You are here: HomeNews2015 06 04Article 360825

Accra floods: Armed Forces, GNFS deployed to help free movement

Read Comments Comments (54)

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

What a joke. From ravaging cholera and floods and he has the temerity to host a mayoral conference.

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 9 years ago

Do we have a long and medium term plan for Accra, that is to be implemented irrespective of whether the NPP or NDC is in power?

That is what most cities in the Western world has

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

HEADS SHOULD ROLE AND RADICAL REFORMS SHOULD BE CONDUCTED. NADMO COULDNT EVEN PROCURE EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS TO AID THEM. THEY EVEN LACK THE TECHINAL KNOW HOW TO DIVERT THE FLOODS INTO DRAINS. THIS IS NOT EVEN TSUNAMI OR HUR ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

Yes, we need radical reforms to move Ghana forward. Not this NDC people.

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 8 years ago

THIS CITY NEEDS DRAINAGE SYSTEMS THAT GO DOWN INTO THE SEA PLUS. COVER ALL GUTTERS AND DRAINAGE SYSTEMS SO FOOLS IN GH DONT DUMP TRASH IN THEM. INSTEAD F USING THE MONEY TO DO THIS. THE GOVT WONT. THEY WILL CHOP EVERYTHING LI ...

• daladam 9 years ago

WHAT EMERCENCY PLANS DID HE HAD FOR SITUATION LIKE THIS FLOOD? YES WE KNOW ZERO PLANS

• mensa 9 years ago

WHY DONT WE SEE HILECOPTER RESCUES PEOPLE WHY DONT WE SEE POLICE DIRECTING PEOPLE TO GO HOME AND TRAFFIC TO CLEAR THE ROADS WHO IS IN GHARGE OF GHANA NOW?

• citizen 8 years ago

What a country. You have a high school graduate as president for 19 years and people think there are not going to be consequences.

• Atlas 8 years ago

He has no ideas on how to run a country and is surrounded by fat incompetent women and idiotic men.

• apuuu 9 years ago

Why always when is flood in Accra you see cars driving through the waters can't the government have road block

• P Otu 9 years ago

With the rains and floods we know where to point accusing fingers but when authorities want to do the right thing by demolishing structures in water ways Ghanaians disagree and protest vehemently with all political undertones ...

• Abizi Moses 9 years ago

Yes oo boss say and say it again

• Nene 9 years ago

Thats true bro, ignorance is killing Ghanaian !!!!!

• master 8 years ago

What is a waterway? Do you mean a river? A stream? What exactly is a waterway? And should we pay people as planners of our cities who allows people to build in the so called waterways in the first place?

People are claimin ...

• Dr.William Acquah 8 years ago

In our country,if we don`t blame demons, the waterways are to blame.It is all because, our so-called leaders don`t have the brains to solve simple problems.Good drainage system is what is needed and nothing else.People don`t ...

• Dr.William Acquah 8 years ago

Dear Mr. Otu,even in such a highly developed country like Germany,floods occur.The authorities here improve the drainage system but don`t pull down houses percieved to be on waterways!Don`t these houses to be demolished have ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

I wonder how many people Boamah got to with the post on his Facebook wall. Face an emergency with real emergency. How many people even have computers + power + internet in Ghana? In a crisis like this, how many of those peopl ...

• Kwame, TX, usa 9 years ago

Its better the deceptive lying minister swallow back his words. Yes, it rains (hurricane, severe than the GH rains) in Houston, but with better drainage systems, the floods vanishes. Stop comparing ithe ill ,planned developme ...

• Enock Appiah Tanoh 9 years ago

Do Ghanaians have ministers in the country? O God have mercy on the country Ghana because without your mercy,we will not see Ghana has it was .The president should drives all his ministers away because they are disgracing the ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

This is a national anthem every year.Even trending here in South Africa, floods in Accra.What a joke of our national leaders.Grew up in Acccra all my life and still the floods exist.This tells why the country is going to the ...

• Julor Dumsor Mahami 9 years ago

The perennial flooding in Accra and other areas of the country is a national Disgrace. It is an indication that indication that despite the fact that Ghana has been a sovereign nation since1957, we still do not have a credib ...

• manford 9 years ago

Spot on.Big talkers but not doers as a nation. National anthem every year. Current news in South Africa. Flooding in Accra, Ghana.

• CJ 9 years ago

If the nation does not REPENT FROM WORSHIPING IDOLS, CORRUPTION N KILLING INNOCENT PEOPLE with juju, the Nation ll be in hell. Look @ the blackout n now flood. God have mercy on Ghana!!!!

• isaac 9 years ago

Our leaders are only joking with our lives,,, why,, how ??? In this century,,, oohhhh naaaaaa

• Yebopower 9 years ago

Now let the morons compare this shit to Houston.Always comparing blindly to USA.

• Nyansahene 9 years ago

Residents in Accra dey talk like dem dey live in Heaven wen dey take pics @ malls as tourist site...hahahaha..hope u can take pics in de floods 2oo...u live in a well structure village n u people always bragging...dun come 2 ...

• Justhere 9 years ago

I want to call on the Ghana national celebrities to wake up with another vigil to save Accra from the perenial floods situation. Accra floods were there before dumsor recently. Another vigil would wake up the government to ac ...

• Y B 9 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

• kojo 9 years ago

so do we have town and country planing in ghana

• Isma'el 9 years ago

What a shame in the capital city after claiming some one has the best of the mayors in Africa and yet our city is poor.Just few hours on and off rains can cause heavy damages in the capital how much more when it fall frequent ...

• kingstephen 9 years ago

Ecclesiastes 10:16, Woe to you, O land, when
    your king is a child, and your princes feast in
    the morning! Proverbs 30:22, A servant who
    becomes king, a godless fool who gets plenty to
    eat. A #Wise_Sayings

• Mensah Andrews 9 years ago

I Can see that we are not more save in this world

• yaw 9 years ago

Dig a trench/Canal from all respective flood prone areas or possibly pipes directing them to Akosombo dam so the precious water is not wasted do it now it will also create employment

• adjoa 9 years ago

we have to learn from this disaster by involve all departments that deals with environment and plan ,take actions. 1. environment cleanliness,proper rubbish disposal system in place, making good big gutters for drainage syst ...

• HARDER@-'89 9 years ago

Please this job of disaster prevention and management should be striped off from NADMO and permanently assigned to the military, that is either the field engineers regiment or its other wing like the rece regiment who have th ...

• witch hunter 9 years ago

If ghanaians would not be disciplined enough by themselves and stop throwing litters and other carbbages into gutters,then iam afraid the worst of these kind of flooding are yet to come.

Please this job of disaster prevention and management should be striped off from NADMO and permanently assigned to the military, that is either the field engineers regiment or its other wing like the rece regiment who have th ...

• Alidu Muhammed 9 years ago

I told you that the moment we chose to accept a ballot staffing president, marked the begining of a catastrophic disaster for the good people of Ghana. Look at the ministers of an apology of a kind he has paraded around him? ...

• THIEF OF BAGDAD 9 years ago

NPP is behind the explosion at circle because the like violence, Nana the akyem dwarf must die otherwise many problem will be coming in future. Dr. Nkwame Nkrumah knew what was in the mind of that family that was the reason w ...

• NYAME 9 years ago

How are we going to get better ?

• AZIZ ISSAHAKU 9 years ago

GOD HAVE MERCY ON US

• SERWAA BONSU NY 8 years ago

My dear brothers and sisters, believe me, unless Ghanaians are able to elect good leaders in Ghana who will think about the goods citizens needs, it will always be like this.
    All we need is a sewer system. Then there will b ...

• truth 8 years ago

WHEN YOU THROW BOLA IN GUTTERS THEY TELL YOU THE NORM OF THE DAY INSULTS! NUMBER 2 SOLUTION CONTRACTORS & POLITICANS DON'T SPEND 40% OF THE MONEY MEANT FOR FEEDER ROADS & POCKET 60%.

• Aaron Kofi Fiakuna 8 years ago

That the best from them.but will that continue?

• George essel takoradi 8 years ago

Oh sorry Ghana but remember that ga manche says no noinse in the city's of Accra because gods are coming home Jehovah GOD want to tell Ghanaians that he owns Ghana not their so call a bosom

• cindyluv 8 years ago

oh hmmm what is happening in Ghana OH God have Mercy on Ghana

• fred fm akaatiso 8 years ago

O Ghana god help as hmmmm?

• johnny 8 years ago

Ghana neesd to be serious, bcs the big man are noit doing nothing only big cars vote them out.

• Efe 8 years ago

The problem has to do with management and governance. And here we have square pegs in round holes (babies with sharp teeth)

• coosh 8 years ago

dambazaaayaaa

• K Biney 8 years ago

Good, call for help from where? No phone numbers on department, agency or unit just call the air. Thank you for your useless help.

• COOLMAN 8 years ago

floods can happen,but the question,the way it happen is the question.our Accra mayor is tooo soft like a rubber,we need iron hand,like mugabe,we need somebody to show us the way.

• Asiwome 8 years ago

This has been happening since the ocean was walled off. Tear down the wall and let the water flow into the sea, or move the capital from Accra to ease congestion.