Any wonder why institutions like both Fitch and Bloomberg are so fixated on present day Ghana than any other African country doing worse financially as compared to our homeland? Well, go figure!
Close Observer 10 years ago
MAHAMA DOESN'T KNOW WHAT HE IS DOING, HE IS JUST CELEBRATING HIS POSITION. VOTE HIM OUT IN 2016.
WE HAVE BEEN VICE PRESIDENTS FOR FAR TOO LONG, IT IS TIME YOU MAKE ONE OF YOUR OWN PRESIDENT - John Mahama.
What are the r ... read full comment
MAHAMA DOESN'T KNOW WHAT HE IS DOING, HE IS JUST CELEBRATING HIS POSITION. VOTE HIM OUT IN 2016.
WE HAVE BEEN VICE PRESIDENTS FOR FAR TOO LONG, IT IS TIME YOU MAKE ONE OF YOUR OWN PRESIDENT - John Mahama.
What are the rest of us to Mahama?
VOTE HIM OUT IN 2016 BEFORE HE DIVIDE THE COUNTRY WITH ANTI-AKAN POLITICS.
nanasei 10 years ago
I thought the article did not mention a tax rate increase but rather an increase in tax collection. did i read it wrong?
Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 10 years ago
FACT: AID WONT STIMULATE GROWTH. FOREIGN AID HAS PROVEN TO NOT BE AN ARDENT STIMULATE OF GROWTH FOR ANY LOAN/AID DEPENDENT NATION. LOOK AT THIS MONKEY TEPKER ACCEPTING the imf loan like a monkey accepting banana with a smile on his face. Mahama should spend a core of the loan on energy/dumsor. Then send the rest on empowering the judiciary and law enforcement to tackle corruption, smugglers, fraudsters, cheats and liars in the public sector, tax evaders.
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago
AKANS RISE UP AND DEMAND EQUAL TREATMENT
Bayeh Jeremiah 10 years ago
This IMF bailout is going to bring alot of suffering to the ordinary Ghanaian. Anyway we are not against increase in tax but how those tax monies are used is what we are against because there is no value for money in the payment of tax.
mensa 10 years ago
MAHAMA NEED 4 MORE YEARS SO HE CAN COMPLETELY DESTROY GHANA ,HE IS NOT DONE DESTROYING YET HE NEED TO RAISE TAXES AND FEES AND VAT VERY SOON AGAIN
SISTER 10 years ago
Nonsense !! Who wants a thief to rule his/her nation only people with no country as home who are in the ndc.May God have mercy on you.
BABY BOY 10 years ago
Comeing 2016 NDC will still rule ghana
KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago
How do you increase tax, where by there are no revenue coming in? This stupid IMF officials sitting in their offices in Foggy Bottom, Washington DC dictate how we should run our country. I don't blame them, when you have intellectual morons ruling our country what do you expect?
Neutral Zone 10 years ago
Increase in tax collection not increase in tax. Anyway, we have a lot of PhDs n I wish they would think outside the box n come up with original theories for our societies. We don't need them to show us how well they studied someone else's book.
KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago
WHAT EVER?
WHAT EVER?
EBEN 10 years ago
...To save a life
Please I am a Freelance recording engineer by profession based in Accra West with my wife and a girl Child. In recent times, things have become quite difficult for me owing to economic hardship which has re ... read full comment
...To save a life
Please I am a Freelance recording engineer by profession based in Accra West with my wife and a girl Child. In recent times, things have become quite difficult for me owing to economic hardship which has resulted in many musicians not recording as first. Besides the electrical energy crisis still prevails worsening the situation and I can barely cater for my family and other dependents faithfully.
I would plead with any generous fellow on this platform to help me by donating his old or used car so i can convert it to a taxi by which i can survive my family and cater for the needs of others.
Any willing person can call me on: 0576117591 or send me an email:helpstone@live.com
I am open for any interview or assesment. PLEASE LET GOD TOUCH YOUR HEART AS YOU READ THIS AND DONATE YOUR USED CAR FOR ETERNAL REWARDS
Plasma Kote 10 years ago
Which country has ever stood on its own leg after IMG assistance.
Home grown solutions are needed.
Incompetence, frivolity, corruption, Ghost Employees, Inflated Prices for all govt purchases, Shady Contract Awards.........will not help either.
DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago
This forum is not the right place to advertise your so-called hardship you claimed to be going through. The appropriate place I can suggest to you is the flagstaff House. Well, save journey.
boss 10 years ago
lotto lotto lotto ....Hello my people!
Do you need help in winning the
lottery but don't know where to turn
on?
Lotto winner is your answer!!
Lotto winner is a group of lotto
forecasters who have come together
to make ... read full comment
on?
to make predictions to help
individuals to maximize their
chances of winning at lotto at least once in a month for sure.still a lot of people testifying that if not because of me they can't pay their children's school fees,rent fees,registerations and etc.I asked them why? they said,they were scam in many groups but now they can all laughing!hahaha..
To be able to join the wazzup group and win in this month,there is promotion going on! please harry up!!
SUBSCRIBE to MEMBERSHIP.
Saturday game is
CRUCIAL.................
We pray to have BIG WINS.JUST REGISTER HERE!
Please do not WAZZUP ME IF YOU ARE NOT READY!!
if you are READY,a lot of people register with amount of 70ghc some heard my advertisement on radios but because of promotion price has reduce to ghc25.00...don't worry how to register! you CAN register through mobile money if YOU ARE ready this is the number; 0543707742. If YOU send money or READY to send it and join the group or receive your numbers in private just wazzup ME and tell me the way you want it...let me remind you at the end of 28th this February promotion would end and the price would go back to its normal price (ghc100.00), thanks...
Abba 10 years ago
THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHMAM LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.
Abba 10 years ago
THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS. EVEN GOING TO 'IMF TESTIFIES'.
Rastafara"I" 10 years ago
JJ has forgotten that Mahama is doing worse things than the people he killed....
JJ is enjoying royalties from Nsawam cannery...he does not really care....Mahama ensures that he is given 24/7 care.. something Mills will not ... read full comment
JJ has forgotten that Mahama is doing worse things than the people he killed....
JJ is enjoying royalties from Nsawam cannery...he does not really care....Mahama ensures that he is given 24/7 care.. something Mills will not do, so he mounted a vicious campaign against him....if Acheampong and co, had given him some monthly allowance, he would have been no coup...all the coups and tantrums are about his own comfort, nothing to do with Ghana....he is fake, really fake
The president and the whole cabinet know that the real problem is corruption. you cannot fill up a basket with water...
Shut the hell up, Fitch! Where were you during the eight abysmal years of Kufuor's administration, huh? Stop "spooking" investors away. Your "Judas kiss" is become a nuisance to our pride and your doom and gloom flams are gaining quite a notoriety at the aisle of the political divide. So then, go-way-you-there.
fitch is not a ghana political party
Yeah right! We all know The Fitch Institution and their so-called bogus ratings. Didn't Angela Merkel once tell them to fitch on something better for a change aside their constant negativity grading? What did they know better that the IMF did not consider before sealing a deal with Ghana? Now, go tell your WAOW story to the gullible in your god-forsaken party, will you?
Obaapa 10 years ago
Another trokosi hater,what has Kufuor got to do with Mahama and his gang of thieves failure ? Obama has never in his presidency mentioned George Bush,because he promised the American people with ' YES WE CAN' so the people handed over their future to him to solve the problem ,they didnt vote for him to complain about the past government as these neuseating idiots in the ndc are doing. The people of Ghana didnt advertise for a president, you went to plead and promised them with better Ghana,so what has changed for you to be giving all these excuses of Kufuor that and the npp this.
You cant do the job, Afari Djan handed the
destiny of the nation to you to solve
problems but not to complain about the
past so if the Kitchen is too HOT just Get
OUT,it is not a force and presidency is not
for job training neither a play ground GET
OUT.NDC is not up to the task,they are all chew and pour intellectuals no brains,visionless incompetent and thieves.Tweeeaaaaa, apuuuutooo EMPTY BARRELS.
Koo 10 years ago
This money will do foko!
Ge 10 years ago
Not to be cheeky but as there are too many liars and will just say yes yes yes run the IMF game for a while then spend spend what can IMF do to Ghana ? What can they do when a country renegades? Anyone know ?
Efo Kwaku Canada 10 years ago
Even 4 billion dollars was nothing to NDC idiots and fools gov't and IMF is talking about 960 million for three years , Ghana is in the hands of NDC criminals and NDC criminals have NO shame , prison is awaiting for those bunch of criminals and crooks ,NDC inherited middle income country without oil money with oil 2 billion dollars Ghana is going under IMF program lack of wisdom and over spending and looting in Mahama administration
kpakpakpa.. 10 years ago
oh my god where is this country heading too?? lets pray for this country for the next future cos this story is very very pathetic story for Ghana..
KWASI 10 years ago
FALKS YOU 1ST MUST UNDERSTAND THAT FITCH WAS RESPONSIBLE FOE DESTRUCTION OF THE WORLD ECONOMY STARTING 2008 AND UP. THIS IS THE SAME FITCH THAT RATED U.S MORTGAGE BONDS AS TRIPPLE
AAA WHEN THE KNEW THEY WERE TOXIC
... read full comment
FALKS YOU 1ST MUST UNDERSTAND THAT FITCH WAS RESPONSIBLE FOE DESTRUCTION OF THE WORLD ECONOMY STARTING 2008 AND UP. THIS IS THE SAME FITCH THAT RATED U.S MORTGAGE BONDS AS TRIPPLE
TRASH WHICH MANY COUNTRIES IN EUROPE PURCHES AND LOST PENSION OF PEOPLE AND WENT TRU A LOT OF MISUREY AND PAIN FITCH CROOKS ARE STILL CROOKS EVERYTHING THE SAY TODAY MEAN NOTHING TOMORROW DONT MIND THEM
Yen Akanfuo 10 years ago
NO discerning mind will vote for evil dwarf because of his nefarious activities.
Obaapa 10 years ago
So do you call yourself descerning ? What ?then you would have surelly eaten toilet if primitive ndc hasnt come to your life, with this life style and behaviour you call yourself discerning ? Or you dont know what that word means? Excuse me ndc discerning ?
CAO 10 years ago
said
said
PROFESSOR ASHAWO!! 10 years ago
Nonsense
Nonsense
Nanasei Akwasi 10 years ago
What ever think tanker you call yourself, it is not guarantee of fiscal sustainability and so what. A half bread is better than none. At least we have something to boost our economy what we are expecting from our leaders is that they should use it prudently and profitably as well.
Mars1 10 years ago
Rightly said. IMF bailouts are not an end in themselves. It is all about how those funds are used, supported by a domestic financial management discipline. When it becomes a gateway to conspicuous and economically inutile consumption, herein lies the trouble. Just ask Greece and the rest of them in western Europe; and nobody should think it cannot happen to Ghana. With the kind of financial and economic management in place at this moment, it does not give hope, does it!
ekow nyame 10 years ago
Ghana's economy in the hands of economic wolfs and vampires can not bring growth. At the blind side of the IMF and Ghanaians the way and manner this assistance will be put to use will shock the world. With elections coming the projects to be undertaken are going to be inflated to the ceiling. Judgement debts are going to be renewed and also pay -roll mismanagement is going to continue to enable foot batallions to continue to have free money in their pockets. God save His belovedGGhana. AMEN.
Dawn 10 years ago
independent assessment ,not the normal politics laden arguments in Ghana.
Kwaku 10 years ago
There is no doubt that the IMF bail out could ease pressure on the economy. But the problem is the people who are to manage the money. The Usd950 is peanuts compared to monies that have passed through this government. Huge sums of money have dissipated in the name of GYEEDA, SADA, et all. The money earned from oil exports is far bigger than the IMF bailout. Why should sychophants and bootlickers behave as if the country is out of the woods. The problem is not availability of money. It is about the management. The president's office is adjudged the second most corrupt public institution. What Ghanains expect the government to do is to collect all the monies wrongly paid to cronies Ghana is not a poor country. Ghana is ruled by a gang of thieves. Woyome warned that people will ran out of the country if he is forced to pay the moneu he wrongly received. The Supreme Court have riled that Woyome had no cotract yet a smaller court is sitting on the same case. Isn't it funny? Quantum of concaine got missing between the police and the court and nobody has been charged. Andindifual is assisted to carry cocaine through the VVIP lounge and those who assisted are npt prosecuted. This is Mahama for you. How can Ghanaians gloss over all these heinous acts and retain Mahama. It cannot happen
NDC ALL THE WAY!!!!
What are the r ...
FACT: AID WONT STIMULATE GROWTH. FOREIGN AID HAS PROVEN TO NOT BE AN ARDENT STIMULATE OF GROWTH FOR ANY LOAN/AID DEPENDENT NATION. LOOK AT THIS MONKEY TEPKER ACCEPTING the imf loan like a monkey accepting banana with a smile ...
This IMF bailout is going to bring alot of suffering to the ordinary Ghanaian. Anyway we are not against increase in tax but how those tax monies are used is what we are against because there is no value for money in the paym ...
How do you increase tax, where by there are no revenue coming in? This stupid IMF officials sitting in their offices in Foggy Bottom, Washington DC dictate how we should run our country. I don't blame them, when you have inte ...
Increase in tax collection not increase in tax. Anyway, we have a lot of PhDs n I wish they would think outside the box n come up with original theories for our societies. We don't need them to show us how well they studied ...
WHAT EVER?
...To save a life
Please I am a Freelance recording engineer by profession based in Accra West with my wife and a girl Child. In recent times, things have become quite difficult for me owing to economic hardship which has re ...
Incompetence, frivolity, corruption, Ghost Employees, Inflated Prices for all govt purchases, Shady Contract Awards..... ...
on?
to make ...
JJ is enjoying royalties from Nsawam cannery...he does not really care....Mahama ensures that he is given 24/7 care.. something Mills will not ...
Shut the hell up, Fitch! Where were you during the eight abysmal years of Kufuor's administration, huh? Stop "spooking" investors away. Your "Judas kiss" is become a nuisance to our pride and your doom and gloom flams are ga ...
Yeah right! We all know The Fitch Institution and their so-called bogus ratings. Didn't Angela Merkel once tell them to fitch on something better for a change aside their constant negativity grading? What did they know better ...
Another trokosi hater,what has Kufuor got to do with Mahama and his gang of thieves failure ? Obama has never in his presidency mentioned George Bush,because he promised the American people with ' YES WE CAN' so the people ...
This money will do foko!
Even 4 billion dollars was nothing to NDC idiots and fools gov't and IMF is talking about 960 million for three years , Ghana is in the hands of NDC criminals and NDC criminals have NO shame , prison is awaiting for those bun ...
So do you call yourself descerning ? What ?then you would have surelly eaten toilet if primitive ndc hasnt come to your life, with this life style and behaviour you call yourself discerning ? Or you dont know what that word m ...
said
Nonsense
What ever think tanker you call yourself, it is not guarantee of fiscal sustainability and so what. A half bread is better than none. At least we have something to boost our economy what we are expecting from our leaders is t ...
Rightly said. IMF bailouts are not an end in themselves. It is all about how those funds are used, supported by a domestic financial management discipline. When it becomes a gateway to conspicuous and economically inutile con ...
Ghana's economy in the hands of economic wolfs and vampires can not bring growth. At the blind side of the IMF and Ghanaians the way and manner this assistance will be put to use will shock the world. With elections coming th ...
There is no doubt that the IMF bail out could ease pressure on the economy. But the problem is the people who are to manage the money. The Usd950 is peanuts compared to monies that have passed through this government. Huge su ...