You are here: HomeNews2015 02 24Article 347919

I didn’t steal the luxury car; I’ve returned it - Dr Oteng-Adjei

Read Comments Comments (124)

• cha 9 years ago

Ghanaians must kick them out

• Sethoo 9 years ago

Shame on NPP as for we NDC we're socialists we don't enjoy luxury things that is why we walk with the poor.

• Constructivist 9 years ago

I guess you did not understand what you wrote yourself! You bought luxurious cars that because of this exposure ure now shamelessly returning!

• Sethoo 9 years ago

The luxurious cars went to the NDC ministers home on their own,they did not take it by force.NDC as a socialist will never steal from Ghana.

• facts 9 years ago

It is alright if he has returned the car. Others pay 300 for a presidential car.

• AKOMFEM GOVERNMENT 9 years ago

NDC IS DOOMED FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mr.N 9 years ago

Only in Ghana when you mess-up at Minister of Energy of they move you to Ministry of Environment and Science. What a country God have mercy on us.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR:-BOLUS, MERCY ADEDE...

"The drug barons are currently targeting Ghana making us a vulnerable nation hence we must toughen our national security at all our Airports. If Ms Ametefeh has been allegedly doing such mano ...

• Son of Man 9 years ago

Those cars do not cost that much. Thieves!

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 9 years ago

Nana Addo and many other NPP Ministers kept their state-provided vehicles until the Mills Administration went after them. Nana Addo even campaigned inthe 2008 elections with those cars. We already know that Jake Obetsebi Lamp ...

• KWAKU ANANSE 9 years ago

SOCIALISTS DO NOT ENJOY LUXURY THINGS, MY FOOT. SOCIALISTS ARE THE MOST GREEDY OF POLITICAL IDEOLOGIES. GO TO RUSSIA TODAY AND YOU WILL SEE PUTIN AND HIS OLIGARCH CRONIES HAVE ALL THE LUXURIES AND BILLIONS OF DOLLARS IN SWISS ...

• Anselm 9 years ago

Non of these so called Ghanaian politicians have heart for th country. They all look for avenues to steal and make money. Non, I say non is clean! NPP was/is worse!

YOU ARE IN POWER, SO SEND THE IMAGINARY CORRUPT NPP MINISTERS AND JAIL THEM, DO NOT RELY ON LIES AND PROPAGANDA TO SMEAR INNOCENT NPP MINISTERS. IF YOU HAVE EVIDENCE SEND THE ALLEGED NPP CORRUPT PEOPLE TO COURT AND STOP YOUR ...

• Anselm 9 years ago

You are a thief too! Thus is you can't see what is happening in Ghana.
    Are all these judges not corrupt too? To hell with psycophants!

• Aikins 9 years ago

Atuguba is their leader

NPP blew millions on 200+ luxury cars during the infamous Ghana-at-50 celebrations. They then sold some of those cars to themselves at "dongomi" prices!

NDC=NPP=CORRUPTION, MISMANAGEMENT AND LACK OF VISION. NPP and NDC ar ...

• Johnny 9 years ago

Leave Russia alone they've electricity,water,gas etc we don't have anything to talk of.The Russians are thinking of NATO & EU so don't disturb them pls.

• igor Nayele 9 years ago

You are a FUCKING LIAR, CHAMPAGNE SOCIALIST IS WHAT YOU ARE!! BUT you know from the USSR TO ROMANIA CITIZENS EVENTUALLY WILL CATCH UP WITH YOU, . PUNK ASS MOTHERFUCKER. STOP PISSING PEOPLE OFF. THIS COUNTRY IS SINKING AND YOU ...

• Abena 9 years ago

Sethoo or whatever you call yourself you are a big fool. If really NDC care for the poor would they have used the money to buy those expensive cars. America government does not buy cars people in power. Why should state money ...

• GOLD 9 years ago

1. Yes, you stole it.
    You returned it because you were caught.

Our journalists did a great job here.
    They should make it their mission to expose all these criminals.

You should pay for it as car lease for all the time ...

• Palogo 9 years ago

Are these NDC boys Human Beings at all? Ghana is finshed with these thieves at the helm of affairs.

• nipanua 9 years ago

This matter ought to be referred to chrag and duly investigated to its logical conclusion. How can u take away a car from your former ministry to a new one just because that ministry has no car for your official use. So what ...

• Akwamey-NY 9 years ago

I saw this man preach about holiness in a Baptist Church here in NY before. If these allegations are true, then am highly disappointed in him.This is why now it's difficult to listen to people who parade themselves as godsen ...

• Kpakpo 9 years ago

Talk true, my friend

• Kobby 9 years ago

If Graphic had not blown this matter, would you have returned it? Complete stealing. I thought the NDC said they were reviewing all the contracts signed by the NPP and did actually review this particular one, why did they not ...

• Johnny 9 years ago

The car shd be valued as at when he took it with interest & sold to him to serve as a deterrent to others who'll like to hide behind govt contract to buy luxury items to enjoy.Criminals parading as politicians.

• tribe careless, nations builder 9 years ago

Kpakpo, most ewes are thinking about the country first and the subject matter, you are here talking about Ashanti, ewe, krobo etc. You see how some of you can't join the rest of patriotic Ghanaian citizens to achieve better f ...

Very sad indeed. There three things that can judge the character of a person - power, money and sex. The mighty fall. But they are not guilty till in the eyes of men they found. Lord have mercy.

• AbraBo Ye HARD 9 years ago

FAMILIES ARE CRYING FOR JUST FOOD FOR THE TABLE,AND LOOK ALL THIS MONEY TO THE BRAINLESS BOOK TITLE THIEVES. NOTHING,NOTHING COULD BE SAID FOR NOW,ONLY HELL AWAITS THEM.

• Gyaesemnoo 9 years ago

These nothing to write home about politicians should be watched critically. For what reason must we enthrust the governance and management of our resources in these empty heads called politicians. The amount of money spent on ...

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

A poor nation like Ghana has no business buying cars for well compensated ministers. It is a complete waste of our meagre resources. It encourages a sense of entitlement. People in such positions should exude a sense if sacri ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

My friend,sometimes let us weigh issues very well before we write in order not to display our ignorance.
    Is there any country you know in this world that government does not buy cars for ministers,do you want them to walk t ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Hold on please. Here in the US, secretaries buy their own vehicles. The state has cheap chevy and ford vehicles for departments but officials have their own vehicles.
    In 2008 when fuel was almost $4.00, it was reported that ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

My friend,you are not the only person in the US,they have officials cars for all the cities and the states that Mayors and Governors use,only legislators buy their own cars,don't say what you don't know,go to the State house ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

What is different from what you're saying and what I wrote? What is the boasting in me saying about the AG of Connecticut being mindful of high cost of petrol and decided to tone down. What is the boasting in trying to poin ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

There is no insult in my comment,you can read it again,there is nowhere I have insulted you.

I'm one of the few people who don't like government building houses for workers and I wrote about it several times here that it ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Where in any civilized world does the government buy private cars for Ministers or allow Ministers to keep government vehicles in their homes after they left the job? You better keep your ignorance to yourself and stop accusi ...

• Nii Lante Okunka. 9 years ago

Yes Corney,if left to me,these looters would walk to work considering how our nation is being governed.The fact that other nations buy cars for their officials'use doesn't necessarily oblige us to do the same.We should cut ou ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 9 years ago

NOW, NII LANTE OKUNKA HAS SEEN THE LIGHT. GLORY, HALLELUJAH!!!!!!!! OUR OWN SAUL(AKA NII LANTE OKUNKA) HAS NOW HAD HIS "DAMASCUS WAY" COVERSION TO THE TRUTH. THANK GOD!!!!! MI NI ONA, MINY3MI NUU? NYOMO DA WAA DIENTS3!!!!!!

• kk 9 years ago

America does not buy cars for their officials. They buys cars but they do not assign them to the officials and you get to use a govt car only when you are on official business. There is nothing like that here in America.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Don't say America does not but car for their officials,you are not exposed very much in America,America is a huge country where things go on differently,it is not true,even some companies assign cars to some of their top empl ...

• Joe London 9 years ago

My friend, there are many countries that don't buy cars for their ministers. This is what I think should be done. Cars should be procured for the ministry not for the minister. The minister's use of the or any car should star ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

My friend,the cars they use all belong to the ministries or the government,they are not their personal properties just that we have some people who out of greed try to keep those cars for themselves.
    Nobody is saying governm ...

• JB Mann 9 years ago

Corney you know NOTHING because in Europe govts do not provide cars and houses for minisers & MPs. Moreover, apart from that only Heads of states / Chancellors etc have drivers - all others drive their own vehicles, compared ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

You calling me ignorant person but you don't know that Europe is a continent with many countries which you don't know what happens in those countries.
    I can even tell from your response that you don't even know anything abou ...

Wait a minute, Cornet not at the time the money has been a located for rural electrification, whereby some of the citizen are living in the dark,

• AWURAMA 9 years ago

You are an idiot,such an idiot who shouldnt come here. Come to the USA, the senetors and the House of Rep all have their own cars not any government bought those cars for them. However in Africa and Ghana for that matter down ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Don't you know I live in America too and know better than you do,did you read my comment or you are blind,man or woman,do you know the difference between Senators,Congressmen and ministers,do you think the equivalent of a min ...

Wait a minute Corney, not at the time the money has been a located for rural electrification, whereby some of the citizen are living in the dark,

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

Apart from Nkrumah, Busia, Limann, Kofi Baako, kotei and Joyce Aryee, the rest all go into politics not for the love of the country but with the ulterior motive of fleecing the country enough to make themselves, their familie ...

• ahmed 9 years ago

Why now you have to return the car after raising the alarm thieve.

• TOGBE 9 years ago

NDC has been in power for almost 9 years and are blaming the NPP for their incompetence.NDC you are a disgrace.

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

I just cannot understand this nasty obsession of Ghanaian Politicians and Senior Civil servants with motor vehicles! Why can't they buy their own vehicles instead of using our meagre resources on these least useful items when ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 9 years ago

What a shame, and he has a terminal degree. What would Prof George Aryetey say?

• TT 9 years ago

Oooo Africa...people in parliament or senate in the western world use their own vehicles for service to the nations. why Africa alone

• Abugre Yahaya 9 years ago

Dr Oteng Adjei your action defines corruption and what lack of integrity means.

• nana addai 9 years ago

dr, if the car was acquired lawfully why den do u return it. under this gov everything is possible

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

The farmer's son was returning from the market, with the crate of chicken's his father had entrusted to him, when all of a sudden, the box fell and broke open.
    Chickens scurried off in different directions, but the determine ...

• AGOO 9 years ago

WE ARE FINISHED, POOR VILLAGES YEARNING FOR ELECTRICITY IN GHANA WILL FOR EVER CURSE YOU THIEVES.

WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF STEALING OR A THIEF?
    IF YOU WERE NOT CUAGHT, WOULD YOU HAVE RETURNED THE CAR ? YOU THIEF !

• KK 9 years ago

Leaders in Africa do not have any sense of accountability. They will justify every corrupt practice. It could be a clear case of conflict of interest, abuse of office and yet still an educated African leader sees
    nothing w ...

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

Sucking tax payers dry.Oteng Adjei must return the Lexus to the state for autioning.This is plain thievery and he shd be prosecuted,if Dumb Dramani has the balls

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

Stupid and cheap man. You are riping where you have not sown

• kumawu warrior,etianiba. 9 years ago

oteng agyei shane on u.

• kwasi t 9 years ago

Where do they bought these cars .Prices are 6x e price anywhere in this world including shipping.

• BUKIDIADO 9 years ago

Ghanaians will suffer the more if we dont kick NDC-NPP party out of Government for PPP. NDC and NPP are of the same selfish political interestn notn more. WE Ghanains must be discipline in our voting !! God Save ur innocent s ...

WHERE ARE RAWLINGS AND KWESI PRATT, IN ALL OF THIS AFRC/P/NDC PARTY STEALING, ROBBERY, LIES AND INCOMPETENCE???????????

• GHANABA 9 years ago

This man have no shame and is one of Ghanaians parading around with useless degrees.

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

We must probably revisit this situation more frankly. If Dr. Oteng- Adjei did not keep the car as a personal asset but only for official use at a different Ministry, there is not much of a crime here that he had committed, es ...

• ANOKWARE ASA 9 years ago

Cars, buildings, appliances for use by the state must thoroughly be regulated by the Auditor-General period.

• KK 9 years ago

Master- The car was purchased for a particular purpose. You can not use it for any official duties- This is simple accountability. Africans must stop rationalizing every bad decision they make

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

Ideally, we would all expect that materials purchased for a particular purpose within an outfit, would just stay there and be used solely for that purpose.

But, practically, when one side of the Government is lacking in r ...

• JB Mann 9 years ago

Mr Berko, I personally know Dr Oteng, but I will not defend him here.

A vehicle is assigned to a Minsitry and not to a person, so it was wrong for him to have taken the vehicle along to another ministry. He should have giv ...

• JOHN OUT NANA IN 9 years ago

NDC Satanic Charecter Being Exposed

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

All those who just go into politics to steal the taxpayers Money for the already poor People of Ghana will be poison through the free given air of GOD . and all their Family members , children, and friends who also enjoy fro ...

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

Dr. Oteng-Adjei, I did listen to your explanation on the radio. You are being dishonest, disingeniuos and has no integrity like you claim. You stated at one point that you returned the vehicle yesterday but then stated the ve ...

• Ben 9 years ago

THIEF!

• F B 9 years ago

This will never happened in China or Europe and we have the gut to go IMF for more money. Insane , madness Doctord without brains and Headless leaders. We have to introduced Firing squad.

• F B 9 years ago

IMF must not give Ghana any money

• Kt 9 years ago

IME themselves are crooks.

• 2fle 9 years ago

So without a complain you wouldn't have returned the car. Wo Maame wa te!. Our leaders in Ghana behaves like kids. Fuck our leaders mannnn :]

• kre 9 years ago

Shame on you! He is one of the blood sucker government leaders killing Ghana with their greed, selfish and corrupt behaviors.

• Arthur 9 years ago

Wow all these rogue PHD's don't get it. Aren't they tired of duping and wrecking Ghana? Does this clown mean he cannot use any other car except this Lexus truck? My goodness. In fact, these uneducated degree holders are the c ...

• 2fle 9 years ago

Massa please I'm a Phd holder but a Christian and not like him. So bro this your comments please

• JB Mann 9 years ago

• Nana Kwame Windsor Canada 9 years ago

Military generals plus three justices
    were killed by PNDC/NDC for stealing
    nothing. What a shame!

• Kofius 9 years ago

JAKE 'KEPT' HIS HOUSE

• Agyarko koo 9 years ago

I don't think he stole the luxury car. He only used it in another department in the same government because that department wasn't financially sound to provide him a car - simple!!.

• Papa Sam NYC 9 years ago

Thief Thief thief

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

Mr. Minister, you abused your rights so the NPP was and is very correct with you.

• Obrefo 9 years ago

Haruna Iddrissu is in a possesion of GFZB brand new Toyotal Land Cruiser. He no longer the trade minister which has oversight over GFZB. Hehas an official car from the trade ministry and should return the Ghana Free Zone car ...

• kanawu 9 years ago

Why is it that a minister left office and kept government luxury car for GOOD 6 months? why is Kpegah still living in government bungalow after retirement, Why Why and why. What is going on in Ghana.

• Sekwa 9 years ago

the NPP is so dumb that the NDC blames them for everything bad in this country. How come the so called social democrats noe love luxury vehicles like that

• kutsii. 9 years ago

You have returned it indeed. You shd stand trial for attempted stealing. Greedy bastard.Your children shd be ashamed of u that u are a thief after all. Foolish greedy man who can't buy a car for himself after being an Energy ...

• Grand Mufti of Accra . 9 years ago

Dr Oteng ; Frankly what will children say about this that the car that Daddy is driving apparently he stole it from the government ; what an uneducated PHD holder ; all these people brandishing big qualifications are not fit ...

• Sam Job 9 years ago

Can some one please forward this article to the IMF for me? I will see if I can forward or post it on to IMF.org

• Kofi Busia 9 years ago

Dr.Oteng -Adjei shame on you.
    You call yourself a Christian.
    Kronfout Christian Oteng - Adjei.

Stealing state-owned cars and houses - a tradition practiced by both NDC and NPP. Nana Addo and other NPP mainisters and appointees did the same thing as Dr Oteng.

NDC = NPP = CORRUPTION AND MISMANGEMENT! THE PEOPLE REJEC ...

• kwadwo 9 years ago

Dr. Bodee, Dr. Mree.Dr.Koobi. Everything about Ghana is doctorate as if wisdom is got from having PhD. Until we stop this nonsense and allow committed and selfless people to do the job we are doomed as a nation. If you hold P ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

THIS MAN IS A CRIMINAL. SO HE ONLY RETURNED THE CAR BECAUSE THE OPPOEITION RAISED NOISE ABOUT IT. WHAT WAS THE PRINCIPAL SECRETARY DOING? MINISTERS CAN SREAL THEIR VEHICLES UNLESS SOMEONE SHOUTS "THIEF"? OTENG-ADJEI'S EDUCATI ...

• Kay Bee 9 years ago

Ei, stealing spree paaa nie? God have mercy!!

• Kay Bee 9 years ago

Why don't we tar our roads properly so that we can use cars like Nissan Micra even to the remotest part of the country. God will expose all of them one by one. Thieves!!!

• Akua 9 years ago

Mo ma yenka na Ghana asei PAAAAAA. The WHOLE country is so corrupt there is no better word to describe it.

• okukuseku 9 years ago

This man who had is ministerial ordination at a CHURCH. Jst make a wild guess what the president and others who claimed to be Christians would be doing............
    SHAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

WAS IT NECESSARY FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO USE TO USE STATE FUNDS TO BUY EXPENSIVE LUZURY CARS AND JEEPS FOR USE BY GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS AND POLITCIANS FOR A RURAL ELETRIFICATION PROJECT.

THESE ARE SOME OF THE MANY WRONG DECIC ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

Ei Ghana you have all these money yet you are sleeping in darkness? How stupid you are? Come on you need civil war in Ghana now. Mmoasem!

• WAITING TO VOTE NDC OUT 9 years ago

The NDC party's philosophy is based on thievery. The principles of thievery is strictly adhered to as a policy position of the NDC party and gov't.
    It is a party and gov't of thievery, for thievery and by thievery, and until ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

WHERE WERE THE ECONOMIC ADVISORS OF THE GOVERNMENT WHEN FUNDS WERE RELEASED FOR THE PURCHASE OF THESE EXPENSIVE LUXURY CARS AND JEEPS FOR JUST A RURAL ELETRICITY PROJECT IN THE COUNTRY,

WERE THE SO CALLED PUBLIC OFFICIALS ...

• MASNUS 9 years ago

so is this man really a phd holder its a shame to have such caliber of people in the ministerial positions in ghana

• kwam 9 years ago

All politicians in the Country are the same, they came to steal, loot and share the resources of the state. they are greedy and selfish.

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

is he the same oteng adjei who was lambasted so much by tor workers for his criminality and corruption which destroyed tor?.......why is ndc so full of criminals

• Plasma Kote 9 years ago

He probably forgot to payoff some people.

• NANAPA 9 years ago

a big thief

He has enough to buy one

• Kwame marcus 9 years ago

With the highly educated people in both major parties its mind blowing this kind of mismanagement goes on. Oh my precious motherland. Should have at least bought Korean cars or Tata from India so the poor could get electricit ...

• Ladan 9 years ago

Shut up! You're a thief. If it had not been complained would you have brought it? And you call yourself a Christian! shame unto you. You still have another one in possession, send it immediately. God is watching you all

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

Definitely, Northerners And Voltarians Will Want To Retain Ndc But Central, Brong Ahafo, Western, And Greater Accra Metropolis Will Vote Out Ndc Bcos They Are Not One Way Voters So They Vote According To How Badly Incumbent G ...

Chase them out of town.

• Fred 9 years ago

Return our property

• DANGOTE CEMENT 9 years ago

Purchase a Trailer Load Of DANGOTE
    CEMENT At a Low Factory Price.
    We Supply To Any Part Of The Country
    Upon The Customer(s) Order,
    And Delivered To Your Door Step.
    *Product: DANGOTE CEMENT(50KG).
    *Origin: DANGOTE FACTOR ...

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

You are a disgrace to ashantis and the useless ghana academia period!.what can these gangsters do better?and they want another mandate ?god forbid amen

• Yiddana 9 years ago

Dr. Oteng-Adjei your intention was to keep the cars, but you were caught in the process. Shame on you, and the likes of you.

• Kay 9 years ago

Dzulor

• Mohammed 9 years ago

Im extremely sad to hear this statement from the NDC thus: "The NDC government through a statement issued last week had distanced itself from the Scandal , blaming the opposition NPP for the expenditure , saying it was the N ...

• Habib 9 years ago

Why are people so incensitive to the mode of the time?