You are here: HomeNews2015 03 15Article 350425

Debt situation not entirely our fault – Terkper

Read Comments Comments (75)

• The mask 9 years ago

The economy is hitting many families hard and many have run out of ideas.

Boachsoft Finance 2012 software, developed in East Akim Municipality (Akyem-Maase and Bunso) in the Eastern Region of Ghana and in Accra/Sakumono, i ...

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

BY THE GRACE OF JJ AND HIS TRAINED CADRES OF THE NDC, GHANA HAS BECOME A FAILED STATE.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

very tribal in his appointments

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

SO WHY GO FOR MORE LOANS? ARE YOU STUPID OR JUST INTERESTED IN STEALING? WE NEED AN ARAB SPRING IN GHANA, NOW!

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-OKOROMANSA...
    CHARGE THEM OR YOU ARE CHARGED FOR THIS GARGANTUAN FRAUD. IF WOMEN O GHANA ARE NOW ACCOMPLICES IN SUCH LEVEL OF STEALING AND BRIBING THEN WE ARE FINISHED. BETTY MOULD IS BEING AIDED BY MAHAMA AND HIS N ...

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

..BUT YOU ARE CREATING MORE DEBT. INSTEAD OF PAYING DOWN THE NATIONAL DEFICIT WHY?

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

When you guys were warned the answer was every country borrows. So you went ahead and added to the borrowing against all odds. We are not so stupid to remember the rhetoric not long ago

• trueGhanaian 9 years ago

Most people don't know that when you issue a bond you are borrowing money.

Kuffor's $750 million Eurobond issue at about 8% interest in the later part of 2000 was something that was unwise in the financial industry.

T ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

TEPKER Is Not An Economist
    Dude is a tax expert. He only knows how to evade taxes, lie about expenses and hiding figures. He does not understand the macro habits of revenue generation, .spending and public spending..so expe ...

• William Sorkpor, USA 9 years ago

It is not safe to base the projected budget on crude oil price of $50.00: crude is heading down to $20.00.

I base this projection on the over-supply of crude, -- due to the refusal of the major oil producing countries to ...

• AMB 9 years ago

Silly comment. Check your info before making noise.

• AMB 9 years ago

Stupid and ignorant comment. JJ laid a solid foundation for the country to develop. It is indubitable that he delivered at a very high level.

• Waaluk 9 years ago

AMB, your assertion is intriguing; the information on IMF's own website regarding our nation's dealings with the Bretton Woods institutions which are inconsistent with what you have just represented here. Have you just forgot ...

• Blefuscu 9 years ago

Ghana has been a failed state since the illegal overthrow of the first President. In fact Africa is a failed continent with only dark years ahead.

• Allotey 9 years ago

You don't understand anything.
    You are the person in charge now.
    So fix it.

• The mask 9 years ago

KNUST failed to rusticate and report to the police a female student who beat up her roommate; the lecturers have been bought. It has been said that many lecturers lack teaching methodologies. What should be the minimum requir ...

• lee 9 years ago

Tertiary institutions for corporal punishment or second cycle schools. This guy is mad.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Most of the debts was your government fault. Imagine what you have washed down the drain through dubious judgment debt payment, ghost names and some failed projects like GYEEDA, SADA, etc. Your government is the only govern ...

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Which hole did u spring out of.

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Ask youself why MATIN AMIDU was sack by the old professoer Atta Mills? Its just to make way loot and share. Don't support any party on this kind of things, BE A GHANAIAN

• Pelicles 9 years ago

If you really care about this nation, then wean yourself off that "party colors". NDC had used 33 million cedis to teach Children in the North how to ride bikes and how can that be possible? I know you will rubbish that bu ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

GHANA FIRST.
    It doesn't make sense by any stretch of imagination. The man who was appalled by the illegal payment of the money to WOYOME, MARTIN AMIDU WAS SACKED BY THE NDC. Those who caused the illegal payment to be made ar ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

very parochial and inward

Martin Amidu was sidelined cos he was onto the protected few n they got rid of him. These cases would never b won cos they are tried to protect some n thus the full thrust of the case is not heard.

Hope when NDC is voted o ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

There has never been and there will never be a perfect administration but it'd be useful to make the comparison between the 15 years of NDC administration and the 8 years of the NPP administration under Kuffuor's leadership. ...

• Abele 9 years ago

whose fault then mr. man? who borrowed those monies?

• Dea 9 years ago

Mahama with the looting congress caused the mess.

• apuuu 9 years ago

Your maam when you guys going to take responsibility for your doing everything is someone fault but not your fault what can people's are you is so insane when you get yourself in trouble is because of someone for the last s ...

• POSSIBILITIES 9 years ago

BETTYMOULD, WOYOME, BARTON ODRO, LAWYER DAVID ANNAN, TONY LITHUR, GEORGE LOU, ISOFOTONE, SADA, GYEEDA, SUBAH, 8.7 BN GHC OVEREXPENDIUTURE IN 2012 TO WIN ELECTIONS....ETC ETC ide biiii kekekeeee

• POSSIBILITIES 9 years ago

BLOOD MONEY ON HEADS OF WOYOME, BARTON ODRO, WOYOME . ALL NDC LAWYERS, ETC ETC....ide biii kekeee

• KOFI - USA 9 years ago

BUT WHOSE FAULT. STOP BLAMING THE PAST ADMINISTRATION BECAUSE YOU GUYS HAVE BEEN THERE FOR THE PAST SIX YEARS.

Plus the twenty something years combined they've been in power, more then any entity. But I still put the blame on Ghanaian who get top class education from donar countries only to come back home and advance their economics. ...

• dawun 9 years ago

Am surprised we can't even forecast. Wow

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 9 years ago

LOOK WHO IS TALKING. WHAT A JOKKER. AFTER PAYING WOYOMEY, SADA ,NSS,AFRIYIE ANKRAH BLACK STARS,AYARIGA UNNECESSARY CURRUPT BLACK STAR CAR BUYING SYNDICATE? MAHAMA AND JNR BRO GOLD TO IRAN THROUHG TURKEY? WHAT ELSE IS NOT YOUR ...

• foster gyamfi f 9 years ago

CHANGE
    I am very happy to join with you today on this
    social platform where the gates of expression
    are freely opened for everybody to raise his or
    her views. on this note, i would like to elaborate
    on few why there is t ...

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

If that would be the case, any out going prez should publish his/her dept from now on. Tell us the dept this government met without oil and our dept now.

• john 9 years ago

When we were supporting foolish revolution what did we think we were sowing ?The revolution has now matured into NDC and now its hell.the revolution gave us cerfews and the NDC dum sor and a huge debt burden. And we executed ...

• wwc 9 years ago

Now i know this man is suffering from myopic brains, infected by propaganda and complicated by foolishness. Now u know the dept situation in the country is not good hence y are bleming others. When u were busy borrowing money ...

• Andy K- Kumasi 9 years ago

Mediocrity! We can never get the best from most African leaders! l still suggest that, like the way we hire white coaches who perform, we should hire white leaders too and we will get the results! The blackman is never capabl ...

• dunaa 9 years ago

This tendency of the social Democrats to place blame on other people being shown by the NDC government reminds me of Barack Obama's approach to governing in the United States. Philosophically, I am not in favor of ANY governm ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

How much was the debt burden in 2008 when the state administration changed from NPP to NDC administrators in 2008? We can even stretch the debt comparison to cover the Rawlings administration period which was also NDC, from19 ...

• Woyome 9 years ago

Please resign. Its not the fault of everyone who does not perform

• Kwame Safo 9 years ago

This is entirely your fault Mr Minister. We know that you failed to honour many of the financial commitments entered in by your predecessors for political reasons. Forgetting that these were international agreements. The reas ...

• trueGhanaian 9 years ago

Most people don't know that when you issue a bond you are borrowing money.

Kuffor's $750 million Eurobond issue at about 8% interest in the later part of 2000 was something that was unwise in the financial industry.

The ...

• Yusif 9 years ago

Do you know something I think is your father's fault then dtupid people like you called themselves ministers oh mother ghana paaaaaa nieeeeee

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

How does a party/government move a country forward, when everything they do is with an eye towards re-election. The NDC's strategy has been to have a littany of project littered through every single region, so at the end of 4 ...

• AMB 9 years ago

Hon Minister I love your level of tenacity, resilience and level of calmness. Please keep it up. May God continue to guide and protect you.

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

What did you do with the billions you have borrowed.

• Yaw Ohemeng 9 years ago

No one should believe Terkper on this one. If you want the truth on the debt situation refer to budgets from 2009 to 2015. Even the 2015 one has graphs showing trends.

At the end of 2008, total public debt was GS9.5bn and ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Simple. They've been taking us for a ride for so long they think we are stupid

• KK 9 years ago

Not entirely our fault........really?

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

The first years of Atta Mills administration Ghana economy received growth why? Because of K4 administration structures that was laid by men of wisdom, after seven years you idiots and fools administration led by vision ...

• Prophet 9 years ago

dont tell us LIES most debt comes from your govt borrow and share chop chop has all accumulate this

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

I ONLY PITY THE GHANAIAN DIASPORA WHO EXPORT THEIR STUFF TO GHANA'S PORTS, MAINLY TEMA AND AIRPORT.

GRA AND CEPS (CUSTOMS) WILL SCREW THE HELL OUT OF THEIR FINANCES.

WARNING TO EXPORTERS TO GHANA:

STAY OUT OF GHA ...

• Carol 9 years ago

This is sad, instead of finding solutions he is playing the blame game.
    This is a scenario where a incompetent/bad workman blames his tools.

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS ASAP 9 years ago

COMMON SENSE - OIL PRICE WILL NOT TRADE HIGH FOREVER . EVERY BUSINESS IS ALWAYS LIKE THAT THE STOCKS TRADING DO GO UP AND DOWN . NDC MUST LEARN HOW TO APPLY FOR LOAN IN THE NEAR FUTURE EXAMPLE GOLD , OIL , SILVER , BEANS A ...

• Francis TETTEH 9 years ago

I want to inform Ghana education service and the media that some of the Senior high schools are charging fuel fess example abuakwa state college Abusco Senior high school 20 Ghana cedis per head for the term the head master ...

• tony 9 years ago

Stupid talk, is who fault? always blaming the past government we all saw how Ghana was during Kuffour administration even though I didn't agreed all his policies.

• Kpeblo 9 years ago

The mahama admn. Should accept responsibility for their incompetence and mistakes made and look for better ways to correct them. Ghanaians are really suffering and always playing the blame game won't help solve any problem.

• Agyakwakuo Twumpuduo 9 years ago

NDC government, it is not our fault?
    The roads are bad,it is not our fault;
    Hospitals lack drugs,it is not our fault, Our schools lack the necessary learning and teaching tools it is not our fault;There is corruption everyw ...

• HAZOR 9 years ago

To frank,what nonsense is the finance minister saying the debt situation not entirely their fault but whose fault?Has the finance minister develop a myopia syndrome that president Mahama use his own power not approved by parl ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

NDC is always finding excuses for their own mistakes. They want to shift the blame on others. If the finance minister means what he's saying then why did the NDC force their way into power when they knew that they didn't have ...

• ABUBAKARI 9 years ago

kwasea, you got an imbecile who wear woman coat as general secretary what do expect

• salifu 9 years ago

This is pepe last chance for president in Ghana two times no improvement corruption

• Drop Aponkye funu Mahama 9 years ago

Now it is left with bones

• Joe ACCA 9 years ago

come to UK for better trained accountants

• boasiako 9 years ago

so who do you blame is that my fault ?you are incharge look at what you people did in 2012 you did everything to get power. and now blame who?:better ghana agenda indeed.

• BALLOT BOX 9 years ago

When Ghana is being governed by Mahama-led NDC govt of thieves with a borrow to loot mentality, what does Terkper mean by debt situation not entirely our fault?
    Who has been thieving the borrowed funds, inflating contracts ...

• HAZOR 9 years ago

The finance Minister said the debt situation is not entirely their fault and the question he need to answer is who fault.Is ate finance Minster trying to insult our intelligence when dead goat president Mahama admit he has ea ...

• Nope 9 years ago

IT Is not only borrowing thhat is making the economy suffer but also some bad practices .