You are here: HomeNews2015 04 10Article 353929

Mermaid-like baby delivered at Suntreso Gov't Hospital

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Gerald 9 years ago

NO SUPERSTION HERE PLEASE

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 9 years ago

This are results of genetic modified, Mahama if you don't respond to this GM believe me you will fall flat 2016.

• The Ghanaian Nationalist 9 years ago

Simply a genetic defect. If it has no genitals why describe it as a he?

• just asking 9 years ago

Isn"t God described as he? Any evidence of genitalia?

• Nana 9 years ago

You fool! Would you dare say that about your pagan gods, your fetish priests, or the man the Muslims consider their prophet?

Why then, do you speak so foolishly about the Most High God who created Heaven and Earth? Pray t ...

• me 9 years ago

why not mention Jesus the lord of christians? that's absolute bias and stupidity.

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

Why mention Muslims here. You so foolish

• ghanaian 9 years ago

see dis dumb and speechlessly flat argument. u seem lyk an educated ilitrate for for ur stupid words

• The Fear of God Equals Wisdom! 9 years ago

People without faith are equally naturally sacrilegious. Why does anyone bring God here? That person must be a feminist to think God could be a woman. Jesus never said, "My Mother sent me." He never said, "In my Mother's hou ...

• Frank Bobie 9 years ago

The baby was not well formed in the womb or the mother had a lot of x-rays that is,the baby is no mermaid please!!!

• OB 9 years ago

YOU ARE VERY RIGHT!!

• Dark Chocolate 9 years ago

a lot of x-rays !! In Ghana? Dude, go home for 3 weeks

• Andrew Naija 9 years ago

X-rays are dangerously cheap in Africa and many people ignorantly do them multiple multiple times. I'm in a hospital and I know people first go to diagnostic labs before even seeing a doctor here in West Africa.

• NYARKO U.S.A. 9 years ago

YOU RIGHT FRANK . THIS IS NOT A MATTER OF A MERMAID. IT IS A BIRTH DEFECT RESULTING FROM NON MEDICAL ATTENTION DURING THE MOTHER'S PREGNANCY. IT IS VERY SAD SITUATION.
    THE PARENTS NEED GOVERNMENT ASSISTANCE TO SEEK PROPER ME ...

• Kay 9 years ago

Not fair to the parents.

• tooooooooooo serious 9 years ago

God is wonderful. this child should be named "MIRACLE" to show God's we indid serve a miraculous God.

• Freeman 9 years ago

@ toooooo serious don't mislead people by attributing this rare genetic or other medical deformity to God. You are not thinking critically at all. God is not real so don't start it.

• Adoma 9 years ago

GOD IS REAL MY DEAR. I PRAY GOD SHOULD OPEN YOUR EYES N HEART TO EXPERIENCE HIM

• K. MANU 9 years ago

Koo Freeman. I think l sacarstically agree with you that "GOD IS NOT REAL" to you because you "DON'T SEE HIM." Well, tell me, do you see the wind? Interestingly, the Bible prophesized about you in Psalm 14:1 even before you w ...

• Freeman 9 years ago

Religion is based on ancient jewish fairy tales of the biblical genesis authored by Moses. Creationism has been totally uprooted and destroyed by the scientific theory of evolution. Better believe in the fossil record and DNA ...

• Freeman 9 years ago

Religion is stupid and only fools who lack critical thinking skills still believe in ancient jewish fairy tales instead of physical reality. You need to receive scientific education of evolutionary biology to liberate yoursel ...

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Another Ashanti monkey has been delivered.

• Amankwa 9 years ago

What the article failed to mention is that the baby mother is a Fante and the Father is Ga. The maternal grandfather is Ewe. They just happen to live in Kumasi.

• Iona 9 years ago

Thank you. Stupid peacemaker and stupid Douglas are always insulting ashantes. They should read your comment.

• yaa 9 years ago

WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM? get some education, move away from these mean comments and whilst you are at it PLEASE GROW UP

• St Gascoigne 9 years ago

Ofui

• Re ckucks 9 years ago

u are just a stupid mahn to ever make this pathetic issue a tribal one. grow up and seek jesus to cleanse your soul. you are soooo dirty.

• annang 9 years ago

lol

• NYARKO U.S.A. 9 years ago

PEACEMAKER ,YOUR COMMENT MADE ME SICK IN MY STOMACH.
    HOW CAN A MAN WHO CALL YOUR SELF PEACEMAKER BEHAVE LIKE AN ANIMAL ,NO HEART LIKE THIS ? I WISH YOU WELL IN LIFE.

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

YOU DON'T FEAR GOD. WHAT IS YOUR TRIBE AGAIN? IT LOOK LIKE NDC GOAT!

• Iona 9 years ago

The parents could be ewes stupid man or woman. Ewes are full of juju and evil. Maybe this is one of your handy work. Evil monster ewes.

• Billy 9 years ago

Ghanaweb, such photos are uncalled for!

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

An old man walks into a bar and orders a beer. The bartender notices the guy's head is the size of a cue ball.

"I got to ask, sir," says the bartender. "What happened?"

The old guy sighs and tells him, "My ship was torp ...

• THEREALTRUTH 9 years ago

Stop by the stupid stories prince silly ,as usual not funny just sodomy! Perv

• Ellen Twumasi Owusuwaah 9 years ago

Dis world is really strange

• ABUBAKARI IBRAHIM W. 9 years ago

what shows that the baby is a he but nt she since it has no genitals

• Kbff 9 years ago

A typical maame wata ba

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

It is a human being with mother like you have. Please, reason well. It could have been you!

• ohyew 9 years ago

This is a complete violation of this baby's rights.Come on people! This is a defect for crying out loud .Exposing the naked body of the baby is the right way to go? Adding more pain to the parents and causing more depression ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

A cursory study of the child's ear lobe indicates that the brain of this child is highly developed and so every effort must be made to save the life of this child since the child will be a great asset to Ghana.

• SwingBattaBatta 9 years ago

Ahreed. There is no need to show the baby. This is wrong journalism and should not be allowed.

• Osofo 9 years ago

The defect cand be fixed. The legs can be separated and genitals created for her. I don't know why the story refers to her as "he."

• JOA 9 years ago

eeeeei dis is really mistry.Oh God hav mercy on all pregnant women. After nine months of pain. dis is wt a woman gets.Hmmmm

This is no mistry anyway. Worst happened after Hiroshima-Nagasaki bombings. We hope something will be done immediately.

• annang 9 years ago

lol what is your problem lol

• USMAN 9 years ago

A cursory study of the child's ear lobe indicates that the brain of this child is highly developed and so every effort must be made to save the life of this child since the child could be a great asset to Ghana.

• Mac Dic 9 years ago

Ohhh yes,.. If you look closely, there is a sea horse hiding by the side.

Dude, please send some of the weed you are smoking. One small bag should do the trick. Thank you.

Birth defects like this has many causes. One is that, sometimes the hormonal secretion that is needed to initiate tissue differentiation is not sufficient or are not produced at all due to gene shutdown or silencing. This lea ...

• Freeman 9 years ago

@ Onipaba You're right about your developmental biology analysis and suggestions. The surgeons will love to repair this baby's body in America. It is obvious that the baby has two legs which can be confirmed by X-ray but I ho ...

• PREKESE DIGITAL 9 years ago

One of the most educative quality explanation to the post. Thanks Onipaba...

• obed Adore 9 years ago

Guys, are we sure this is truly a Ghanaian baby? Or someone is just fooling around here? The hair and skin of this baby suggest of having a foreign parentage likely Chinese, European; definitely not of Ghanaian Black African ...

• dead goat 9 years ago

Good Obed,a lot of people so ignorant that they can't read facts.whilst they are at it,read all sort of meanings to it.frm seeing the photo,I knew this is not Ghanaian.nobody apart frm obed ciul see this.Hahahahaha somebody e ...

• Freeman 9 years ago

Obviously, the hair and skin are not African, appears to be oriental. Unless the dad is one of the many chinese in Ghana.

• wisdom kabutey 9 years ago

Oh God have mercy

• Nana 9 years ago

Poor innocent child. May God give the family strength to look after this adorable precious child.

• Smart@slabby 9 years ago

That as confirmed the saying which :all things are posible .God bless them.

• gloria usa 9 years ago

the baby was not formed well in the womb.not a mermaid

• CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago

I read all the comments and while many of you were cautiously sympathetic to the plight of the baby and parents, I don't believe for a moment that you people ever think!

I will suggest that this baby be put to sleep gracio ...

• Pabro Correa 9 years ago

This is a clear result that the second coming of Jesus Christ is at hand.
    Take Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour now for the end is so close.

• USMAN 9 years ago

Ghanaian women must stop inserting things into their genitalia and other internal organs whiles pregnant. Some of these concoctions could be chemically too strong to inhibit biochemical process in the unborn fetus thereby lea ...

• Prof. 9 years ago

This is highly sacrilegious,something is wrong some where so the earlier the better. "The word to the wise is enough "

• OBIBENYAW 9 years ago

Hmmmm! Father be merciful unto mothers. Not after nine months

• www.adommall.com 9 years ago

Surprise your family and friends in Ghana this Easter with Adom Mall, www.adommall.com and pay through paypal or our agents.

• KMK 9 years ago

Oh, this is Castro, he is back from touring the sea

• Dark Chocolate 9 years ago

Ha ha - Yes

• atia 9 years ago

whoever decided to post this pic has no conscience.

• Rida 9 years ago

This is a defect(sirenomelia) in the division of the cell during development after fertilization.... Babies with this condition live for a short period of time. The superior part of the body which house the heart, lungs are ...

• Re ckucks 9 years ago

i think its unwise to make this a tribal stuff. i see some guys relating this us Ashanti and Ewe and whateva tribe. hello please lets grow up and be wise. tribalism is a tool of destruction. back to the issue on board. they s ...

• asp 9 years ago

this is as result of mahama poor administration. Mahama do sometin ghanians are surfering tooo much

• Evans Amankwah 9 years ago

God let ur mercy be upon all pregnant women

• Kk 9 years ago

This is a birth defect n not a matter of governance.

• Collins, Akim-Achiase 9 years ago

It's sad for people to do tribalism at the least occasion. Lets not forget that we are born Ghanaians before we grow those tribal wings. At these moment, I can't even imagine the trauma especially the mother will be going thr ...

• Jemima Classpeter 9 years ago

Can this baby survive
    Wats the survival rate of this baby

• Abdul Rasheed 9 years ago

God is so wonderful

• Capt. Nii Adjei woodbridge VA 9 years ago

Why is it that Ghanaians so funky and very excited about faked issues...
    Is the faked touched up photo looks like a Black African or Asiatic
    Haa haa haa

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

Good! Read my comment above? Truly a fake. Photoshopped!

• Obed Adore 9 years ago

People cannot see clearly I guess. No wonder many a Ghanaian believes everything real and/or fake!

• Lyd 9 years ago

it's called sirenomelia......it is caused as a result of certain chemicals hazardous to the baby during its developmental stages

• Tweaa 9 years ago

Nana secretly fathered that baby. Dwarf giving birth to mermaid. No wonder.

• YF 9 years ago

You and your house will experience this type of birth and after your wife has giving birth to such a creature tell your stupid mother that the child belongs to President Akuffo Addo. I pray that all your children look like th ...

• Azumah 9 years ago

womders will not, more will happen. God save us

• nana yaw 9 years ago

Dis is a genetic prblm which has hapin b4 in Chile n de small child was operated upon by a specialist dr n de baby walk a normal baby i watch dis Chile child on Opra Winfrey show so any1 who care to knw more can google dnt br ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 9 years ago

This is just a genetic mutational malformation my uneducated folks, which even though rare, happens from time to time all over the world in all races! Nothing mysterious here whatsoever my superstitious countrymen!! I can, th ...

• STEPHEN NIMOH 9 years ago

all these should be a lesson to married women who are not faithful to their husband. again jump from pray for. me to another seeking for child. God will never such creature to true devoted Christian.

• freedom&corruption 9 years ago

stephen God is not a respecter of persons. this is only a genetic defect, could be rectified with careful surgery. has nothing to do with your unfaithful women. if you're the christian that I think you are, you will remember ...

• kofi asare new york 9 years ago

this is just photoshop , but nothing moor,

• sophia cape coast 9 years ago

eiii God how possible

• Noah 9 years ago

They show it on TV self.mmmmmm The most high GOD.Forgive mankind.

• samy 9 years ago

sooooowonderfuuul