You are here: HomeNews2015 05 18Article 358592

Teacher trainees boycott lectures nationwide over 'alawa'

Read Comments Comments (139)

• ASIEDUA NKETIA MMAA KABA 8 years ago

THESE TWO ETHNIC GROUPS ALWAYS VOTE ALONG TRIBAL LINES BUT NOT ON ISSUES. THEY ARE THE VERY BIG BENEFICIARIES OF THE TRAINING COLLAGE 'ALLOWA'. AS FOR THE NORTHNERS, WITHOUT SCHOLARSHIP THEY WON'T EVEN GO TO SCHOOL. THEY GET ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

LOOKING AT THE DESTRUCTION NDC HAS CAUSED TO THIS GREAT COUNTRY IN THE PAST 6 YEARS, ANY TALK ABOUT THIS INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT ADMINISTRATION WINNING THE 2016 GENERAL ELECTIONS, WOULD BE DEEMED AS A BIG INSULT ON THE INTELL ...

• Nii Armah 8 years ago

Dont go eh if you wish to throw away all you have gotten over the few years then dont go for your lectures. That is problem this "Over entitlement" attitude of these students is becoming unbecoming simple and short. The most ...

• angel 8 years ago

@ Nii Armah ,I don't no if u think at all.let him cancel nursing and police trainees allowance.

• ROLAND GODXTYM 8 years ago

pls ,nurses in first are not going to take allowance... get updated.

• Nii Armah 8 years ago

Angel am disappointed in you but I see no need to talk much or debate with you on this because from all indication you dont sound like someone who has had any life experience at all. Yes so that is what you would say because ...

• Ibfa 8 years ago

Nii Arma, do you have any idea what essential services are? How do you see Ghana education in the next 5years? Even when government pays training fees, Ghana never had enough teachers. If the number of potential teachers drop ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

They can go to hell. Are they the only tertiary students in Ghana? All other tertiary students were given student
    loans and why should they be given allowance free and treat other studens differently?
    Mr President if u lis ...

• Alhassan 8 years ago

enjoyment has made you so foolish and narrow minded that you don't care about the feelings of your makers wait for 2016

• himself 8 years ago

be gentle and stop behaving lyk a fool bcos of politics.

• Anass 8 years ago

I think u are a fool... Muuuuumu

• Goheey 8 years ago

You can continue your aluta as you called it. Ghanaians will like to take everything on sliver plata . There is no country in the world that give free allowance to colleges for their training. If you are given such money for ...

• Francis Pecku 8 years ago

Look at you, those countries are well treated. Remember, we all have way of living according to rules and regulations of such countries. Never in your mind majority is not teachers who goes to pension. Are you talking in favo ...

• gh arise 8 years ago

thanks may the lord have mercy on u...u dont deserve an insult but punishment from Allah...lord 4gives u wai

• Bernice 8 years ago

I just want to know. if u re the President of Ghana

• Francis Pecku 8 years ago

What is this person talking about? We don't understand. This shows that you are not a trainee. Explain yourself well.

• Funky bwoy 8 years ago

i tink u are a big fool das y u said so

• Circus 8 years ago

It is not surprising that Nii Armah is so against the trainees boycott.
    His grammar (punctuations) is appalling no wonder he despise teachers.
    What did his former teachers do to him?
    If you can read and write don't you wan ...

• kwasia Nii armah 8 years ago

Nonsense comment. Where are ur senses siaaaa

• Emeka 8 years ago

Ma padi go bed...we all know asantis dont like schooling.....shoe shine....appuuuuuu

• musah 8 years ago

But ashantis are the succesful tribe in this country, tell me ur tribe and I will tell u ur achivement... Blind fool

• Akwasi 8 years ago

@musah..successful tribe in what? in street hawking I suppose. successful mpo and your people are all over the streets of accra hawking and littering or hustling through the desert to get to Europe and even end up dieing.am a ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

you are very stupid,he asked you to tell him your tribe and he will tell you your achievement, just go ahead and tell him.You are an idiot who is ashamed of your tribe and turn to hate ashantis for being proud of themselves. ...

• GH GABBY 8 years ago

BITCH!!!!ASSHOLE!!

• fayol 8 years ago

Asiedu,know how to talk

• fayol 8 years ago

if u don't know what to do,u can go and sleep
    try to mind your language when u are speaking on these type of matters

• YD South Africa 8 years ago

plse if u dont know keep ur mouth shut. Dont be naive. l am a northener n am about to finish my phd but o have never enjoyed any scholarship. Do not insult northeners. u are not beter than them. speak sensibly.

u are an idiot. bastard u are. how many lawyers can u boast of? we are intelligent dan u so we don't bribe our ways for such certs.

• Jimmy 8 years ago

Wahoo, how shallow an argument.if you don't vote a particular party, then you vote on tribal lines!but if. Others tribes vote that party. They don't vote on tribal lines! Can some people be so daft? Really, I give up.with suc ...

• sandra 8 years ago

infract u are sick the cos the northeners will continue to get free education cos is their. government hu is in power and what is ur problem if ewes like junior u the arkansas to try and go to school and stop being shoemakers ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

Asiedu you are very very foooooooooooooool

• Abulu gilbert 8 years ago

Asiedu,the stupid creature God has regreted for creating.GOD is watching

• Lebene 8 years ago

A BIG FOOL

• Yao 8 years ago

NDC supporters have entranched poverty, suffering and foolishness on all Ghanaians. You reap what you sow. The bible is great

• kofi 8 years ago

YOU ARE DISTROYING YOUR CAREER.

• OKOFO 8 years ago

Why are they refusing to go for loans as being done by others. Even in developed world eg UK and US there is nothing like alawa for trainees. In the UK they all take loans. They should not be deceived by Dr Bawumia and NPP em ...

• John,Tema 8 years ago

May I ask do we have Article 71 Office holders allowances in the UK & USA also?He who calls for equity must come with clean hands.We shd not encourage animal farm behaviour in Ghana.

• myself 8 years ago

good statement

• musah 8 years ago

Stupid fool, do you know since when dis alawa was introduce in the system, why past govt didnt take it off the system but dis john mahama admi decide to,, stop the stupid politic.. Village boy

• BB 8 years ago

This 'alawa' was introduced by the PNDC in the late 80s. There is a need for policy change. Why can't you make good use of the SSNIT loans. We sit down complaining of government going in for many loans. Gov,t needs to reduce ...

• selorm 8 years ago

why not those in the security services?? why doesn't mahama take it there or the nurses?? this discrimination is happening because they know teachers can't bite.
    And yet,they have the balls to talk about quality education. ...

• OKOFO 8 years ago

Thanks your insult. By the way am not a boy so rather called me village man. My question to you is does the constitution say that teacher trainees are to be paid allowance and what does the article 71 of the constitution says ...

• Gbagbladza 8 years ago

Busia discontinued the so called ALLAWA in the 1975. Please know your history. But who cares ? Universities were closed in Ghana for more than 1 year before and qualified teachers more than 50% of trained teachers left the sh ...

• Moore 8 years ago

It's better you go back to your classrooms. Some of us became teachers without "alawa" after 3 years in the training college. Don't let your minds be polluted with politics. Don't forget those people who are pushing you have ...

• jj canada 8 years ago

in canada children as young as 16yrs clean the streets to save for their college education but in ghana men are expecting their morning coffee from the govt.How do expect the nation to move forward.and the politician are prom ...

• mavis antwi 8 years ago

U ppl cn go to hell. Everybody wants to go to training colleges cuz there's no job in d country n therefore putting alot pressure on d govt. Where do those who Vasties gt hlp frm? I think ppl ll think twice b4 going to traini ...

• MR ROY 8 years ago

Your argument are not concrete at all for your course of action, even though you have the right to demonstrate to fight for your rights. You have hit below the belt by comparing lions with dogs, using the military and police ...

• Alhassan 8 years ago

you see you can't even reason well that all the other professions including those you refer to as lions pass through teachers

• RASHID 8 years ago

The reasons for putting in place student 's allawa is basically because people did not have interest in teaching and nursing. It is obvious today that the number of enrollment in the training schools have gone up significantl ...

• Prof. Mikel 8 years ago

Reasonable statement !!

• USMAN 8 years ago

If you want to know the brains behind the killing of the two American citizens in Akosombo then read this. According to the story" The two who are leaders of the African American community in Akwamu were recently accused by t ...

• EDUCATOR 8 years ago

Let those who want to be teachers go to train as teachers. Those who want allowances move out of the Colleges of Education be trained as teachers.

• Joshua Samadji 8 years ago

Good action; why are we teachers maltreated always? the nursing and the agric colleges are they not part of colleges in ghana?the govt and its cabinet must consider this seriously and stop the game of politics because growth ...

• zia 8 years ago

It iis time 4 gov. 2 take a look at the decision it took in 2013

• jav 8 years ago

I support u guys! Alawa is helpful in diverse ways. NDC restore it!!!!

• PROFESSOR ASHAWO!! 8 years ago

Nonsense

• Alhassan Baako 8 years ago

YOU ARE RATHER STUPID BECAUSE YOU DON'T KNOW YOUR RIGHT NOT TO TALK OF YOUR LEFT

• Eben 8 years ago

It is not not force. Stop the school if you cannot pay your fees. UCC and UEW can train teachers at a fee. These training Colleges are not necessary again in Ghana. Most of them cannot write in English.

• CHARLES SIBSA 8 years ago

WAOOO. THAT IS WHY YOUR TEXT EXPRESSION IS EXCELLENT. YOUR TEXT ABOVE HAS A LOT OF CONCORD ERRORS. LEAN SERIOUSLY AND STOP TEASING AT THE RIGHT PEOPLE .ANY WAY YOU HAVE HAD ALSO SPOKEN.

• Goheey 8 years ago

It seems the person had spoken well look at what you wrote there.

• Joe 8 years ago

UEW and UCC are doing degree nd college ar doing diploma so Wat do u expect its true u dnt know your right Frm ur left

• John Roger 8 years ago

I felt pity for those that make such derogatory remarks. Kudos to ttag for such action but I will advice that we go back to class, all this sufferings prepare you for the future so give a second taught and get back to college ...

You are really an Ashawo !!
    Unmatured you are !!!

• Alhassan Baako 8 years ago

some people do not deserve to be human,if u have nothing to say better for you to be silence and allow the trainee and their leaders to do what they know can help them because they are in it and know how its affecting them.Be ...

• Amidini 8 years ago

All your points re relevant and I think it would have been better for you to continue dialogue with gov't to find amicably solution to your grievances than go a nation wide strike. If you boycott lectures today its means you ...

• Ebo 8 years ago

They can stop schooling. Who pay for others learning in other institutions?

• AKWASI 8 years ago

DISMISS THEM. TOO MANY FREE THINGS IN GHANA. ABAAA!!!!

• John Roger 8 years ago

I felt pity for those that made such derogatory remarks. Kudos to ttag for there action, nice move but I will advice that we get back to class because these sufferings prepare us for the future, let's get what is more importa ...

• John Roger 8 years ago

I felt pity for those that made such derogatory remarks. Kudos to ttag for their action, nice move but I will advice that we get back to class because these sufferings prepare us for the future, let's get what is more importa ...

• Godwin 8 years ago

Allowa must be back...#Bringbackourallowa

• Anointing 8 years ago

Hmmmmmmmmm
    we shall see

• YD South Africa 8 years ago

mahama should know that the father was was train with the same allawance he is denying the current trainees. without it some people cant cope. l could have gone to university direct but because my family could not afford i we ...

• Goheey 8 years ago

If your family could not affor who is to help you. Education is not the only way to success. Do not neglect our culture. Go back to the land

• wil 8 years ago

TTAG,bravo for this step,you are now showing bavery. The youth and students of Ghana are sincerely behind you. Dont be discouraged when the greedy and self centered ones in the system try to discourage u.Know that the devil e ...

• J K K 8 years ago

No wonder the education in Ghana is getting worst. It is the innocent school children that will suffer. If I go there that am going to teach what I like us what I will teach u, becos I use my own money to go through the syste ...

• Nii Armah 8 years ago

@ JKK that would not happen either, why because when you finish school you would apply to be taken on to work. Your application would be vetted when you qualify you would be taken and be give service conditions when you fail ...

• Maxwell-Suhum. 8 years ago

These foolish and incompetent idiots can go to hell. These embeciles are calling themselves potential teachers! What are they coming out to teach our gernerations to come? FOOLS!

• Hillary 8 years ago

May God forgive u all dat r insulting teacher trainees. Hope ur kids will be educated elsewhere n not in Ghana. God hv Mercy on the mouth u used for insulting us. May it be well with u. Never encounter any problem like ours i ...

• C.E.O DON'T TRY 8 years ago

GOVERNMENT HAS STILL NOT SETTLE IT DEBTS OWED TO SHS SCHOOLS FEEDING GRANTS IN THE THREE NORTHERN REGIONS. IN EACH TERM GOV. MUST SEND MONIES FOR FOR OUR DEAR SHS STUDENTS TO BE WELL FED BUT FOR THE PAST FOUR TERMS MAHAMA HA ...

• man 8 years ago

U want to be paid why schooling.Hmmm wat a nonsense.They should think like teachers and behave as such,If u can't stay lv,that's all

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

No

• Augustin 8 years ago

I dnt knw dat we are livin with stupid pple,do u knw how,uch we pay for a year u pple shd compare it with university students

• wu maami 8 years ago

You can stay home.If you were qualified you will be in the university.

• ur moda 8 years ago

mind ur speech wait....does it take onli qualification to b at de university???..nonsenx!!!!I wonda ur literacy level..olooshi!!

• Christopher(OFCE) 8 years ago

Talk sense don't use de platform to fool.tink abt mother ghana 1st and generation to come and stop politics.

• Taahir Ibn 8 years ago

If you dont go back nothing will affect president mahama

• Bernice 8 years ago

foolish boy what qualification do u hv

• Zealous 8 years ago

If your parents cannot foot your bills in a training college do you have to blame the government? And who said it is a taboo for student's to work during vacation to foot their school bills? Is it the allowance to claim that ...

• Ruben 8 years ago

Mahama has failed Ghanaians is a disgrace that his father was a beneficiary of what he is refusing for all you know his father dependened on that to make a change during his time and it went a long way to affect his Edu. He ...

• KY 8 years ago

Emeka I know is not your real name. that was then not today. We the ashanti has the highest enrolment in all the tertiary because we have money to pay not as poor as your hopeless tribe

Some people have issue with the leadership of the country and others took the issue upon themselves by just posting unnecessary comments on this platform.
    You either advice any of the two groups involved or you keep mute if ...

• Khalifa from Bawku 8 years ago

I have a problem with the teachers trainees. Government announced that was no more allowances and indicated in the admission forms and they agreed and enrolled. What legal backing do they have.There is no where in this world ...

• Musah Mubarak 8 years ago

Hmmmm,what an insensitive Mahama,who never sit down to think of the suffering his poor people are going through.Our parents say ''a goat who is free from the rope never thought it that others are still in it''.Almighty will s ...

• Nii Armah 8 years ago

@ Mubarak i was listening to a Singaporean ambassador to Ghana and do you know how they do it over there? for every 1 year that you were on government scholarship you worked two years on your return so assuming you spent 4 ye ...

• Teacher Bansa 8 years ago

Do the teacher trainees also pay their own tuition? How different is training teachers different from training at the universities? I am certain that university students are not paid any allowances but can contract a SSNIT lo ...

• Dee 8 years ago

u see these are e issues on ground
    No tertiary wears prescribed uniform,no tertiary wears a prescribed hair style,no tertiary students bath in same washroom.like over 200 ladies at a time.No bell is rang fr tertiary students ...

• Nii Armah 8 years ago

Kwe teacher trainee paa and your spelling teacher Tr and colleges collegues. Kwe and some lecturer is marking your papers and my hard earned tax money should go into paying you side benefits AKA ALLAWA kwe what country are we ...

• Bernice 8 years ago

like that

• Joe 8 years ago

the difference is they are degree holders and colleges ar diploma holders .we accept if we can also teach SHS after skull.look before you leap pls.

• ike 8 years ago

Oh my brother
    Say it again

• concerned citizen 8 years ago

why do they want to be paid before they go to school. what abt those in ucc and uew. if u know u cannot afford ur fees y don't u go for the student loan

• Braimah Abdul Latif 8 years ago

The now government seems not to care for the livelihood the nationales. Imagine the hardship and things are not coming down but rather excalating. Where then lies the faith of ghanaians in the future. Not the infrastructural ...

• K. Reagan 8 years ago

I told u dat a party like ndc under this administration can't govern even a fan club nt to talk of a nation

UCC exam is waiting u guys whether u for lectures or not.trainees shld tell us de truth whether they hadn't hear de issue b4 purchasing de forms in 2012. my brother bought dat form but decided to go to varsity bcos its de sa ...

• The Bravo! 8 years ago

please quit the colleges and try the universities. I am hopeful that you will find peace there. Do you intend to tell the whole world that you were lured into training college bcos of the allowances? Then you have no ambition ...

• Jimmy 8 years ago

There are poor peoples children in the universities and they are more intelligent! They don't even have job security.
    We want to be spoon fed and paid even for doing nothing.
    The representation even smack of politics, to b ...

• Pensive 8 years ago

Ppl dont talk wd facts @ all. Mahama said dere will bi noe allowance for all training schools in gh.but nurses r now givin.so y rejecting teachers ant dey student

• Osei Yao 8 years ago

BOYCOTTING LECTURES? LET THEM WAIT TILL EXAM TIME AND THEY WILL KNOW WHO SUFFERS.

• Captain Kpeglo 8 years ago

Infact only God can save us.If not for this allowance my poor brother wouldn't have been a teacher today. God touch Mahamas heart to hear our Trainees

• CM KMCE 8 years ago

FUNNY COMMENTS...

• CM KMCE 8 years ago

FUNNY COMMENTS

• Sampson adovor 8 years ago

Oh this mahama regime has plunder economy in reverse other.know that without teachers ghana cannot exist.

• Elizabeth Okra 8 years ago

All professionals can boast but the teacher taught them all,I don't understand why such should happen to teacher trainees whiles the centre of education is the teacher,if teachers are not motivated ,they can decide to teach t ...

• Stoway 8 years ago

Let them stay home for one year and come back to continue their training without the allowance. Ignorant group looking for free stuff this modern days? You are wrong! At least they will have another year to spend without allo ...

• ike 8 years ago

if you can read this thank that stupid teacher you don't agree with. for morrow he will teach and prepare thy son and daughter that thy my bequeath thy estate to him and her when dying with assurance stupid teacher did a goo ...

• just reply as mr president hon 8 years ago

Bt this government remember if you are not replying it will be in your records;;

• Gabriel 8 years ago

We are fed-up with this Mahama's government. so in order to retaliate we need to campaigh against this sitting Government if we don't hear anything positive.

• Abubakari musalkazim 8 years ago

We must fight for our right

• Henry 8 years ago

Hmm Ghana ...Mosquito general as u call yaself if we the students are nofin to the state den pls who are u to the state too?

• Funky bwoy 8 years ago

John Mahamma should bring back the allawa b4 2016 either then that he shall loose a massive number of vote during the election.John Mahamma governmenance is the most poorest system ever seen in Ghana

• Henry 8 years ago

It suddens me wen the ppl who are so called leaders talk dis way .hw can a general secretary to a ruling govment say such tin ..dat teacher trainees are of no importance ..hh ani if i may ask what is ya importance to the nati ...

• HARDER LIN TOPPY 8 years ago

Asiedu or mosquito or wat ever u cal urself u are big fooooooooooooooooooooooool,remember from 1994-2011

• Joan 8 years ago

how I wish those insulting trainees would have been in third year next academic. God have mercy on us.

• Dambol Alhassan 8 years ago

we ar proud of our leaders. infact we ar solidly behind you

• Ernest Asafo Adjei 8 years ago

What should your colleagues in other tertiary students offering education expect from the state ?Be fare to your serves and stop being unreasonable teachers to be,Allow others to enjoy the increased enrolment advantage

• John Action Mangosiba 8 years ago

Ernest asafo adjei or whatever u call urself,since when has selves become 'serves'? i will urge u to spend ur time studying ur dictionary and stop making idiotic mistakes over an issue that does not concern u.

• John Action Mangosiba 8 years ago

The University Students Should Stop Making Useless Comments On This Move Of Teacher Trainees. In Fact,all Of Us Can Offer Any Degree Programme In Any University. Robbish!

• page 8 years ago

do you have brains?

• Ama Nyame 8 years ago

What is the government saying about this situation. From Monday the 18th of May 2015,we have been in the house and no one has said anything to us.Ooooh,God help us(teacher trainees)

• Teacher kofi. Abetifi 8 years ago

I'm much concern of the allowances the government has decided not to gives. All its reason is to increase admission intake. In 2013 during admission into colleges, three batches of students applied thus 2012, 2013 form 3s and ...

• Joan 8 years ago

well said

• Asare Joseph 8 years ago

If I hear issues like this,I just look at my voter ID card and turn to my finger,Ooooh December 2017 is just at the corna,Oooo mother Ghana where are U.Hmmmmmmm,So does this NDC government thinks about the future of the only ...

• EARS AND EYES EVERYWHERE 8 years ago

dear ttag members(executive/core)what is the worth of ttag coffers?can't the association give a widow mite to the level 200s and 100s?or what is d monthly deductions of those who were taking alawa and dose who are still on al ...

• Amenyah Daniel 8 years ago

Govement ,please take good care of Teachers cus They are the backbone of the Nation Ghana.

• lexiz billz 8 years ago

hmmm wat a mess we are facing in mother Ghana. this is just a simple issue to talk about, all along from way back allowances had been paid but why this so called government regime this is happening only jah knows. people have ...

• manners 8 years ago

we are sounding sense in to their ears to reconsider their policies to make sure that it dose not affect teacher trainee any longer. what kind of government have we gotten and he and his team policies always affect a particul ...

• Abdul-Aziz. 8 years ago

I thanked the teacher trainees.

• Abdul-Aziz. 8 years ago

veterinary students also call upon government to come and do something about their allowance.

• Bernice 8 years ago

u are fool to call us stupid