You are here: HomeNews2015 05 14Article 358071

Arthur K: Ghana’s position on OECD rankings shameful

Read Comments Comments (63)

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

Show us a single contribution of yours towards national development apart from being a chameleon. Hypocrite Arthur K.Your Lukewarm attitude will always expose the content of your thinking. If you want to learn politics, go to ...

• KWEKU MFANTSE 9 years ago

Arthur Kennedy, tell us what you have done for Ghana!! All what you have been interested in for Ghana is to become the nation's president. When you failed to achieve that aim, you relocated back to America!! Couldn't you have ...

• MT 9 years ago

Arthur Kennedy is million times better thinker than most NPP members including Akufo Addo and Kuffour etc he chose wrong party for reason he only knows

• KWEKU MFANTSE 9 years ago

MT, if Arthur K is a million times better thinker than most NPP members, then how did he choose the wrong party? I would expect that he would use his superior thinking capability to choose the right party in the first place. ...

• okotomogya 9 years ago

Thanks bro

• okotomogya 9 years ago

Good answer bro

• Kojo T 9 years ago

What can you expect when they are busy bleating instead of what they are paid to do.The chicken have come home to roost

• Yao 9 years ago

Teachers, parents, and the bureaucrats must be held responsible.

• Emeka 9 years ago

Why insult the man? He talk abt de issue and again he outline a way forward on how to solve dem. Ma guy dont just get up and insult.

• True Ghanaian 9 years ago

It’s the corrupt and dubious so called Ghanaian leaders like Akuffo Addo who bribe and sneak their way to the helms of TOP JOBS without the relevant qualifications who are making Ghana’s education irrelevant and hence a ...

• OPEEELEEE 9 years ago

Your Rawlings is O'Level failure. From Achimota Secondary school to Legon is just a stone throw, and your Rawlings could not go to Legon because your Rawlings is not intelligent. 'Wee smoking has melt your Rawlings brain. He ...

• Anokware 9 years ago

Onipaba know that when you are diagnosed to be ill by a Doctor and you doubt it, you will go home and die

• Yao 9 years ago

Dear Mr. Kennedy,
    Well done and we need real consensus of both the diaspora and the totality to have a good dialogue on this matter.
    Thank you.

• Brian Williams 9 years ago

The blame squarely lies with JJ Rawlings. He fucked up the education system. He is the father of all evil.

• JKK 9 years ago

We should not misread the figures. The sample was only 76 - a third of all countries in the world. Ghana is certainly NOT the last in the World - just in this unrepresentative sample made up mostly of European countries.

T ...

• BSB 9 years ago

Please do not try to cover up our problems with the issue of two thirds of the nations being not examine.
    Look ,we must be frank, our education system isnt good because
    our colonial masters gave us only grammatical edu ...

• JKK 9 years ago

BSB, I agree with you that our educational system is bad and we need to improve it urgently. But we don't know of this because of the OECD study. My point is that we should not read the report and come to the conclusion that ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 9 years ago

This man wants to live in Ghana but he is scared of mahama's dumsor and apart from that he has not got enough money to look after himself if he travels to Ghana. wagyimi yie look at his mouth it tells you that he is stupid ma ...

• RINGO 9 years ago

Sitting in US and always criticizing again.

• Amanie 9 years ago

Arthur K, I hope this is no the making of Nana Addo since you always blame everything on him.

• Joe Cisco 9 years ago

Doctor, Bravo!!! Please, don't ever be deter by peoples' comments, but when a heart is touched or enriched by your constructive writings, as mine is.Then be assured that, your motives have been fulfilled.Continue to do what y ...

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

Dr. my behind. This guys position makes no sense. LET HIM TELL US HOW MANY NATIONS ARE IN THE WORLD. When u look at the list it only tells 76 nations, how many of the nations are from Africa? dont be fooled with this report.

• Ada Boy 9 years ago

The result was pre-ordained,because on every socio-economic indicator Ghana already ranks below the nations in the survey. South Africa,more than Ghana should be licking their wounds for the horrific result despite their vast ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

This Arthur Kennedy is one useless man he needs to come home and see how young men and women are doing in Ghana with out going and hide in America talking nonsense about what is going in the country he thinks like he is Amer ...

• Rebbeca kofi wonsoh 9 years ago

Dear Doctor, thank you so much for shedding light on this issue. I apologize on behalf of my stupid Ghanaians(not all), most of them are brain dead. You are aware there is no electricity and as such they cannot literally enga ...

• apuuu 9 years ago

This Arthur Kennedy is one useless man he needs to come home and see how young men and women are doing in Ghana with out going and hide in America talking nonsense about what is going in the country he thinks like he is Amer ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

When the illiterate PNDC changed the Educational system to the so-called JSS, some of us screamed loudest about the destruction that was going to cause. The revolutionaries claimed their revolution was going to create graduat ...

• Kay 9 years ago

That's the sad case of a nation whose citizens don't think but worship it leaders.Ghanaian students cannot even compete with fellow African students bcos of this Scottish bastard.

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

Yes the Scottish bastard indeed, he is the cause of our country's nosedive. He used to closed higher education for a year or more just to benefits his selfish needs. P/NDC if people know their evil intents will not follow tha ...

• Osofo 9 years ago

You are enjoying life in America and talking shit. Go home and help

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

Telling people to go home to the darkness when all sectors of the economy are failing at an alarming rate?

• Daniel 9 years ago

The JSS concept needs to be further reformed. The basic level shd up to SHS. The S HS shd last for 4 yrs. Let's keep to policies not party manifesto.

• Skains 9 years ago

Arthur Kennedy, what do you expect? The typical Ghanaian likes unrestrained, woolly democracy far more than cultural discipline. Quality education is also a matter of the right culture in practice.

• Sulemana Issah 9 years ago

Why don't you come to Ghana and also teach in the jhs as you are advocating?i can infer from your comments that you are an egoist(thinking about yourself alone) thus, if you are not accorded recognition in Ghana then Ghana i ...

• Atta Kay 9 years ago

If someone has anything against this man it shouldn't be on this article. Man. Let's think about our children a bit.

• James Kofi Dzandu, PhD 9 years ago

The grades are in and Ghana has an F. Do not blame the students or the educational system. The buck should stop at the Ghana academy of arts and sciences. The body was created to encourage acquisition, dissemination and utili ...

• Rebbeca kofi wonsoh 9 years ago

Dear Doctor, thank you so much for shedding light on this issue. I apologize on behalf of my stupid Ghanaians(not all), most of us are brain dead. You are aware there is no electricity and as such we cannot literally engage t ...

• KT 9 years ago

Yes, Arthur K, you got it right.From mahama, down to almost all his ministers and party functionaries from the north, enjoyed free education.now they are rather pushing for electricity to be paid by tertiary student.quite iro ...

• stephen k 9 years ago

you are very intelligent. we need people like you to be leading the country and not that old man. thank you sir.

• Birikorang Michael of Asamankese 9 years ago

I like Arthur K concerns and the solutions he has given

• K. Gyansah Nuakoh 9 years ago

Hon Arthur K,

The rottenness is from kindergarten to the university. The whole education system needs complete overhauling. The lecture notes used by some of my lecturers, including the famed Dr. Afari Gyan, have not chang ...

• proactive 9 years ago

Ghana schools in singing, noise making and religion classes. I leave near schools in Accra and experience it since my childhood. This is contra productive. Ghana must invest more in skill training and sciences instead of bibl ...

• Yussif Fuseini 9 years ago

It's so shameful that those who benefited from Dr Kwame Nkrumah,s good educational policies are the very people opposing it today. The sometimes ll say with pride without shame that,their time they were 2 in a room and everyt ...

• GROW OF LIBYA 9 years ago

this man is making sense here, ghana needs people like this to move forward God bless you. And why are you trying to politis him shaaaam

• Nii 9 years ago

This man is confused when did he talk about education on air. He always attack nana akufo Addo. As good citizen you to talk national issues not attacking one person. He should start talking about national issues then what he ...

• Elisabeth Serwaa Ampem 9 years ago

idiot leave Ghanaians alone!U are a disgrace to academics.Kwasea

• kojo nzo ekangaki 9 years ago

Note,implicitly,Ghana fifth best in Africa in education!!!

• Esi Mansa 9 years ago

Mr. Prof Arthur K, are you not in the educational field? Come hone eh and help! Otherwise shut up wherever you are. Come down and help straighten the country up. Leave your life of comfort abroad and come down and struggle w ...

• OMAN BAPA 9 years ago

THAT MAN IS SICK,ASSHOLE,HE SHOULD SHUT UP,FOOOLISH MAN LIKE HIM

• Ideology 9 years ago

Is this relevant at all and tell me when has a developing nation as ours placed in a good position. Cheap political comments.

• Anokware 9 years ago

Ideology you are an enemy of progress. You do not have Ghana at heart. You have forgotten our children of the future.Enjoy, die and go ideology.

• Aponkyekrakra 9 years ago

When Ghana was investing in football for some few individuals to steal the money in Brazil, Singapore and others were investing in Education. Knowledge is power.Ghanaians hate the truth. Authur Kennedy is telling the truth

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

This is what P/NDC and NDC are hoping for and they have achieved their objectives. The P/NDC objectives is sink our education to a level where by only a few can educated their children just for their own political gain. Unles ...

• BSB 9 years ago

You are a good person .keep it up.

• Anokware 9 years ago

The Government should invest more in Education but not in Football. Sayooooo

• YAO GBADEGBE 9 years ago

YOU ALL THESE THINGS ARE GOING ON DUE TO THE CLUELESSNESS OF MAHAMA AND HIS NDC BUT U CHOOSE TO SAY UNTRUTHS ABOUT NANA ADDO. WHO TOLD U THAT NANA IS PLANNING TO OUST AFOKO, AGYEPONG OR ANYBODY? THE WORK OUTPUT, DIRECTION AND ...

• Ebenezer Akwetey Josiah 9 years ago

MAY THERE BE ROSE IN YOUR MOUTH!

• Ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

Akufo addo is short n ugly n JDM is nt , JDM hv vission n akufo addo is vissionless , akufo addo is useless n JDM is useful n akufo addo is a bastard n JDM is nt

• Mohammed Saani Iddrisu 9 years ago

Arthur you have said id all bravo

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

You are a traitor.

• Tweaa bio 9 years ago

THIS LOSER IS REALLY AN ATTENTION GRABER. IF HE IS THAT SMART WHY DID OPOKU WARE SCHOOL REJECTED HIS APPLICATION. KWASEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kofi 9 years ago

If Ghana, the lowest ranked country, achieved basic skills for all its 15-year-olds, the report says that it would expand its current GDP by 38 times, over the lifetime of today's youngsters.

Only a minority of countries i ...

• komme 8 years ago

At least most Singaporeans I studied with abroad went back home to help develop their country. They are not as pathetic as you Dr. Kennedy who stays elswhere and expect others to develop Ghana for you to only come and enjoy. ...