Africa's largest solar power plant to be built in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Nii 9 years ago

Good idea. Hope they will do it well.

• Joe Young 9 years ago

We live to see the future.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

This report is either false or recycled news. The same report appeared in the Guardian and BBC website on either December 3 or 4, 2012. Ghanaweb as reported on December 4, 2012 under the heading "Ghana solar energy plant set ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

I even made mention of this report in my article entitled "Is Rev Prof Martey dishonest on how to end Dumsor?, Ghanaweb, March 23, 2015. This is what I said in the last but two paragraphs.

"For example, on December 4, 2012 ...

• Kofi Agbitor 9 years ago

Ghanaians are laughable. The promises have started flowing again.

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

Ghana must invest its bottom dollar on energy. Energy spurs development and hence a higher standard of living. I hope this does not devolve into infantile partisan politics.

• phildex@yahoo.com 9 years ago

God Bless Ghana! AMEN.

• Akwaaba 9 years ago

Travel Travel Travel
    Contact me if you want to travel to US Canada Australia Japan South Korea Dubai and any European country on 0541702098

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Not this shit! The world will forever be a slave to oil and natural gas liquid!

• Military Man 9 years ago

very interesting.

• asaase 9 years ago

That's all we know, first country to do this and that. First country to do every thing in Africa yet nothing to show the future generation.what do we get from that? Why are our leader so lazy, useless and bloke headed idiots?

• kweks 9 years ago

l am very happy to hear. Pres JM you are on track. Keep going. Ghana get behind our president. We need the infrastructure so we can work to create wealth for the nation. We will pay the borrowed funds. We have to work to be a ...

• TINA DANQUAH 9 years ago

This is recycled news from 2012: "Ghana recorded the fastest growth in Sub-Saharan Africa last year, with GDP growing at 14.3%, driven by oil production. In March, London-based Tullow Oil said an oil field it had found off th ...

• YIKRA 9 years ago

This article was published in 2012 and we haven't seen any solar farms yet?

Check out:

www.blue-energyco.com

Click on latest news link

• hevor isaac 9 years ago

where is the company's head office located

• GHANA OUR MOTHERLAND 9 years ago

...., "the 155MW solar photovoltaic (PV) plant will be fully operational by October 2015".

Construction on the Nzema project is due to begin near the village of Aiwiaso in Ghana's Western Region by the end of 2015", .....

• Remy 9 years ago

That tells you the kind of illiterate that copy and paste defunct article. They are academically too lazy to read what they copy. Pathetic! !

• Ohema 9 years ago

Nonsense - old news!

• CHARLES DUMSOR 9 years ago

FOUR YEAR OLD NEWS

• Bostonman redsox 9 years ago

build first and we can talk. Not another empty promise?

• Lord McDuke 9 years ago

This project plan is true. I have been following its development since 2010. The company had been looking for finances for the project for some time now. This was even reported in the FINANCIAL Times uk. However we do not kno ...

• JAMES Y 9 years ago

All well and good for the country.

• BOAFO YENA 9 years ago

NDC supporters are full of praise, while NPP supporters in denial; what do the other parties say? Th
    E Guardian. Com must come out and reassure Ghanaians .
    Meanwhile, we must also look for investors to start wind farms.

• Yellow man 9 years ago

Aaaaa there we go again,they are now coming up with all sorts of election gimmicks to deceive the ignorant and illiterate masses.But we who can read know that it's one of Mahama and his forty thieves way of pulling the wool o ...

• Sundiata 9 years ago

So you have also notice that.I dont know where we Ghanaians got that ailment phrase form boosting that we are the first in this and that even with technology that has been used and abandoned by the advanced countries we pride ...

• Civil and Geothech Eng 9 years ago

funny it sheaved

• Amugi Yao 9 years ago

But our Prof. Emeritus said that Ghana is not ready for solar.
    Dr. Allotey said the technology is not proven yet.

• kujo aka RAUL 9 years ago

Good news 4 my motherland ghana mahama nie mputuo nie

• Ato 9 years ago

SEEING IS BELIEVING! BEFORE YOU KNOW IT THE GOV. OF GHANA WILL DO SOMETHING STUPID TO SABOTAGE THE PROJECT!

• George Eshun, New York, USA 9 years ago

That is what I am talking about. This is long overdue. Well, better late than never. Trust me, Ghana is capable of turning the whole country's energy source to solar. Think about it. We don't need to be afraid of the cost inv ...

• George Eshun, New York, USA 9 years ago

Wait a minute, how can the project be fully operational in October whiles it is suppose to start by the end of the same year. Is this information an error or political "hegyebum"

• Akua 9 years ago

Please educate yourself dont rely on hearsay, google Blue Energy UK and read about their projects

• Akua 9 years ago

ECONOMIC GROWTH PROSPECTS
    The site enjoys good solar radiation, has excellent access to the major road system and is within easy reach of a deep water port at Takoradi. The plant will be directly connected to the 161kV West ...

• Ama 9 years ago

Blue Energy has invested in a variety of renewable energy projects in the UK and internationally. Our portfolio comprises over 345MW of renewable generating assets and includes projects from 500kW single wind turbines up to t ...

• Ama 9 years ago

Nzema Solar PV
    The Nzema project is located in the Western Region of Ghana, West Africa. Once complete the site will have an installed capacity of 155MWp, currently making this the 4th largest solar farm in the world in 2013 ...

• Akua 9 years ago

Please google Blue Energy UK

• Ama 9 years ago

Dont let us politicise this country firs, let's rally behind the govt and encourage them. We need it more than ever,

• Yellow man 9 years ago

Ama please dont count your chickens bfor they are hatched.Remember who your president is,a man dangling two empty scrotum between his legs.How can u trust such a person to provide u with such a great leap in solving this dums ...

• Yellow man 9 years ago

Ama u sound very intelligent so please try figure out when an empty barrel like Mahama speaks and when a real man speaks.A man who can make great decisions without fear or favour.Then and only then will people like my will ju ...