Students give gov’t 48hr ultimatum to withdraw utility bills

Read Comments Comments (83)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 10 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. JUST LOOK AROUND; CAN'T YOU SEE? JUST OPEN YOUR EARS; CAN'T YOU HEAR? IS THIS THE GHANA K4 HAND ...

• Mwalimu 10 years ago

They are clearly not students of the English language.

• Truth 10 years ago

Ghanaians must rise up especially tertiary students n workers with continuous massive demonstrations to force out this highly corrupt and most incompetent Mahama Family & Friends govt. Ghana is surely collapsing at a fast rat ...

• Citizen 10 years ago

If you call Ghanaian foolish voter then I guess u are also foolish because you are a Ghanaian yourself. Is only the inresponsible who don't want to pay for what he use. Nothing good comes for free unless its drugs money fro ...

• MOTHER GHANA 10 years ago

I'm baffled as to the nature of the English used here. It's sad to see student leaders write English like ostriches with their heads in the sand. What a shame! And there are three or four signatories to it - all of them blind ...

• vigour 10 years ago

Theses students should read more about the global economy than esorting to demonstration. All over the world, students for utility and I am wondering how govt can continue to offer free water and electricity. God help Ghana a ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

You need to read about Global economy. In many countries, students of tertiary institutions pay for their utilities. Now, let me tell you this. In such countries, High school students can have jobs even while still in school. ...

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 10 years ago

Useless students, you have nothing better to offer the nation

• Ekow 10 years ago

NDC is destroying the country at a faster pace than you guys can think of

• TAFLATS3 10 years ago

I told you so. You see that the students of the University of Ghana and the Univ. of Cape Coast did not sign the letter ?. They are the NDC moles and spies among the Ghanaian students. Students here are promised lucrative job ...

• AVIO 10 years ago

THE CORRUPT MAHAMA GOVT SPECIALIZE ONLY IN PROPAGANDA AND LIES AND THIEVERY WHILST MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS CONTINUE TO SUFFER

• Richie 10 years ago

UCC has no src president currently am sure that's y they didn't sign we are fully behind our brothers.

• Efo Paapa 10 years ago

Government should as well ask students not to pay utility bills at home.

• OSEI MANU 10 years ago

NO, YOU ARE WRONG TAFLATSE. THE LEGON AND CAPECOAST STUDENTS ARE OF MATURE MINDS AND WOULD NOT JUST JUMP INTO SAYING YES TO ANY IRRESOINSIBLE ACT. WHY SHOULD THEY FOLOW KNUST AND OTHERS? ONLY GOOD CITIZENS AND RESPONSIBLE PEO ...

• Sigma 10 years ago

how can ndc bring free education to shs

• Nana Effah 10 years ago

Who is ruling Ghana, students or the Government?

• JERRY 10 years ago

MAHAMA LOST ALL BASE OF SUPPORT THE MAN GOT NO CREDIBILTY LEFT

• HON SHAMO 10 years ago

THE FREE EDUCATION HAS TURNED TO PAYING UTILITY BILLS ? OKUJETO YOU HAVE EVERYTHING FREE, LOOTING GHANA FREE AND YOU WANT STUDENTS TO SUFFER? Kwasea like you

• soale Ahmed 10 years ago

this is genuine incompetence , we can afford to accept this , our education can not be compromise for incompetency

• Amidini 10 years ago

Prez Mahama should take a bold decision and make gov't pay utilities else NDC will exit power 2016. The university authorities wanted to take this opportunity to cheat students for their personal own interest. Prez should che ...

• Luther Kings 10 years ago

if I am government, I will implement this policy. those championing this call are only 30% of the student population. if fees are increased and the 30% students population will not pay, they can choose to stay at home. for cr ...

• Amidini 10 years ago

Pls you must use the social media wisely and prudently, think of the poor in society, more than 30% of these students pay their own fees any additional burden will deny so many students to access education.

• vim vim vim 10 years ago

no wonder u ar called luther

• Amidini 10 years ago

You must fight for your right if not the poor will deny access to education. All students should support ur leaders to approve to gov't that they re go at the wrong path.

• Boateng 10 years ago

You have the right to be poor but you have no right to demand that someone foot your utility bills! Does the Government have to pay the bills of the poor in the population? My poor Dad still have to pay his bills!

You ...

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 10 years ago

Government and students should be well connected. You can't produce quality graduate by subjecting them under diuress. Let Mahama and his associates eat back their own pile of dung they heaped at us.

• Boateng 10 years ago

Akyem, this is a capitalist Country! It is not a Socialist/Communist country! You need to be responsible you your bills.

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 10 years ago

Amazing. What happened to your socialist ideology? Lol. Tell the truth that, you are tired and run out of useful ideas for sustainable solution. Your propaganda caught up with you. Your Mills and Mahama went around trumpeting ...

Then why the promise of Free High school, sanitary pads, Free Sandals? The government needs to be truthful to the people. High school students in the Capitalist West go to school for free and the poor are fed for free. Do you ...

• AT00 10 years ago

Ei Ghana. What are these students saying? Education is not a welfare commodity , it is expensive. It is because you guys are paying peanuts that is why you graduate with nothing. Go outside and see what they pay for universit ...

• Albert 10 years ago

Outside? There are lots of countries with free education and yet uncompromised quality. If we can afford free SHS, I believe we can make it better rather than having much.

• Boateng 10 years ago

Albert, how many Ghanaians pay taxes? How do you expect the Government to provide you free everything! Ghanaians must wake up and face the realities of life!

• Efo Kwaku Canada 10 years ago

Asking about taxes? How much money your NDC idiots administration has borrowed? How much money Tema harbour alone can give to gov't coffers, where is the oil money? I am leaving in Alberta Canada, where we don't pay provincia ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

You are 48 years old Ghanaian resident in Canada? You are enjoying freebees even in Canada and you are bragging? You poor soul. Someone in Canada is paying the taxes so you can enjoy. And you sit there in Canada enjoy ...

• GB 10 years ago

ASK BAWUMIA AND APPAK WHETHER THEY DID NOT PAY UTILITY BILLS WHILE AT SFU IN BC.
    AND IF YOU RECEIVE 1000 FROM ALBERTA DO OTHER PROVINCES HAVE THE SAME?
    I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT WHAT YOU ARE SAYING HERE IS HALF THE STORY. YOU ...

• GB 10 years ago

I EVEN UNDERSTAND IT IS IN ALBERTA ALL YOU GHANAIANS SHAME ALL ALL GHANAIANS. THE GUY WHO WENT SLEEPING WITH THOUSNADS OF GIRLS IN TAMALE AND POSTING THEM ON INTERNET LIVES IN ALBERTA.

Every Ghanaian who buys something or in serious business pays tax. Have you forgotten about VAT so soon?

• Boateng 10 years ago

Average of $50,000.00 per year here in the USA and you have to find the means if you want to be educated. These kids must grow and their sponsors have to educate them that Ghana is not a welfare State.

• muller 10 years ago

All these fools are NPP guys who got their post by rigging election most especially Duke Susu of knust

• Shata 10 years ago

The problem with the system we have as Ghanaians is that, we expect government to do everything. Clean your surroundings - government; Work - government and so on. That said though this Mahama led NDC is a big disappointment/ ...

• Earl Jones 10 years ago

what kind of people do we have in the NDC led government that they can not get this simple timing right.
    Tweaa!
    You are in an election year and you decide to do everything possible to get yourself out of government.

Can' ...

• Your Lordship 10 years ago

I highly disagree with the students. Education is no longer a free commodity these days. Go outside and see how students pay huge bills. None complain. However the approach the state takes and the way the message was presente ...

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

THIS IS TYPICAL ARROGANCE OF "COLONIAL MENTALITY" OF OUR STUDENTS. THEY THINK LEARNING LATIN, ECONOMICS OF DEVELOPED WORLD, RELIGION, ENTITLES THEM TO FREE EVERYTHING. THEIR COUNTERPARTS WORKING AS MESSANGERS AND DRIVERS PAY ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Politians should no longer be given free housing, free cars, free gas, free house help allowance, free everything.

• KOFI 10 years ago

FOR RENT-SINGLE BEDROOM APARTMENTS WITH
    /WITHOUT AIR-CONDITION,WITH SATELLITE/ CABLE TV LINKS,WATER HEATER IN BATHS AND OTHER MODERN FACILITIES IN QUIET AND CLEAN TANTRA HILLS.

PLEASE CALL: 020 297 1629

• Kabu James 10 years ago

Non-sense. You better give ultimatum to your mediocre lecturers and your sub-standard intellectual standards as compared to your counterparts in the rest of the world. You cannot compete with the rest of the world, you always ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Tell those kids!

• KOFI 10 years ago

FOR SALE(ASSORTED GOODS):
    1. 3 in 1(COPIER,FAX &INTEGRATED PHONE)
    SET PANASONIC-MADE IN JAPAN,NEW.
    2. OVAL THICK STAINLESS STEEL KITCHEN-
    SINKS SET-MADE IN SWEDEN,NEW.
    3. SHOCK-PROOF HAGAR NEW ELECTRICITY
    DISTR ...

• JERRY 10 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU KIDS WE ARE WITH YOU OOO

• fred 10 years ago

govt officials don't pay utility bills, they have free fuel, they don't pay rent. infact they have got everything free and they want students to pay utility bills, they should be ashamed for what they are doing.

Fred- Because they are getting everything free even when there were in the universities that is why they can not manage anything well. Students should start paying and I believe they will put up thier thinking caps. They have ...

Those guys with the highest paid in Ghana have everything free why? A mayor is leaving with his parents here in Canada because nothing is free as rich as they are, you gets cheques why don't you pay your own bills, every rat ...

• Stoway 10 years ago

These guys are ignorant and I bet the reason the KNUST SRC PREZ, UEW Winneba PRES did not sign. Let this come from NUGS and they will be taken seriously.

• Kwesi 10 years ago

If the politicians know better, they should show the way by paying everything themselves

• Vote them out 2016 10 years ago

I tell you student, to take your own destiny in your hands, if you allow this, then many more will come from this clueless & visionless Govert,in some countries is student like you guys who liberate nations, is now your turn ...

• TAFLATS3 10 years ago

You see that the bstudents of the University of Ghana and the Univ. of Cape Coast did not sign the letter ?. They are the NDC moles and spies among the Ghanaian students. Students here are promised lucrative jobs after gradua ...

• Kurea 10 years ago

Taflatse, your thinking is shallow and concave. How did you arrive at this hasty conclusion? You do not know that a spy for the government could still sign the petition?

• Stoway 10 years ago

By TALATS3's analogy those who signed it belong to NPP and opposition parties then. Is disagreement to issues now gone in Ghana? I bet you, they probably are the best student leaders with open mind students should follow.

• ANKOBEA-HENE 10 years ago

THESE VERY STUDENTS WILL ONE DAY ASK THEIR GRAND KIDS TO PAY FOR UTILITIES.

I agree 100% with you. Some top government and public officials who suggested this policy once demostrated over quality of food served them at the univeristies at thier time in the universities in the 70s

• Kurea 10 years ago

But are majority of them who are not in residence not paying these bills already in their places of residence? Is the majority of the students who are cry or the minority?

NDC and stupidity decision are twins and this idiots administration is promising Ghanaians with free education? NDC has borrowed money than all the past administrations yet because of looting and share policies they are still ...

• Mansa 10 years ago

Just mobilise to kick out governemnt.Aluta will get to nothing

Where is the free education policy that Mahama useless NDC administration talks about? Is it the beginning of the free education plan?for students to pay utilities bills in Ghana, talk is cheap but to implement good policies ...

• FACT 10 years ago

The $55million dollars looted by the Mahama NDC appointed BOST team, could have paid for utility bills in this country for perpetuity if that amount was just invested and the returns used solely for utility bills.
    But what d ...

• frankilo 10 years ago

no worries at all de same people who voted for akuffo addo to loose 2008 and 2012 elections will vote for him to loose and 2016 election. we will also vote for Jm to win 2016 as we did in 2012.

• vim vim vim 10 years ago

we are behind you fellow students......... fire burn this wicked policy.......

• Bro Kofi. 10 years ago

Stupip and selfish students. Stop using th electricity to do ur personal business. Wen u go to campuses now, some student are using high voltage refregerators to sell pure water, bisap, different kinds of drinks, youghourt an ...

• Honesty 10 years ago

Imagine I share a room with a very wasteful colleague, who is going to pay for the bills and what method will be used to determine the bills.
    Why don't the govt introduce energy saving and institutions adopting self energy g ...

• Ananse sem 10 years ago

As the constitution demands, Ghanaians are entitled to quality and affordable education. Paying utility bills will encumber the students adversely. The simple fact is the government has lost its touch so lacks the aptitude to ...

• Kwaku Amexo 10 years ago

Why Ghanaians feel entitled? In a free market society which Ghana has chosen, every citizen has to be responsible for him or herself. You can't expect government to take care of your life and not control your life.
    When you ...

• Kwamina Andrews 10 years ago

Nobody pays for anything in Ghana and yet we expect things to work. We are financially primitive in our thinking. The cost of a utility must always go to the user. If you shower with water, who should pay for it? If it is not ...

• geo dk 10 years ago

Ndc supporters must warn the government b4 they lose the students votes.

• OXYGEN 10 years ago

So where is the oil's money? OW GHANA ...HMMMMMM

• Kwaku Amexo 10 years ago

Can anybody tell me why nobody wants to pay for anything but depend on government. Students will be more responsible for utilities if they pay for them. You can't expect government to give you everything free when you don't w ...

• Oboye 10 years ago

Mahama and his father enjoyed free education back in the days when we did not have oil. You and your so call ndc have sent your kids to have education in abroad. Do you call this better Ghana agenda or bitter Ghana agenda. Sh ...

• PAPSON 10 years ago

The Tani had free education ,and till this day his people are still enjoying free education to university level. Wiles those in the south continue to pay fees. I give the students my full support not to pay the utility bills. ...

• HON SHAMO 10 years ago

YET HE IS ENJOYING EVERYTHING FREEEEE, LOOTING GHANA, HERE AND THERE, AND HE WANT STUDENTS TO PAY BILLS? KWASEA LIKE THAT
    E

• OMANBA 10 years ago

Students warning the government to do what?Even TV licences ghanaians do not pay.Ghanaians are damn irresponsible.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Is NDC a Socialist Party as they claim? Wonders will never cease.

• moses 10 years ago

thieves; their charging it for their own pocket!!!!!

• Ato 10 years ago

Can the university students write clear, good english? I cannot make sense of their statement without reading a sentence twice or three times over.

• Awal 10 years ago

These npp clones hiding behind the position of student leadership. My src president signed, funny how the guy who bought a bus @ 2.5 billion old cedis when the bus itself isn't more than 1.2 billion cedis on the manufacturer' ...