You are here: HomeNews2015 03 31Article 352588

7,649 Ghanaians seek asylum in Europe

Read Comments Comments (31)

• jaja 9 years ago

when ghanaian citizens have become slaves in their own country with the leaders looking unconcerned what do u think will happen to the citizens?

• ghanaians seek asylum 9 years ago

Bro,
    conditions are very bad under NDC

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

me myself i dey gather my things go find someplace go.

• Vuvuzela 9 years ago

When have conditions ever been good anytime in Ghana's history?

The problems we have today didn't start with Mahama, it started long ago in 1966 when Nkrumah was overthrown. I don’t mean there wasn't any problems during ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Vuvu, Ghanaians have become so corrupt because our society encourages it. Be posted to a high office and what your family members tell you is that "Bring something home. Don't go and be looking at paper." If you don't put up ...

• Omanhene (U$A) 9 years ago

First, we don't have 44 industrialized nations in the world—except if South Sudan is "counted" to be industrialized by other impoverished African nationals.

Secondly, citing application statistics are all KOOL, but where ...

• Otsibu Darko 9 years ago

And 'white skin' worshippers!

• shoeshine boys 9 years ago

Ashanti slavery Start from achempong era agrégé prostitution

• Prinz Jnr_Germany 9 years ago

The rate at which Ghanaians are running away from thier Motherland is serious. 7,649 ghanaians seeking Asylum in Europ are due to: Dictatorship, Corruption, Unemployment, Economic hardship, Electricity crisis (known as_Dumsor ...

• Vuvuzela 9 years ago

There is no thinker in Ghana. We need to buy one in the US, or Britain, or Germany.

Did we need independence? I begin to doubt seriously. The world would have smelled better without it.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

There is no dictatorship in Ghana. In fact, Mahama's government is one of the most tolerable governments we have had in Ghana. There has not been any recorded instances of arbitrary arrests and persecutions. Corruption, DUMSO ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

Thanks Frank. These are not political refugees. Purely economic refugees. In that sense, there are Americans and Europeans that will seek refugee status in Ghana, and they do.

• Bernard 9 years ago

We need to make our own natural habitat habitable and live in dignity in Africa instead of going abroad to suffer needlessly.

OUR LEADERS ARE OUR BIGGEST PROBLEMS

• Vuvuzela 9 years ago

White people should have left us in trees. They are wrong in thinking we are human beings. We are not.

• Boateng 9 years ago

Bernard, you are very right. People that go through the experience of seeking that kind of refuge must be truthful about their experiences. They must not encourage others to go to Europe, seeking refugee status.

Why m ...

• Abu. Belgium 9 years ago

Boateng stop stop peddling the untruth though it is not easy but who told you people re crumped in a small room?Are u saying it out of expérience. or hearsay?and in any event if i may know what have u achieved?Am seeking Adu ...

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

The African continent should have been named YENTIE OBIAA, given its many lazy leaders. A continent endowed in natural resources but mainly led by visionless, greedy & selfish bandits.

• Vuvuzela 9 years ago

A dead donkey isn't better, bro? This is my humble opinion.

• Prinz Jnr_Germany 9 years ago

Ghana at the early 2000 till 2009 used to be highly repected across the world because of the level good Economy, healthcare, Jobs, Manufacturing, Education we enjoyed, and Zero torelance of corruption which were not entertain ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

When people become so stupid and fall for any nonsense from the West, the end result is idiocy. Libyans felt safe, secured and never thought of what and how an asylum is till they became idiots and throw their good leader to ...

• Vuvuzela 9 years ago

No, the Libyan problem started with was a certain french president called Nicholas Sarkozy! Do you want me to say more?

• Nii Adjei 9 years ago

ghanaians don't love ghana the way ghana should be loved. And our leaders encourage us not to love ghana by their doings. but love other countries by sending their offsprings to foreign schools, leaders seeking health care ab ...

• Kenkey Warriors!! 9 years ago

...refugees! That is about $1B additional remittance a year. Good job madam minister!!!

• Ben 9 years ago

Not a story.Come to South Africa, and you will see how many queue daily for refugee papers. Politicians have failed us.

• GHANABA 9 years ago

They are not asylum seekers and non of them will be allowed to stay after being processed. They are simply economic migrants who want to enjoy the good life and I am afraid these countries have their own high unemployment. Th ...

• Nnn 9 years ago

Asylum has many definition, so we should not confuse POLITICAL ASYLUM with ECONOMIC ASYLUM. So comparing Ghana with Libya is the wrong comparison. While the Libyan are seeking political asylum Ghanaians are seeking economic a ...

• nii nii niiiii 9 years ago

Ghana is already in the gutters and you as citizens must address the situation as Nigerians have just done.

• K Man 9 years ago

I have no love for NDC if you have seen my usual comments, but Ghanaians seeking Asylum has more to do with the strict immigration regime in these countries.

UK as an example is forever tightening its immigration laws for ...

• Thomas 9 years ago

Interesting story, but where is the answer to the follow-up question, "Why?" The LAZY reporter only mentioned Ghana's souring economy as a possible reason, but NO industrialized nation accepts economic refugees. There must be ...

• Kwame-Belgium 9 years ago

People must understand it that ADURO is no more popular.

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

ARE MAHAMA AND HIS INEPT GOVERNMENT READING THIS SAD NEWS?