You are only as good as the people you compare yourself to!
Maybe we want to be compared to Singapore!
READ: "...Capacity constrained -
The countries in this cluster all face challenges in establishing ... read full comment
What a Life!
The countries in this cluster all face challenges in establishing sustainable open data initiatives as a result of: limited government; civil society or private sector capacity; limits on affordable widespread Internet access; and weaknesses in digital data collection and management. A small number of the countries in this cluster, such as Kenya, Ghana and Indonesia, have established open data initiatives, but these remain highly dependent upon a small network of leaders and technical experts. Without sustained leadership and investment, moves towards open data are difficult to make sustainable, as Kenya’s dramatic fall in the Barometer rankings demonstrates. Limited availability of relevant training and technical capacity for working with open data presents an extra challenge for these countries. There is an urgent need for more appropriate models of education and capacity building that can support nascent community and government-led open data initiatives. These countries are most in need of a comprehensive data revolution, including, in many countries, attention to basics of Internet connectivity and data literacy.
Countries included this cluster, in ODB rank order, are: Indonesia, Turkey, Ghana, Rwanda, Jamaica, Kenya, Mauritius, Ukraine, Thailand, Vietnam, Mozambique, Jordan, Nepal, Egypt, Uganda, Pakistan, Benin, Bangladesh, Malawi, Nigeria, Tanzania, Venezuela, Burkina Faso, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Botswana, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Zambia, Yemen, Cameroon, Mali, Haiti and Myanmar.
SOURCE: www.barometer.opendataresearch.org/report/summary/
Our thanks to biztechafrica.com / Ghanaweb, for bringing this item to the front!
Again, you are only as good as the people you compare yourself to!
Prof Lungu 10 years ago
READ: "...A small number of the countries in this cluster, such as Kenya, Ghana and Indonesia, have established open data initiatives, but these remain highly dependent upon a small network of leaders and technical experts..."
OUR COMMENT: Pass the FOI bill and let that be the force multiplier for the "small network of leaders and technical experts" who after all, cannot do all the heavy lifting.
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago
WHERE IS NANA AKANFOU BINADDO BUHARI AND DR. PINK SHEETS BAWUMIA ON THIS REPORTS?
Yaw Panin 10 years ago
Use your God given brains if you have any
KK PREMPEH 10 years ago
The party hates anything pro- Ghana.
kofi,ny 10 years ago
You are positively right,these people as a party want everything to go wrong in Ghana when they not in power. Look,how many opposition party sent out a congratulatory message to the new Nigerian government after their election,and behold the can,t wait to be president was all over with comments. I hope this sort of behavior by Nana Addo not allowing the present government play it's role as it rule the nation will cost him of this ambition at all cost to be president. Since the inception of the present government,there is not a day that these opposition party made life easier for Ghanaians through strike in the name of labor,lies,unnecessary press conferences and lately blaming Dr. NKRUMAH by their cohorts at the Just Dr Baah whilie promoting a false narrative that Dr Dankwa is the one that deserves credit. Nine years of Nkrumah was a tremendous era in Ghana, eventhough there were excess,it was needed for Ghana,s transformation as was done in Singapore that one man ruled for thirty years and development now transcend freedom.Freedom today is the result of economic progress. NPP can rule Ghana but has to be truthful and not think they are only the solution to our problem,it's all of us.
ataa 10 years ago
NDC's openess exposes corruption that is why we seem to be hearing so much. Kuffour and the NPP did 'bedroom' reprimands and the corruption kept on the quiet until Haruna Esekou got tired and came out. Hmmmm NPP
VICKY 10 years ago
You are proud to announce this? We had independence before Singapore, and here we are, still in rotten rut, because of corruption & ineffective Rulers,
Shame onto you and your small minded people, aren't you sad to report ... read full comment
You are proud to announce this? We had independence before Singapore, and here we are, still in rotten rut, because of corruption & ineffective Rulers,
Shame onto you and your small minded people, aren't you sad to report this, comparing yourself with these tiny Countries ?
ataa 10 years ago
the difference between Singapore and Ghana is that Singapore did not have an opposition like the Busia Danwuah. Nkrumah would have done so much. NPP has not changed since. They are still like that
Prof Lungu 10 years ago
Vicky/ataa,
We share your frustration!
This is not news to make us proud of Ghana.
Not!
Essentially, the report is not about governance. It is about the extent the national systems are plugged into the World Wide W ... read full comment
Vicky/ataa,
Not!
Essentially, the report is not about governance. It is about the extent the national systems are plugged into the World Wide Web, and amount of information is available to everyone, everywhere, etc.
In fact, the 2012 Report reported the Freedom of Information (FOI) had been enacted by Ghana's Parliament. That was not true. As you may already know, that law has still not being passed the the NDC government, in 2015.
Dessie 10 years ago
Rwanda coming out from civil war still ranks higher on international standard than Ghana if these stats are real..which I believe not..it is a self-glorification
apuuu 10 years ago
Apuuu is not true stop this nonsense Ghana with NDC party in charge will publish anything just to look good but they forget who is in charge?
HAZOR 10 years ago
Which site did Ghana publish it data?We have no idea who many project initiated by Government and the location to prove such projects are in progress>What happen to our and why is government not put all data on Atuabo gas out?This nonsense must stop.
Stephen Donkor, New York. 10 years ago
It feels good to hear both parties on the different political isles given credence to afrobarometer as a legitimate organization.Bravo! Let's keep it like this from here.
Addo tum 10 years ago
Ghana tweaa. In this dumsor? Hei hei we not even near. May be Africa but we are last everywhere anyway except Africa he hehehehe Dumsooooooooooo yaaa buru
ataa 10 years ago
the discussion is openness of information. Dont get frustrated. NDC is simply a better party. It has its fair share of issues but they can be trusted more. they love snd respect the masses. they dont USE them
Ibn Batuta 10 years ago
The data clearly shows Ghana is tied for 2nd not 3rd unless I am missing something.
kweks 10 years ago
you are right
CLUELESS NANA ADDO!.! 10 years ago
Bad news for the Npp hate mongers and prophets of doom who preach evil about Ghana hoping it will win them power. Ghana has many positives. Let's celebrate them
Akwaaba 10 years ago
Travel Travel Travel
Contact me if you want to travel to US Canada Australia Japan South Korea Dubai and any European country on 0541702098
Travel Travel Travel
Contact me if you want to travel to US Canada Australia Japan South Korea Dubai and any European country on 0541702098
eddie 10 years ago
Ghana very good in winning useless competitions . What has this got to do with this dumsor, dumsor?
What a Life!
The countries in this cluster all face challenges in establishing ...
READ: "...A small number of the countries in this cluster, such as Kenya, Ghana and Indonesia, have established open data initiatives, but these remain highly dependent upon a small network of leaders and technical experts... ...
You are positively right,these people as a party want everything to go wrong in Ghana when they not in power. Look,how many opposition party sent out a congratulatory message to the new Nigerian government after their electio ...
Shame onto you and your small minded people, aren't you sad to report ...
Vicky/ataa,
Not!
Essentially, the report is not about governance. It is about the extent the national systems are plugged into the World Wide W ...
Which site did Ghana publish it data?We have no idea who many project initiated by Government and the location to prove such projects are in progress>What happen to our and why is government not put all data on Atuabo gas out ...
you are right
Travel Travel Travel