You are here: HomeNews2015 02 08Article 345781

Critical thinking is the bane of Ghana’s woes - IMANI

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Close Observer 9 years ago

THE TRIBAL DISCRIMINATION AND DIVISION IS ENOUGH. VOTE NDC OUT IN 2016.

GHANAIANS have given 26 years out of the country's 58 years to the NDC PARTY. We have seen nothing, but USELESS RULE. VOTE THEM OUT IN 2016

YOU DON ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

All Nkrumahists are outraged at the lies Nana Addo peddled to denigrate Kwame Nkrumah.

See Alan in 2020!

• lee 9 years ago

Diverting state funds into Individual accounts Is the only critical thinking the African Politician knows how to do best... Forget about the job they were elected to do..

• Ali 9 years ago

Our problems are sycophants such as Cudjoe and his bigot stupid blood drinking savages, the Asante cockroaches. And the solution is to exterminate such parasites in gas chamber. Hitler was a critical thinker to invent the gas ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

OUR PROBLEM IS YOUR BIGOT JM WHO CAN NOT THINK. YOU GUYS LACK COMMON SENSE THAT IS WHY . PER HEAD COUNT OF PEOPLE WHO VOTED FOR NPP MP'S IS LARGER THAN YOUR NDC . WHY ? YOU ARE A FOOL . NOT 2016 YOU STINKY GUY- THINK .

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE)...

DR. BAWUMIA:-----------
    “In the last six years, the NDC has borrowed US$27 billion. Before that, we, the NPP, borrowed a total of US$5.5 billion in eight years. Compare that to the ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

And what are you! The 'bushman' visits Aussie and the KOOKOASES are in celebration mood' "our man had been there" like Jack A..returning from Mars!
    He's a failure working hardest to line up the support needed to stardom as ...

• William 9 years ago

Cudjoe, look inwards infirst! Charity begins at home, in this case your think tank!

Author:-Close Observer....

The NDC PARTY has NOTHING TO OFFER GHANAIANS, BUT DIVISION AND TRIBAL DISCRIMINATION. THIS IS WHAT WE HAVE SEEN IN GHANA FOR THE 26 YEARS THEY HAVE RULED.

IF THEY CAN'T TELL THE DIFFERENCE B ...

• Ali 9 years ago

You cannot still count. Educated illiterate

Author:-GURUNDA...
    Ghanaians must desist from "worshipping" presidents and begin to hold presidents and leaders accountable. Bravo Greenstreet for showing Ghanaians the right way. Why bow to presidents when they are stealin ...

Because in Ghana NDC so-called whose
    duty it is to distribute salt, Bentoa,
    rice, cooking oil, cutlasses, toilet rolls and some money at the expense of
    the State to influence people to vote for them, deprived the nation of ...

Because NDC are scared that Nana will probe and confiscate every State properties and money robbed as a result
    NDC are scared of Nana.

But that will happen immediately after
    December 2016, Asiedu-Nketia and his
    thives a ...

• Aj 9 years ago

Anani,if you can tell who was (kotoka) and his purpose of been awarded the international airport in Ghana?I rest my case.

• osaman90 9 years ago

Now someone is hitting the target. The main problem with Ghanians as pointed out by IMANI is that:. Ghanians are not willing and prepared to welcome any new ideas. They are used to what they have been doing all the time; this ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

You don't need Britain to borrow you those unfortunate debacles of our early days Akwaaba. It's all there in black and white in our past political archived. You also can get most of our not too a distant political extracts fr ...

• Gen.Mosquito 9 years ago

Ghana government official wears wife's jacket to German state function. hahaha.Mosquitoes wearing coats

• The mask 9 years ago

Are contemporary politicians as good or better than the big six??

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

At least the Big 6 were made up of serious thinkers far better than our contemporary politicians.

• Sehyo 9 years ago

There is nothing like the big six. There was one big giant and five dwarfs cum CIA agents. Akufo Addo should rather apologize to Ghanaians for what his dwarfish uncle did to Ghana and Africa.
    As devine punishment or Kama he ...

• DB 9 years ago

Useless comment. You obviously do not have the capacity to be a critical thinker. The curse you mention is what is being dished out to Ghanaians by this current incompetent Govt. Rather than vote for competent people to rule ...

• ME MAN NTI 9 years ago

You are a fool and i think you were not a Ghanaian before independence,hence your thinking is full of hate. Sit down there for the clock to be ticking and continue to provoke Ghanaians for the one day will definitely come.The ...

• Kweku 9 years ago

Nearly everything around the African is white man's invention or made except few ones like funeral ceremonies, etc which the whites had no interest in.

An African poverty is white man's made out of the mentality and psych ...

• Kujo 9 years ago

I have been saying this to both my African and non-African friends for years but they look at me like I am the mad one.

Africans have abandoned our heritage and yardstick of measuring success and wellbeing and slavishly me ...

• HANS 9 years ago

NKRUMAH WAS THE ONLY LEADER WHO MADE EFFORTS TO RAISE THE DIGNITY OF THE BLACK MAN AND TO MAKE THE BLACK MAN PUT ON HIS THINKING CAP. NKRUMAH ENCOURAGED OUR INDIGENOUS TRADITIONS, LANGUAGES ETC. TO SET AN EXAMPLE, HE NEVER MA ...

• Gen.Mosquito 9 years ago

Indeed Nkrumah liberated Ghana from the claws of the white man only to enslave and murder his own people.a mam of dual personality is a psychopath.Kwame Nkrumah was sanely insane

• Aikins 9 years ago

We should stop blaming the white people for everything after almost 60 years independent. Let's blame our leaders, ghanaians started at the same time with Malaysia and many Asian countries but look at where we are today. When ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

Now our president spend more time in white man's country than he spend in his own country as president. Borrowing in the name of ghana but use it for himself.

• HANS 9 years ago

GHANA GAINED INDEPENDENCE IN MARCH 1957 AND MALAYSIA GAINED INDEPENDENCE ABOUT JUNE 1957. SOME OF US REMEMBER THAT MALAYSIANS WERE COMING TO GHANA FOR VARIOUS FORMS OF ADVICE FROM THE GHANA GOVERNMENT.
    IT IS WRONG TO COMPARE ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

In 1966? My brother we dont need thousand years to develop a small country like ghana, God's gifted country with all mineral resources plus oil.look at China or Brazil today and 20 years ago, so what has happened after 1966?

• Kweku 9 years ago

Aikins, no one blames white man. I'm only arousing our consciousness that true leaders hardly follow others and also measure their successes by others. Ghana has no leader, can't you just understand? If there was a leader you ...

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

NDC SURELY THRIVES ON TRIBALISM,ILLITERACY,THIEVERY,MEDIOCRITY, ANTI AKANISM, even john mahama told northerners to only vote for npp if akuffo addo makes bawumia the flagbearer......HOW DO WE GROW A COUNTRY LIKE THIS......NOW ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Critical thinking is something you learn or acquire early in school, or early in life.

It is really a shame that far too many of us don't stop to think. I find it heartbreaking indeed to observe the unwitting sabotage of o ...

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

If you think well you thrive period. We are not thriving as a nation, mainly because we are not critical thinkers. We let others think for us while we are distracted 24/7.

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

If only our universities will offer courses in critical thinking our country will perform well economically, technologically, and politically.

• Uncle Pee 9 years ago

Our problem is not lack of critical thinkers, rather we have too many of them. We need to involve scientists in our decision making. Politicians are deciding for us with ideas that make sense but do not yield any results.

• Boat, Boat, the New Yorker 9 years ago

Do you know what critical thinking is at all, Pee?

• Yaa Maggie 9 years ago

Why don't you say it if you know what critical thinking is?

• ghanani 9 years ago

If he Franklin Cudjoe were to be a critical thinker he will by now have had answers to why the nation has not fared well after 60 years of independence.Come on Franklin put on your thinking cap and you will get the answers.B ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

I disagree. He's right, we lack critical thinkers. We're only good at studying to pass exams and then we think the country owes us a living. Critical thinkers are problem solvers like Nkrumah.

• Abaka 9 years ago

What kind of critical thinking are you doing yourself?.Your whole thinking is pursuing a political agenda!.Give us a break!.I know you very well.You have changed you name from Dacruz Noel to Frankin Cudjoe.Tell the world if I ...

• Lucy B 9 years ago

Is IMANI DOING ANYTHING THAT IS DESTROYING THE NATION?
    He is doing his part finding the problems.
    Can you help with the solution instead of insults?

• Mansa Tchira 9 years ago

Hey, MR DACRUZ NOEL FRANKLIN CUDJOE I also know you very well as we grew up together and attended the same elementary schools. I also know you from our uni days but not as a bully but bullyishly stupid. I have never known you ...

• Gbagbladza 9 years ago

Hahahahah We lack critical thinkers?? It is very easy to tell a cripple what he/she lacks to move fast is a wheel chair. Franklin you have critically thought and have identified our problem at least one of them what are you w ...

• Constructivist 9 years ago

You sound idiotic, what critical thinking have you demonstrated now? You've confirmed Cudjoe's assertion that Ghana is lacking critical thinkers, cos, I can't find what cudjoe's childhood got to do with his assessment of our ...

• YB 9 years ago

(1) Great opportunity for job seekers and pensioners.
    (2) Wonderful health product for everyone

CLEANSHIELD, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially designed to clean inner Ossian, clear stomach toxins, as well ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

his doctor put rubbers on his cheste

• Sehyo 9 years ago

If Akofo Addo dies then NPP will win. He is the weakest link to NPP wining. So please don't wish him dead

• STUPID U ARE 9 years ago

I DONT KNOW WHY BEING HANDSOME PAIN THIS GUY SO BADLY YET HE LOVE SHOWCASING OR DISPLAYING HIS UGLY FACE WHICH IS FULL OF GENETIC,BIOLOGICAL AND HERIDITORY MISTAKES. ONE CAN IDENTIFY AT LEAST NOT LESS THAN 100 DIFFERENT UGLY ...

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

STUPID U ARE....u are the ndc thieves destroying ghana by deepening poverty in the north,and volta regions which are ur strongholds and still the poorest of the poor in ghana....stupid foooooool, try to be a critical thinker ...

• Constructivist 9 years ago

Billy, tell the fool again!!

• david 9 years ago

mr cudjeo,you right..............

• Ike Acquaah 9 years ago

Hi Frank,
    I share in your concerns. Where we differ is that Ghana has many critical thinkers, especially well educated and experienced Ghanaians from outside the country. Many of them have retired from abroad and living in G ...

• Washington insider 9 years ago

Ike, l agree with you about our political leaders are not allowing Ghanaians with skills to participate in nation building knowledge. Watching television in Ghana to listen to discussions by the political elites makes me wond ...

• Charles Agbenu 9 years ago

Great man of Voltaland-------very brilliant , courageous. You say it as it is. You are liberated. You dont mind whose ass is gored. Shame to NDC who have reduced EWE land to sycophants. Thanks Franklin. I love You.You are a t ...

• Loway 9 years ago

We have critical thinkers in Ghana more than you think.You beat around the bush all the time,
    Cudjoe

• PREKESE- 9 years ago

YOU HAVE A CRITICAL THINKERS LIKE MAHAMAH AND HIS SCHOOL BOYS BUT YOU CAN SOLVE MINOR PROBLEMS.SHAME!!.

• Abu 9 years ago

Please be quit,you are part of the problemfacing the nation.Go find something else to do with your vicious act towards NDC.If know it all ,why not run for the presidency and fix the problems facing the nation.Otherwise just s ...

• Paa 9 years ago

I don't associate Franklin Cudjoe with much critical thinking either. He is supposed to be the Head of a Think Tank. He should show us what innovative policy proposals have come from whatever critical thinking they're doing i ...

• Jonjo O'Neil, Cape Coast 9 years ago

This IMANI guy looks like a half-wit.He should give us a break.Do we need a think tank to tell us we do not have critical thinkers in Ghana? Hell no.A vast majority of the PhDs in Ghana are not worth the papers there are writ ...

• Sehyo 9 years ago

Franklin himself is no critical thinker. Always making urgly noice about issues,just because he has a platform. He lacks appreciation and dearth of the complexities around most of the issues he raises. He surely needs elevati ...

• Mansa Tchira 9 years ago

AkuffoAddo has been digging his political grave right from the time he started contesting Ex-President Kuffour in the 1990s. He should stop blocking the chances of more credible NPP potential aspirants to the leadership of ou ...

• PREKESE- 9 years ago

NONSENSE DID AKUFO VOTE FOR HIMSELF TO BECOME THE LEADER OF NPP?.YOUR ALLAN HAD LESS THAN 4% OF NPP DELEGATES VOTES.THIS CHAFF CAN NOT LEAD NNP FOR EVEN A DAY.YOU ARE COMMENTING LIKE NNP SUPPORTER BUT YOU ARE RATHER AN ASPIRA ...

• BP 9 years ago

The question of equal representation based on votes into parliament is not only ridiculous but tainted with motives injurious to the progress and development of the entity Ghana. Even the present representation in parliament ...

• LORD 9 years ago

DOES FRANK KNOWS WHAT REALLY HE IS TALKING ABOUT. SOME TIME AGO I WANTED TO MEET YOU ON THIS ISSUE. BUT BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE DEGREE YOU NEVER WANTED TO MEET ME. I KNOW YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT IT TAKES TO THINK THROUGH ISSUES. C ...

• brightt 9 years ago

africa Africa oh mother Ghana.why all thesesstupid things happening in Ghana.pls my fellow Ghanaians here .so can't Mahama go to china n ask d Chinese government for help.or evn carry huge some of money to their government to ...

• justice 9 years ago

Critical thinking is the bane of Ghana,s woes-IMANI

• copper q 9 years ago

Hypocritical comments.
    An acclaimed "think tank" like you should know by now that our problems as a nation is not a lack of thinkers but indiscipline, lack of patriotism and corruption.
    I was in the UK for a while and I ...

• Dr. Steward Harrison Oppong 9 years ago

We need people with good education and street wise to lead the country.
    People they want to lv legacy behind after death.

• no woman no cry 9 years ago

Good talk. No critical thinkers in imani

• edward 9 years ago

We are realy in short of thinkers in the country where we have over what number of profesorS and DR,S But we mostly read Nigerian text bks. Our academia are not writting books and only copying from the foreigners. Our educati ...

• KWAME SEFA APONKYE 9 years ago

W WILL DO EVERYTHING TO LET THIS SHORT MONKEY LOSE 2016 SO ALAN WILL COME 2020. JUST FORGET ABOUT YOUR LIES. GHANAIAN ARE WISE. BUCKET MOYTH

• PREKESE- 9 years ago

ALLAN CAN NOT EVEN WIN A DELEGATES VOTES HOW CAN HE BECOMES A LEADER OF THIS GREAT PARTY,STOP THAT BACK-BITING AND LET US HAVE OUR PEACE OF MIND.YOU APONKYES IN ASHANTI REGION ARE SPOILING NPP.

• KK 9 years ago

I am a Ghanaian and I personally think there is something seriously wrong with majority of us as a people. Anytime, I am discussing issues with fellow Ghanaians sometime, I wonder if I am talking to a human-being. We cannot p ...

• Caw 9 years ago

I agree with Cudjoe that the apparent absence if not total absence of critical thinking is the single most important factor that has thwarted our forward match in development.
    I watch tv and I am sadden by pastors using the ...

• Stigma Bozen 9 years ago

I think Ghana has people capable of critical thinking, however they are probably not willing to sacrifice their livelihood or standing in society to publicly speak about and live out what they claim to believe in. I think som ...

• Kofai 9 years ago

The examples cited do not support the claim of lack of critical thinkers as the main cause of underdevelopment in Ghana. The examples point to shortfalls in institutional structures as well as attitudes of citizens. In any ca ...

• unmil gh 20 9 years ago

With the current ebola issues the UN agree to pay ghanaian soldiers an amount of 133 dollars monthly, and now the currrent corrupt, criminal COS Brig Gen Alloy have refused to pay the money to we the soldiers, sack hm he is c ...

• MATETE 9 years ago

Dr Nkrumah is not only a critical thinker but A VISIONARY LEADER. A real gift frm GOD to build Ghana. But de NPP with de aid of de CIA overthrew him. Ever since then we have found ourselfs in a total,mess. What we are seein ...

• Geigei 9 years ago

Information literacy is the prescription for the development of critical thinking people. How far our educational curricular have incorporated this course , I cannot predict.

• GASO 9 years ago

STOP TEACHING LIFE SKILLS (KIDS SHOULD LEARN THAT FROM HOME)AND TEACH CRITICAL THINKING INSTEAD.

• chief 9 years ago

Instead of Publishing something sensible, you follow this stupid Franklin Cidjoe and imani any childish thing that comes from mouth.

• Atooo 9 years ago

Critical thinkers offering solutions? Is cudjoe a crirical thinker? I guess he will answer yes. Where are the solutions to the energy crisis? Dumsor t shirts? Is this man listening to himself? Franklin is fake. He is a cr ...

• Osei Yaw 9 years ago

Spot on observation by IMANI, in addition to lack of the all important CREATIVITY, not diabolical ones that is everywhere. What is IMANI going to do about helping the country implement teaching such traits in the schools?

• Tekonline.org 9 years ago

Here is one student's concept of university education:

"...Just like me, in the minds of about 70% percent of the fresh graduates, it is always their thought that when out of school, they expect to get a well paying job, a ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

idiot animal

• kwasi pratt kwasea mpanin 9 years ago

Critical thinking is the bane of Ghana's woes

• The Patriot 9 years ago

Passing exams after several attempts?
    Is this the content of the think tank. God have mercy.

• Kwame 9 years ago

It is clear as day light that IMANI is being paid and supported by imperialist countries, thus all what that group is doing is not in the interest of Ghana and her people.