Fuel Price Hikes: IMF policies begin to bite

Read Comments Comments (48)

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Now Mahama is exposed

• Abongo 8 years ago

This is not pepeni issue it is the word market economy pay as you consume

• Charles Agbenu 8 years ago

You seem to be worried about the word pepeni. But you enjoy the word Asanteni. And you also like the word Kabonga

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

LOOKING AT THE DESTRUCTION NDC HAS CAUSED TO THIS GREAT COUNTRY IN THE PAST 6 YEARS, ANY TALK ABOUT THIS INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT ADMINISTRATION WINNING THE 2016 GENERAL ELECTIONS, WOULD BE DEEMED AS A BIG INSULT ON THE INTELL ...

• DANNI 8 years ago

I WILL TELL U WHERE THE $27 BILLION HAS GONE - INTO THE POCKETS OF THE LOOTING BRIGADES THROUGH WOYOME, SADA, SUBA, AKONFEM, GHOST TREE PLANTING, ISOFOTON (ABLAKWA), WATERVILLE, CP PARTNERS, GYEEDA, GFA, MERCHANT BANK FORTIZ, ...

• ECONOMIST 8 years ago

FOR US TO BE TAKEN BACK TO IMF IS EXTREMELY UPSETTING.

THE WORST FEELING IS THAT THOSE WHO CARRY THE BRUNT OF ITS CONDITIONS GET ABSOLUTELY NO BENEFIT FROM THE LOANS BECAUSE THE SO-CALLED LEADERS STEAL EVERYTHING.

WE NE ...

• APONKYE 8 years ago

It's sad to witness JM's spectacular failure. Just grossly inept.

• Kwaku Obeng 8 years ago

Hi Ghanaman, pls kindly criticize Mahama but DO NOT use the "P" word because some consider it to be offensive. I don't care if someone call me Asanteni or what I read on Ghanaweb Asante monkey. I brush name calling aside but ...

• Kerosineer 8 years ago

When shall all these end?

• PRINZ@BONN-Germany 8 years ago

Ghanaians Abroad carry our Gh ID cards everywhere we go, we sleep with it and can wait to come home and vote against NDC out come 2016. We're unhappy and have lost hope with d John Mahama's Ndc govm't with the abundant of res ...

• J K.OFORI 8 years ago

let us joined hands for the welfair of Ghana

• BANKYE ABAA 8 years ago

OFORI IAM VERY SORRY FOR YOUR COMMENTS BECAUSE YOU AND WHO SHOULD JOIN HANDS FOR THE WARFARE OF GHANA.DON'T YOU KNOW YOUR LEADERS ARE JUST USELESS PEOPLE?.THIS PEPENI MAHAMAH HAS NO BRAIN IN HIS SKULL BECAUSE WHEN HE STARTED ...

• Abongo 8 years ago

We shouting about democracy yes and it is a free market economy. You pay for what you consume and remember our prices are to be pegged or determined by the word market prices. We are not communist for the government to be sub ...

• Kwaku Obeng 8 years ago

I like your comments. I believe you and your NDC made similar statements during K4's time. We are not communists? We are in free market? Then I am proposing that the northern scholarship must be scrapped. That is the highest ...

• mensah abrampa 8 years ago

It's a free market economy and the prices of services and goods are determined by world market prices so can you explain this administration's decision to increase the price of gasoline at the time when the price of crude oil ...

• Ada Boy 8 years ago

The economic lunatics are the ones asking government to import petroleum products at market price and subsidy it here for consumption.The IMF are only telling us that we cant continue to borrow from abroad to spend lavishly a ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS DOING AT THE PRESIDENCY. HE IS JUST CELEBRATING HIS POSITION LIKE AN AFRICAN MOVIE ACTOR. VOTE HIM AND HIS MEDIOCRE NDC GOVERNMENT OUT IN 2016.
    NDC NOW WANT MONEY FOR THEIR DIRTY POLITICA ...

• Abban 8 years ago

You are truly a close observer,so you too have observed how this idiot president always pose like a celebrity.

• APOLLO T 8 years ago

OH1 NDC WHY TAKEG HANA FOR"SNAKE" LOAN

• Wisdom 8 years ago

If you wanna demonstrate do it like what happened in Lybia, Tunissia and the rest.
    Don't waste people's time and money for just one hour demonstration without achieving results Idiots

• Dr Kwame Osei 8 years ago

Folks i know your tribulation but do not blame MAHAMA and NDC - this is the price WE ARE ALL paying for seeking financial assistance from the World Bank/IMF - ending fuel subsidies is ONE of THEIR SANCTIONS for taking thier m ...

• ABAAH 8 years ago

HEY MY FRIEND ARE YOU REALLY A"DR"?.THEN YOUR THINKING CAPACITY OR IQ IS BELOW ZERO.WE ALL KNOW THAT WHICH EVER GOVERNMENT THAT COMES AFTER THEM HAS PROBLEMS BUT DON'T TELL US WE SHOULDN'T BLAME MAHAMAH AND SCHOOL NDC BOYS TH ...

• mensah abrampa 8 years ago

Do not patronize us with your "folks I know your tribulation but do not blame Mahama and NDC". Who should we blame? Should we look any further than those who have mismanaged the economy, look beyond the mark to look for who t ...

• KFC 8 years ago

With such a high cost of living, little wonder corruption is rife!

Why borrow from the IMF when we've already borrowed billions from Chinese banks? What has become of the Chinese funds?

The good Lord will punish all you ...

• successful Man 8 years ago

Make extra $600 and more online by just investing $18. Call Ben on 0266434975 for more details

• ABAAH 8 years ago

THIEF MAKE IT WITH YOUR POOR FAMILY.

• Adinkra a proud Akan 8 years ago

Crazy,president you thought it was an easy task to rigged an election to become a president? See how confused and useless you've.

• YIKRA 8 years ago

People take it easy no matter IMF because God is bigger than them.

• successful Man 8 years ago

Make extra money of $600 or more online by investing just $18. For details call Ben on 0266434975

• kwamee 8 years ago

mahama kill Ghanaians n live. All the same agric colleges we need our allowances, it is getting too late.

• Sam 8 years ago

oh, when will ghanaians continue to put themselves into slavely. no wonder we are full of curses. God have mercy on blacks

• nana 8 years ago

U talk about word market wat happens to de automatic adjustment formula?

• nana 8 years ago

U talk about world markets,wat happens to de automatic adjustment formula?

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

It is one thing wasting $5bn of taxpayers money to bribe and rig your way to become president and quite another having the brains and the vision to govern successfully .

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Dumsor aside,Ghana is now by a depreciating currency,high inflation,high interest rate,high unemployment,high cost of living,high.........

• kwame 8 years ago

IMF Economic MedicineSince the 1980s, it is mainly the Structural Adjustment Programs (SAPs) of the World Bank and the IMF that act as the enforcers of neoliberalism. These programs are levied against the countries of the Sou ...

• Naana 8 years ago

Politicians be TRUTHFU to Ghanaians.

• Ike 8 years ago

Even the Don papa has admitted that Mahama is a failure and therefore needs prayers. Hmmm. This man of God some time ago was keenly defending this abys, inept and corrupt government for the sake of luring government members t ...

• Animal Farm 8 years ago

We all sat down and watched this Government spend recklessly and the process ruined our Economy. Now they have to clean the mess they have created. Any way who invited the IMF?

• Vanessa Lameley Toto Kofi 8 years ago

IDIOTS!!!!!!!

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

MAHAMA SHOULD CAMPAIGN AT THE IMF FOR THEM TO VOTE FOR HIM IN 2016, AND LET'S SEE WHAT HAPPENS NEXT, KWASIA!!

MAHAMA AS WELL AS KUFUOR PREFER TO SERVE FOREIGN INTERESTS MORE THAN THOSE WHO MADE THEM WHAT THEY ARE TODAY - G ...

• Pelicles 8 years ago

I remember the president and the finance minister saying that the IMF bail out comes with no condition. Look, some of us were not born yesterday and I never heard of any IMF loan that is "condition free". It always comes with ...

• PAPSON 8 years ago

A wise president like Uwatara of IVORY COAT has been able to build a chocolate factory for his country. And all Ghanaian politicians can think of is corrupt activities. Shame on you all.

• odehye3 8 years ago

Where was the automatic adjusted formula when fuel price was reduced at the world market.
    They should sell the whole nation including all of us to suit their whims and caprices.

• Loway 8 years ago

We Need creative leadership

• Emma 8 years ago

The Book of Lamentations in the bible is only 3 chapters. Ghana's lamentation fills the whole bible and more.

• UNKNOWN COS AM UNHAPPY 8 years ago

PLEASE DO NOT INCREASE IN THE FUEL BECAUSE WE THE STUDENTS ARE GOING TO SUFFER FROM THE CAR FAIR...BECAUSE THE MONEY SOME OF US LIKE ME IS BEING GIVEN A DAY IS NOT ENOUGH FOR FOOD AND TRANSPORT....SO PLEASE PREZ. JOHN MAHAMA ...

• STUDENT 8 years ago

FOOLISH AND UNREASONABLE PRSIDENT OF GHANA ... U ONLY LIKE MONEY FUCK U MAHAMA......NANA ADDO THE BEST..SO PLEASE LETS ALL VOTE FOR PRESIDENT NANA COS HE IS A GOOD LEADER