Kwesi Pratt must have something to say on this approval, i guess.
facts 10 years ago
Mahama on spending spree, no baga wire, yentie obiara. So Bawumiah is right.
gretchy 10 years ago
wowow someone has'nt got the thinking cap on.Umm how about paying nigeria's gas bill...hahahaha special plane for da army boys awww thats all crap
CITIZENE VIGILANTE 10 years ago
HAPPY, KWESI PRATT "THE TEETH" STOMACH JOURNALIST. I WISH HE COMMENTS ON THIS.
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago
£33m FOR A PLANE TO COME AND REST ON AIR FIELD! HMMM OUR GHANA!!!!!
frustrated juy 10 years ago
This our parliamentarians are approving loans as if they were buying groundnuts at Kejetia market. Posterity will judge them harshly. Asem beba dabi
MANTSE 10 years ago
I understand Nigeria is not supplying Ghana with Natural Gas to fire the Electricity producing Thermal Plants because we owe them One Hundred Million Dollars. While the amount approved for the Plane acquisition may not be enough to offset what is owed, if it is given to the Nigerians as a downpayment that will certainly improve Ghana's Credit Worthiness with the suppliers and they may decide to resume supplying us with the Gas we so desparately need.
I am NOT in the least suggesting that the Military is not important. I am only saying that if somebody owes me money for supplies made and I hear they are buying a new Car, the price of which can repay at least half of what they owe, I will take the position that the Debtor thinks that I, the creditor, is stupid.
May be, just may be, this DUMSOR thing, that is having us all without Power for 24 Hours followed by 12 Hours of Power in not as DAMNING as it seems to our Lawmakers.
Why anyone in their right mind would choose to spend their SCANTY RESOURSES on GUNS during a time of PEACE when a situation that can disturb that peace is not considered a PRIORITY is the perrogative of our Leaders but it also goes to underscore why Third World Mentality, a product of UNACCOUNTABLE Leadership, will continue to hold us Hostage.
The question is if we have to do things that will be pleasing to Ghanaians will they at this DARK HOUR opt for Light or Upgrade their WAR MACHINERY? In the ANSWER NOT OBVIOUS ENOUGH for ALL, including the Honorable ones among us and Govt to see?
I am sure all manner of explanation will be forthcoming but the fact of the matter is that on my DRAWING Board DUMSOR is by far the BIGGEST THREAT Ghana is facing now and our resources must be so deployed until DUMSOR abates or is NO MORE.
BABALIKA 10 years ago
THANK U GHANA
BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago
My friends ,my families and i ,will give our Nobel VOTES TO PRESIDENT MAHAMA again 2016.
Kwame Angel 10 years ago
Senseless approval for a warless army, who only history is coups, and more coups. Oh, and peace keeping in foreign lands.
ugly akufo addo 10 years ago
animals
animals
PNF supporter 10 years ago
"Peacekeeping Missions" indeed! What peacekeeping? Where? Bawku has been burning since almost 2 decades ago and we're talking of peacekeeping on Mars?
Didn't Mahama acquire 5 Brazilian Embraer transport jets a few years ag ... read full comment
"Peacekeeping Missions" indeed! What peacekeeping? Where? Bawku has been burning since almost 2 decades ago and we're talking of peacekeeping on Mars?
Didn't Mahama acquire 5 Brazilian Embraer transport jets a few years ago exactly for the same purpose, not to mention the executive Presidential Falcon French jet? Is this our priority when the government can even pay civil servants, doctors, teachers and the like? $300 million for peacekeeping - very clever. All peacekeeping missions are paid for by the international bodies that sponsor them. Do we need 300 million dollars more in addition to what the UN or AU or ECOWAS will pay?
United Ghana 10 years ago
Incredible, yet more loans for non-wealth generation activities. As you quite rightly point out its needless. It can only be to create more embezzlement opportunities
CITIZENE VIGILANTE 10 years ago
I WOULD NOT BE SURPRISED THE DEFENCE AND INTERIOR COMMITTEE IN PARLIAMWENT HAVE BEEN GIVEN THEIR SHARE OF THE CAKE. PARLIAMENTARIANS ARE JUST RUBBER STAMP.
Cool observer 10 years ago
Military aircraft in the face of dumsor,lay offs and collapse of NHIS.Do we have priorities in this country?
Dessie 10 years ago
How many aircraft?
Yebopower 10 years ago
Airbus safety credibility on the line.Another wasteful investment from NDC government.They will never get it right.
Oso 10 years ago
Are there any wise person at our parliament? !
This is a stupid priority to be considered at this time of our country is in dire need of jobs, electric to pwer our flimsy industries; much more military equipment.
Really, y ... read full comment
This is a stupid priority to be considered at this time of our country is in dire need of jobs, electric to pwer our flimsy industries; much more military equipment.
Really, y'all need mental evaluation and therapy. NONSENSE !!!!!!
Dr.William Acquah 10 years ago
Another loan?Our politicians are pure idiots!No money for NHIS but for military aircraft!
We the people 10 years ago
Ka fuo Didi says Parliament, Ye Be wu nti yenda! Tweaa.
We owe Nigeria Gas money so we can't buy Military Plane for The Abongo Boys for "The Next Big Thing"
We have Dumsor so what? Buy Ur own Generator. Parliament has spok ... read full comment
We owe Nigeria Gas money so we can't buy Military Plane for The Abongo Boys for "The Next Big Thing"
We have Dumsor so what? Buy Ur own Generator. Parliament has spoken. So be it.
fitta 10 years ago
f
f
Concerned Citizen! 10 years ago
Check Wikipedia and co. for the actual price of these planes! Thieves!
Ghabay,NY 10 years ago
Are you kidding me!is this priority for Ghanaians?Deal with your needs before your wants.This aircraft does not even cost that much,a big chunk of this money will end up in people's pockets.Do we really need this aircraft at particular moment in time when there are more crucial issues to be tackled?I don't get it,I hope someone sheds more light and explains to me why it's important for us to acquire that aircraft now , in spite of all what we are going through.What is our scale of preference?
Osei Kwaku 10 years ago
The aircraft is too costly and has to be reviewed again. We must be careful of the cost in its pound factor
kefome 10 years ago
mahama is a devil incarnate.belive me calamity will befall him where nobody can rescue him bfore 2016.just as he did to atta mills
mensa 10 years ago
WHY DO WE NEED TO SPEND SO MUCH MONEY WHAT IS THE RESON BEHIND IT ARE WE IN A WAR?
Nuamah 10 years ago
Parliament is like a zoo with crooked old men from these two nation wrecking party's .
They don't give a fuck about you or your children.
They get everything for freeeeee
Parliament is like a zoo with crooked old men from these two nation wrecking party's .
Man 10 years ago
Why do ghanaians hate to hear equipments are being bought for the counrty?we shudnt forget prevention is better than cure and how do we expect da soldiers to fight and protect us if they dont have da equipment?even da peaceful countries buy huge equipments for its army!and do u guys know the aircraft will be paid for by UN if taken to peacekeeping?UN pays for every equipment sent by ghana to peacekeeping every month! Even a spoon is being paid for.da country is even going to gain
Man 10 years ago
Do you know how much this soldiers make for da country wen they go on UN peace mission?milions of dollars every month with their lifes! How much do we the civilians making noise here make for the country.I dont even know why the army is not ready to come out n tell us the equipments are being paid for every month in fucken dollars wen taken to UN missions for we making noise here to put a stop to it.soldiers are making a lot for they! Milions of dollars every year and most generating forign currenty to the country.lets know our fucts
I understand Nigeria is not supplying Ghana with Natural Gas to fire the Electricity producing Thermal Plants because we owe them One Hundred Million Dollars. While the amount approved for the Plane acquisition may not be eno ...
THANK U GHANA
animals
Didn't Mahama acquire 5 Brazilian Embraer transport jets a few years ag ...
How many aircraft?
Really, y ...
We have Dumsor so what? Buy Ur own Generator. Parliament has spok ...
f
Are you kidding me!is this priority for Ghanaians?Deal with your needs before your wants.This aircraft does not even cost that much,a big chunk of this money will end up in people's pockets.Do we really need this aircraft at ...
Why do ghanaians hate to hear equipments are being bought for the counrty?we shudnt forget prevention is better than cure and how do we expect da soldiers to fight and protect us if they dont have da equipment?even da peacefu ...
Do you know how much this soldiers make for da country wen they go on UN peace mission?milions of dollars every month with their lifes! How much do we the civilians making noise here make for the country.I dont even know why ...