You are here: HomeNews2015 02 19Article 347292

"Freeze on borrowing: Ghana becoming highly indebted" - Economist

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Boss 9 years ago

About 0.0017% (Percent) Ghanaians attended the Won Gbo demonstrations. This translate to about 500,000 Ghanaians equivalent to about 7 large constituencies in Ashanti Region, 9 in the Volta region, and 10 in the Greater Regio ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

MOST NDC MINISTERS/APPOINTEES R MUSLIMS

• Close Observer 9 years ago

RAWLINGS AND KWESI BOTCHWEH MADE GHANA A HIGHLY INDEBTED POOR COUNTRY, HIPC. KUFOUR GOT US OUT. TODAY, MAHAMA AND HIS SCHOOL BOYS HAVE TAKEN US THERE AGAIN. VOTE THE SUB-STANDARD NDC GOVERNMENT OUT IN 2016.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Mahmoud...
    The president has been saying that he tried to introduce electronic payment and acquisition systems into the public sector {to reduce human contact with cash} in his effort to fighting corruption, but lam ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Ghana epitomises much of the best of Africa, but also throws into relief the tragedy of the continent. It has maintained its higher education and has fewer extremes of wealth than elsewhere. But at independence in 1957, Ghana ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

The P/NDC and its sycophant stomach politicians, claiming to be supporters of the failed Nkrumah's ideology, are nothing but cut-throat, blood sucking vampires and nation wreckers masquerading as socialists. No wonder they ha ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

So what? Aren't they qualified Ghanaians who can serve?

Author:-SOD....
    What does the Mahama NDC gov't means by an Ultra modern Kumasi central market? What comparable ultra modern market in developed countries of the world should Ghanaians compare this Ultra modern Kumasi centra ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: STEVOO-------
    GOD ISNT STUPID LIKE US, WE REAP WHAT WE SOWED,,,,WE SOWED FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS, ALMOST ONE BILLION DOLLARS....WE SOWED WOYOME 45 MILLION DOLLARS, WE SOWED WATERVILLE 46 MILLION DOLLARS,.....WE SOWED GY ...

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

What's your point. Our country which has been so blessed by God is being ruined and because it's being done by a party you support that's ok.

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

YOU ARE USELESS!

• KONFANKO. 9 years ago

WHERE IS YOUR BRAIN THIS IS ABOUT THE ECONOMY BUT NOT ABOUT DEMOSTRATION.YOU IDIOTS MUST LEARN FAST THAN TURNING EVERY INTO POLITICS.DO YOU HAVE COTTON WOOL IN YOUR SKULL?.THE COUNTRY IS BEING DESTROYING BY THESE HARD CRIMINA ...

• Asukooko 9 years ago

Konfanko, you are charitable. This guy has a brain size smaller than that of a mosquito and made of grease and sawdust. LOL!

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

Who used state resources to bribe his way to the presidency just to make it to the history books and also to enrich himself.Now see how he is struggling.He will go down in disgrace and ignominy.....a a mere
    footnote in the ...

• DOWBIAH ROKO. 9 years ago

LET THE FOOLS SUPPORT AND DEFENCE THESE CRIMINALS,THEY HAVEN´T SEEN NOTHING YET.WE ARE DEALING WITH HARD CRIMINALS WHOSE MAIN INTENTION IS TO DESTROY THIS COUNTRY,BUT WE HAVE STUPID PEOPLE WHOSE EYES ARE AT THE BACK OF THEIR ...

• LAST DON 9 years ago

In a very long time ago, when the Fanti’s along the coast Ghana led by Nana Kwamena Ansah and Kwegyir Aggrey were very smart in protecting their people and property from the colonial rogues who wanted to steal their lands. ...

• see star 9 years ago

iiiiiIIIIIIIIII

• social whip 9 years ago

Such a long story, unfortunately, it is not balanced. We did not read anything about Dr.Nkrumah's bad socio-economic policies.

• wise up 9 years ago

This is the stupid and infact less than infantile analysis script from you.

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

This is not even a masterpiece. It is misleading. The tribal projection is without rays therefore not ready to conquer. Conclusion waste of our precious time for reading. Come up with convincing arguments or fade forever on G ...

• MEELON 9 years ago

DUM,DUM DUMSOR OO! YAA MAHAMA¨!Take care that even the unborn children of GHANA will come and curse u more.

• Koshivi Ameto 9 years ago

The NDC government under John Dramani Mahamah id gradually steering the Ghanaian economy into the ditch. This is because of the debt stock which is now 67% of the country's GDP. What has the government used the numerous debt ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

THERE HAVE TO A CEILING LIMIT OF WHAT THE OF WHAT ANY INCOMING PRESIDENT CAN BORROW.

• Nana Adwoa New York 9 years ago

Lets understand this dictum nobody has said borrowing is bad but what do you use the borrowed funds for?If really we have been investing properly why is interest payment a migraine? second item on Govt expenditure?

• MAN 9 years ago

ASHANTIS LIKE IMPORTING BORLA GOODS TO THE COUNTRY TOO MUCH.

• ABAAH. 9 years ago

BORLA GOODS ARE HELPING YOU BEGGERS SO STOP THE NOISES.WHAT DO YOU PRODUCE IN THIS COUNTRY?.EVEN YOU CAN'T PRODUCE ENERGY TO LIGHT YOUR STREETS.GIVE THANKS TO ASHANTIS THAT YOU ARE NOT NAKED BUT HAVING ABRONIWAWUS AND OLD FRI ...

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

SHAME ON US - GHANA NEEDS TURKEY HELP TO FIX DUMSOR - A COUNTRY THAT USES ARABIC IN SCHOOL AND GHANA THAT USE ENGLISH IN SCHOOL WHO IS AN IDIOT ? A WORD TO A WISE IS ENOUGH .

• KOFI, HOUSTON, USA 9 years ago

ERIC K. AMANKWA, aka DADA, IS WANTED FOR STEALING. HE IS A SHORT PERSON AND COMES FROM NYINAHIN. HE USED TO LIVE AT ABEKA AND CAN BE HIDING ANYWHERE IN GHANA NOW. WARRANT FOR HIS ARREST CONCLUDED THAT HE NO LONGER LIVES IN HI ...

THIS IS MORE IMPORTANT NOT SOMEONE IDIOT TRIBAL COMMENT . VOTE NDC AGAIN 2016 IF YOU LIKE IT THEN I LOVE IT AS WELL . WISE UP GHANA FU3 .

• truthbetold 9 years ago

Where are all the political fanatics who'd usually make comments. When it comes to analysing real issue, we have just 15 people commenting. This speaks volumes, indicating a lot more people do not understand governance and th ...

• Bastard Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Stupid idiots

• Kojo E 9 years ago

It gladdens my heart now that the technocrats have found their voice and are commenting on critical issues. My regret is it's come a bit late but it better late than never. Let's pray government will be humble enough to eat h ...

• NIGERIA 9 years ago

IT IS YOUR FATHER AND MAHAMA THAT ARE FOOLS NOT AKUFO ADDO. WE SHALL VOTE FOR HE WHETHER YOU THE NDC LIKE IT OR NOT. USELESS NDC.

• tony 9 years ago

So sad Ghana is heading to hpic again. Guys we have the power to decide our faith as a nation. Vote for a party that can demonstrate they can assemble competent guys to manage the economy. I personally think mahma's administr ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Big fool

NANA WILL WHOOP YOUR FUCKING ASS UP SINCE YOU ARE A PUSSY .

• ... 9 years ago

Turrets is in the house....
    Somebody give him Thesaurus

• Joe 9 years ago

I want "Mr. Know Everything" Okudjeto Ablakwah to comment once again on this statement by this economist. What has NPP and especially Barwumiah been saying about he economy and what has been the reaction of NDC towards them? ...

• K Man 9 years ago

It's not an issue of borrowing, it's an issue that the borrowing had not been used (from simple o bservation) for capital expenditure/investment.

Debt is not the issue, it's that NDC has got the country into debt to simpl ...

• Charles 9 years ago

Let Mahama and his criminal enterprise pay the money. KWASIA ARA KWA

• Grand Mufti of Accra . 9 years ago

The fact of thematter is that most governments including the present government do not have accurate records of their debt stock and therefore unable to stop borrowing ; the government of Jon Mahama are playing chicken with t ...

• social whip 9 years ago

It is sad that a beautiful country Ghana that I am a citizen of, that God has blessed with vast natural resources goes about with cup in hand begging. Hell no, Ghana will not go down. Soon the bad ones will have to leave or g ...

• Nana Addo 9 years ago

So all you ignorant Ghanaians have become economists. This is a political article. No economics

• Kofius 9 years ago

So US, UK, France and Germany do not owe. Political Trash

• johnson 9 years ago

Do you know how much Europe borrowed after 2nd world war? The critical issue is not how much is borrowed but what it is used for. We must manage with cashflows. We should ensure that we have more projects that can pay for its ...

• johnson 9 years ago

we need to borrow some more. We should ensure its for projects that will generate positive cashflows and are profitable and cab create jobs. Profits can be used to fund our social programs such as better health care, free edu ...

• Pusiga naaba 9 years ago

And in all these circumstances of borrowing ad infinitum, it is the same characters under the same NDC party that took Ghana to such poor economic standing.. . People do you see a trend . That, this party called NDC has onl ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

The vast majority of Pusigans are wise and clever. So where from this stupid comment from? Was your mother raped by an Ashanti ape? I am sure you must be short, ugly, with red eyes and thick lips like Busia.

• ghanaian 9 years ago

Why do some people bent on commenting on a different topic from what they have read,this is about the economy ,not demo and ministers appointed by NCD.
    These people did they pass their exams at shool?i wonder ooo!

• adanko 9 years ago

this is agovt that has no breaks on spending, spending any money it sees wthout thinking. We must put a ceiling on it. this is tax payers mony not Mahama;s personal pocket money. let this message go into his head as he is pla ...

• kobina 9 years ago

compare ur so call figures to that of the population in Accra!it was only done in Accra n nt de whole Ghana n imagine if this shld av done across de country.we r talking economic here n look at wer u r.fool.....

• 0265217070 9 years ago

Do you know anybody in Accra in need of a job? Or even you, yourself

There are over 200 vacancies available for Sales Reps for a reputable Insurance Co, even if you don't need the job, you definitely know someone who does ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Where is Asiedu Nketia?

• WAITING TO VOTE NDC OUT 9 years ago

Oh yes, Ghana is suffering from the Mahama-led NDC gov't policy of borrow to loot.
    The borrow to loot policy has scattered the country dastardly. NDC has got to GO!!!.

• Jojo 9 years ago

OPAYIN ESSILFIE ADJAYE, WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN AS A KNOWLEDGEABLE ECONOMIST THROUGHOUT THE YEARS OF OUR ECONOMIC BACKWARDNEES,UNDERDEVELOPMENT,AS HIGHLY INDEBTED POOR COUNTRY(HIPC) AND EXTREME POVERTY.

GHANA CLAIMS TO HAVE VE ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

ECONOMISTS,PROFESSORS,LECTURERS,MATURAL AMD POLITICAL SCIENCE HOLDERS, ENGINEERS,PhD'S AND THE EDUCATED IN THE MIDST OF POVERTY.

WHAT HAVE ALL THESE PEOPLE CONTRIBUTED TOWARDS SOCIOECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OF GHANA-NOTHING BUT ...

• Mumuni Wala 9 years ago

WHAT GHANA REALLY NEED IS NOT HOW SERVICE HER DEBT, BUT RATHER REAL ECONOMIC RESTRUCTURING. TIME IS OVERDUE FOR GHANA TO RESTRUCTURE ITS ECONOMY. IT WOULD BE A BITTER PILL TO SWALLOW, BUT THERE IS NO WAY OUT. AND WILL TAKE A ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Already, we control nothing of our mineral resources. Kufour sold our oil and Gold and sold our only telecommunication enterprise on top. Ghana Airways gone. Our energy sector is being pursued by the Americans who using it as ...

• kay 9 years ago

Did Kuffour sell our oil? Really?

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

The real problem is the P/NDC party and its government that have been in power now for seven years and had previously squandered 20years of our lives.

With unprecedented revenues, and being in power more than any other pa ...