You are here: HomeNews2015 04 27Article 356091

Ghanaians to smile soon - Terkper assures

Read Comments Comments (116)

• cha 9 years ago

After 7yrs these incompetent liars and stealing regime continue to think Ghanaians are fools- kick them out next year

• OB 9 years ago

"Cha another NPP Foolish boy"!keep on fooling around with your so called god Nana Addo!!!

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

If wishes were fishes we would all be throwing nets. If wishes were horses we would all ride. If the assurance of economic boom in the near future is coming from this incompetent administration we would all witnessing this ec ...

• Jimmy 9 years ago

This good for nothing man still have angle talk after putting pains and hardships in so many ways in Ghanaians?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. JUST LOOK AROUND; CAN'T YOU SEE? JUST OPEN YOUR EARS; CAN'T YOU HEAR? IS THIS THE GHANA K4 HAND ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Discrimination starts here:
    ''We have been vice presidents for far too long, it is time you make one of your own president.'' John Mahama
    WHAT ARE THE REST OF US TO JOHN MAHAMA?

inefficiency and corruption is the hallmar ...

• Paa T 9 years ago

Seth Terkper is one of the finest Finance Ministers Ghana has ever had, if not the best. Some of his policies may not be popular but they are better for the country. Seth, Keep up the good work.

• kk 9 years ago

We are not as fools us you Togoleses in the ndc think we are. Say that to your village folks in Togo

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

Listen to that big fool so called finance minister? A nation that exploits oil not less than 3 yrs and you have quickly ran to seek support from IMF and listen to what you are saying? TERKPER, where did you learn your account ...

• Charlie 9 years ago

What food at all do you eat? It's been SEVEN YEARS, I mean 7 good years. Ie NDC handing over to NDC!!!, and you are now being told this and you believe it? GOD SAVE MOTHER GHANA!!

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Mr Terkper is either deluding himself or deceiving Ghanaians. When Ghana cannot provide regular and sufficient supply of electricity, how, when and where would Ghanaians see improvement in their daily lives? The economy canno ...

• Mends, K 9 years ago

Please Hypocrite Ata, if oil solves dum sor Nigeria would have lights 360 days a year non stop OK? Do you know the magnitude of oil Nigeria exports and does not have lights? Ghana is a holiday resort for rich Nigerians OK? So ...

• Ashanti Alliance 9 years ago

you r a stupid person jx to be following some party and pretend all is well in the country. foolish man

• ogyam 9 years ago

Stupid boy. What do you see in this govt.

• ELINAM 9 years ago

TEKPE the IMF/WB slave.

• Contemporary Youth 9 years ago

He said the country’s new oilfield, offshore Tweneboa, Enyenra and Ntomme (TEN) project, is expected to deliver its first oil in June 2016 with a production rate of 80,000 barrels of oil per day.

Ghana’s economy has be ...

• Uncle Pee 9 years ago

TEKPE IS A FAILED FINANCE MINISTER. HE MAY BE A GOOD MAN WITH GOOD INTENTIONS, BUT HIS POLICIES HAS WRECKED OUR DEAR NATION. MAHAMA, PERSONALLY IS A NICE GUY, BUT THE TASK OF GOVERNING A COUNTRY IS TOO MUCH FOR HIM, HENCE HIS ...

• Kwabena Ansa 9 years ago

Mr. Terkper, What is wrong with you and do you even seriously think through stupid statements you make?
    A statement like " Ghanaians to smile soon" is stupid and irresponsible to make considering the six hard and suffering y ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

How are we going to have an economic boom without an electricity to power our few factories in business?

This is one of those empty promises this useless Mahamah government has been using to keep Ghanaians hope alive.

T ...

• Constructivist 9 years ago

These guys are confused, which is the home grown policy, is it the IMF controlled and dictated conditions being implemented he's calling home grown? Hmmmmm!!!

• KK 9 years ago

What have you been doing all along making Ghanaians to wail? You guys are indeed a funny lot. But I don't blame you. They say a people deserve their government. And a majority of Ghanaians are purported to have "voted' for yo ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

ISN'T THIS KWABENA AGYAPONG BOY WENT TO THAT REGION DURING THE (EBOLA) OUTBREAK AND DECLARED THAT, THE REGION'S BORDER IS SPREADING (EBOLA) INTO GHANA? AS IF THE REGION IS NOT PART OF GHANA? NANA AKANFUO BINADDO AND HIS TRIBE ...

• MAHAMA 9 years ago

Good Job NDC, 2016 all the way!

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

You are as sick as Terkper.
    You are a sick and incompetent man.
    Do you know the number of small businesses that have collapsed due to your silly decisions and policies?
    Do you know the number of families that have broken ...

• jaja 9 years ago

look at this bankrupt minister what is he telling ghanaians after flodding the whole country with chinese goods and the local companies folding up?

• Kay Agyapong 9 years ago

After the IMF loan,this is the nasty word the government is telling us.They are now telling us the cedi will be sustained with the use of the oil project?What exactly is the essence of the first batch of the loan to the bank ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

Only a stupid economist like Terpkeh will raise tax rates when the economy is sinking. No wonder industries are collapsing.

• KWAA 9 years ago

Why this Government thinks,they can turn things around because of the IMF $114 Million,whiles they couldn't do anything with $27Billion is a mystery to me.With the hardships in the Country affecting almost everybody,it would ...

• Oboye 9 years ago

You can say that again KWAA, mahama and the so call ndc are taking Ghanaians for a ride. NDC and it's supporters are the most useless subject Ghana have had. Stupid people support ndc

• Jacob 9 years ago

What is this nonsemse that tekper is telling us? Fifi Kwetey told as time upon time that the NDC government since 2009 was adopting prudent measure to build the economy. He claimed that they inherited a collapse economy. But ...

• ASHANTI ORIGINAL 9 years ago

Terque, your ewe-NDC cannot fool all Ghanaians all the time. This inept, incompetent ewe-NDC government was handed a robust and healthy economy in 2009 and has run it down through incompetence, stealing, corruption and nepot ...

• Before & After 9 years ago

You and your your friends have been smiling since came into power. God is watching all of you.

• makaamaka 9 years ago

heeerrrrrr seth what?????? listen to ur self.....nkontompo paaaa nie

• BUILSA KANJARGA 9 years ago

We don't trust u any longer, all we r waiting for is 2016 so we boot u out of office, we have had enough of ur lies and propaganda

• Adjua 9 years ago

After spending our $27bn with nothing to show but an economy in tatters, you want to lay your hands on the small oil stabilisation fund too? Don't touch it. I bet you've already started planning on how you will spend the proj ...

• TEE 9 years ago

IT. THANK GOD MAHAMA WILL NEVER SEE THAT DAY PERIOD

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA WOULD BE JAIL BY 2017 PERIOD

• SEEK, Berekum 9 years ago

YOUR FATHER AND MOTHER WOULD BE JAILED NOT MAHAMA. IDIOT.

• SM4LYF 9 years ago

Only a fool support NDC

• AGBEVE ,,, 9 years ago

Our problems arel about mismanagement ,,, Ghana don't need IMF to survive ,,,,,, we have everything, ,,, MISMANAGEMENT IS NDC s problem,,,,,,,,....period, ,,

THAT IS NOT TRUE. MISMANAGEMENT IS NOT NDC'S PROBLEM. IT IS GHANA'S PROBLEM. WHEN PEOPLE DECIDE THAT THEY WILL MAKE A COUNTRY UNGOVERNABLE AND THEY ARE DOING JUST THAT, HOW CAN YOU BLAME A PRESIDENT.

• Ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

He smoke n lungs now spoiled n by the end of this year he will die n go to hell

• Joe Adjei 9 years ago

YOU ARE REAL JOKER. ONLY IN AFRICA FOR THAT MATTER GHANA CAN A MINISTER OF STATE MAKE THIS CHILDISH COMMENT.
    MUCH OF THE PROBLEMS GHANAIANS ARE FACING ARE AS A RESULT OF THE CORRUPT, INEPT,USELESS AND INEFFICIENT GOVT.IN POW ...

• Adjabitiase 9 years ago

If NDCievers are group of Whales I don't think they can swallow€27 billion.

• Adjabitiase 9 years ago

If NDCievers are group of Whales I don't think they can swallow$27 billion.

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

IDIOT Terkper. !!! So our nation needed only $900million to make the people of Ghana smile , eh !! So why blow $27billion in three years. Thieves ! every buglar have a way of defense even when caught red-handed. Posterit ...

• Tibaa 9 years ago

It will never turn into yams. My grandma told me about a story of how parents kept their kids staying afloat during times of famine: a mother will put stones in a cooking pot and instruct the kids to sit around it while she g ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 9 years ago

THIS IS WHAT THE BRITS CALL "GRIN AND BEAR IT". GHANAIANS WILL SMILE, NOT BECAUSE OF PROSPERITY, BUT BECAUSE NDC LIES AND PROPAGANDA WILL, WHILE THE SUFFERING SWELLS AROUND MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS.

• Kockola 9 years ago

What reassurance we need due diligence rather than IMF bail out.

• Joe 9 years ago

It is only after Nana is sworn in as President after his landslide victory In 2016 that will bring smiles on the faces of Ghanaians. Time will tell.

• kk 9 years ago

let the money be dropping in Ghana . waa waa waa. Ghanaians will still suffer.

You no why, we have to change our attitude first. our ignorance.

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

THIS DUMMY SHOULD ASK NIGERIANS OR NIGERIA WHAT HAS BECOME OF THAT COUNTRY SINCE THEY STARTED EXPORTING CRUDE OIL AND NATURAL GAS.

GHANA BEING A BACKWARD AFRICAN COUNTRY WILL ALWAYS REMAIN A BACKWARD AFRICAN COUNTRY, EVEN ...

• DICK ATAA AYI 9 years ago

This Finance Minister is a colossal disgrace to the discipline that qualified him to hold his position.
    He is clueless of the gravity of Ghana's financial disress and he is the right person to be described as a 'disgrace to ...

TERKPER IS FAR, FAR, FAR BETTER THAN THE MIDGET AKUFO ADO.

• Olu 9 years ago

The plan here if true is good. But are there anything safety shockers built into the plan if any economic shocks occur such as delay in loans etc?

• ADANKO 9 years ago

WE HAVE FORGOTTEN HOW TO SMILE. WE HAVE HAD TOO MUCH SUFFERING THROUGH YOUR LIES AND WE ARE JUST WAITING PATIENTLY TO BOOT OUT YOU AND YOUR MASTER LAIR MAHAMA AND NDC GANG. WE CERTAINLY NEED A CHANGE LIKE NIGERIA HAS DONE,

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

However, the Finance Minister said: “the economy would have collapsed by now if government did not put in place good measures to manage it well. Ghanaians need to give credit to the government for managing the shock.”
    Is ...

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

Do you know the number of small businesses that have collapsed due to your silly decisions and policies?
    Do you know the number of families that have broken due to your silly decisions ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

Who course it? So now what gear? Is better Ghana agenda picking up now? Or Senkyi economy plans which is kicking in? Unless NDC team B administration have nothing good to offer Ghanaians buddy, students are now paying utiliti ...

• Yussif Fuseini 9 years ago

Just speaking English in an English speaking country, this man Terkper is not practical since he took office. Always promising just like John Mahama, how can investors come when dumso is killing existing companies without any ...

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

Terkpe does not know what he is doing. He is very incompetent and as confused as his master, President John Mahama.
    Do you know the number of small businesses that have collapsed due to ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

God blessed brother, NDC always take Ghanaians for ride because of useless elders like Afari Djan and Atuguba who doesn't stand for the will of the people

• RULE BY LIES 9 years ago

Why not NOW instead of SOON? Another bogus promise from a Government that rules by lies !!!

• Abankaba 9 years ago

It is a shame. After IMF money now we will smile. Big sham they will squander this too with criminal activities

• CITI FM 9 years ago

Dr. Mahamadu Bawumia

The New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) vice presidential candidate, Dr. Mahamadu Bawumia is questioning the relevance of the Senchi Forum held in May 2014 since the decisions arrived at are yet to be implem ...

WHY WAS HE NOT AT SENCHI? IF HE IS WHAT HE CLAIMS TO BE, WHY DIDNT HE HONOUR THE INVITATION? MANAGING A COUNTRY IS NOT A " YOU AND I WERE NOT THERE "AFFAIR.
    IDIOT.

• CITI FM 9 years ago

IT IS A FREE COUNTRY. ONE HAS THE GOD GIVEN FREEDOM TO ACCEPT OR NOT TO ACCEPT, ESPECIALLY WHEN THOSE WHO SET THE FORUM UP ARE NOT SINCERELY IN THEIR MOTIVES, WHICH HAS PROVEN TO BE FALSE, CAUSING DR BAWUMIA TO RIGHTLY QUESTI ...

• Afari 9 years ago

Does the finance minister want to tell us Ghanaians that he does not know why he was given the position he holds? We expect him to drive the financial bus of Ghana so that it does not fall into a ditch. If he thinks driving i ...

• KWAME 9 years ago

You cannot grow economy to be resilient in one year which will not be artificial. There they go again with their usual promised, to manage the expectation of the people.

• James 9 years ago

Soon could be 5 years, 10 years and what have you.

NDC has told Ghanaians this same story for 7 years and the situation has only gotten worse!

We will vote you out!

• Sincerity 9 years ago

The only place left for NDC to survive is the rural areas where falsehood strives. Nana, please go and defuse the falsehood now or never. I will continue to knock at your door on this message until I hear you and your able me ...

THE "SO CALLED" NANA DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO SOLVE ANY PROBLEM. HE IS UNINTELLIGENT. ASK HIM TO MANAGE THE AGRIC SECTOR AND HE WILL PROVIDE CORN/ MAIZE SEEDLINGS. HE IS USELESS.

• YOLO 9 years ago

Massa how much is oil fetching now
    NYMEX.Only fools will believe you
    Hogwash

• Man of Character 9 years ago

Hahaha, hahaha, in the olden days people from Krobo don't lie. How come Kofi Seth Terkper is lying? Seth, are you a proper Krobo or you are half - half. Why can't you tell Ghanaians the truth and be free? Ok, we are watching ...

• Disillusioned Ghanaian 9 years ago

"Ghanaians need to give credit to the gov't for managing the the shock"; yes we can give you credit for the incompetent management of an economic downturn created by your administration.

• majestic 9 years ago

Fool, advise yourself. You told us the Cedi will stabilize/appreciate when the IMF money goes into the volts of the banks. What are we seeing barely 2 weeks after that money was released? Cedi depreciating more and more. Fool ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

This is no news; it's all window dressing. NDC gov't can't see their way ahead clear but won't stop telling stories. Get out of the Jubilee House and allow better team to take over. You've already destroyed everything Kuffour ...

• Kwabena Sitka 9 years ago

Loose talk and hopeless government

• Sincerity 9 years ago

The future is very very bleak. There is no miracle in economics. It is proper and sustain management for a long time.... not Ghanaians will smile soon.. at the fallen cedi or NDC

• Sincerity 9 years ago

The Whiteman knows Ghana has natural resources to pay any loan...hence GHANA IS ALREADY MORTGAGED AGAINST FUTURE GENERATION. ANY MAN OR WOMAN WHO WILL FOR NDC IS ALREADY CURSED BY FUTURE GENERATION AND THEIR CREATOR, THE ALMI ...

• Obiba Kwame 9 years ago

Are you serious or kidding, Tekper? You are building castles in the air.Since you were appointed a finance minister you have designed,inoculated and hatched unjudicious economic policies resulting in closing of businesses and ...

• ghanaba swe 9 years ago

Fuck off Mr. Minister

• josh 9 years ago

Ndc always talk about the future ,not De present , Mr minister we don't have light, stop ur bogos analogy

• Waaaajaaaa 9 years ago

We will change our vote next yr

• KTZ 9 years ago

If Ghana's economy gets better, it would be for a short time because our leaders are incompetent. The economy may get better of the IMF bail-out, and trust me things will get bad, maybe worst in five years because of corrupti ...

• Omanbapa 9 years ago

What's this man is taking about?.Ghanaians will never see the light till this create,loot and share ndc CRIMINALS are not in power.THIEVES.

• Yaw Owusu 9 years ago

Mahama / NDC and finance Minister Seth Terkper do not have a clue about what they are doing and saying.

• jdm 9 years ago

NDC , john mahama n dier empty promise plus assurances

• NO Time 9 years ago

Human beings stop insulting leaders the most important thing is, pls mr President pay us our arrears

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

FINANCE MINISTER,IT IS ONLY WHEN THE SO CALLED NOISY EDUCATED ARE CONVINCED OF THE IMPORTANCE SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION AND CREATIVITY AS ENGINE FOR ECONOMIC GROWTH, INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT,DYNANIC MANUFACTURING FIRMS TO STIMU ...

• Adu 9 years ago

Is this man crazy?

• dan 9 years ago

HOW MANY MORE PROMISES WHILE YOU GUYS STASH AWAY THE MILLIONS OF TAX PAYERS' MONEY

WILL TELL YOU WHERE THE 27 BILLION HAS GONE - INTO THE POCKETS OF MAHAMA, HIS FAMILY, HIS FRIENDS AND NDC APPARATCHIKS IN GOVERNMENT. JUST ...

• paa solo 9 years ago

Are Mahama and Terpker, did they go to school at all. What kind of leadership is this, with all the bonds issued, loans contracted and taxes collected, you send us to dumsor.You are thinking of oil money. This Mahama led admi ...

• National Agenda 9 years ago

Building castles in the air... Poor Finance Minister.

• iLive News#!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Ghanaians are considered as useless people. It's been 7YEARS from Mills to Mahama NDC handing over to NDC. govm't which has been blessed with so much revenue of: High Taxes, Oil, Timber, Cocoa, and unprecedented Loans. Yet it ...

• Plasma Kote 9 years ago

Please spare us the headache, the material is not worth reading.

• True patriot 9 years ago

After 6 goods yrs, ghanaians ve had nothing from this gov't except vain promises...i think it is abt tym Ghanaians told u and ur most corrupt president to shut up and consentrate on fixing this economy that u destroyed urself ...

• True patriot 9 years ago

Of course we will laugh soon after we ve voted u and ur clueless gov't out of power....the greatest mistake we ever did as a country was to allow u des nation wreckers to come to power to destroy our country...however one thi ...

• PAPSON 9 years ago

Kwasia, you think imf money can solve our problems? You must be joking. You are fooling your stupid supporters and no one else. Ugly useless idiot.

• joy 9 years ago

joke

• James 9 years ago

Wow a liar going to imf will make Ghanaian smile what a joke prepare to live come 2016. Ghanaian are ready to listen to lies.

• kpakpakpa 9 years ago

This Tekpeh man don't know his job as a finance minister... singing another political song to Ghanaians.. Ghanaians should open their eyes oo.

• Akwasi Nyame Adom 9 years ago

These criminals again.The only useful purnishment is firingsquard.The most dangerous government since Independence.Your days are surely numbered.

• Hard Listerners 9 years ago

Day dreamers and hypocrates. nation wreckers. there is absolutely no shame to them when they lie for it is now a natural part of them.

• Sam blay 9 years ago

How are ghanaians going to smile with dumsor killimg our business.

• Ogidigidi 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND CO WILL PUT GHANA INTO PIT.STUPID GOVERNMENT I HAV EVER WITNESS IN MA LYF

• komfo 9 years ago

Seth Tekper thinks Ghanians are fools. Because 2016 elections are around the corner he is coming out with such stories.
    NDC will go to opposition because of you Seth Terkper.

• Nothing 9 years ago

Useless minister and president. Fire burn you all . Stop doing political projects and transform the country. Stupid people.

• Yebopower 9 years ago

The Northerners and Ewes with their slave mentality has brought Ghana to its knees.Promises,smiles,fixes,solution etc whatever this NDC government says is all lies,deceit,conniving,fraud and thievery.This government must loos ...

• Seth A 9 years ago

Mr.Terkpe you are a disgrace to all finance ministers in the world. You promised to pay accumulated salary arrears so that at the end of April, 2015
    . Please may l remind you that you haver never started paying the said arre ...

• Lopez 9 years ago

Cheap talk. IMF conditionalities is what you call home-grown or what? If you have nothing to tell Ghanaians then just shut up and stop insulting our tolerance for your incompetency.

• Andy K- Kumasi 9 years ago

why sit down for the economy to break down before thinking of solving it? Prevention is better than cure Mr Minister! The African leader is selfish and desperately wicked. We cant get power to power to do our work and sit dow ...

• kj Adam 9 years ago

its about time we stope hyppocracy and help our selfless leaders to move our country to higher level and stope making undue comments about them, hail mother Ghana.

• Dr.William Acquah 9 years ago

Ghanaians are already in their graves waiting to be covered with soil and sand.You are a big liar.

• BB 9 years ago

I agree with you, I guess they'll be smiling in the grave!!! Wicked government.

• Mj 9 years ago

THERE ARE A LOT OF IDIOTS IN THE PRESIDENCY. WHAT THEY NO IS STEALING AND FUCKING YOUNG GIRLS. GOD PUNISH THEM ALL. FROM TOP TO THE GREEDY BASTARDS.