You are here: HomeNews2015 03 06Article 349287

Let's not dim the light of Independence... - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (114)

• Remove Indemnity Now 9 years ago

The most stupid and corrupt leader in the history of Ghana.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

NDC-PARTY FOR NORTHENERS & MUSLIMS

Author:-Close Observer...
    I told you guys! This president is useless. There is nothing he can do to get Ghana out of the problems they have put her in. With the value of our currency, the cedi, still falling, the useless yo ...

• KOO DWOMO 9 years ago

Does John Mahama knows what is called diversity? May be the meaning of diversity is to make the only blind man in your tribe a government minister to the Chiefs of Ghana. Why are all your ministers Northerners and Ewes when t ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AKANS MUST FEEL FREE TO SPEAK THE TRUTH WITHOUT ENTERTAINING ANY FEAR, THREAT OR ACT OF INTIMIDATION!!!!
    FOR HOW LONG ARE WE TO BE WIMPS??? IT IS HIGH TIME WE STAND UP AND SPEAK THE TRUTH AND DEFEND OURSELVES BOLDLY. THIS IS ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

That's the picture I envision of Ghana on this independence Day! A 58yr old LOSER always begging kiddies for hausa koko money

• akilapa 9 years ago

aboafunu!after putting ur tribesmen at the helm of affairs u have guts to talk abt diversity?this man takes us for fools.

• Abena 9 years ago

I think these Kumasi based monkey need to learn to be human. The most ugly and greedy president K4 is sitting in his monkey base. The pepe fuo taught you how to stop wearing leaves and wear proper cloth. If you want more dub ...

• the Patriot 9 years ago

YOU TRY AN AKAN NAME AND INSULT THEM SO WHO ARE YOU REALLY DISSING.ANY CLUES??? KWASIA GIRL.

Author:-GURUNDA...
    Ghanaians must desist from "worshipping" presidents and begin to hold presidents and leaders accountable. Bravo Greenstreet for showing Ghanaians the right way. Why bow to presidents when they are stealin ...

• KOO THE BOY 9 years ago

HAHAHA TWEAAKAI.YOU TAKE OUR NAMES, BUT YOU HATE US.

WOOO ABENA, WHY ALL THE HATE,

• tsegah 9 years ago

If indeed you are Abena then wo twe kankan

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

Do not misconstrue Osafo Marfo's comments. Let your so-called researchers understudying in the UK Parliament brief you on the "English. Votes for English Laws" comment.
    And see how that.can be implemented.
    Learn from other ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 9 years ago

Do not misconstrue Osafo Marfo's comments. Let your so-called researchers understudying in the UK Parliament brief you on the "English. Votes for English Laws" comment.
    And see how that.can be implemented.
    Learn from other ...

• Asare 9 years ago

Fill our hearts with true humility
    Make us cherish fearless honesty...

• Gyeeda, Subah, Sada, Woyome 9 years ago

History being written with all the Woyome, Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Isofoton, Waterville, Merchant Bank and RLG thievery being spearheaded by Jon Dramani Mahama after he killed ex president Jon Evans Atta Mills.

Author:-Mahmoud...
    The president has been saying that he tried to introduce electronic payment and acquisition systems into the public sector {to reduce human contact with cash} in his effort to fighting corruption, but lam ...

• the Patriot 9 years ago

There is literally and practically NO LIGHT to dim in this country so what is this bafoon talking about.Its a bit amusing when folks talk about "light at the end of the tunnel" in Ghana.There is not even a tunnel ,it's just a ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

the guy make fresh oo look at his neck n face this guy dnt chop ghana moni well well.come to think of it where is his right hand man Abu Jinapor? by this time the colloburation is going on well. finishing ghana moni.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Nana Binaddo must shut up and go away! !! Who want to listen to this dead Horse? Stop lying to the good people of GHANA, since when did you Nana Akanfuo Binaddo believed in Ghana? How can anyone believes in his country and ha ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

''We have been vice presidents for far too long, it is time you make ONE OF YOUR OWN President.'' John Mahama.

WHAT ARE THE REST OF US TO JOHN MAHAMA?

THE USELESS NDC IS TURNING ONE TRIBE AGAINST ANOTHER
    TURNING ONE RE ...

• Abena 9 years ago

You take your resources and shove down your monkey Ass. Go and live in Togo or Ivory Coast. We NDC will continue to rule you.

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

This is nkrumah mantra. Fifty years of Africa life waisted by worthless ,useless, hopeless man animals in africa . worthless peace of shit like afari gyan may he perish with brain cancer. Even animal will never celebrate thi ...

• o'neal 9 years ago

What light is this nigger talking about.? the whole lights are turn off lool....l

• Bostonman redsox 9 years ago

Don't use the n-word in this or any forum. That's the word white used when they were raping, burning, killing us

• jones 9 years ago

Kwasea , maybe u r part of those chopping the monies

• Muntari & AKWASI AGYEMANG 9 years ago

PEPENI, thief.

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

As a Bostonian don't you know that nigger is only a bad word when it's a white or any race on black situation? You ought to be more concerned about the frequent use of swear words like f**k you, etc. on this forum.

• JH New York 9 years ago

Yes I agree with you that the "lights are turned off".But take yr "N" word (nigger) to where it belongs and not on African on Africa land, pls.

• fbclancelot 9 years ago

buh he has already dimmed de lite

• sole looser 9 years ago

This sole looser kills me his blah blah blah!!!

• Mariam 9 years ago

that is very thoughtful of .God help us all

• Sammy 9 years ago

U dimmed it already. We are no more independent. Thanks to excessive borrowing

• ernest 9 years ago

Sammy, a nation without hard times is a nation without history. Ye men of little faith! I wonder if you're a family man. Wait till you become a LEADER.

• nsem pii 9 years ago

True paaa

• Douglas. Bristol-UK 9 years ago

the Kumasi based monkeys called Ashantes are trying hard to divide this countrykwasia fuo

• Abrantie 9 years ago

You are one of the fools in Ghana why our country is being messed up. You are just an idiot

• gh 9 years ago

Tanii aboa , gyimi gyimii, kwasia ba, ntafourmoa

• ernest 9 years ago

Ghanaweb has turned to a forum of insults by we posters because of their policy 'free posting'.......how long are we gonna abuse this Golden opportunity of free media!

• nowonder 9 years ago

Douglas are your normal human being? I doubt.

• Kabokabo 9 years ago

Douglas you are suffering from European illegal syndrom.

• freedom&corruption 9 years ago

nooo, after extensive research I found that douglas is of the 'Rhinopithecus strykeri' spicy, allergic to rain, already critically endangered, with only an estimated 260 to 330 individuals alive. Locals call the creature “m ...

• NBY USA 9 years ago

AboaBi ba

• emmanuel 9 years ago

My advice to akomfem.president don't inpose ur self in ghanaies, on 2016 tnx

• ENOCK 9 years ago

Hmmmmm. Some. Leader we have. Ndc mahama government is complete. Failure

• Bostonman redsox 9 years ago

Bad analogy. Why don't u invest in solar with the abundance of sunlight in Ghana so u never have to "dim the lights" any time?

• Julor Dumsor Mahami 9 years ago

Mahama and his incompetent NDC has dimmed the light of independence with DUMSOR and ABJECT POVERTY. What is the value of independence, and democracy when majority of Ghanaians are wallowing hopelessly in disease, poverty, hop ...

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

ANOTHER USELESS GHANAIAN "LEADER" MAKING EXCUSES FOR MASSIVE FAILURE AS USUAL.

GHANA DOES NOT HAVE TO HAVE A MISSION OFFICE IN INDONESIA TO INTERVENE IN THIS UNFORTUNATE CASE OF HEINOUS EXECUTIONS FOR DRUG-RELATED OFFENCES ...

• Dean 9 years ago

Akans UNITE to vote out ndc.

• Afriyie, Ajumako 9 years ago

The guy who claims to stay in Bristol, UK is waging his tongue on Ashantis which to me is a sign of immaturity. He should grow up and be civilize.

• Kwesi Kwaw 9 years ago

Return e OIC ; muslim bribe. Biase president

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

TOO MAHAMA DRAMA, YOU AND YOUR NDC HAVE ALREADY QUENCHED THE INDEPENDENCE LIGHT.
    SO TOO LATE MAHANI DRAMA!!

• SPIDER IN HIS WEB 9 years ago

The light of independence was dimmed on February 24, 1966 and has been extinguished since December 31, 1981.

• ama 9 years ago

Pls no light here mankessim

• abba 9 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• Mab 9 years ago

Lets hope for the best. We are all one people and Ghana is all we have lets put our differences away and move Ghana forward

• abba 9 years ago

THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS. EVEN GOING TO 'IMF' TESTIFIES.

• ZAC 9 years ago

Mr. Mahama you have failed Ghana. You and your government are not credible.
    You have corrupted the nation and your presidency is the second most corrupt institution apart from the police.
    Ghana has been thrown into darkness ...

• NANA USA 9 years ago

The colonial era was better .You have set the clock back

• Subra 9 years ago

IT WILL BE BETTER IF YOU RESIGN AND GIVE WAY TO A BETTER PERSON. NO HOPE IN YOU AS PRESIDENT.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

A man and his wife go to their honeymoon hotel for their 58 anniversary. As the couple reflected on that magical evening 58 years ago, the wife asked the husband, "When you first saw my naked body in front of you , what was g ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

You had already deveit from your own speech , talking about collective to develop Ghana? Looking into your minister's 90 percent are Ewes and northerners why? What measures as president you had implemented to unite the entir ...

• Dean 9 years ago

AKANS UNITE

• jones 9 years ago

does the president think most of the Ghanaians much independent ? He has personally denied a lot our right to employment by placing a hypocritical embargo on jobs which does not de cursed affiliates of high political ranks. ...

• martin king 9 years ago

This president is so stupid that I don't no who advice him fire will burn him ,look at the way Ghanaian are suffering.God save GH.

• Lucifer 9 years ago

Fuck u Mahama

• AMUDU DANMARK 9 years ago

TANII ABOA NO SESEN? THE MOST USELESS PRESIDENT IN HISTORY IN GHANA YENTIE OBIAA ABAN LOOK YOUR DIRTY MOUTH CANT FEEL SHAME

• AMUDU DANMARK 9 years ago

CRIMINAL USELESS MAHAMA ABOA BA

• Joe Danquah Sydney 9 years ago

Which part of the world is celebrating Ghana?
    Do they know we have no electricity for 20yrs?
    If they are celebrating Ghana then they must be benefiting from our lack of electricity

• ABIFFO 9 years ago

was independence worth it? such backwardness

• 0265217070 9 years ago

There are hundreds of vacancies at Enterprise Life Assurance, Cardinal Insurance among others.

There will be a briefing on Monday here in Accra for interested job seekers.

Text or Whatsapp your name and contacts to 0265 ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

I was watching the 58th celebration on TV when lights went off. When I complain I get these persistent pronouncements from my president about we losing faith in Ghana. I'm further this president and these unless reassurances

• Okoodi 9 years ago

You have already dim the of Ghana. Mahama,
    Think before you talk.

• Moshoe 9 years ago

Just put on the lights Mr. President!!!

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

You never said aword of ododiodo incidents created by useless vandapoi .look at your govs. Formation and its petformances .do you see how rotten the seat of your gov.8billion .and his band have they not gone free? Do one buil ...

• atongo azumbire 9 years ago

pNDC has almost got half of the life span of Ghana to rule....but the only achievement the NDC can boast of is their prowess in tribalism and ethnocentrism. NDc is the bane of Ghana.

• OB 9 years ago

Q: How has Ghana's independence affected the people of Ghana and decolonization of Africa?

My gut feelings is Ghana (and for that matter Africa) WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER under colonial rule than independence today. THIS IS A ...

• Ekow Samuel - Paris. 9 years ago

Happy birthday indipendence of Ghana long Live.

• freedom&corruption 9 years ago

has this guy not realised the lights have gone out? 'dumsor' every 24 hrs and you are still touting 'let's not dim the light. by the words of my only teacher Jesus Christ 'if the light in you is darkness then how great is the ...

• Ali Mahama. 9 years ago

God will punish Mahama for trying to sell out the country to Moslems for votes

• Laar Yandam 9 years ago

Must every news of our President be an opportunity to rain insults on him? Excuse my words but I think some Ghanaians are just stupid in the kind of statements they make with regards to this nation. Insults dnt have never in ...

• Noko fio p3 9 years ago

After orchestrating dumsor to keep the sexy 58 year old mama Ghana in the dark, massaging her figures from many different angles, and ultimately bending her over, the pepenite wants to turn on the lights to expose our shame. ...

• KING 9 years ago

PEPENI LIKE U THINK U ARE WISER THAN EVERYBODY, YOUR TIME WILL COME FOOLISH BOY.YOU ARE A BOY

• KING 9 years ago

IN MAHAMA REGIME EVEN EWES ARE CRYING BCOS OF THEIR STUPIDITY

• Chief-USA 9 years ago

What is this guy talking about. The light is already dimmed because of him and his lack of accountability and justice which would have increase the intensity of the light of independence.

• Amavie 9 years ago

AFTER 58 YEARS OF INDEPENDENCE, GHANAIANS CAN CONFIDENTLY SAY THAT WE HAVE THE MOST INEFFECTIVE AND INEFFICIENT PRESIDENT EVER TO RULE GHANA. BIG MISTAKE, BUT WE AS A NATION NEED TO LEARN AND LEARN HARD, WE CANNOT FOR ANY REA ...

• cholestrol 9 years ago

Dimming the lights. ???but where are the lights??

• J.Davis 9 years ago

Corruption is our greatest enemy.It is corruption that has dimmed the light of Ghana even from the reign of Dr.Kwame Nkrumah whose some of his ministers around him were corrupt,like Krobo Edusei and co.Corruption has taken ro ...

• Mankind 9 years ago

Mr. Mahama,you have already turned the lights of our independence off!! We in darkness in 2015? Oh!what happened to our motherland? It is when we allow foreigners to rule over us!! People whose parents and ancestors have neve ...

Is a so called Independent Nation that cannot balance its Budget without international Donor's financial assistance really independent ?

• General from Wa 9 years ago

It is open secret ,the Akan Asanti n Akan Achim think we from the North are second class Humans so let them not think that we are not aware.

• olalaa 9 years ago

Then mr prez. U will have a VERY BAD history to remembered, coruption, falls promises, Dumso, dumdumsososo etc

• Greg miss 9 years ago

so why do you have over 80% of your ministers are from the north . Practice what your preach you son of a gun

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Huge flop!

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

In the minds of present generations of young people in Ghana the light of independence is dimming. Yet, ask every Ghanaian to think about conditions of apartheid and colonization, as opposed to political independence by any ...

The present Leadership should not deceive themselves with unfounded assumptions.For,there cannot be a light of independence while majority of the people live in abject Poverty and in destitute.Or is it about the lights of gro ...

• vote them out 2016 9 years ago

Sorry Mr president, even on independent day STILL NO LIGHT, so what is used of d light mahama? Shame on to u and ur Govt, never again we GH have a president like, never again.

• Eden Tsivor 9 years ago

My dreams and plans were shuttered the day my family and I voted for you. You dim my dreams and not talking about it but accusing me for your mistakes and incompetency. Mahama I wish you die so the sit will be vacant just lik ...

THERE IS NO LIGHT TO DIM.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

I blame those who voted for you president mahama.My prayer is that Ghanians will be more discerning.

• G.A.N. Koforidua 9 years ago

mr prez help brighten the light of independence by reducing the massive corruption at your doorstep.

• Ato Bainn 9 years ago

Fools NPP dining mother ghana

• Ato Bainn 9 years ago

Common commodity of NPP is to talk and talk with no magnitude just like their leader the shout man

• BERNARD ARTHUR. 9 years ago

GHANA IS LIVING IN THE DARK, SO WHICH LIGHT ARE YOU REFERING TO?DARKNESS HAS CONSUMED GHANA FOR THE PAST 6 YEARS.

• Laar Yandam 9 years ago

Whether you like it or note, insult or not, Mahama as far as the world is concerned is still president of Ghana. And hey, if u don't like it, you are free to leave. We are even too many in this country that's why some people ...

• RUBY MAHAMA 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF,CORRUPT,EVIL JUJU TRIBALIS PRES,KWASEA LIKE MAHAMA

• Kwame Amegaxoxo 9 years ago

The. Why did you dim the light Nkrumah created for our beloved Ghana? Restore our electricity.

• Yebopower 9 years ago

Dumsor has already dimmed the light of independence.Ghana today is as backward,impoverished,poor,delapidated,damaged,useless and uninhabitable like Northern region.

• WAITING TO VOTE NDC OUT 9 years ago

If Ghana literally had lights then it could mean something. 58years after independence of which the NDC political tradition has been in power for half of this period speaks volumes of what is in store for this country, if the ...

• Mars1 9 years ago

Yeah right, what have you done since in power as your contribution for not dimming the light of independence! I do not remember one thing; and if you do, bite me! In spit it all, Cheers to Ghana, HAPPY BIRTHDAY GHANA. We had ...

• Nana Oware 9 years ago

U TALK AS IF THERE IS NOO TOMORROW,ALWAYS SPEAKING LIES TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC. WHY CANT U BE LITTLE FAITHFUL TO US

• Meshack 9 years ago

Ghana has been overwhelmed by darkness because of your incompetence...our nation would have been a much better place without the NDC, a party of idiots.