You are here: HomeNews2015 05 14Article 358139

Teacher trainees on nationwide strike over allowance

Read Comments Comments (83)

• ANNOR 9 years ago

Education,throughout the world is not a right, but a privilege.If you,Osei Kofi or whatever you are, can not afford to pay, lots of people out there are ready to pay. How many of the teachers remained in the country to serve ...

• Amoakwa Boadu 9 years ago

How did these guys end up in the Training Colleges in the first place but not in Universities or the Polytechnics? They struggled to make the grades even to the relatively "lower tertiary level" and yet they want to take the ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Amoako Boadu, don't say what you don't know. I used to teach Social Studies at the Teacher Training level and many of my students had qualifications better than those who were at the universities. Some even had "A"s and "B"s ...

• John,Tema 9 years ago

The principle is if you want to abolish unnecessary payment of allowances then the ruling govt shd set the eg by abolishing the payments of all allowances that are paid to Article 71 office holders.

• NDC 60% Thieves 9 years ago

This is the right time for all groups to stand up for their right. Insist on your right to get the over 60% thieves of the corrupt Mahama NDC admn off!!!

• A.C Havor 9 years ago

Amoakwa Boadu you are very stupid for such a foolish statement.I believe you are insane because all you statements are like that of a madman I know in makola market.which grade did you make as u finish you high school,you thi ...

• kojo b 8 years ago

God have mercy on your selfish talks

• ABU 8 years ago

God is not asleep don't u no that college of education grade is A to C6 be4 u are admitted in college of education

Annor, the students have a case. If the students are given loans and are considered tertiary institutions, then they have not much of a case. However, if the students have to find money to pay for their fees on their own, th ...

• Emeka 9 years ago

Dis guys re demanding for allowances
    after which dey will embark on strikes after strikes forgetting that gov paid for their tution and odas. Am glad der is no more allowance for them

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Frank,don't mind the ignorant ones.
    The problem is government of Ghana allows the greedy principals and teachers to take advantage of the students allowance to introduce all kinds of dubious fees including making it mandato ...

• A.C Havor 9 years ago

Tell them what they don't know in

• A.C Havor 9 years ago

Tell them what they don't know

• kwaku ghawa 9 years ago

they want to aet without working.

• Abii 9 years ago

I do not think the students have a reason. They are not punishing anyone. They are wasting their times. How can the state continue to pay this huge sum? If you cannot afford the fees better drop out and go to farm. Its simply ...

• A.C Havor 9 years ago

They can't pay but they can corrupt.look at the huge amount going down into corruption and you stand there to support them.where did the previous governments got their moneys from before paying all those yrs and as they refus ...

• A.C Havor 9 years ago

About u r too foolish .keep quiet if u don't have any better thing to say.bombo

• general 8 years ago

Why is the gov still paying allowances to nurses,police n military under training?

• abena 9 years ago

if ders no money where did the govt got money to pay de all nurses in sch

• peckels 9 years ago

Nurses have been paid their allowances wat of teachers they take them to be fools

• Create,loot and share 9 years ago

If Makama and his foolish ministers stop create,loot and share policy,they will be able to pay the allowance.

• Raila Odinga 9 years ago

Let them remain on strike as long as they want to. They are wasting their own time.The free loading days are over.

• Osono 9 years ago

Jealousy will kill your mother's ass

• African Eagle 9 years ago

Why should the government give free you free college education for your future and then give you allowance while you are preparing for you future? Tell me something how many countries can survive doing this? African's have t ...

So what is your view about Northern students' scholarship? Are there not many places in the South that are deprived and parents are poor to send kids to even High school?

• Dr.William Acquah 9 years ago

Next time, vote again for hopeless,incompetent and corrupt people to lead you!Better Ghana Agenda!

• Samuel Ansah ,New York 9 years ago

Education is a right and not privilege to those fortunate to gain admission to Training Colleges. Allowance for what ? Listen to them and one becomes irritated .I was at Teacher Training College between 1975 and 1979 a ...

• Fin 9 years ago

Please remove all fee-free systems in the country's educational systems to have "level playing ground" for all! How many presidents and vice- presidents have we had, to date, in Ghana? and how many have come from the "three f ...

• Sammy 8 years ago

Which Dr William? Apuu my ass Dr.

• KWEKU 9 years ago

THEY CAN BE ON STRIKE FOR 10 YEARS. WHO CARES? ENOUGH OF FREE THINGS. THAT'S WHY WE ARE SUFFERING AS A NATION.

• Stoway 9 years ago

Stay at home till NPP come to power to pay you the allowance. After all, you are only teainees and not teachers so who suffers? Ignorant move.

• BSP 9 years ago

So many students attend private tertiary institutions and pay exorbitant fees. Private schools have teachers with lower salaries doing better than public schools Are they not Ghanaians?

• Mudaya 9 years ago

hmmmm It seem they have forgotten that teachers build the nation. the one who said teacher trainees are good for noting students should be ask whether he was taught be a juju man.Mosquito should also mind his words as he was ...

• wisdom 9 years ago

this is a great opportunity for thousands of teachers who completed through distance education and awaiting posting to posted immediately. it will be too late byde time they will realise dat they are fooling themselves

• KWEKU 9 years ago

POLITICS. TOO MANY FREE THINGS IN GHANA

• Hon.Samuel Akperve 9 years ago

All those who are commenting foolishly on this page does not know their left and right yet they call themselves educated persons but they don't know that trainees are next in the field of teaching if the already trained teach ...

• Sir Newton 9 years ago

They think 2016 wouldn't come.? God will punish all these greedy leaders. Even if Mahama becomes d .EC chairman in 2016, ndc will lose brutal

• a.k, amsterdam 9 years ago

The reason why the government is refusing to pay the allowance is that the government is using some of the same students against the majority. You guys must press harder else "dead goat" Mahama will not see your suffering. In ...

• Iddrisu Adam 9 years ago

Training of professionals in the health sector, agriculture, police and the rest is soo special that they are given allowances, why always teachers, every bad and foolish policy affects the education sector, we are waiting to ...

• kwesi 9 years ago

Cos u guys re always going on strike.....period.

• BILLY 9 years ago

Teachers, nurses trainee allowances and free education for the Northerners were all enacted post independence to nurture a new nation. These programs have outlived their usefulness and the country should not be paying for the ...

• kwam 9 years ago

They can stay in the house till Jesus comes, in the first place who forced them to go to the training colleges? why not the universities? I think it is time government decides how many teachers it wants to train within a part ...

• NII 9 years ago

They have to be dismissed and reapply. It seems to me that some Ghanaians think they can use election and votes to blackmail government.
    This in fact is one of the many very great policies and changes that this government h ...

• Ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

Thats student, hw will they do when they become teachers ?

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

I do not sympathize with their cause!. No allowance for students! Plain and simple! Ghana cannot continue to sustain this humanitarian and benevolent act! Very simple.. The NPP pronouncements to re-introduce the so-called "Al ...

• BILLY 9 years ago

What about the scholarships for Northerners after 60 years of independence?

• abena 9 years ago

people in de training college aa de same people in de universities and others.dey choose to cum for dbe cos ders no money.if u people aa telling de govt not to pay allowance to de teacher trainees den dose against it shld tel ...

• kwaku ghawa 9 years ago

i enjoyed it but i didnt actually needed it. strike for what? we want everything cheap . they bring the same attitude in classroom
    pay to learn to be paid.

• Alhaji Haruna 9 years ago

You cannot eat your cake and have it. As tertiary institutions you can go in for student loans from SSNIT. This is a useless strike you will eventually pay for it.

• Afia 9 years ago

kwaku ghawa to be sincere, u are a "he goat"

• FAITHGROWS 9 years ago

not a reasonable idea; go back and continue the negotiations

• Kwame Ofosuhene 9 years ago

This is what am expecting you(ttag) to do,take your destiny into your own hands.Don't just struck but also demonstrate on the streets and let him (Mahama) knows that U have mean business and continue to torment him till he re ...

• Agbee 9 years ago

These student leaders are as arrogant as their paymasters.

• Papa 9 years ago

Well said.... No allawa no school.

• picket 9 years ago

Arthur K and co. did the same thing whist studying in the university. Now Where is he as he talks thrash still. Build your political future at the expense of silly ones who will follow you. Some of us had no allowance when it ...

• SIMON 9 years ago

Get ur quality SPY PEN/SECURITY PEN at a cool price.

• mohammed hussein saabo 9 years ago

there are some folish people who think that those who go to universities are more qualified than those go to the colleges I pit them alot

• GHANAMAN 9 years ago

AS THE DAYS GO BY IT IS BECOMING CLEARER AND CLEARER THAT THE DUMSOR Vigil IS NPP BABY! ALL THE SURROGATES OF NPP namely: AFAG, IMANI, CITY FM, CDD, IEA, OCCUPY GHANA and other individual NPP SYMPATHIZERS such: KWAKU BAAKU, A ...

• Juna Jawal 9 years ago

All you think is that, it is good that the government has done well by removing the allowances but let ask ourselves that what are they using the money for? Let's think well. God save Ghana.

• Atanga Mathew 9 years ago

Indeed,the mentality of the blackman to see his colleague in pain is evident in people comments the make.Teacher trainees are not morons,it is poverty that some of them are there.Why do you people envy these people small allo ...

• enoch 9 years ago

loans are the last resort.

• kofi k. 8 years ago

how can GHc800.00 for a whole academic year pay for a semester fee GHc854.00 not to talk of 2 semesters. u don't know what is going on. God have mercy on all of us.

• Me man Ghana 9 years ago

Dis allawa thn came to existnc wen more teachers were needed in the country. Nw MORE TEACHERS are in Ghana that even if alawa is taken off nd teacher trainees strikes, it wudnt affect Gh. Theory of Mahama led adninistration. ...

• Justice 9 years ago

In fact most of ur comments here are stupid and senseless!! If education is only for those who afford, then I don't understand why there is still free education in the three Northern regions!! They must also be scrapped so th ...

• christopher 9 years ago

those people saying uncivilize words abt de trainees allowance don't know it is de effort of teachers dat has even help dem to write dos uncivilised comments.

• PROFESSOR ASHAWOO!! 9 years ago

USELESS STRIKE

• Ruky 9 years ago

If Mahama can't rule us then he should better say it Because teachers are very important in our nation and who ever says teacher trainees are not all that brilliant is a damned foolish person . Mahama stop putting politics in ...

• Ruky 9 years ago

Whoever says Education is a privilege should be ashamed of him or herself cos is everybody right to be educated

• AYI, LA. 9 years ago

NDC PARTY IS FULL OF CRIMINALS AND THEIVES.THEY DONT HAVE ANY SENSE IN THEIR HEADS ,ALL WHAT THEY KNOW IS STEALING GHANA MONIES.

• komfo 9 years ago

Let the Northerners also pay for their education, it's long overdue.

• koko 9 years ago

who cares if u refuse to go to school.this shows that u guys went there because of the allowance.Education we all know is very expensive,so why complain if u re no more getting the allowance.Let those greedy politicians influ ...

• Edward 9 years ago

Both teacher trainees and nursing trainees were scrapped off, but now you have restored that's of nursing leaving teacher trainees. What do you take the teacher trainees for? All those posting negative comments..... I believ ...

• Harrican 9 years ago

U are a foolish fool some of us are having better grades than u do. But because of one or two things we find ourselves there. Even if we all decided to go to so called universities who will become a teacher. Don't sit in ur v ...

• Ruby 9 years ago

Ghanaian teachers are always on strike, no wonder Ghana is at the bottom of the world league table. Stop these silly strikes and go back to the classroom and teach. Teachers are suppose to be dedicated that is why you went in ...

• kofi k. 8 years ago

if u give the monkey a load to carry, u don't have to use cane on its back.

• Nenee 9 years ago

I guess they didnt write this themselves. Npp lyrics and age-long words all over. That is why u guys cant get what u want. Students dnt used such arrogance language to beg for their needs. You shd be more polite.

• I S. terema 8 years ago

please TTAG donot sabotage other people chance of earning a living in future. if you cannot pay as an individual so many are ready( even to properties such cows, farms etc ) to pay their wards fees just give the chance to som ...

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

why should the govt waste huge sums of money to train teachers who want to use the teaching profession as a stepping stone to pursue deir desired professions outside teaching.

• kojo boutrous 8 years ago

Our foolish ambitions can not seize the sucess of the struggling beings at teacher training who wants to get their allowances paid...i dont blame such ambitions because the wisdom of the world is associated with evil,corrup ...

• rose 8 years ago

All those saying foolish things about trainees my God will pay u .fools

• ysf 8 years ago

all those hu said teacher trainees shudnt b payed their allowance can go to hell......our course is still on. we will not stop fighting for what is ours.

• JJ 8 years ago

Amoakwa Boadu are u first class fool?
    what grade did u get.bring it out and we compare.do you think college is for fool like u. try it, and if u are mistakenly admitted I bet u one semester u are out.

• ABU 8 years ago

mmmh God save us bring back their allowance at least small amount to support the Education they even pay fees more than universities on Ghana