You are here: HomeNews2015 01 29Article 344541

'If you fail to build 3 mansions while in public office, you’re seen as a fool'

Read Comments Comments (61)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Adei, why do you think people fight for public office jobs?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MR. FIGURE-OUT----------------
    It is only in Ghana would such a dishonorably idiot be on the government pay roll. Professor Mill should be solely blamed for imposing those criminals on us. After Mills found Betty Mou ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....
    It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the next ...

• ampontua 9 years ago

you're right sir..

• dan 9 years ago

Twenty Richest People In Ghana For 2013

1. Ibrahim Mahama -$1.9 billion /Businessman , Brother of the current President of Ghana. Only Ghanaian to own a private jet.

2. Alfred Mahama -$1.3 billion./ Businessman, brother ...

• RAVISHING-07 9 years ago

THAT'S ASANTE-AKYEM CRAZY SYNDROME. THEY LIVE IN BASEMENT APARTMENT IN EUROPE, NORTH AMERICA, ASIA, AUSTRALIA AND HAVE THREE MANSIONS IN GHANA NEVER TO LIVE IN BEFORE THEY DIE.

PEOPLE WHO CORRUPT THE COUNTRY TO AMASS WEALT ...

• David Cameroon, uk 9 years ago

Let call back the british or Americans to rules us again ,. I think colonialism was better cos things were better and laws were obeyed..you can't steal n go free as at now. It very true of what the man is saying and every Gha ...

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

YOU ARE A FOOL!!!

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

You must be gaining from the corruption of Mahama and NDC govt.

• A.M.A 9 years ago

WE ARE LIVING A COUNTRY WHERE OUR POLITICIANS AND TOP GOV WORKERS DONT DECLARE THEIR ASSESTS AND SO JUST COME IN AND LOOT AS MUCH AS POSIBLE.THE WORSE IS NOTHING SERIUOS IS BEING DONE TO STOP OR PREVENT THEM FROM MILKING THE ...

• Sallie 9 years ago

GHANAMAN you're the problem to ghana.Are you saying fighting for public office jobs to enrich your self is right? If this is our mentality then Mother Ghana is DOOMED

• Aduanaba 9 years ago

"He,therefore, said no amount of procurement laws will help clean the system without people of integrity"

Sorry Prof, to disappoint u, there are no people of integrity on this land. So pls stop promoting that condescending ...

• DOGON YARO 9 years ago

This man is telling the truth but.....

• AFFORDABLE 9 years ago

My former boss is a well known wealthy man in the central business district in Accra. He has been involved in illegal electricity connections since WHEN. He also steals from GWCL. He pays nothing to these utility companies an ...

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

Money, sex,and mansions. These are the reasons for all the corruption in the land.

• KOO THE BOY 9 years ago

prof you are right.ghanaians should question these people especially the mps.they are not in office to enrich themselves.is your tax money.police too,they have mansions too.

• Gina 9 years ago

The only means to be rich in ghana without sweat or hard work is to become a politician, a pastor or drug pusher.

• chief vandal 9 years ago

You are so right

• Pontius Pilate 9 years ago

The problem is not who builds 10 mansions but the problem is why do we even adore them? We adore them because we are poor and poverty is a disease. Cure it and no one will worship and adore anybody even if he/she is Bill Gate ...

• Fiction 9 years ago

God bless u prof many people found themselfs into deep troubles bcus of families and societal demands n today many are left to dance their music alone without any family cuming in to support them de ghanaian society is ver ...

• Ben 9 years ago

Let's demystifier power of flashy lifestyle. Everyone is somebody and so if someone annoyingly asks "do you know who I am?", just reply that you are a two-legged being and nothing else. Its time we put a stop to worshipping r ...

• St Gascoigne 9 years ago

Ben I love your post

• The Vice President 9 years ago

Yet we call ourselves christian and moslems. Corrupt, corrupt and very corrupt

• Mani 9 years ago

The next govt to be elected in 2016 (God willing) should sweep the house clean of the corrupt, property amassing vagabonds to restore hope to the ordinary Ghanaian. We pray for the right people to be elected into office come ...

• Joe/TX 9 years ago

How old were you in 1979 - 1992. Never mention it for there are no such leaders in Ghana . Whoever comes to talk about revolution is fake. Ask Boakye-Gyan and Rawlings.

• KOFI ALEX 9 years ago

oh Africa home of uncivilised corruption of which Ghana is leading .Prof,,,You are right GOD bless you.THAT IS THE TRUTH

• TANII BA! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• justice 9 years ago

No wonder your stupid n useless generation were living in holes like rats until tanii came n used sugar n brought them out . is there any educated person in your generation like mahama? All you know is robbery.Brainless gor ...

• Mani 9 years ago

Very lazy and they are amassing wealth unjustly. Foolish as they are, they think they can forever go scot free with those illegal booties: they are armed robbers as well. With the calibre of the current crop of leaders, there ...

• BJ 9 years ago

Sad state of affairs but there is the law of karma! If you steal, lie etc you will eventually pay a price.

• It's take it or get out fool. 9 years ago

Our politicians think and behave just like leaders of herds in the animal kingdom. Either you multiply or the females chase you out for a more robust kind. And the females are we the citizenry who take pride in adoring and wo ...

• Wise Prof. Edei 9 years ago

Lets have civic Education on national VALUES...

• Emmanuel 9 years ago

This Prof is wise. Lets get civic education on GHANAIAN NATIONAL VALUES into basic school.

• Sam 9 years ago

Hmm Do we still remember those values to teach them to our children? Very sad indeed.

• yaw yiadom 9 years ago

Thank you sir,but I never condone coup de'tats but one man did it and did it twice,he murdered those he saw as wrongdoers in the name of house cleaning,this guy is still alive and people are looting in his own party but he ha ...

• matic 9 years ago

Nawaaooooooo!!

• Asem se be 9 years ago

When my father returned the surplus cash to the government chest after renovating and refurbishing schools in Asante Region, he was called a fool, when he retired, his pension was not enough and as a result he died poor. At ...

• kakabo 9 years ago

Dear Prof, Corruption is everywhere on this sinful earth. However, in some places they have managed to reduce it to the barest minimum such that it does not hurt national development. A critical research in any country where ...

• MATCH BOX 9 years ago

THEN TELL TROKOSIS TO STOP WORSHIPPING TOGBE JULOR RAWLINGS AS GOD BECAUSE ALL HIS WEALTH CAME FROM THE NATION'S COFFERS.THESE TROKOSIS GIVE MORE RESPECT TO NATION WRECKERS THAN ANY PERSON IN THE COUNTRY.RAWLINGS IS THE MOST ...

• Ewe Nation 9 years ago

Shut the hell up coz Rawlings is a man of integrity who never took salary all his yrs as president.Respect our hero who killed all the agents of corruption,brought discipline into public sector and nursed the current healthy ...

• Ezenator Rawlings 9 years ago

he preached accountability but then he and my mother were the REAL theives.

• Insurance Co vacancy 9 years ago

200+ vacancies available for Sales Reps for a reputable Insurance Co, even if you don't need the job, you definitely know someone who does. Send full name and contact to this 0265217070 and the company will give you a call ba ...

• Sabito 9 years ago

Prof, God bless you so much for being bold and frank. In the 70s, even though I was very young at the time, I saw the amount of respect my senior brother who was in the university commanded. Everybody loved and cherished him ...

• old soja 9 years ago

oh my brother say it again ooo the hard working ones are rather called failures. you can imagine, a soldier going to peacekeeping to risk his life for 6 months or more and come back and remains poor while their counterpart ...

• Awuni 9 years ago

Every individual that is been appointed to hold a public office must be made to declare their asset be4 they are placed in that position...and whiles they are in office there should be regular auditing of their asset...in cas ...

• BP 9 years ago

Sooner or later the same nation they have looted would be forced to its knees to retrieve the loot from the criminals.Many were the rich who fled their wealth and country when the inevitable erupted.

• Alhassan Fuseini 9 years ago

This is the very first time in the history of Ghana that a learned person has professed this important message to the citizens.
    It is not how much money one has, but rather how did one obtain the money?
    Also, it is importan ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

This looting mindset started from our first republic. Those who served with Nkrumah are all rich and I will throw a challenge to anyone to dig their background and that set the domino effect. They passed that mindset to tho ...

• Pusiga Naaba 9 years ago

I agree with you prof. The root cause of the problem is that people who are caught in this corruption cycle still go free and are not punished. Why, because they are one of the boys or belong to the ruling party. The party wo ...

• Ewe Nation 9 years ago

Its the asante greedy monsters who brought this sad culture into our nation.Ashantis are a thieving tribe,fraudsters and corruption lovers thats why our govt is full of their thieving agents.Corruption and thievry is taught t ...

• Kofi Basabasa 9 years ago

Is Ghana a country of "Church Goers" or "Christians" as we profess? Why do we not lead exemplary life as we read from the Bible? Our Preachers, Evangelists, and self-made Prophets preach that being materialistically rich is a ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 9 years ago

'HOLY SPIRIT'REVEAL ALL THE WRONG DOERS IN OUR MOTHERLAND GHANA.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 9 years ago

AKUFU ADDO WILL LOOSE 2016

• nana adu 9 years ago

Well said prof.

• king 9 years ago

that is why Ashanti Regional Director of education and the Metro Director are transferring teachers to remoute areas without any justification and replacing them with their peoples. God has seen u all.Ur days are numberd

• liv 9 years ago

Not until we start jailing and seizing assets of corrupt officials, Civil servants will continue stealing.

• Tom Brown 9 years ago

It's pathetic that the average Ghanaian's life ambition is to build a mansion and drive a big car. You are seen to have "arrived" when you possess those. The procurement act is in itself a double edged sword that can easily b ...

• Abeiku Sam 9 years ago

Prof. is right, we need attitudinal and cultural change. Politicians should stop influencing the youth to use fool means to acquire dishonest gain.

• amee 9 years ago

The constitution must be review. It gives more powers to the legislative arm of govt.

• Samata 9 years ago

This is hard to stop because it has already eaten into every fabric of our society.People are no fools they can see it they are not blind because they the beginnings of various public figures and how they quickly grab within ...