His Actions And Inactions Have Mostl ...

• MADAM AKUA IS SMART . 8 years ago

PLS , DO YOUR RESEARCH REGARDS MADAM AKUA DONKOR . MADAM AKUA WOULD BETTER PREZ THAN ALL THE JOHN GHANA PREZ DESPITE HER EDUCATION BACK GROUND . MADAM AKUA IS ONE OF THE TOP BUSINESS WOMAN IN GHANA SHE BECAME RICH WHEN I WAS ...

• James Martin 8 years ago

So,?The two idiots

• FUSENI DAWADAWA 8 years ago

SHUT UP WHO EVER YOU ARE.LIARS,WHAT IS THE NAME OF AKUA DONKOR'S BUSINESS?.THIS JAILED BIRD WHO IS ALWAYS AFTER CHEAP MONEY,TELL US HER BUSINESS NAME.WHEN DID JOHN DEAD MAN LIVE IN KUMASI AND WHERE DID HE STAY?.AKUA DONKOR WI ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

That's why we pay taxes for things like that to b cleaned up. That's what u can do.

If have no clue as to what ur job is, then step out of the way.

• Yaw Ghana.... 8 years ago

So you can set a fire in a public place and blame the govt for its consequences. Build illegally on waterways and dump refuse in gutters, then blame the govt !!! Stupid Npp clown.

• TOGBE 8 years ago

NDC Thinks Winning Elections Is Just For Fun And Dancing To Yentie Obiaaaa......Well U Win Elections To Secure Power And Mandate To Manage State Resources For The Betterment Of The Citizenry But Not To Only Enjoy Positions In ...

• NII lartey 8 years ago

Clean your environments and stop the trash. Cleanliness is a task for every citizen not only of the government.

• TOGBE 8 years ago

THIS MAD WASTE AND THIEVERY OF PUBLIC FUNDS BY NDC ARE THE REASONS WHY WE HAVE DIRTY ENVIRONMENTS....WHY DID GOVT DOLE OUT HUGE MONIES TO ZOOMLION FOR NO WORK DONE AND RLG FOR SAME REASONS....SUCH MONIES IF WELL MANAGED COULD ...

• Adako 8 years ago

The problems in Ghana cannot be blamed on current executives though they are doing any better.Ghana is like a person who wakes up at age 40 when age related cognitive deterioration has and start kindergarten.Imagine the troub ...

• TOGBE 8 years ago

State Resources Were Given To Ndc To Manage For Good Govce, But NOT To Create Loot And Share....Now See Our End As The Ghc Which Was 1.2 Ghc To One Dollar In 2008 Has Now Become Over 4.1 Ghc To One Dollar...Create Loot And S ...

• Panin 8 years ago

You people talk senseless you don't care for the poor citizens after so called cleaning day in Kumasi what happened . You this stupid guy left the rubish went back to gutters .

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

The dockyard men's room was always filthy because the workers never peed accurately to the drain. Every day the man who was in charge of sanitation at the dockyard would have to call in the cleaners to wipe off the mess insid ...

• onetribe 8 years ago

It is a question of lack of direction and organisation not money. These so called mayors have no clue

• Y B 8 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

• RPG 8 years ago

It is only in a very primitive society ruled by a bunch of brain-dead misfits who will make the kind of statements Kojo Bonsu is making but, surely, surely 2016 beckons and the tsunami of CHANGE is nigh.
    Folks be very ready, ...

• Yaw Ghana.... 8 years ago

As a citizen do you have any responsibilities? Govt should follow you around with a dustbin? Is govt fault that you block waterways or set public fires? ALL DIE BE DIE?

• pk 8 years ago

He is very right. People dump rubbish into gutters right in front of their houses. Individual responsibility is paramount. Leaders should drum in this point rather beat about the bush. Littering should attract sanctions.

• onetribe 8 years ago

He should stop blaming and get on with the job of enforcing sanitary compliance, using fines to provide more public amenities. That is what leaders do, they take ownership of the problem

• kwesi 8 years ago

I'm with u cos its wrong throwing litters in drains and it's common sense most Ghanaians don't have and very sad!!

• kwam 8 years ago

the mayor was right, the floods will continue to cause havoc so far as we Ghanaians continue to behave like fools by building on water ways, dumping refuse in drains , sitting fuel stations in densely populated areas, don't ...

• Kwasi Abrose 8 years ago

I think Mr Bonsu does not understand his position as mayor. Mayors are there not only to administer cities or towns or villages, but also to resolve and recommend solutions to problems their municipalities face.
    When a city ...

• ox 8 years ago

sometimes people like u talk as if they lack sense .

• onetribe 8 years ago

What is your suggestion? keep blaming the people or keep paying the Mayor big money to keep blaming the people?

• Boateng 8 years ago

You hit the nail right on the head. This is exactly what I was talking about in my earlier comment. He should shut up and be an effective mayor

• It's a two edge sword 8 years ago

Well, the solution is simple. everybody need a change of attitude. I live in the US, YOU GET FINED FOR LITTERING. YOU PAY LOTS OF TAXES AND THE GOVT SURELY USE THE MONEY, to clean the streets, construct sewage systems , fix t ...

• true man 8 years ago

See this political Trojan horse calling himself mayor, idiot, only people like John Mahama who would appointed fools loke you as a mayor.

• Aikins 8 years ago

Then there is no need for metropolitan assembly boss.

• the don 8 years ago

KWASIA BANKU

• Niik- 8 years ago

In Ghana every issue is politicised. Now some of the leaders of the various so called pressure groups are calling for the resignation of the Accra mayor. How interesting that these so called leaders were absent on the nation ...

• TK 8 years ago

Lazy ghanaians turn round to blame their authorities when there is some envaromental disaster and forget their bad atitudes towards their envaroment.

• Duke 8 years ago

Stupid monkey u call yourself mayor, who made u mayor, mahama, I'm not surprise he is the only being on earth who will make such a monkey like u a mayor over a nice city like Kumasi, is time we Ghanaians choose our own mayors ...

• ASEMPAYE 8 years ago

If Your brother or sister is monkey, what do you think you are?

• Alex 8 years ago

Kojo Bonsu, they should the mayors you have put the in your pocket and follow girls.

• Duke 8 years ago

Stupid monkey u call yourself mayor, who made mayor ? Mahama, he is the only being on earth who will make a monkey like u moyor over a city like Kumasi.is time we Ghanaians choose our mayors in the city's to prevent a monkeys ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 8 years ago

The shocking statement coming from one of the naughtiest riffraff Mahama's appointed Mayor at this time of national grieving of hundreds of death of our love ones clearly shows that the NDC government and her operatives are b ...

• ASEMPAYE 8 years ago

The general attitude of Ghanaians as a People is the main cause of most of the problems in the country. We all need a total mental transformation at all levels. The cheating, stealing, dishonesty, wickedness and insensitivity ...

• Loyal man 8 years ago

Kojo Bonsu, u are a great fool and u will forever be a fool

• Nana Adwoa New York City 8 years ago

Then there should be no leaders Uncle Kojo then there should be no laws We know why Laws are made they are for people like us who do not want to do anything but to be deviant and there must be people who need to enforce what ...

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

Look at hw does his things

• James Martin 8 years ago

Proper infrastructure will prevent people to throw rubbish into uncovered gutters.

• ogyam 8 years ago

Kojo, provide litter bins across every corner of the city and the filth will be reduced. That is waste management.

• slimmart1... 8 years ago

Mayor Bonsu, the buck stops with you if the city is dirty. Accept responsibility for your ineptitude, rather than blaming people for not participating in a purely VOLUNTARY cleanup. It is not their job. You will have to hire ...

• Futurama 8 years ago

Does this buffon of a mayor knows his job description? People are placed in responsible positions to see that the right thing is done. This man is not interested in cleaning up Kumasi. His only interest is to make money at al ...

• ninkpeng 8 years ago

Stupid people who doesn't know the real meaning of democracy go about insulting people. That is why Jesus asked that the first person should cast a stone he or she thinks that they have not sinned before. All of us are part a ...

• Riverson 8 years ago

It's time for leaders to be tough and insistent on the doing of the right things. No positive change comes easy. I've made up my mind to always dispose off my rubbish properly. God help us all.

• YAO GBADEGBE 8 years ago

WHAT IS THIS ILLITERATE BOY SAYING? WHAT QUALIFICATIONS DO U HAVE? WHAT HAVE U ACHIEVED IN LIFE APART FROM USING WORLD CUP MONEY TO BUY A HOUSE IN SOUTH AFRICA? DO U THINK GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS? AFTER STEALING THEIR MONEY AND M ...

• Paa 8 years ago

No matter what there some among us will always do by things. that is why we put people in charge to ensure that rules and regulations are complied to. kojo bonsu has shown a hihg level foolishness like his asantehene. Empty h ...

• Jakes 8 years ago

kojo Bonsu should resign .bcos he has no solution for kumasi

• jsortoh@gmail.com 8 years ago

it time to throw away ur school knowledge n seek Godly wisdom to build a better kumasi k. M. A. Boss

• wame 8 years ago

And where comes the name mayor people don't think. Don't call yourself mayor because you are not period

• KO 8 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF THE NDC IS TO FIGHT AGAINST GHANAIANS,LOOKING DOWN ON GHANAIANS AND ARROGANTLY PORTRAYING THEMSELVES AS IF THEY ARE MORE SUPERIOR THAN ORDINARY GHANAIANS THAT THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO SERVE. THEY DONT HAVE ANY RESPE ...

• VICTOR CARRILLACE 8 years ago

A GIRL, OUT OF SPITE FOR HER FATHER'S AUTHORITY, GOT HERSELF PREGNANT AND THEN TURNED ROUND TO BLAME HER FATHER FOR FAILING TO BRING HER UP PROPERLY. THAT IS THE CASE OF GHANAIANS. WE ARE UNREPENTANTLY DIRTY AND INDISCIPLINED ...

• Boateng 8 years ago

Why won't we blame mayors. It's your policies that make one successful. I remember growing up when we had those sanitary inspectors. Again we had local refuse dumps where people go to dump their refuse where they are later c ...

• VICTOR CARRILLACE 8 years ago

TELL YOU WHAT, LAND ZONED FOR REFUSE DUMPS ARE BEING CONVERTED INTO SHOPS, TRADING JOINTS, PETROL AND GAS STATIONS, RESIDENTIAL AREAS, ETC. IN SPITE OF 'RESERVED' TAGS ON SUCH PLOTS, PEOPLE ARE WILLING TO PAY BILLIONS OF OLD ...

• Boateng 8 years ago

You can't be wrong, but let me tell you something. All the organisations or departments that deals with the issue of permits and approvals come under the mayors office if I'm not wrong. I think before any approvals it passes ...

• prince 8 years ago

Mr mayor this is the reason why you are in office, if these open
    gutters were closed no one was going to dump rubbish in it.
    If you also fetch the rubbish on time these shameful incident could be avoided.
    We dont have to p ...

• Mayor Banza 8 years ago

"Checks conducted by my office has uncovered lapses that needed to be corrected to avert any such occurrence in future. There is an institutional failure across board …from Metropolitan and District Assemblies to Town & Cou ...

• Odikro Eyuoh Munumkum 8 years ago

Ghana leaders are lack intelligent in officiating their positions in focusing the country`s future development. Sanitation workers (men/women) who pick garbage on the city streets is one of the highest paying job in developed ...

• kweku Menu 8 years ago

Ghanaians are the most pampade and stupid people you will meet on earth. They defecate everywhere, through trash everywhere but want to enjoy good sanitation around them. If you provide sanitation services for a fee they dont ...

• Rash 8 years ago

Well said Mayor tell them.what kind of people are Ghanaians?

• Adroba 8 years ago

The problem might be money. Let's create landfills where trucks can go dump the trash at. We also need trash cans at vantage points and must be emptied regularly. With these in place let's see whether Ghanaians are the dirty ...

• ak 8 years ago

Does this man think volunteer cleaning is the replacement for Public Works Department?

• Mobydick 8 years ago

This man does not understand his role as mayor. Mayors are managers/directors of institutions. And should take the blame where the institutions fail for lack of leadership in enforcing rules and regulations. When people throw ...

• OBINNA 8 years ago

GHANAIANS, BLAME YOURSELVES. STOP LOOKING FOR SCAPE-GOATS. STOP THROWING THRASH IN THE GUTTERS, ON THE STREETS, EVERYWHERE EXPECTING WHO TO PICK THEM UP? STOP TRASHING YOUR OWN ENVIRONMENT. STOP SLEEPING, SELLING, WALKING AND ...

• NANA ARABA 8 years ago

OUR CONSTITUTION SHOULD SAY "THE PEOPLE OF GHANA APPOINTS AND VOTES FOR A CANDIDATE FOR MAYOR" COUNTRIES WITH DEOMOCRACY VOTES FOR MAYORS. ONLY IN AFRICA DOES PRESIDENTS CHOOSE THE MAYOR! NEPOTISM AND CONNECTIONS YET AGAIN! T ...

• Niibi 8 years ago

The Man is telling the truth . Ghanaians are fully of shit.dirty Mr don't give a damm about his own beloved country bastards.go to Odownaa at cycle and Agbogbloshie (Sodom and Gomorrah ) and you will see what I am talking abo ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (bush man) 8 years ago

kojo bonus is very stupid.the monthly cleaning is voluntary so you cannot force people. they pay taxes.the cleaning should be done by paid workers.stupid mayors.we need a revolution in Ghana again.god will punish you all idio ...

• Comfort Abrokwah 8 years ago

Well said, Mr. Bonsu. Ghanaians need to learn to be clean ,not litter and expect the authorities to clean up after them. Only in Ghana do people dump garbage anywhere they like and when you complain, they tell you it's not yo ...

• Wofa 8 years ago

He is also not effective mayor.

• Kossi Atsrim Agbodzadza 8 years ago

it is very sad to hear that stupit mayor of Tema to say that people should blame themselves for throwing rubbish in the gutter. infact he should have resigh himself for that comment.

• Kossi Atsrim Agbodzadza 8 years ago

That comment from that stupid Tema Mayor.
    Please you must resigh.

• BRIDGET 8 years ago

the call on the Mayor to step down is STUPID AND SENSELESS, TO PUT IT MILDLY.!!!!!!!. WHEN YOU DUMP RUBBISH IN THE GUTTER UNDER THE COVER OF DARKNESS, YOU WANT THE MAYOR TO BE PRESENT TO TELL YOU NOT TO DUMP YOU STINKING RUBB ...

• WINTER WILLIAMS 8 years ago

IS NOT YOUR FAULT,THIS IS WHAT GHANAIANS SIGNED UP FOR WHEN THEY WEN TO THE POLLS,THEY DONT EVEN KNOW WHY THEY VOTE.SAY WHATEVER U WANT

• GeoJo 8 years ago

this man is an idiot like Oko Vampire

• Krachi 8 years ago

Sometime ago there was a government who decided to build drainage system to handle the floods in Accra. But the government ended abruptly with the support of most of the residents of Accra. The contracts were abandoned. Since ...