You are here: HomeNews2015 03 05Article 349066

Solar energy too expensive for Ghana now - Allotey

Read Comments Comments (121)

• Kwame Ata 9 years ago

....and not do anything about the situation just ti keep complaining everyday that its too expensive so we shouldnt do it?

• anokwale 9 years ago

Start with the basics. Distribute solar lanterns to all the citizens just so people can have basic light and phone charging capabilities. The heavier expenditure could be used for government buildings . This would take pre ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I personally disagreed with Dr. Nyaho Tamakloe on this issue. Nana " Y3n Akanfuo " Binaddo did not in anyway abused or take the tribalistic Npp Motorbikes thieves for granted, but rather the entire Npp is foolish to bets with ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

THE USELESS NDC IS TURNING ONE TRIBE AGAINST ANOTHER
    TURNING ONE RELIGION AGAINST ANOTHER
    THERE WAS EVEN AN ATTEMPT BY ATTA MILLS TO poison football clubs with politics just for the SELFISH INTEREST of the USELESS NDC PARTY ...

• don`t care ©!!! 9 years ago

Hmmmmm!prof Allotey shd gave us a break..That's enough of your bickering!..he should explain what he mean by Solar energy too expensive for Ghana & when is the "FUTURE"?

Building Akosombo, Bui and Kpong dams were not"CHEAP ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Close Observer...
    I told you guys! This president is useless. There is nothing he can do to get Ghana out of the problems they have put her in. With the value of our currency, the cedi, still falling, the useless yo ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

You can use manure, everyday trash as a srenewable source of energy. You can use recycled waste for construction in homes, stadiums, roads, shoes, bags etc...Ghana, wake the fuck up and stop acting like dead invalids!

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

The answer is solar panel on every roof top in every house in Ghana. That will do the trick. This is no rocket science.

If our traffic lights could be operated or run by solar panels then our road lights could just as wel ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

The solution is solar panel on every roof top in every house in Ghana. That will do the trick. This is no rocket science.

If our traffic lights could be operated or run by solar panels then our road lights could just as we ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• owia wo ahooden papa! 9 years ago

These old foggies are sometimes employed secretly by FOREIGN corporate organisations to influence policy in their favour.

For instance --and please, this is only a theoretical example -- a good old scientist could own ...

• MMB 9 years ago

Thanks 'Owia'. He wants us to wait until the 'white man' comes to build solar grids for us and charge us 'an arm and a leg' "forever", for something God/Nature has given us for free (except for the initial cost). "Africans ju ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

Twenty years ago when we installed a solar system many people claimed it was expensive. Today we are off the national grid in the midst of power outages or 'dumsor'. Let us be smart and not be victims of the senility and self ...

• Talk to the HAND! 9 years ago

Thank you Nana Andah.You have hit the nail right in the head.Solar Energy is expensive for the where.If they stop stealing from the government coffer's dey will be able to carry out such projects.

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Prof. Allotey must not be aware that Germany, US, China & Brazil are going solar.

Nor is India an outlier. Even poor Bangladesh is installing two new rooftop photovoltaic systems every hour, making it the most rapidly gro ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

Marcus, Ghana is currently building a 155MW solar farm near Nzema. The problem though with such projects is it will feed into the national grid which does not make our citizens learn how to save energy. So the best way in my ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

Ongoing Generation Projects

Project
    Description Installed Capacity Dependable Capacity Timing Fuel type
    Kpone Thermal Power Plant (KTPP) - VRA/GoG 230 MW 200 MW 2015 Gas/Diesel
    Takoradi 2 (T2) Expansion- VRA/TAQA ...

• The African Patriot 9 years ago

Gov. has overspent our money. All the money is been stolen by the same govt. and friends or families. The general public can not be delivered with the laterns.
    By 25 mio household at least 12.5 millions must need it. That ag ...

• Michigan 9 years ago

I don't agree with Prof. Allotey on this issue. Solar energy is been used in a lot of European Countries including a lot of places in the U.S.
    Expensive, yes, but don't tell me it is not a proven technology.

• KKA 9 years ago

All that is required for Ghana going SOLAR is a One time investment. No Questions Asked. The Sun is Free and Solar Panels are so CHEAP, thanks to the Chinese and the Japanese.
    What else are we waiting for.
    Why should a NATI ...

• Tekonline.org 9 years ago

Please check out the breakdown of cost estimates for 2014:

www.brookings.edu/blogs/planetpolicy/posts/2014/05/20-low-carbon-wind-solar-power-frank

• Che 9 years ago

All Ghanaians know best is to chew what somebody has done and gain degrees out them...but come up with nothing new for posterity. Useless Prof., Emeritus INDEED! You said this and when reading, I thought I could stumble on a ...

• T'pau 9 years ago

It is not only the abundance of sunlight that determines a solar venture, but how much of this 'free' energy you can capture. Solar power has been unattractive for so long because of its poor efficiency - you needs huge panel ...

• Grayson 9 years ago

Please the media should stop speaking to these old brains about modern advances.
    These old people are the reason Ghana is stuck in this rot.
    If he can't operate it then the whole country should not have it.

• KONONGO CONTRACTOR 9 years ago

Grayson,do you speak to your father or mother? Don't you think they have old brains? You can disagree with someone,but don't suggest that old people can not reason.Old people taught you how to read and write as well as wisdom ...

...and read more about what other intelligent analysts have written for the whole world to understand:

www.heritage.org/research/reports/2010/05/a-renewable-electricity-standard-what-it-will-really-cost-americans

• Ken 9 years ago

Who said the technology is not proven? The City of Sarnia in cold Ontario is powered by 97MW solar farm since 2008. How come it's working?
    If we don't know we should just learn from those who have proven it works.
    Yes it's ...

• Nii 9 years ago

We complain always without venturing into anything. China is producing complete solar energy stuff @ $2 per watt. Our 600,000 MW energy deficiency will cost us $1.2billion. We can even use this amount of money to start produ ...

• Laala KOFI, Tema 9 years ago

As far as I know Prof. Allotey, he has been a strong supporter and promoter of solar energy and the other alternative energy systems, as important sources in our energy mix. Indeed, Prof. Allotey has installed a sizeable quan ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

I sincerely apologize if the Professor was misquoted. I do agree with your appeal to the government to help minimize the cost of importing or producing the systems in Ghana. In a couple of months, I shall complement my curren ...

• Omanbapa 9 years ago

As for this, Prof. you have goofed. Solar not a proven technology yet? What? I am sure you have been misquoted. Sorry.

• I Adane 9 years ago

Parliament could fly expensive chairs,what do u mine by expensive

• ATIA FRAFRA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!!

• Papa 9 years ago

Look that this man. WHO POURED WHITE ACID OF HIS HEAD? WHY NOT COMPLEMENT AKOSOMBO WITH SOLAR ENERGY AT THE SAME TIME. ALL THESE BOOK LONGS WITH BIG TITLES. EMERITUS PROFESSOR AND YOUR COUNTRY IS STILL IN DARKNESS

• KMT 9 years ago

Very sad that you resort to mindless, ignorant and uncultured remarks not warranted under any circumstances. Just google PROFESSOR ALLOTEY and familiarize yourself with the "Allotey Formalism" for beginners.

All our under ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

So?
    We must just swallow this prof's nonsense about solar energy although it sounds so stupid? We must subsume all our thinking to his because of what? Learn to use your brain!

How did the prof arrive at the conclusory st ...

• Paul siaw 9 years ago

Another idiot

• Nana Akuffo 9 years ago

Dr. SAS or whoever you are. I don't know what you know about Prof. Allotey but please go and research into who this person is and what his global intellectual expertise is on solar energy. You are probably a doctor of law wit ...

• Obrefoo Koo 9 years ago

Prof I really respect your learning and accomplishments. You are renowned the world over for your contribution to physics and energy in particular, but to say that solar is unreliable is to say the least bad. I think the unre ...

• Captein 9 years ago

Sorry but look at who is talking, individualized, or domestic investment in solar with government incentive of a low tax regime is okay and it is the way to go.
    The other headache will be disposal of waste from solar.
    You s ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

Your type of aegepius monarchus is the gypaetus barbatus. Any smart and discernible mind would rather attack the source of this poor reportage than to rain insult on the good old professor. Why do you think the knowledgeable ...

• kojo Amuesi 9 years ago

In the 1960's Kwame Nkrumah lined the Tema motorway with solar powered emergency phones. All the solar panels were stolen anyway.after 50 yrs we should have buitls on that and expanded use of solar power. It possible. If all ...

• yaa dua 9 years ago

Exactly sir, if it'snot that expensive all the developed countries would have gone solar. He didn't say Ghana couldn't go solar but for the future. Much as solar is being used to supplement hydro power source. Ghana can also ...

What have my elders done for me or themselves to generate my respect for them? That's what you need to ask yourself

• Paul siaw 9 years ago

Ghanaians like to complain and insult and criticize of anyone. u want to insult a man like prof Allotey? ignorant fools .

• Paul siaw 9 years ago

You are a big fat idiot!

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Papa you are ignorant if you don't know about the accomplishments of Prof Allotey. Educate yourself before you insult our highly esteemed international scientist.

• David Lardi 9 years ago

Theoretical maths and physics not able to solve dumsor dumsor.

• Tweeea 9 years ago

Look at this too. Sir can you explain what you mean by solar energy is expensive? I believe the state has enough fund to provide the need for the citizens. We flew money to the stars in Brazil, recently bought them cars, garg ...

• Alfi 9 years ago

Pls take it easy n peruse what prof said. If it's that easy, why is de Gov not jst picking de solar option n we will a'll be cool. When wise men talk, don't take de literal meaning... Do a little more research

• omanba 9 years ago

Am I the only one that sees atomic Energy as a viable source of power generation. It has been used for years in other parts of the world maybe it is time , our energy gurus looked into it. O and before any talks about it bei ...

• KWADWO A 9 years ago

How old is this man and when was the last time he traveled abroad to be giving advise to the government about solar energy? He wants the masses to surfer because solar energy is expensive and have not proven its value. Please ...

• Nana Akuffo 9 years ago

Please check your international records and google international Physics and Atomic Energy websites and you will find the last time this renowned global Professor and Scientist travelled outside of Ghana. And by the way with ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

Though Professor Allotey is a renowned Mathematician and Physicist of the past, his assertion about Solar Energy in terms of technology wise and cost is totally wrong.

In December 2012, I installed 2-Motion Security Solar ...

• T'pau 9 years ago

On a national(large) scale things are different. Do you know the inputs and requirements for only 100MW solar initiative? If it was that easy, simple and cheap we would go for 10 of such plants and all our problems solved.

• Gaddaffi 9 years ago

Prof solar is not all that expensive as said,the only future hope is that of solar.

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

NDC MAHAMA CNN PREZ IS MAFIAS FOOOLS

• Beliver 9 years ago

Prof, I disagree with u. Solar is the way to go. They are not talking solar, for fear it will run ECG out of business. This is 21st century...innovation is the key!!!

• obenfo 9 years ago

Beliver,
    i am sorry you have to agree with the prof in terms of mass generation. For domestic use, individuals can install panels on their houses to augment power during the day and that might ease the pressure on the main l ...

• Anokwale 9 years ago

What is the cost of dumsor? I think that if the government supplied every home with two solar lanterns that can charge phones it could eliminate some issues. Start with the basics and then move from there. Why give up and ...

Instead of using the Internet to find energy options and providers. These niggas are busy disagreeing with each other...Nkwasiafuo!

• Paul 9 years ago

The man deserve respect. The problem with his statement is obvious, he is not proposing an alternative to Solar energy.

• Ramat 9 years ago

Everything seems expensive for Ghana except the old way of thinking which has kept is back for far toooo long.Our best bet for a short and long term fix for Ghana right now is SOLAR.Stop thinking inside the box and start thin ...

• KMT 9 years ago

Prof does have a point although as usual Ghanaian journalists will distort comments and take things out of context. It is true that there are issues with solar energy that make it somewhat expensive. The main ones are storage ...

• Sanam 9 years ago

Well said by this contributor KMT if you to know more about how to do more of SOLAR you send a serious fact finding team to the USA to seek audience with the New Jersey Governor and other Governors as to how efficiently it ca ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

It just may be that the real world has passed by Professor Emeritus Francis Kofi Ampenyi Allotey. Reminds of the the Professor who became and President and still wanted to go on preaching!

All of that does not make sense i ...

Real scientists rely on DATA not emotions. Below are some hard facts to digest:

www.brookings.edu/blogs/planetpolicy/posts/2014/05/20-low-carbon-wind-solar-power-frank

• obenfo 9 years ago

The cost of generating electricity though solar energy is very expensive compared to other methods. Secondly, he hits the nail right on the head by saying that it is not 100% reliable and there is so much fluctuation in the a ...

You are truly an Obenfo.
    Facts can be "unpleasant", but smart people don't mind that one bit:

www.heritage.org/research/reports/2010/05/a-renewable-electricity-standard-what-it-will-really-cost-americans

• James Naru 9 years ago

Professor Allotey's claim that solar is not reliable in untrue.
    I know of places in southern New Zealand, very close to the south pole, that are entirely reliant on solar power for all their needs.

I am unsure as to wher ...

• Son of man 9 years ago

Though I respect all opinions, Professor has not advanced any good reasons for his assessment apart from the fact that it is expensive. Have you looked at what some industrialized nations such as Japan doing with solar now? I ...

• Ilunga 9 years ago

Government did not forbid solar on your rooftops. So is this a government problem that individual or communities are not buying the panels for use?

Just a question. In California, individuals install solar on their roof to ...

• Michael K. Tettevi 9 years ago

If solar energy is too expensive, why not invest in wind-mills ? One wind-mill can power about 500 houses on the average.

• Kwaboat 9 years ago

Get rid io this rhino for he has outlived his usefulness. Solar energy is the way of the future so this prof better start looking at the science rather than shooting from his guts.

• Kwame Amo 9 years ago

Old bone just wanna get attention. Andropause has also set in about 30 years ago.

• Kobena 9 years ago

With all due respect I beg to differ, Sir. Solar energy is NOT too expensive.

Stop the talking and show me the numbers. What do you mean by 'too expensive' ? How much is it exactly? Set up a committee to work out the detai ...

• Reviewer 9 years ago

Physicist statement and that is disposal of the Solar Energy's after usage. This is the problem that current world scientists struggling to find solution. If we take time to research on this issue we will understand Prof. All ...

• YAKUBU 9 years ago

On this matter I beg to respectfully differ with Prof. Allotey on the issue of the proven technology of solar as an integral and very key component of resolving Ghana's peculiar energy challenges.
    The technology is very muc ...

• Captein 9 years ago

Didn't I tell you. When fake scientists and half baked Engineers were clamoring lets go SOLAR, lets go SOLAR! I sat at my backyard and said, look this people.
    Now the whole Ghana will know why Dr Wereko-Brobbey hoodwinked R ...

• Dessy 9 years ago

This professor is out of ideas..solar power is the most cheapest form of energy source..we can use this form of energy for our roads, public spaces and homes ..more than enough to relief extra strength from our main power so ...

• God Bless Ghana. 9 years ago

Ooooooh my God this man is a Professor really? What is he talking about, Solar is too expensive? what a bout nothing? It is good for you that all the companies are closing down? soo call Professor?

• Bostonman redsox 9 years ago

First of all its been proven. Secondly, it's one of cheapest source of energy with abundance sun all year round in Ghana. Why can't people just think but let their politics and ethnicity get in the way of basic common sense?

So Prof. Emeritus, what do you suggest?
    You cannot leave us hanging.
    Do you prefer no renewable sources of energy, fossil fuels like coal or natural. or you are taking the side of nuclear energy?

Have you taken a look ...

Correction - I meant nonrenewable sources of energy versus renewable sources of energy.

• FiFi 9 years ago

Dear Prof Allotey, I hate to disagree with you on the assertion that Solar energy is not a proved technology... I agree it is an expensive capital intensive at the on set but it pays off in the long run...It is worth a pilot ...

• Captein 9 years ago

This was Dr Nkrumah's vision for Ghana and the establishment of Kwabenya Atomic and was rightly headed at one time by the same Emeritus Professor ALLOTEY at one time.
    Just like IRAN, NORTH KOREA, AND SAY IRAQ, it was not som ...

• KKA 9 years ago

All that is required for Ghana going SOLAR is a One time investment. No Questions Asked. The Sun is Free and Solar Panels are so CHEAP, thanks to the Chinese and the Japanese.
    What else are we waiting for.
    Why should a NATI ...

• VERDICT 9 years ago

First I think on this issue, with all due respect, the good old Mathematician should differ to the Emeritus Profs of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, just saying.

• Bostonman redsox 9 years ago

Wow

• Osei kuffour 9 years ago

The man is too old , he had lost touch .

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 9 years ago

I suspect the respected Professor is lost touch with the current technology modifications and cost value.

They said the same thing against the construction of Akosombo in the 60s but thank to God, we had a visionary leader ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Prof Allotey is a mathematician physicist.

He is not an economist who thinks in terms of value-for-money.

The Akosombo dam for example could have been considered too expensive at the time it was built. But if one consid ...

• Samir 9 years ago

Think this time out of the box yes most investments initially might look very daunting and expensive for the short term but quit the short term thinking and think the long term.Most of Nkrumah's investments initially was crit ...

According to the California Energy Commission:

TECHNOLOGY COST (US$/MWh)
    ------------------ -------------
    Advanced Nuclear 67
    Coal 74-88
    Natural Gas 87-346

• Chief 9 years ago

Professor muah. I shy self

• kofi 9 years ago

I think the professor didn't even know what he is talking about.I am operators in one of the biggest solar plant at Oil field in middle east where we produce steam from solar with mirrors.The steam pressure 100bar ,tempt 380 ...

• KWABENA 9 years ago

PROF. WITH ARCHAIC IDEAS. OUT OF TUNE.

• Tekonline. org 9 years ago

The data suggest otherwise. Please first do your homework:

• KWAME NKRUMAH 9 years ago

Professor Allotey could have helped Ghana better if his research work during his heydays had focused on how to make solar the energy of choice for Africa. I am sure he would have been awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics. Th ...

• Greg miss 9 years ago

Let me tell you like malaria the west have no need to eradicate that is why it's still there in Africa. The west has other energy form so they don't need to develop solar energy. Master look at it from innovation opportunity ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

Whenever and wherever I have had the opportunity to have a discuss on general development of whatever in Ghana with a fellow Citizen,I have not minced words to expressed my personal opinions about the Ghanaian Consultant.And ...

There's a Ghanaian national (name forgotten) who continued his education in the US,with the aim to return back to Ghana to Setup his Solar Panel/Energy Factory but, discarded the idea b'cos NASA(space-
    agency) employed him. ...

• Obrefoo Koo 9 years ago

You are right, man AVE KLUDGE of NASA IS THE NAME.He offers to bring his expertise on the problem but was frustrated to the extent that he quit.

• Dr.William Acquah 9 years ago

OMG! This is pure nonsense!

Please digest the facts in the link below. Numbers do not lie:

• Dr.William Acquah 9 years ago

OMG! This is pure nonsense!

• SBD 9 years ago

Solar energy is being utilized all over the world, even in places not enjoying the amount of insolation we have in Ghana. It can help mitigate the situation but not solve it. Communities can deploy and sell any unused energy ...

• Northern Progressive 9 years ago

Has Professor Allottey read this?

"Four European countries with no or modest hydroelec­tric resources (unlike, say, Norway) got about half their 2013 electricity consumption from renewables without adding any bulk storage ...

• DHURUWAH 9 years ago

How old is this man. he looks 100

• Tekonline. org 9 years ago

What he stated is nothing new. If you care, you can read more:

• So 9 years ago

Nothing is more expensive than what we are going through, think about the man hours wasted, the poverty that is emerging because of dumso,

• Ammaba 9 years ago

Since you are the most learned physicist in Ghana why don't you develop nuclear energy in the country.
    No country can achieve industrial power without nuclear power.
    Most of Ghanaian intellectuals are academically deficient ...

• jagadu 9 years ago

Solar technology has been proven to be very reliable to the extent that California is providing incentives to homeowners to install solar energy. Germany, which barely has sun closed down some of their nuclear plants and are ...

Whenever and wherever I have had the opportunity to have a discuss on general development of whatever in Ghana with a fellow Citizen,I have not minced words to expressed my personal opinions about the Ghanaian Consultant.And ...

• When Will They Ever Learn 9 years ago

Pro.! Photovoltaic energy technology is being
    used in Australia,Germany,China, USA etc, etc
    as we speak. It is a proven technology. Just
    review the literature again. You do not have to
    a rocket scientist to accept his ...

• kelton 9 years ago

OPAYIN COME AGAIN,BCOS WE NEED TO START SOMEWHERE ALONG THE LINE WITH THE SOLAR ON SMALE-SCALE-LEVEL PROJECTS FOR NOW.

• PLASMA KOTE 9 years ago

No Action Government, just the corruption with incompetent appointees.

• Koo Siaw 9 years ago

Germany,Franfurt Han airport is run with solar panels in both winter and summer

• nsem pii 9 years ago

LONGTIME IS LONGOVER DUE YOU SIT ON THE MONEY AND THE CROOKS STEAL THEM. WYOME MONEY CAN GET A SINGLE ROOM FREE ELECTRCITY POWERED BY SOLAR.

• Oheneba Quaye 9 years ago

“Solar is good but technology is not quite proven yet, so I will not advise that now."
    Dear Proff, if not now then when? Why spend $10 on old technology when you can spend $12 on future technology. That will be like spendi ...