You are here: HomeNews2015 02 16Article 346837

Gov’t shipping Kufuor power plants to Sierra Leone as ‘dumsor’ worsens

Read Comments Comments (84)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Mahama and his officials will never tell the truth about this or anything.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: CATAPULT---------
    "The Presidency has become a den of criminals"- Prof. Amoako(Political Science Lecturer).
    Afriyie Ankrah looted and upon uttering the famous words "open sesame" in the story of Ali Baba and the 40 ...

• Champion 9 years ago

Upon all the noise npp is making regarding dumsor, all they could offer during their 8years in power was to import about 60 generators for individuals to use. so amazing and interesting. npp has nothing good to offer Ghanaian ...

• lewis 9 years ago

You should be ashamed of yourself.... Speak as a lover of the nation and not a fanatic of a political party. Get your record straight before you say this again....

Go to the ministry of power and request for their publicat ...

• NDC IS A CURSE 9 years ago

ITS NOW CLEAR,THE MAHAMA LED NDC HAVE NOTHING FOR GHANAIANS EXCEPT STEALING .NDC SIMPLY WANT RUIN GHANA.

• Close Observer 9 years ago

POWER IS IN THE HANDS OF YOU THE VOTER; VOTE USELESS NDC OUT IN 2016.

DARKNESS AFRAID OF LIGHT, DIRT'S ENEMY IS SOAP AND WATER. NDC CRIMINALS, ENEMY OF JOURNALISTS.

GHANA IS PARADISE TO A FEW CRIMINALS WHO INSULTS WHEN ...

The writer of this article has not presented a balanced info why the generators are being sold out to Sierra Leone. If the generators have been there since 8yrs then there must be difficulty of its operation. As far as I am c ...

• Big mouth 9 years ago

Kofi, VRA yards are there for you to go and charge, if it is in bad condition why sell it to another country. NDC is selling everything and pocketing it. Telling people NPP cause the dum sor problem, when in real sense they m ...

• lewis 9 years ago

Aaa kofi could you be soo ignorant?? So if it is difficult to be operated here in ghana, does it mean that it can be operated better in serre leone? What kind of technokrats do they have better that what we have here in ghana ...

• Ghanababa 9 years ago

His brother import generators for sale,
    so how will he solve "DUMSOR"

• the truth 9 years ago

can't you express yourself without tribalism?

• OBIDEEABA, BELGIUM 9 years ago

Ghana please should contact the Belgium Government for help on the energy crisis. Belgium is a small ountry but teachnology wise the best in the world. I know what am talking about. I have been visiting one of their recycling ...

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

Oh NDC, is this the end of the road? Mahama's true colours. Corruption and thievery are your hallmark. The challeng is here now. Deffend yourselve, you thieves in government.

• Bimbbi 9 years ago

The NDC government will continue to dribble itself in lies. God save them

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

Bawumia can only carry asante shit/latrine in kumasi. Afoko is doing the same as NPP chairman. NPP is ntafuo party and asantes are descendants of ntafuo from mali, stupid nasty and durty people

• NANAÖ MOTHER !!! 9 years ago

Just like your father carry Ashantis shit.The work your father thought you is what you are doing in Brimingham.

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

UR A COW SON, AT BIRTH U WERE WASHED WITH COW PIS AND FED WITH FLESH MILK MIXED COW DUNG THAT IS WHY YOU HAVE COW MOUTH TO INSULT DR.BAWUMIAH.

• ME MAN NTI 9 years ago

Who are you idiot ?are you of ekoro origine or a descendant of cow ?son of a bitch,a junk from the stomach of a whore.

• Kwame 9 years ago

When did JAK Govt purchase power badge> Is it the same badge Tsatsu bought that was "sold" in the PPP arranegment> Hmmmm, can FACT changed?

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

Kwame Birmingham, how civilized are you? Your language tells of your person. Sorry for you and your mother.

• SCHEMER 9 years ago

I will always be on your tail till you wise up with your stupid grammar. You are cursed and was moulded for craft by a disgruntled angel who mistakenly lost his grip on you, plunging you to earth into the womb of an ashawo dr ...

• Poor Ghana 9 years ago

This is simply a case of giving credit where it is due.

They don't want the nation to know Kuffuor had plans for the dumsor of his time.

Oh! NDC; Nation wreckers.

• OKUKUSEKU 9 years ago

These generators on wheels could have been distributed around towns and villages to supplement/complement the local power needs. This is sabotaging the people who voted this government into power. I hope they have not share ...

• OKUKUSEKU 9 years ago

126 Megawatt of power, broken into several generators on wheels, would go a long way to complement power supply to our Hospitals to help save lives.
    The N.D.C. government must be held accountable for sabotaging the country t ...

• KurtMcD... 9 years ago

the price of electric kiliowatt in Ghana cannot be met if we use diesel at its current cost to produce power because its not viable.

Only light crude which is a fraction of diesel can be used or gas which is even cheaper a ...

K4 the thieve should be jailed for causing financial loss to Ghana for using our money to buy toy generators that cannot be used. That stupid guy who became our president, a drunkard and womanizer, now they are bringing a wee ...

• ... 9 years ago

Kwasia paaaa. NPP bought a barge for power and also brought in multiple machines for power generation to do something. NDC instead hiding and selling them when there is a power problem. Even VRA are worried. Just because you ...

I have no time for illiterates like you. I am eating onion bajis, kwasia this is Birmingham. K4 is still an thieve and I smoke wee with akuffo addo the wee addict. womami twe kankan

• SCHEMER 9 years ago

Write good english, goon!! What do you mean by "K4 is still an thieve ....?" Didn't you mean 'a thief?' Aboa beast! Homeless man.

• eugene 9 years ago

you selling good cat generator sets while buying from Muslim turkey for boko harem gen sets! Could at least gave them to hospitals or held public auction

• Kwamina Andrews 9 years ago

Can we not use these for our hospitals to ensure that emergencies can be addressed round the clock in our own country?

• reboot 9 years ago

Bro, Cash Flow is so low and drying up. They cant afford. Our standby generators are getting spoilt from daily use. Every single 1 cedi is precious.

• TT 9 years ago

Kwamina, you see how stupid your Ndc is. These generators can be used at clinics and hospitals but Ndc people are too stupid.

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Why does it have to be GNPC that finances the deal. What is this govt hiding? All their deals are shady but one day the truth will out

• onetribe 9 years ago

Good grief, will these idiots just tell us the truth so a viable cause of action can be pursued. It is all about propaganda and looking good. Simple we really cannot think any lower of this government so you can spare us the ...

• TOGBE AGOVE IV ASD. 9 years ago

SHUT UP!!.IF IT IS NOT TRUE THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD COME OUT TO REFUTE.DO YOUR GOVERNMENT REALLY HAVE BRAINS?.THEY ARE ALL FOOLS OVER THERE,YOU CANNOT LIVE OR RULE WITH PROPAGANDAS AND LIES.THERE IS NO INTELLIGENT PERSON WITHIN ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Saliva comes out from his mouth

• shi ashishi 9 years ago

Eiii - Turrets has learnt a new big word. a new champion. If you suffer from autism, run away before NDC catch you.

• ATIA FRAFRA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• KAY 9 years ago

Meaning? Bawumia is also Tani without brains? What about the person who nominated Bawumia? The person must be without a head let alone brains. And how about the people who elected and supported the headless man who nominated ...

• KurtMcD... 9 years ago

You will cry us rivers but the tanii still rules you and there is nothing you can do about it

• MANGOMANGO 9 years ago

DO YOU KNOW YOUR FATHER?MALI DESCENDANT.

• Joe 9 years ago

Mr. know everything Okudjeto Ablakwah can you confirm or deny this news?

• J.Davis 9 years ago

Ghanaians must learn to share with those who are without.The rich nations give to us not that they don't have the poor among them,but they know that when you give to the needy,your needs will also be met.Those who are complai ...

• kojo Canada 9 years ago

Why not get the 125- Megawatt barge Osagyefo; working before buying 2 more for $250 million. I understand the 2 from Turkey would add 225 Megawatts to what Ghana now has but get the one you have first to work before going for ...

• adumtumi nyansfuo 9 years ago

I AM NO MORE A CITIZEN OF GHANA. I RESIGN. COUNTRY IS NOT GOING ANYWHERE. PLUS, THE GOVERNMENT MAKES DUMB DECISIONS.

• KurtMcD... 9 years ago

else you would ask why no one can use a diesel plant anywhere in the world to try to produce power. Do you know the cost per kilowatt produced by diesel sources vrs light crude, or gas and water?

Its 4 times hence these ma ...

• nokware 9 years ago

The government should investigate why Kuffuor imported such'toy generators' and how much his government paid for them.Kuffuor's NPP government was a corrupt one.

• TOGBE AGOVE IV ASD. 9 years ago

IF THEY ARE TOY GENERATORS WHY SHOULD SIERRA LEONE ACCEPTS THEM.NDC IS MORE CORRUPT THAN NPP.SINCE THEY CAME INTO POWER GHANA IS RETROGRESSING DAYIN AND DAYOUT AND THESE STUPID PEOPLE WITHIN THIS GOVERNMENT AND IT'S EVIL SUPP ...

• A.M.A 9 years ago

Lack of forsight is our doom and the biggest probrem facing our leaders .These abandoned (CAT)CATERPILLERS ENGINE GENERATORS even though, in low capacities to be on national glide, could have surely satisfied other areas with ...

• KurtMcD... 9 years ago

You people are too ignorant. Diesel by itself is most expensive than any source per kilowatt of powe produced so no one can sell the power used from such machines.

Ghana can only sell power from water sources, gas or ligh ...

• KurtMcD... 9 years ago

Kuffuor paid $359 Million with VRA money

• Kow Ansah 9 years ago

NPP surrogate paper and its lies. They can never tell the truth no wonder Ayariga told them his peace of mind.
    1. Osagefo barge was not procurred by the Kufor gov´t. It was the GNPC under Tatsu that bought it. It was compl ...

• Botha 9 years ago

Piece of mind not peace of mind, dumb illiterate.

• Kow Ansah 9 years ago

I must be a dumb illiterate but kwasia like you took time read all that i have written

Brilliant expose. In all counts, I have to ask why Tsatsu messed up so badly in this area. In all the time he spent in power, this would have been good but Oh No, he had to mess that up and cause such huge losses to the coun ...

• Kow Ansah 9 years ago

Please did you read the whole article? My rejoinder was reffering to this paragraph:
    This is not the first time Ghana is procuring power barges to help the power situation. A 125-Megawatt barge, christened Osagyefo Barge pro ...

You Know, Ato Kobbie of the business analyst wrote a wonderful report on that barge describing it as doomed from the start. I believe the writeup is still available. In any case, this is not about apologetics but rather a ske ...

• KurtMcD... 9 years ago

The sad truth is mills allowe kofi adda, wrecker brobbey etc buy t=he allowed these thieves to smooch him with the title asomdwehene

• Yaw 9 years ago

My frustration with Mahama is why a communication expert like him would allow the media and NPP drive wrong narratives making so many Ghanaians become so despondent. I wish there is a way i can get to him to lend my support.

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Because he's just clueless. He's allegedly a communications expert; has an NDC communications team; a presidential communications team. That should tell you why GH is in a mess.

• Dicksoo 9 years ago

I am not surprise at all because most of these people are not ghanaians i mean this Tani president and inward ewe people.If ghanaian do not rise up these foreigners will sell the whole country to their foreign counterpart

• KurtMcD... 9 years ago

How can VRA sell any power produced by toy machines that use diesel?

Are these so called investigative journalists stupid or what? Did they consult VRA to find out why no one cannot use these toy machines?

Ghanaians a ...

• Paul 9 years ago

I have seen these in operation and at best they are fit only for temporary use and whilst they may do for e.g. a small industrial unit, hotel or factory, are simply not fit for purpose for large scale power generation.

Wer ...

• Araba Blay 9 years ago

this small boy minister!!!!!!!!!!

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Is fact

• concern citizen 9 years ago

is that the only english you know? idiot

• ... 9 years ago

somebody please donate a book to Turrets

• concern citizen 9 years ago

why is NDC buying two additional barges when the one kuffour bought is not being used. Are there any technocrats, engineers or scientist in the Mahama government or there are only historians and lawyers. At least they are mak ...

Well - take a look at this link and read. Ghana just footed 12 million dollar bill for breach of contract with this. can they even manage to get Ossgyefo repaired and working? One barge - since 1998,......
    Or do they buy ne ...

• Frank 9 years ago

Kofi pls hve ever had any publications about the intended auctioning of such generated. Or has any officer comes out with information any maintenance on them?

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Thanks to the hard work and vigilance by StarrFMonline.com crew this dubious transaction would have been carried out under darkness. NDC is "Sasabonsam Party" which must be removed from office before they cause more problems ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

As usual, please forgive me for the typos and misconstruction here and there. Thanks for your patience....it's all human nature.

• ADE 9 years ago

Ghanaians should ask the Mahama-led NDC govt why they are shipping the 126MW power barges to Sierra Leone? Ghanaians should ask the Mahama-led NDC govt why the 125MW Osagyefo barge is lying dormant? The total quantum of these ...

• BIG JAY 9 years ago

Every project and social intervention programmes consummated by the Kufour administration has been bastardized by this useless Mahama led administration.
    The NHIS has given way to cash and carry, the Metro buses are being c ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

I'm suprised that that disgraceful thing was still being kept in this country

• Young Thug 9 years ago

This shit needs to get out of this country...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Apologies to Ghanaians for my earlier mistake

• Yaw Gyamera 9 years ago

Ndc/npp are the same token digyabu all over again.Ghana must go for c people powar cpp and bk afric will be cool for ever.?but this grandpa with metemehu danq/busia cockroach ln our mix African will never catch up globall.k

• DUKE 9 years ago

THE NDC CAME, THEY SAW, THEY PLANNED, THEY LOOTED, THEY SHARED AND THEY WILL CRY COME 2016. INTERPOL WARRANTS WILL SEARCH FOR THEM WHEREVER THEY RUN TO, SWISS BANK ACCOUNTS WILL OPEN UP. THE LOOTING BRIGADE WILL BE FOUND OUT ...

• Criminal mahama. 9 years ago

Mahama will die before 2016 election........like mills.

• HAZOR 9 years ago

As our domsor worsen and our hospitals operate under lamps,flashlight and bobo,president Mahama who is deficent in thinking criminal secret shipping Kufour power plant bought in tax payers name in which we paid for it and not ...

• Yvonne 9 years ago

I believe sometimes the media should do a well research of issues and have real facts before posting articles. The issue of power in Ghana didn't just start 4 years ago its been there for a very longtime. Yes as the presidi ...

• TEIKO 9 years ago

I want someone to educate me here; if the generators are not good for Ghana, why do Sierra Leoneans need it? For what?