You are here: HomeNews2015 02 10Article 346059

Shocking! Ministers, MPs fleece Ghana

Read Comments Comments (197)

• Daakye Asem 9 years ago

MR EDITOR

• Concerned 9 years ago

The so called npp/ndc rivalry is just a smokescreen to decieve Ghanaians. Who needs Woyome when our law makers can legitimately pay themselves money that even the most ruthless armed robber will not dream of making. We need m ...

• Bature 9 years ago

What is all this about MD's salary without giving any weight to the market value of the contribution and experience he brings on board in this economic turbulent times.

Our journalists ( most of them) are ignorant and des ...

• Nana Osei Tutu-AkofoAddo Cocain 9 years ago

It is so childish and politicization to publish these statements as if these ministers are kids and are not working for Ghana. An HR manager in Ghana is paid basic at GHC9,000 exclusive of allowances so what is that all incl ...

• Humanity 9 years ago

No wonder your Country is BACKWARD...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR : SULE****** 
    .............It seems the NDC gov't is running against time to send Ghana into the pits and it is extremely worrying, very, very worrying that, such a magnitude of ineptness, incompetence, recklessness ...

• KB,LONDON 9 years ago

A BUNCH OF THIEVES. WHAT CAN THEY SHOW IN TERMS OF PERFORMANCE TO DESERVE THIS MONIES?

• Onr Day One Day 9 years ago

Remember - probity n accountability!!

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

They need to be sent to the Hague and prosecuted. Wicked people. Crimes against humanity and financial impropriety and mismanagement

• Afari 9 years ago

If you want to be paid GHC100,000 per month, go to the private sector and create the money and pay yourself that much. Ghana government does not have that much to pay you and stretch the rest of its money to cover the rest of ...

• ELINAM 9 years ago

I now know why these ppl bent on charging us all these high customs duty for accident vehicles but still the harbor area looks so dirty and backward.
    All these money goes to service the comfort of these lazy fools.

• Omanhene(U$A) 9 years ago

...Outrageous Benefits to "Do-Nothing Ministers, MPs and other Officials."

How the hell do you develop a “Third World aka Banana Republic”, while paying these OUTRAGEOUS salaries and benefits? They’re too greedy and ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

ZERO TOLERANCE FOR CORRUPTION!
    Corruption Endemic in Africa: Corruption was set up by the colonial overlords who used their western style education to train Africans to be bureaucrats in the civil service. Thus, propagating ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

Are you educated at all? In the US some CEO make over $20 million a year but Obama makes only $475,000 a year. Nigeria drills over 2 million barells a day. In your own home don't you try to live within your means? Do you try ...

• 3dem 9 years ago

what kind of education do you have Nana Osei Tutu. A CEO and an HR officer in PRIVATE sector are part of a group of people who go out there to find their own money, dream up their own business ideas, implement them and manage ...

• True Ghanaian 9 years ago

Thanks to you guys, 3dem and Mawuli for putting nana osei in the right place. I don't know where he got his education from. There's actually nothing sensible in that coconut of his...

• KATAKYIE 9 years ago

That is the results of EWES Socialist Revolution that Rawlings and his Tsikatas staged in Ghana. These evil men have destroyed Ghanaian society.

They have stolen everything in Ghana. Has JJ Rawlings paid his share of $5 Mi ...

• jerry 9 years ago

WE CANNOT AFFORD MAHAMA ON THE JOB TRAINING AND HIS MINISTERS THAT ARE STEALING US BLIND FALKS GHANA IS BROKE DO YOU UNDERSTAND?

• mensa 9 years ago

THIS SHAMFULL BEHAVER AND INJUSTICE MUST COME TO A END FREZZE ON ALL GOVE EMPLOYEES MAUST TAKE PLACE IMMD AND THE ALL GOVE MUST STEP DOWN

• Mosi 9 years ago

Oh Hannah, I thought you were fair. this is too much, I supported you during your son's issue but to know you are part of this syndicate, I am disappointed. Come out with a statement and denounce your share. Say you won't ta ...

• mensa 9 years ago

SHE DOES NOT HAVE WHAT IT TAKES TO BE A MINISTER SHE IS WAY TOO IGNORATE OF WORLD AFFEIRS AND SHE DOES NOT KNOW WHAT THE HELL SHE IS DOING

• MAD COBRA 9 years ago

What work are they doing to merit such fat salary when Ghana is living in total darkness for 24hrs and can't get constant water supply, poor Africans because they vote on party lines what they get is greed and corruption inst ...

• John Lewis 9 years ago

Are you really serious? Divide 22000 by 3.33 and you will get a rough equivalent on USA Dpllars. Almost 70000 dollars a month? This can only happen in Ghana.

• Nana 9 years ago

22000/3.3 = 7000 not 70000

• United Ghana 9 years ago

Nonsense. What have they achieved? They've driven Ghana into the ground and dont deserve that level of numeration.

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

You're being unrealistic. First of all the concern being raised is about the disproportionately huge salaries and benefits of public servants who are paid from the public purse and do little or nothing. We will not be in this ...

• Humanity 9 years ago

Unfortunately, there are those small minority, who will lose their FAT PAYCHECKS, so they STOKE the NPP/NDC, TRIBALISM RIVALRY, through some half-witted semi-literates, who continue to BLIND majority GHANAIANS...Keeps praying ...

It doesn't matter whichever party is in power. This is wrong and Ghanaians from all walks of life regardless of party/tribal affiliation must stand up and speak against this gross injustice and insensitivity to the poor livin ...

• nii 9 years ago

Very true

• pee 9 years ago

This is the reason why politicians will continue to die through cancer. Because after taking this huge sums of money for yourself,the poor man sleep in dum dum dum sor, have no money to buy food. Wicked leaders fire burn u.

• obroni 9 years ago

a typical comment of a perfect student who will never be successful in life.

Is content less important than correct spelling ?

language is a tool to communicate, if you understand the message after reading it has done ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

What if the communication skills employed, in this case the writing skill fails to transmit the intended message?

• Owusu 9 years ago

You are really matured.you have brains.As long as you understand the message,the spelling mistakes is irrelivant or maybe they don't understand the language well

• MAAME 9 years ago

Obroni , i agree with you 100% . Ghanaians make a joke about themselves of the Queens language,some of them even think they created the language but it will interest you to know the whiteman in America understands a Haitian w ...

• kk 9 years ago

AFRICAN LEADERS ARE ANIMALS.

• Allotey 9 years ago

This is not good.The president gets more than these so he will not stop them.
    Some one to act in favour of the common Ghanaian

• Joe 9 years ago

Ahhh! but this is too much for them? this figures are heart breking papa

• Joe 9 years ago

Ahhh! but this is too much for them? this figures are heart breaking paaaa!!!!!

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

You are a fool if you die for NPP or NDC as some are doing. They are all the same, chop chop and then when them belly full they agitate the stupid supportters against each other. They are not suffering, not even the dumsor be ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

I HOPE THE FOOLISH FOLLOWERS ARE READING IT. WHY WILL WE ELECT PEOPLE WHO WILL GO AHEAD TO DECIDE HOW MUCH THEY PAY THEMSELVES? POLITICIANS ARE THIEVES AND WICKED.

VOTE THE CLUELESS, NO VISION, IDEAS STARVED AND HOPELESS N ...

• fr 9 years ago

So the content is important to you? You're only interested in spelling mistakes. Poor you

• abebs 9 years ago

no issue provided the money is spent in Ghana. The unfortunate situation is all is kept in offshore banks benefiting the so call white man.

• candido 9 years ago

Don't you know that. Democracy is an expensive type of government so shut up.Its full of greed and selfishness. Four legs good two legs bad and so keep. quiet. Ghanians you talk too much.

Sicko Candido, did you not know that democracy, unlike the dictatorship we once knew under Nkrumah and Rawlings, gives us the right to not only speak up but fight injustice and corruption? Are you really serious with your cla ...

• GUNU USA 9 years ago

The editor need to be very careful in cross checking b4 posting for public consumption.

• SAM 9 years ago

Ah!but even the minority leader earns more than a minister of state. Check his pay, sitting allowances as well as other freebies.

• Plasma Kote 9 years ago

POPULAR UPRISING with support from the Armed Forces will clean the house.
    NO ACCOUNTABILITY, just talks on radio.

• Senior citizen Bs Germany. 9 years ago

Who ordered payment of such huge wages to ministers of state in our country.Do they deserve such wages at all,those who sat down and approved of such payments should have considered the economic implications of our country si ...

• Max 9 years ago

Hmmmmm

• Before & After 9 years ago

Politicians are so greedy and selfish that they unite to support monies payed to them. No opposition member complains when it comes to money because they are all the same.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Envy no man. You did not consider the work that they do. You could be a minister one day. They are given this so that they do not become corrupt. If you know of any that is corrupt, publish and stop this "skin pain". Would yo ...

• DABENDA 9 years ago

The most annoying part of it all is the so-called "EX-GRATIA." Being in the office for only four years qualifies them for this senseless benefit. To me it is the most cunning way to steal from state coffers. These same parlia ...

• Ato capso Manchester 9 years ago

You are right

• Pelicles 9 years ago

The man who does no wrong. The man who never breathe air. The man who never poop. The man who came to Ghana with a parachute from the planet Jupiter, introduced ex-gratia into our politics and we are paying heavily for that ...

• j0eY l0NdOn 9 years ago

and who blow it over the bar?Tell me who over done jj ?

• Johnny 9 years ago

You're brainless,a revolutionary who claimed to have come to power to correct injustices shd not have sanctioned this.I don't think Lenin or Stalin would even support ex-gratia & these stupid allowances/stealing.

• J0eY LOnD0N 9 years ago

You are the only person on this topic displaying your brainlessness ugly bug face.None of the dictators you mentioned thought they will one day die!But jj knows he will one day die, but as for
    your cohorts and your think ...

• Leech 9 years ago

Let them chop and go. Nobody is even voting for them again. When it is time for voting they should do it themselves. Only foolish Ghanaians will go in to vote for them. The poor man in the village who has no money to buy Kobi ...

• Twum Barimah 9 years ago

Leech thank you. Your comment has made me laugh my head and heart off. Thank you have good sense of humour.

• honestly 9 years ago

no sir, they should not be clothed and entertained using public funds while the nation suffers. let them clothe and entertain themselves using their generous salaries like everyone else must do.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

The donor nations who support our budget do not pay such allowances to their elected officials.

• concerned citizen 9 years ago

Mister..I pity the nation if your kind become leaders...

It's not"skin pain". Their huge salaries and juicy benefits do not conform to the general prevailing economic condition in the country. There's nothing wrong with paying every worker, big or small, at least a living salary or ...

• The Vice President 9 years ago

Is a government minister of more value than a staff nurse working at Kaneshie Polyclinic. Ghanaian speak your mind

• Joe,london 9 years ago

What a stupid question?Such a question will never be asked in developed country where it is known that a nurse who is a civil servant expects to earn less than his/her minister.Be a minister or an MP and you will know how de ...

• Jackson London 9 years ago

My friend your answer is an arrogant one. Only in Ghana the Minister is the most important.Upon all that they take, they do not deliver.

• Joe,london 9 years ago

If they do not deliver leave london and go to Ghana to be a minister or an MP and deliver.The nation will be happy to welcome you.It is easy talking.

• kyekyeku 9 years ago

lets wait and see how many poor people are going to die for this people during the elections.

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

bastard

• ZED 9 years ago

Try and visit the mental hospital

• MAAME 9 years ago

Do you understand the word bastard ?i do know of Akufo Addo's father as one of the Big six of Ghana ,and a former CHIEF JUSTICE of the Republic of Ghana so who is your father ? And of what use was or is your father to Ghan ...

• republican 9 years ago

Sometimes I wonder why some people are given the unalieanable right to exist, to express themselves freely and to freely associate. You have made a fool of your parents. If you were revealed before their intercourse, they wou ...

• Ben 9 years ago

If I were getting this cool money, I will insult anyone who attacks my performance!

• Nana kelewele _Lawra 9 years ago

Liars has no space in heaven. Npp should take their time it is not lies that will bring them to power but truth

• obroni 9 years ago

NPP brought single spine where ministers end up at the top of the food chain and thus have (and on that part only I agree) have ridiculous high salaries for a developing country.
    NPP also "invented/created" this totally unne ...

• Ericus-Ericus 9 years ago

They enjoy all these and steal more and more to add.

• KTD 9 years ago

Mr editor of the chronicle newspaper, be informed that this is no news. It happens to any government that comes to power. Stop your npp properganda and focus on something that will rather unite the country

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

The writer forgot to add brown envelopes and what they nakedly steal from their ministries. You are talking about GHC200,000 per month

• BlackC 9 years ago

This is why there should be demonstrations/protests when they're not doing their job and severely punished when exposed for corruption.

For a politician to be so comfortable and be part of a developing nation these Minist ...

• Mahama 9 years ago

Can these ministers sympathize the poor Ghanaian and review their remunerations downwards'

Allah, please put some mercy in their heats. This is Al-Hakumi(Piling -Up)

• NICHOLAS 9 years ago

Who is in Ghana who doesn't know that we are at the mercy of the POLITICIANS?
    Are you surprise that corruption has become widespread in Ghana? That is what happens when the masses see that there is unfairness between them an ...

• Busumbru 9 years ago

Ghana needs another breed of the Boakye Djans, Akatapores, JJs,Adei Boadis etc.

• James k o. 9 years ago

They will account all this some time to come.God is watching.

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Have no problem with their pay as long as they do their work n no corruption

• love 9 years ago

What a country

• Bob 9 years ago

You keep borrowing to spend, and how do you think you can develop? Ghana will remain in dumsor till thy kingdom come! Now that NDC is in power, it will be the same when you switch them. Until people of Ghana wake up, this ...

• Gabby 9 years ago

While am looking for Gh1200 to rent a single room for almost 3yrs now and I don't get and was sleeping on valander of somebody store. God have mercy on us.

• NANA USA 9 years ago

THE POLITICAL SYSTEM IN GHANA IS NOT DEMOCRACY BUT A RULE BY THIEVES. GOD WILL PUNISH THESE THIEVES AND ELITE CRIMINALS.

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

IT CALLS FOR AN "ALUTA" TO HELP CHECK THIS KIND OF ANOMALY OR UNFAIRNESS. SO WHY WOULD THESE PEOPLE AT TOP GOVT LEVEL FEEL THE PINCH OF HARD LIFE. MAHAMA IS ONLY DECEIVING GHANAIANS INTO THINKING THAT HE IS A FELLOW STRUGGLER ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

WITH SUCH PAY HOW WOULD SOME GHANAIANS FEEL THE DUMSOR. THIS TYPE OF CHEATING IN THE SOCIETY MUST STOP. JUSTICE MEANS WE ALL ENJOY WHAT WE ALL WORK FOR. NOT FOR ONLY A FEW. THIS TYPE OF BEHAVIOR WILL GIVE OTHERS THE RIGHT TO ...

• O. B 9 years ago

shocking this daylight robbery.

• Efo 9 years ago

Nyame nhyira mu.

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

Where are the NDC and NPP supporters? How much do they give you? When you die (all die be die) for them. Stupid hungry fools, fight each other whiles the MP's fill their bellies

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

The youth in this country only know how to fight each other instead of collectively "lighting fire under these politicians" who are playing games with their future.

• Joe 9 years ago

What kind of salary computation is this?
    Where is the tax component? This tells me that these figures do not add up.

Please do your checks well and come with realistic figures and stop whipping up public sentiments agains ...

• Koo Baah 9 years ago

They have killed us. "won ay3 y3n pasaa"

• mangoman 9 years ago

so what? THIS IS PUBLIC knowledge , do u have to waste your time and my time with this crap? the very people who complain about these come to parliament tomorrow and hold press conference telling Ghanians why they should be p ...

• Gen.Mosquito 9 years ago

OK Mangoman someone in India formed what he called "the Common Man Party" and is whipping up storms of support all round.let's do it here.another young chap blew aware the old guard of Grecian politics with a different but si ...

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

GHANAIAN MP'S ARE THE BABYLON SYSTEM IS THE VAMPIRE SUCKING THE CITIZENS DAY BY DAY;SUCKING BLOOD OF THE SUFFERERS BUILDING FILLING STATIONS,4 X 4 AND MASONS DECEIVING THE PEOPLE CONTINUALLY,ME SAY GRADUATING THIEVES AND MURD ...

• Yaw Ghana 9 years ago

All this is inherited from K4s Npp looting brigade. Shamelessly shameful

• bashings 9 years ago

The MP's are from both parties?

• H.Mohammed (Citizen General) 9 years ago

They have colapsed the economy but turned around pointing fingers at the single spine and teachers. Habaaaa these money can pay 10 graduates teachers in a month.

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

Bravo men ghana thanks you a million for finishing it up .even the west dont do this and you always come to them with calabashes in hand .havent they spies in town (embassys)? God has seen you.sothis is why everyone would do ...

• ohene 9 years ago

A country that can not produce enough food and electricity for its citizens. Its absurd!

• Canada 9 years ago

If a man steals a a phone he would be lynched in the street, yet politicians steady robbing your asses and you do nothing. Because they wear suits? Because they can speak the white mans launguage properly? Or are Ghanaians sc ...

• danis 9 years ago

Oo hoo ghana! Where are we going? Which minister? Are these ministers performing up to the expectation? They don't deserve this amount at all president mahama should slash their money to 8000 GHA CEDI's. Do you know what? Wit ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 9 years ago

NOBLE PEOPLE OF GHANA; I (OSEI YAW SARKODIE:AKA; BRO DAN TRC) HAS BEEN GIVEN OVER TO -'MURDER'- IN AMERICA BY (SOME) OF OUR OWN REPRESENTATIVES AT THE WASHINDTON DC AT THE HANDS OF -'THE US GOVERNMENT'-! GHANA; OUR OWN REPRES ...

• sam. 9 years ago

this is not shocking to me,i know that they receive fat amount even comparably bigger than the countries like uk and the USA in terms of the country economy and living standard.In UK besides the prime minister and the chance ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 9 years ago

To: President ; President ; White House ; Vice ; Barack Obama ; "vicepresidents@whitehouse.gov" ; J.J.Rawlings ; "firstlady@oop.gov.gh" ; "secretary@state.gov" ; Director ; "Minister@Mfa.gov.gh" ; "Bni ...

• prosper ametefe 9 years ago

what sort of life is this? are they serving us or we have turned to be their slaves? things have really fallen apart.

• Korang 9 years ago

Salaries in Ghana are so bad that civil and public servants are not able to take care of their families. Its an opportunity for them to amass wealth when they get into politics. Lets continuously accuse politicians who make t ...

• OBINNA 9 years ago

THEY ARE IN TO MAKE THE MONEY AND ENJOY THE PERKS POLITICS CAN OFFER. THEY ARE NOT THERE TO BE YOUR SERVANT;"PUBLIC SERVANT". IN AFRICA, PUBLIC SERVICE MEANS LOOTING THE PUBLIC COFFERS AND DON'T GET CAUGHT.

• Adama 9 years ago

Personally i think the time has come for a REAL GHANAIAN REVOLUTION to set all the records straight. Enough is enough, PERIOD!

• Augustine Caesar 9 years ago

Hmmm....God help Ghana from these heartless and wicked leaders governing this nation.

• NATURALPRO 9 years ago

THEY SHOULD BE PAID MORE, GHANAIAN VOTERS SHOULD BE MADE TO PAY FOR THEIR STUPIDITY AND ILLITERACY FOR VOTING THEM INTO POWER...DON'T GET ME WRONG NPP IS NO DIFFERENT!!!

• KWABENA 9 years ago

oh Ama Ghana, so I should be paying that huge sum of Tax for these guys to enjoy.

• Horsten - Tarkwa W/R 9 years ago

if ministers are being paid these allowances how can we developing country develop. thus why all young men wants to move to politics so that they earn fat allowances and salaries.

• Daniel 9 years ago

Hhhhmmmm, the Greed of our "governing elite" knows no bounds. ...this would not be so bad if we the people who made the Gravois mistake of voting for these clowns had access to decent well paying jobs, water and electricity 2 ...

• Kweaa DCE 9 years ago

Ye bedee kekeke. Choping for you.

• KOOBOY 9 years ago

THE MPS AND OUR CIVIL SERVANTS ARE THE DO NOTHING THAT THE GOVERNMENT SPENDS MOST OF THE NATION'S RESOUCES ON. IN THIS TECHNOLOGICAL WORLD DO WE NEED ALL THESE SO CALLED CIVIL SERVANTS AND THE NUMEROUS MPS?

• Kay 9 years ago

so does ken agyapong collect these monies just asking

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

until ghanaian leaders Change their self centered national economy Ghana will never develope.
    all These things are Insult to the national pride and it kills patrotism

• Yaa Dufie Nelson 9 years ago

Will Akuffo Addo's 'government' reduce the salaries of Ministers, Deputy Ministers and MPs when NPP comes to power in 2021? I doubt it!!
    He may actually double this amount and blame it on inflation.

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

all those occupying deputy Minister positions in the Country are waste of resources.
    The developing Partners should not release any funds to Ghana until all These mess are clean up

• Afari 9 years ago

I hope Ghanaians remember when a few of us were asking government to define the proportion of the wage bill by the presidency, legislature, judiciary and the public sector along side the population in each group for all of us ...

• Obrefo 9 years ago

It means the ministers will be taxed on only the GHC10,000.00 but no tax on the remaining GHC12,000.00 because it's an allance. It's just stealing from the poor to support the rich, elites, politicians and the well connected. ...

• igor yardi 9 years ago

And you wonder why footballers demand to be paid properly. The question actually is are they content to live on their legitimate salaries or are they dipping their hands on the national kitty behind out backs

• samuel ogbarmey 9 years ago

this money is too small for these people who have more responsibilities to perform both in and around their constituencies. the money should be increased. let no one play politics about this value quoted in the media. The rea ...

• California 9 years ago

That's y I called politicians Legal Thieves.

• DD 9 years ago

Hahahahaha, what is the difference between Ghana and animal farm. They have to eat and stay healthy otherwise Mr Jones will come back.

• potay 9 years ago

U dont fear God.u chop

• Efo Mawuli 9 years ago

You think they are fighting to go there or remain there for nothing? I have resolved. No politician can convince me that he wants to hold public because he "wants to give back to society". Nonsense! See how everyone is cry ...

• OKYENA NTI. 9 years ago

IN EUROPE AND DEVELOPED COUNTRIES NONE OF POLITICIANS TAKE TOO MUCH AS AFRICAN POLITICIANS .AND THEY DO NOTHING FOR THE COUNTRY WHY IS SO . GREEDY BASTARDS.

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

Even in the advanced democracies of the West, congressmen and paliamentarians don't make that kind of money. So that is it. So you sit down today and analyse this. J J Rawlngs and his murderous revolution created nothing but ...

• Minta 9 years ago

Our politicians are theives. Don't bring NPP or NDC into this matter.
    There is nothing new about these allowances and it has nothing to do with the present administration. It is general and must be stopped.

• ABOLOVIVI 9 years ago

Some of you are bitter for nothing. No one is asking who fixes their salaries. Is it president Mahama? Before president Kuffour was about to leave power, it was like "rub my back, and let me rub yours. Parliament fixed a big ...

• Awura Ama 9 years ago

We are bitter because our resources are being wasted by some greedy fools. Some lazy people with no income coming from their areas are using our money so we need to be bitter,they shouldnt cry witch hunting when their cups ar ...

• abfi 9 years ago

Kill them all they are fuckiing useless

• Morkeh 9 years ago

22,000 FOR EACH PERSON HOW MEANY PEOPLE ARE THERE ? IF IS EVEN 100 PEOPLE ARE IN THE PERLI... LOOK SO ALL TOTAL AMOUNT WILL 2,200,000 Ghcedis and they are 210 peoples so the total will be 4,620,000 CEDIS for the month , at ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

With all this economy turbulence , even Canada upon all their riches a premier went to Mandela funeral with the cost of 45,000 dollars she was sacked , stupid Mahama proposed 10 percent cut knowing very well that their are lo ...

• D.K Ntiamoah 9 years ago

OOOOW AMMA GHANA DUE, BECAUSE YOU ARE SUFFERING WHAT DO THEY DO SPECIAL AT ALL? HMMMMMM.

• Gen.Mosquito 9 years ago

Politics is good business with no initial capital upfront to invest in.No wonder everyone wants to be either a Minister or MP.if 10% of all contracts executed under a sitting Minister or MP is added to the grand total then Gh ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

his mother was a prostitute

• agyakagya 9 years ago

we are not after the outside of the person but what is inside.

• NII TEIKO ADUEMI 9 years ago

THIS IS SHOCKING. A TYPICAL CASE OF MONKEY DE WORK, BABOON DE CHOP. WE HAVE SUFFERED AND SACRIFICED IN VAIN.GOD BE WITH US!!!

• Kobby 9 years ago

It is not a matter of companing agaisnt it but that the masses need to take concrete action to correct this daylight robbery. The politician are not better than the rest of us. And we cannot all be politicians otherwise the c ...

• paa. hamburg 9 years ago

So seriously where lies our priorities as ghanaian leaders who are thinking about the future of ghana in the next 20 yrs. In a matter of weeks , ghana will be 58 yrs .nothing to write home about . whatever Kwame Nkrumah ...

• nokware 9 years ago

Compare what your MPS and ministers are receiving to those in Nigeria,Kenya etc and they will turn out to be peanuts.Always publishing stupid and sensational news items to create hatred and division among ghanaians.If you wan ...

• Aku 9 years ago

We are providing wardrobe and entertainment allowance, you wanna condone that? When was the last time an MP or a minister did something to benefit Ghana?
    You are part of the problem!!! We have a right to question how our mo ...

• nyoja 9 years ago

Upon all this huge salaries it is the civil servant who work and write speeches for them and the president...I mean the centre of government is the civil servant...the politicians are damn headed but they take home huge salar ...

• atta j k 9 years ago

Who introduced Ex Gratias in Ghana? 7

• KOO THE BOY 9 years ago

more fire.vote them out

• Adjei 9 years ago

See around some fair skinned supervisors from Asia and North Africa and Mediterranion countries heading some of you guys in factories at Tema etc are earning more than quoted in the report above. Stop setting up one another. ...

• Abrantie 9 years ago

Foolish news and the editor.

• Stephen Quayson 9 years ago

mental sleavery wakeup GHANA

• Ayitekumah 9 years ago

Would an NPP, CPP or PPP led government reverse this trend?
    Let's think of developing ourselves and forget about what someone earns. Afterall, none of us would reject such salaries and allowances. We are complaining because ...

• PERSCOBA 9 years ago

gives us more details

• Aku 9 years ago

Whose idea was it to give ministers wardrobe allowance. Why is it that a well documented poverty ridden country like Ghana is always acting rich? I'm sure those ministers and MPs do not mind fleecing out country, but most Gha ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

IT WILL BE A WELCOME NEWS TO YOUR READERS IF,THEY WILL ALSO KNOW SALARIES AND ALLOWANCES PAID TO MINISTERS AND MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT IN KUFFOURS EIGHT YEAERS OF ADMINSTRATION.

IT IS NOT THE QUESTION OF ECONOMIC DIFFICULTIE ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

THIS ARTICLE CLEARLY INDICATES THAT, WE ARE STILL BEHIND TIME IN THE 21st CENTURY.

WE LIVE IN AN AGE OF SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION AND CREATIVITY AND NOT ON THESE BASELESS AND IRRELEVANT ARTICLES.

ARE WE STILL HOPELESS IN TH ...

• Nii Adjei 9 years ago

and we are still not performing. one would wonder if all we care about is; an office,a position and a title then the cash. responsibility, performance and accountability are never issues to to be discussed.

• 3dem 9 years ago

"Other benefits include: 45 gallons of fuel a week, fully furnished accommodation, a 4×4 cross country Land Cruiser, a luxury saloon car"

why wont TOR always be in debt?

And all that money and allowances, na God go p ...

• Abu Samson 9 years ago

Ghana government systematically required transformation. Any government payroll recipient must provide for their own luxury base on the fix income. If government salary is insufficient for these ministers they should go to th ...

• Nana Hakim 9 years ago

HelloMr. & Mrs. Ghana,

And this has been the practice for half a life time in Ghana. The Colonial Masters left it behind. Successive governments have continued the practice with impunity. Canada, which is one the richest n ...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

THIS IS ENVY REPORTING. YOU DID NOT INFORM YOUR READERS THAT THE SALARIES OF MINISTERS ARE NOT SET BY THE PRESIDENT OR THE PARTY OF GOVERNMENT. SHAME ON YOU, ENVIOUS JOUENALIST

• NOBODY 9 years ago

The Chronicle was inexistence during Kufuor's NPP administration. Were these ministerial allowances not in existence then? So the Chronicle has just stumbled into a discovery. What is more shocking is the lack journalistic in ...

• Northener 9 years ago

I am not making excuses for no, I am not sympathetic to a particular party, but I believe nap at least made progress for the country as a whole, but this joke of a president have nothing to show for. Useless, disgraceful pres ...

• paulina brenya-Nsiah 9 years ago

What is really going on ?they do nothing for the country to deserve such a pay.they're fully aware that there are children who go to bed on empty stomach yet they don't care,God will not let them go Scot free it might not be ...

• TRUTH PREACHER 9 years ago

These shameful Ministers are being paid such huge amount and yet they´re not performing. Take a look at our economy ?
    GOD will judge all of them, from Mahama to the public office messenger.

• pee 9 years ago

Grazing one there, when will Africa leader's think about their masses?
    May fire burn this wicked leaders.

• sansan 9 years ago

We need the military to straighten up the system, there's too much maggot in the castle.

• Wakapay 9 years ago

What is the trend of pay? This is very vague reporting. Get out of town.

• Ghanamanoriginal 9 years ago

Let us hire external managers to run the country. We will pay the external managers, a salary based on a pre-agreed contractual period. If they do not perform, we terminate them. The external managers must be non-biased and h ...

• No Fooling 9 years ago

Why don't you then start by going to hire an external manager for your home and your wife or girlfriend also.
    Sia like dat.

• ben 9 years ago

yes this is true. the paper forget to add national health insurance scheme NHIS allowances these ministers received every 3 months for 7200 Ghana cedis for their routine visits to NHIS in their districts. thieves

• kalahariman 9 years ago

So Ghanaians want ministers to be under paid so that they can have an excuse to steal more money from the system. The more pay 5 they get may reduce the tendency to steal. It's true that the government is money tight but good ...

• CAO 9 years ago

oh ghana

• COLLINS NDURO(USA) 9 years ago

VISIONLESS GOVT.STEAL TAXPAYERS MONEY

• COLLINS NDURO(USA) 9 years ago

ASEM BEBA DABI

• James Akosa u.s.a 9 years ago

How can you people be so selfish and don't care about others, we need a Burkina Faso style in Ghana

• Kwaku K, Columbus, Ohio 9 years ago

Wow! If this publication is very true, then it is senseless going in for bailout from the IMF. If the government can afford to pay so much in emoluments and undeserved allowances to under-performing ministers and MPs,then we ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

Those of you calling for the military, I. suspect you are kids and have not seen anything before ! The Ghana Military when it comes to money,are Cleaver thieves,and as greedy as the politicians.Again,in a Democracy, there's ...

• kwa kwa 9 years ago

Oh what a wow. Our monies.

• nick 9 years ago

this is too much 3d3n?

• Right man 9 years ago

WHAT KIND OF RUBBERY BE THIS, MAY GOD PUNISH THEM

• Asamoah Forson 9 years ago

NDC government. LOOTING Brigade, loot and share party.

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

SO WHAT is the basic Salary for ???

• Northener 9 years ago

Mahama, you are a piece of joke, idiot. You are the worst president, and I hope when your term ends, you are named the worst thing that happened to Africa, your father will be ashamed of you.

• no nonesense 9 years ago

time to probe them for their criminal activities.

• no nonesense 9 years ago

keep eye on them whereever they go &chase them like rats,they can run but the can't hide!